Unifi Connect UniFi HyppTV Set Top Box Through WiFi

perseides
post Jul 5 2018, 08:49 AM

140 posts

Hello sifus,

Refer to the schematics, I need to connect my STB and PC in the living room to the router via a homeplug.

Is there a way to reconfigure the router so that I do not have to change the wire to the router every time i use the PC (internet connection) and vice versa (HYppTV STB).

(NOTE It might be confusing but homeplug B had 2 ports.)

Does this require a VLAN trunking or smth???

This post has been edited by perseides: Jul 5 2018, 08:50 AM
perseides
post Jul 5 2018, 01:31 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Jul 5 2018, 11:48 AM)
Not possible, why do you need to connect the PC to the home plug anyway? Just get a good inexpensive wireless adapter that is readily available, and it is much better to connect to the router directly through wireless anyway, rather than a home plug. You can configure VLAN trunking but you need the right equipment and the network know-how.
Point me a way and I'll try figure it out..
The pc is a small Intel NUC, it has build in WiFi. However there's literally 10+ other WiFi connections nearby so the WiFi is not as good, especially streaming live sport games, it will lag or reload. I bought the home plug for that purpose initially.

However after upgrade to unifi with hypptv, both the PC and Hypptv STB required the homeplug. So now whenever I want to use hypptv or the pc, I have to keep switching the cable to the router.

Any suggestion to reconfigure the router so the homeplug can share connection?

This post has been edited by perseides: Jul 5 2018, 01:32 PM

0.0241sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:44 PM