Unifi Connect UniFi HyppTV Set Top Box Through WiFi

SilentVampire
post Jan 2 2018, 10:52 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(hasrin233 @ Jan 2 2018, 03:47 PM)
i wonder if wifi extender Tl-WA850RE can connect to hypptv?
Only if you have a separate AP connected to the LAN of the HyppTV, which by then is better if you connect to the AP wirelessly.

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Jan 2 2018, 10:10 PM)
Anyone knows where to buy this white box and what's the ideal price?
Only from TM unfortunately.
SilentVampire
post Feb 27 2018, 11:04 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Mnlowyat @ Feb 27 2018, 10:41 PM)
In my town there is no tm unifi yet. But we still can register for unifi lite - 10 Mb/s. With lite we can only watch unifi tv (hypp yv) using mobile phone (cant watch on tv) since there is no set top box provided by tm.
Can we buy the top box from the shop and use it to watch unifi tv and estimated how much does it cost?

Please help me. I have zero knowledge in this. Tq
No. You can’t do that unfortunately, but trust me, you are not really missing anything by not having the STB.
SilentVampire
post Feb 28 2018, 12:43 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(Hummingbird @ Feb 28 2018, 11:01 AM)
Actually it makes some difference by using STB...

At least what I know STB runs on a separate VLAN which will not have compromise on your internet bandwidth whereas the unifi playtv, even though you can make it run on third party android box, will consume part of your available bandwidth.
Yes I am aware of that fact. I was referring to the okay channels on the UnifiTV which isn’t worth having the STB box anyway.
SilentVampire
post Jul 5 2018, 11:48 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(perseides @ Jul 5 2018, 08:49 AM)
[attachmentid=9897458]

Hello sifus,

Refer to the schematics, I need to connect my STB and PC in the living room to the router via a homeplug.

Is there a way to reconfigure the router so that I do not have to change the wire to the router every time i use the PC (internet connection) and vice versa (HYppTV STB).

(NOTE It might be confusing but homeplug B had 2 ports.)

Does this require a VLAN trunking or smth???

Not possible, why do you need to connect the PC to the home plug anyway? Just get a good inexpensive wireless adapter that is readily available, and it is much better to connect to the router directly through wireless anyway, rather than a home plug. You can configure VLAN trunking but you need the right equipment and the network know-how.
SilentVampire
post Jul 5 2018, 02:05 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(perseides @ Jul 5 2018, 01:31 PM)
Point me a way and I'll try figure it out..
The pc is a small Intel NUC, it has build in WiFi. However there's literally 10+ other WiFi connections nearby so the WiFi is not as good, especially streaming live sport games, it will lag or reload. I bought the home plug for that purpose initially.

However after upgrade to unifi with hypptv, both the PC and Hypptv STB required the homeplug. So now whenever I want to use hypptv or the pc, I have to keep switching the cable to the router.

Any suggestion to reconfigure the router so the homeplug can share connection?
You have to use a different router, preferably an enterprise router, such as Mikrotik or Ubiquiti. Second, I would recommend you get an wireless AC adapter, preferably something on the 5GHz band, so that your connection won’t get affected by the large number of WiFi networks around you. Ideally, you should get a home plug that have wireless AC, or 5GHz, if you don’t have it already, so that you can connect to it using your new wireless adapter. That will solve the problem of you constantly reconnecting.

Or you can get another home plug just for your PC?
SilentVampire
post Sep 20 2018, 03:01 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Sep 20 2018, 09:26 AM)
unifi tv can't connect via wifi. can connect via wires only at port no: 4 at ur modem. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
You can actually, by using Mikrotik routers or routers that support VLAN tagging over wireless instead of port-based VLAN.

You also don't need to connect to port 4 of your router to do so, and it can be any port you want, as long as you tag VLAN600 manually to any LAN port on your router.
SilentVampire
post Sep 27 2018, 11:02 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(pubmut @ Sep 27 2018, 10:16 PM)
My old Unifi STB died on me (Huawei EC2108E) and I managed to buy a secondhand STB (Huawei EC6108V8). However after having booted it up and entering my iptv username and password, it says "service unavailable" - I have Internet but no TV.

Is there any way I can get it to work. I managed to do a factory reset of the EC1608V8 but it still doesn't work.

I read somewhere that I need to call TM to tell them to change their database to update with the new MAC address for my STB. Do I need to do that? I thought it was just an easy username and password setup item but I'm getting frustrated.

The diagnostics and about screen tells me that I have the latest STB - this is the one with no PlayStore in it.

TIA for any help to be able to set it up.
You need to get TM technicians or LiveChat to update new MAC address for your STB to tie with your account. It have to be done no matter what. Sorry, but that is just the way it is.

This post has been edited by SilentVampire: Sep 27 2018, 11:02 PM
SilentVampire
post Jan 1 2019, 06:54 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(nash9701 @ Dec 5 2018, 08:59 PM)
I'm using Powerline TP Link AV1300, router DIR-842 on 2nd floor while my smart tv on ground floor (3-phase wiring) connection is good even for HD but there are sometime no IPTV connection even wifi internet is available, even restarting everything. Luckily not heavily watching TV, I can switch to Netflix if Unifi TV not available. Can it be Unifi TV problem itself?

(^__^)
Nope. It is the three phase wiring itself. Power line over three phase wiring is unreliable and is affected by electrical interference.

QUOTE(sneaker @ Jan 1 2019, 04:57 PM)
Anyone here successfully setup HyppTV wirelessly using D-link DIR-882 router?
Not possible.
SilentVampire
post Jan 6 2019, 02:13 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Jan 6 2019, 12:44 PM)
  has anyone successfully connect the Hypptv set top box Huawei EC6108V8 with the TM D-Link DIR-850L (the cylindrical shape) router? Currently the box is in my living room together with the router but at times I wanted to view Hypptv channels in my bedroom.

I've tried connecting using the Pakite PAT-580 (HDMI version) and managed to view it in the bedroom but I'm not able to change channels thus I have to go to the living room, change it and walk back which is very troublesome. I had to return the 580 as the seller also could not provide any solution. I've tried using the other Pakite models (RCA type) but there were too much interence which renders it unwatchable.

So, if there's a way to connect it wirelessly, I would only need to bring the box or get a additional box.
If your house is single phase wiring, the powerline could work. Get the one above AV1200.
SilentVampire
post Jan 6 2019, 11:38 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Jan 6 2019, 09:26 PM)
Thanks for the reply. My house wiring is single phase and I do have AV POWERLINE but the old ones. Not sure if it’s still working or sufficient. My limitation with the powerline is that there’s only 2 plug point near the router and its already utilizing with 3-gang power socket for both. One of the reasons why Im looking at connecting wirelessly.

Anyone’s managed to pair with DIR-850L?
I recommend the TP-Link TL-PA8010P KIT, or the TP-Link PA4010P KIT. Both have pass through, so you can use them with the plug point and still use the plug point for other things.
SilentVampire
post Jan 7 2019, 11:34 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Jan 7 2019, 10:24 AM)
Thanks. I have a set of the old AV200. Hopefully its enough to get the job done.
Thanks. If I'm not mistaken, the TL-PA4010P KIT is around RM150. How much is the TL-PA8010P?
RM250 on Lazada, but it is definitely worth it.
SilentVampire
post Jan 7 2019, 12:22 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Jan 7 2019, 11:46 AM)
Again thanks. Sad to say that my AV200 receiver unit is dead. Plug in and no light whatsoever.
Time to upgrade. Get either the one I mentioned and you are good to go.
SilentVampire
post Oct 15 2019, 09:12 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Oct 15 2019, 07:16 PM)
Rega RM 169 kat Shopee.

Ada 2 adapter. Pasang Adapter 1 kat plug dinding dekat router, sambung network cable dari router ke Adapter 1. Pasang Adapter 2 kat plug dinding dapur, sambung network cable dari Adapter 2 ke HyppTV. On kan, siap biggrin.gif
Not so fast. If the router and dapur is not on the same electrical circuit, good luck in getting anything at all.
SilentVampire
post Oct 16 2019, 06:51 AM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Oct 15 2019, 09:19 PM)
How to explain that in BM in simplest way? :confused:
See reply above from Max.

0.0342sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:46 AM