Unifi Connect UniFi HyppTV Set Top Box Through WiFi

taqu
post Dec 23 2019, 07:53 AM

864 posts

Out of curiosity, I setup a spare D-Link DIR-850L as VLAN 600 AP, connected to router's Port 4, unplugged network cable from the STB, and connect the STB's Wifi to the D-Link. It works, but some channels were sometimes lagging, some other channels were lagging alot, and changing channels took longer time.

The D-Link were inside store room below stairs, and the STB is in living room. Wifi strength at the STB around -55 dbm, so Wifi strength actually quite decent. Maybe a stronger AP works better. Maybe someone can lend me a spare C1200 I can try? tongue.gif

Wired setup still better. My typical setup is a single CAT 5E cable from store room to living room, carrying both Internet & HyppTV signal to STB / living room AP, via VLAN trunk.

This post has been edited by taqu: Dec 23 2019, 08:30 AM
taqu
post Dec 23 2019, 08:01 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(AzaelTheKid @ Dec 10 2019, 04:27 PM)
Anyone got Orbi Router and able to use the Tv box provided by unifi? I tried setting vlan rules in the router page for iptv VLAN ID : 600 and priority : 5 but the tvbox ain't working.

Any help would be appreciated
Does the Orbi have IGMP version setting? If yes, select version 3.
taqu
post Dec 23 2019, 01:58 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 23 2019, 01:33 PM)
I had the same problem with a Mikrotik AP. Mine was solved by turning on multicast-helper. For Mikrotik anyway, multicast will transmit at the slowest rate of the AP so I was getting pixelation, lags and other stuff associated with a slow transmit rate. multicast-helper on the Mikrotik changes the multicast MAC address to the MAC address of the device enabling the AP to transmit at higher rates.

If the DLink doesn't have such a feature, try setting the AP to N only.
Yes it does, I think "Enable IPV4 Multicast", and setup to N only. But still lags on some channels. Maybe TP-Link C1200 with better Wifi performance will fare better. Maybe I need to try out on my C1200 too tongue.gif

This post has been edited by taqu: Dec 23 2019, 02:01 PM
taqu
post Jun 2 2020, 07:44 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(sonnybfs @ Jun 2 2020, 03:13 AM)
Appreciate the sharing and explanation Soon Wai, if i were ti use VLAN setup, how should i do it? I am currently using Asus RT-86U running Merlin 384.12 Firmware, which i think support VLAN setup right? Where can i configure the setting and how should i setup the Vlan so that i can go as my plan by running 1 Power Line Adapter can carry both Internet and HyppTV connection to the TP Link switch downstairs and split up the connection one to HyppTv and the Internet to the Tanix 6 Android Box.

I am really new to Vlan setup, please help me out, thank you before hand Sifu
You need 2 VLAN-capable switches at both sides of your Powerline, 1 to trunk both VLAN after router, another before your TV box/STB. TP-Link TL-SG105E & SG108E is what I use at my home.

Not sure you can trunk directly from your Asus, even with Merlin.

0.0250sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:53 PM