Unifi Connect UniFi HyppTV Set Top Box Through WiFi

soonwai
post Nov 10 2017, 09:25 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(shen1716 @ Nov 10 2017, 09:13 AM)
Now I set the ssid security as open.seems like can connect already.will test it when my hypptv is arrive next week.
Please update us. Would be useful to know if it works.
soonwai
post Nov 10 2017, 03:04 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(hlchoo @ Nov 10 2017, 02:36 PM)
Hi thanks for reply. Somehow today I managed to get it to connect to the VAP by simply defining it as VLAN ID 600, with and without security. In the past it was never able to obtain IP address. So now I could actually connect via wifi. However, the problem is the speed is soooo slow... I can see VLAN600 data coming in at 8Mbps, but the wireless transmission only 800+kbps! Video keeps lagging and mostly can't see anything! Any way to speed this up? Thanks.
Try setting multicast-helper=fuil for wlan1 and see if that helps.

Also keep in mind that any 2.4Ghz activity will interfere with the HyppTV stream since wlan1 & wlan3 are on the same channel. If the above works, try watching something and doing a Speedtest on your phone at the same time, the HyppTV will probably start lagging.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Nov 11 2017, 08:35 AM
soonwai
post Nov 12 2017, 06:00 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(hlchoo @ Nov 10 2017, 07:01 PM)
It worked!! Thank you so much @soonwai!! Mostly smooth now even when doing a Speedtest. Speedtest showing 30Mbps (I’m on unifi30) even though hypptv is running. I actually tried the same router setting before this but didn’t work. What I did was upgrading my STB yesterday to a newer version and it worked today. Perhaps was some settings issue previously?
That's awesome. No problem. Not sure if the newer STB has anything to do with it but possible I guess. I haven't actually tried something like this. The closest is 2 Mikrotiks as a wds bridge. One connected to the router and one to the old HyppTV STB, the one without wifi built-in. I had to set multicast-helper=full also for this to work smoothly.
soonwai
post Nov 21 2017, 01:50 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(luthansa @ Nov 20 2017, 11:19 PM)
repost from diff thread
Hi, using Ubiquiti ERX and UAP lite. It's been great.
Currently using cable to connect to Hyyptv STB.
Any guide on how to connect Hypptv STB using wifi from the UAP Lite? Tq
I don't use UBNT but the concept is quite simple. Create a new wifi interface, say wlan2. Bridge this to vlan600. Connect your STB to wlan2.
soonwai
post Mar 16 2018, 01:35 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Mar 16 2018, 01:23 PM)
so far which router can do this wifi thingy for hypp tv ?
Mikrotik, of course. :-)

But really, any router where you can configure untagged vlan600 to an ssid.
soonwai
post Jul 3 2018, 11:03 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(mylee181 @ Jul 3 2018, 09:21 PM)
mind to share what's the password for full admin, using D link DIR-850L.
cannot edit username, only can fill in password column
Should be on a sticker somewhere. Admin@xxxx
soonwai
post Jul 4 2018, 12:14 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 3 2018, 11:39 PM)
I'm trying to find a homeplug for my HyppTV - I want to put my HyppTV to good use and someone recommended me  tl-pa4010 for homeplug  hmm.gif

Anyone uses this one and how reliable they are?  My house has a single phase wiring BTW hmm.gif
These are my Aztech Homeplugs. I plug them in and they work. Through rain or shine. They're there for me. Aztech Homeplugs. Power for your lines.
(*Batteries not included. Performance may vary from house to house. Risk of electrocution. Professional installation recommended)
soonwai
post Jul 5 2018, 02:44 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(perseides @ Jul 5 2018, 08:49 AM)
[attachmentid=9897458]

Hello sifus,

Refer to the schematics, I need to connect my STB and PC in the living room to the router via a homeplug.

Is there a way to reconfigure the router so that I do not have to change the wire to the router every time i use the PC (internet connection) and vice versa (HYppTV STB).

(NOTE It might be confusing but homeplug B had 2 ports.)

Does this require a VLAN trunking or smth???

Yeah, you’ll need vlans. There’s another thread with the details. I’ll dig it up later if you haven’t found it.

You can also achieve this with 2 separate sets of homeplugs but there’ll be interference so performance may be degraded.

Here you go:
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=87871705

My setup, roughly:
The red line can be anything. Homeplugs, cable, wifi, fibre, etc.

As silentvampire said, you’ll need vlan capable equipment and do a bit of homework. But no worry, plenty of guides around.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Jul 5 2018, 02:57 PM
soonwai
post Jul 17 2018, 04:50 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(yvliew @ Jul 16 2018, 11:50 AM)
hypptv box connected lan from router does not utilize your actual bandwidth right? It uses a dedicated bandwidth for hypptv.

So if you connect via wifi, does it use the bandwidth that is shared across other devices?
No, it won't. It's still using vlan600 with separate bw. However having a constant stream of wifi from router to STB will affect your overall wifi performance. Google "wifi collision avoidance" for more info.
soonwai
post Jul 21 2018, 02:19 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(aklwh @ Jul 21 2018, 11:56 AM)
Hi bro, currently im facing the same problem with only 1 wall jack. Can u share which model of router n switch on this setup?? Really appreciated. Thank u
Currently I'm using Mikrotik RG750Gr3 for the main router and my old Mikrotik RB2011UAS-2HnD as the switch.

The router can be any router that can handle VLANs. Likewise, the switch can be any switch or router that can handle VLANs.
soonwai
post Jul 25 2018, 04:34 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Alpha_Tay @ Jul 25 2018, 01:06 PM)
this D-Link DIR-842 review claim this router be able to do Wireless HyppTV / Unifi TV

https://www.blacktubi.com/review/d-link-dir-842-review/
You can ask him. blacktubi
soonwai
post Sep 12 2018, 04:06 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(AG469 @ Sep 12 2018, 12:04 PM)
hi bro, if i want to use setup like given picture is it required special router setup/setting or just plug and play? need to know before buying the ethernet switch. thanks.
Your routers need to be able to create a vlan trunk and likewise the switch needs to be vlan aware. Usually this means a managed switch.

As an example, I'm using a Mikrotik RB750Gr3 as my main router and a RB2011UAS as my vlan switch. The latter is a router but configured as a switch.
soonwai
post Sep 16 2018, 01:43 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 13 2018, 08:31 PM)
i cant find VLAN mapping for Guest WiFi network for Asus router.. is this even possiblel?
If no vlan setting then cannot. Some models can.
soonwai
post Oct 18 2018, 12:21 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Oct 17 2018, 11:31 PM)
No. TP-Link routers don't support HyppTV via Wifi.
So far need to restart the Powerline once a day. Not critical but annoying.

I've ordered TP-Link SG108E. Will try to setup once it's here.
Before I switched to using a vlan trunk, I used a set of Aztech Homeplugs for my HyppTV for almost 2 years, no problem or a need to restart. Single phase house electricity.
soonwai
post Jan 6 2019, 10:00 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Jan 6 2019, 09:26 PM)
Thanks for the reply. My house wiring is single phase and I do have AV POWERLINE but the old ones. Not sure if it’s still working or sufficient. My limitation with the powerline is that there’s only 2 plug point near the router and its already utilizing with 3-gang power socket for both. One of the reasons why Im looking at connecting wirelessly.

Anyone’s managed to pair with DIR-850L?
Should be no problem. HyppTV only need max 10Mbps. I've stopped using them but my old Aztech AV500 Homeplugs work pretty much flawlessly for HyppTV. I did a speed test over the AV500s and got around 300Mbps sustained. My house is also single phase. 1 Homeplug upstairs back-room and 1 for HyppTV downstairs living room.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 7 2019, 12:54 AM
soonwai
post Jun 26 2019, 07:58 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(SupperdiceD @ Jun 26 2019, 01:29 PM)
Been on the 500Mbps Turbo upgrade for months now

I just got a new router, DIR-880L and technician just delivered and installed a new top box, the EC6108V8 (I was away, family still around)

Took me 1 whole night setting up and the TV box keeps saying Central and Multiplexing Connectivity errors

Then when I open up the manual I notice:

1) Connect the Ethernet cable from the TV box to the port# of Residential Gateway - wait not the router!?!

2) Pick HyppTV(Streamyx) instead of HyppTV(Unifi)

Lo and behold - the IPTV login page showed up  bangwall.gif
In TM's parlance, the residential gateway is the router.
soonwai
post Dec 23 2019, 01:33 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Dec 23 2019, 07:53 AM)
Out of curiosity, I setup a spare D-Link DIR-850L as VLAN 600 AP, connected to router's Port 4, unplugged network cable from the STB, and connect the STB's Wifi to the D-Link. It works, but some channels were sometimes lagging,  some other channels were lagging alot, and changing channels took longer time.

The D-Link were inside store room below stairs, and the STB is in living room. Wifi strength at the STB around -55 dbm, so Wifi strength actually quite decent. Maybe a stronger AP works better. Maybe someone can lend me a spare C1200 I can try? tongue.gif

Wired setup still better. My typical setup is a single CAT 5E cable from store room to living room, carrying both Internet & HyppTV signal to STB / living room AP, via VLAN trunk.
I had the same problem with a Mikrotik AP. Mine was solved by turning on multicast-helper. For Mikrotik anyway, multicast will transmit at the slowest rate of the AP so I was getting pixelation, lags and other stuff associated with a slow transmit rate. multicast-helper on the Mikrotik changes the multicast MAC address to the MAC address of the device enabling the AP to transmit at higher rates.

If the DLink doesn't have such a feature, try setting the AP to N only.
soonwai
post Jun 2 2020, 01:04 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(sonnybfs @ Jun 1 2020, 12:40 AM)
Hi Dear Sifu here,

Need some help on my Hypptv Setup:

I am planning to Setup my HyppTV this way but i am not sure it work or not or how can i make it better, need some suggestion please.

My plan is from 1st Floor TM Alcatel Modem --> Asus RT86u Wireless Router --> Aztech Power Line In --> Ground Floor Aztech Power Line Out --> TP Link LS1005G 5 Port Switch --> One LAN Port connect to HyppTV and One LAN port connect to Tanix 6 Android TV Box.

From my Asus Router, can i plug in LAN Port 4 which is for HyppTV and then into Aztech PowerLine to go down to Ground Floor TP Link Switch before connecting HyppTV Set Top Box and my Tanix 6 Android Box, will Asus LAN Port 4 got a bandwidth Cap?

Currently I use Asus RT86u LAN Port 1 into Aztech Powerline and i can get 120Mps from Ground Floor Aztech Powerline out, was thinking this bandwidth is enough to share through a TP Link switch for both HyppTV and the Tanix 6 Android Box.

Dear Sifu here, can you share your experience will my plan work or is there any better way or any suggestion i can make it work out easier?

Thanks before hand
Both Asus LAN1 (internet) and Asus LAN4 (HyppTV) connecting to the same pair of HomePlugs won't work.

The internet and the HyppTV needs to be separated.

Either physically, 2 cables or 2 pairs of Homeplugs or virtually, using VLANs.

Something like this. The red line can be 2 cables or 2 pairs of Homeplugs if not using VLANs. If using VLANs, it can be one cable or one pair of Homeplugs. Red line can also be wifi. With VLANs, you'll need equipment which can do VLANs.

0.0359sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:41 PM