[WTA] Mini ITX Build, Recommendations?

TStoranino
post Nov 29 2015, 11:23 PM, updated 11y ago

158 posts

Hey guys, looking for help from all Sifus here.

I wanna upgrade my current rig (i7 4770k, H87+, Apacer 8GB, R9 270X, G700W, 1TB CAVIER BLUE, CRUCIAL 512SSD, CM Seidon 120XL) to a smaller form factor.

I understand that I'll have to change my motherboard to an ITX mobo. So, any recommendations? I prefably prefer of a red & black theme without breaking the bank. Budget around 400-450. Thinking of also picking up 2 Corsair Vengeance 4GB Ram in red to suit the new build too..

I also need a new ITX case but can't seem to make up my mind.. Any recommendations?

Any other recommendations in terms of upgrades guys?

thanks!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by toranino: Nov 29 2015, 11:23 PM
itadakimatsu
post Nov 30 2015, 01:14 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(toranino @ Nov 29 2015, 11:23 PM)
Hey guys, looking for help from all Sifus here.

I wanna upgrade my current rig (i7 4770k, H87+, Apacer 8GB, R9 270X, G700W, 1TB CAVIER BLUE, CRUCIAL 512SSD, CM Seidon 120XL) to a smaller form factor.

I understand that I'll have to change my motherboard to an ITX mobo. So, any recommendations? I prefably prefer of a red & black theme without breaking the bank. Budget around 400-450. Thinking of also picking up 2 Corsair Vengeance 4GB Ram in red to suit the new build too..

I also need a new ITX case but can't seem to make up my mind.. Any recommendations?

Any other recommendations in terms of upgrades guys?

thanks!! smile.gif
if itx case u need to figure out which type u prefer,shoebox case like sugo series or cm elite 110,120,130 or slim case like silverstone rvz01 and fractal node 202 or maybe the gorgeous lian li pc05 series(if u can get hold one la). if shoebox i prefer to use AIO cooling whereas if slim case can use low profile cooler

as fr red n black itx mobo the only one i can think of is MSI mobo,like z97i.

the rest of parts can reuse but please check the gpu clearance so that u wont have any issue later.

as fr mine,i use sg13 case with sfx psu,i5 4440,8gb ram and couple of drive. not that high end but shud be enough fr normal usage n casual gaming.
TStoranino
post Nov 30 2015, 01:34 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(itadakimatsu @ Nov 30 2015, 01:14 AM)
if itx case u need to figure out which type u prefer,shoebox case like sugo series or cm elite 110,120,130 or slim case like silverstone rvz01 and fractal node 202 or maybe the gorgeous lian li pc05 series(if u can get hold one la). if shoebox i prefer to use AIO cooling whereas if slim case can use low profile cooler

as fr red n black itx mobo the only one i can think of is MSI mobo,like z97i.

the rest of parts can reuse but please check the gpu clearance so that u wont have any issue later.

as fr mine,i use sg13 case with sfx psu,i5 4440,8gb ram and couple of drive. not that high end but shud be enough fr normal usage n casual gaming.
How's the performance of the Z97i? Worth it?

I got an offer for a second hand Elite 130 for RM120 still can nego abit I think.. If I can get to RM100 it'll be damn worth it...
There's a case that I kinda like too, Fractal Node 304. Any thoughts of it?

Btw, how's it like having an ITX?
itadakimatsu
post Nov 30 2015, 01:58 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(toranino @ Nov 30 2015, 01:34 AM)
How's the performance of the Z97i? Worth it?

I got an offer for a second hand Elite 130 for RM120 still can nego abit I think.. If I can get to RM100 it'll be damn worth it...
There's a case that I kinda like too, Fractal Node 304. Any thoughts of it?

Btw, how's it like having an ITX?
i'm not using msi z97i now,i recommend that since u said u need red n black theme mobo,coz thats the only itx mobo that i can think of for now that suits ur need. i'm using biostar hifi b85,need it since i have spare 512gb msata ssd.

nothing special with itx since i've been testing myself several setup for few years edi,i nvr setup rig using atx,at most using matx only...i can safely say that i oredi used most of the available itx casing in the market,barring lian li itx case since no distributor carry this brand anymore.

it depends on ur need,i will only use single gpu so SLI or Xfire is definitely not in my mind,not using extra pci slot also...good this with itx setup is i can minimize my workspace as little as possible.

0.0176sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:45 AM