Could Corsair 1GB DDR667 VS OCable to DDR800?

TSvegaSST
post Dec 7 2006, 02:05 AM, updated 19y ago

soon will upgrade my pc to c2d spec. need some info whether is it any of the
Corsair 1GB DDR667 ValueSelect model easily OCable to DDR800?
if no, maybe think about go to XMS series.

very appreciate to someone here can share your info. thanks.
sHawTY
post Dec 7 2006, 02:11 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

That depend on what kind of chipset it uses...

If it's using Micron D9, then i think oc'ing it to a DDR800 won't be a problem... smile.gif
TSvegaSST
post Dec 7 2006, 09:43 AM

I got it. thanks for your reply.
soulfly
post Dec 7 2006, 11:21 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 7 2006, 02:11 AM)
That depend on what kind of chipset it uses...

If it's using Micron D9, then i think oc'ing it to a DDR800 won't be a problem... smile.gif
All Micron DDR2 is named D9... but not all D9 is overclockable. D9 just indicates that it's DDR2 from Micron.

Overclockable Microns known so far are those of D9Gxx or D9Dxx.

D9Gxx is square, I mean really square, not rectangle or oval or heck not even round.

D9Dxx are the old ones, they are big rectangular chips which looks like DDR, but they're BGA, not TSOP. They are BIG RECTANGULAR chips, not small rectangular chips, and they're obsolete from the current production line.

Other Micron DDR2 cannot be considered overclockable, they even barely reach DDR2-700 sometimes.
yehlai
post Dec 7 2006, 12:01 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(vegaSST @ Dec 7 2006, 02:05 AM)
soon will upgrade my pc to c2d spec. need some info whether is it any of the
Corsair 1GB DDR667 ValueSelect model easily OCable to DDR800?
if no, maybe think about go to XMS series.

very appreciate to someone here can share your info. thanks.
For Corsair VS i dont think so.. i used CVS b4 and i sold it becoz its not good in OC. When u oc to 800-1000MHz, the lanterncy is so loose.. like 5-7-7-20.
Better get any Kingston VR with Hynix chips. Can OC better than CVS with lower lanterncy.. CL-4 i think.
Moreover Corsair chips is all relabel one, i hate tht becos we dunno wht chip we are buying.

QUOTE(soulfly @ Dec 7 2006, 11:21 AM)
All Micron DDR2 is named D9... but not all D9 is overclockable. D9 just indicates that it's DDR2 from Micron.

D9Gxx is square, I mean really square, not rectangle or oval or heck not even round.

D9Dxx are the old ones, they are big rectangular chips which looks like DDR, but they're BGA, not TSOP. They are BIG RECTANGULAR chips, not small rectangular chips, and they're obsolete from the current production line.

Other Micron DDR2 cannot be considered overclockable, they even barely reach DDR2-700 sometimes.
Wao nice info for me.. Thanks soulfly tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yehlai: Dec 7 2006, 12:04 PM
TSvegaSST
post Dec 7 2006, 02:08 PM

great to see your replied, yehlai and soulfly.
good info for me too.
mikelanding
post Dec 7 2006, 03:34 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 7 2006, 12:01 PM)
For Corsair VS i dont think so.. i used CVS b4 and i sold it becoz its not good in OC. When u oc to 800-1000MHz, the lanterncy is so loose.. like 5-7-7-20.
Better get any Kingston VR with Hynix chips. Can OC better than CVS with lower lanterncy.. CL-4 i think.
Moreover Corsair chips is all relabel one, i hate tht becos we dunno wht chip we are buying.
I would had said, depend on wat chip on it and yr luck. If U are lucky, U can clock above 800Mhz with ease. I got a pair of Corsair VS running DDR8002 4-4-4-12...running 24/7 on my previous setup.

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Dec 7 2006, 03:34 PM
yehlai
post Dec 7 2006, 03:56 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Corsair VS = Need a lot luck, becoz their chips are relabel.
Kingston VR = Just choose the Hynix chips, it perform good.

Last time my CVR using micron chips too, they said got brown dot at the corner of the chip. Buy o'c result so-so only. Moreover.. cant see wht chip they using, only can see brown dot.. not reliable.

This post has been edited by yehlai: Dec 7 2006, 03:57 PM
wongzai
post Dec 12 2006, 03:15 PM

780 posts

i using 512 mb kingston VR 667 * 2 ....n now running 800 at cl4....
yehlai
post Dec 12 2006, 03:17 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(wongzai @ Dec 12 2006, 03:15 PM)
Hynix chips?? not bad.. tried 4-4-4-12 or 4-4-4-10 ??
gengstapo
post Dec 12 2006, 03:27 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

just received micron ddr2 4200u yesterday & the chip were d9dgk

havent test any higher than 400Mhz yet, but im wondering is micron chippy need higher vdimm than hynix c4? blush.gif
wongzai
post Dec 12 2006, 03:47 PM

780 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 12 2006, 03:17 PM)
Hynix chips?? not bad.. tried 4-4-4-12 or 4-4-4-10 ??
1 is hynix smile.gif , another is duno wat la...sms?? sad.gif
em..trying at 4- 4- 4- 12 onli....
yehlai
post Dec 12 2006, 03:50 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(wongzai @ Dec 12 2006, 03:47 PM)
1 is hynix  smile.gif , another is duno wat la...sms?? sad.gif 
em..trying at 4- 4- 4- 12 onli....
I think 800Mhz can use 4-4-4-10.. coz its just mild o'c for hynix 667

This post has been edited by yehlai: Dec 12 2006, 03:50 PM
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Dec 12 2006, 07:19 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

my 895 can't go lower than 23... sad.gif
yehlai
post Dec 12 2006, 09:35 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Dec 12 2006, 07:19 PM)
U mean your Corsair xms??
895Mhz timing is wht for now?? Try feed some vDimm brows.gif
tatayoung
post Dec 12 2006, 11:17 PM

I'm the boss of me...
950 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Dec 7 2006, 11:21 AM)

Bang on target.
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Dec 13 2006, 01:14 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Dec 12 2006, 10:35 PM)
U mean your Corsair xms??
895Mhz timing is wht for now?? Try feed some vDimm brows.gif
forgot to do tat...doh.gif but the 1st was 4 and the last is 23...
vassalle
post Dec 13 2006, 01:50 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(wongzai @ Dec 12 2006, 03:15 PM)
To those of you running the KVR 667 @ 800, whats the voltage u use for it? 2.2 or 2.3? Hopefully its lower..

Btw, if oc KVR upto 800 level, need active cooling or not? sweat.gif
DarkForce
post Dec 13 2006, 03:02 PM

short thinking syndrom
544 posts

if u can add active cooling...
but it ok to hav good air ventilation in ur case....
yehlai
post Dec 13 2006, 05:10 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(vassalle @ Dec 13 2006, 01:50 PM)
To those of you running the KVR 667 @ 800, whats the voltage u use for it? 2.2 or 2.3? Hopefully its lower..

Btw, if oc KVR upto 800 level, need active cooling or not? sweat.gif
default vDimm is 1.8v.
800Mhz i think should be 2.1v or less.
vassalle
post Dec 13 2006, 08:15 PM

610 posts

Thank you for the explanation sifus. notworthy.gif

@ 2.1 - 2.2 vDimm.. how crucial is active cooling? say that i plan to leave the PC on for quite a long time. sweat.gif
yehlai
post Dec 13 2006, 08:35 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Normally RAM dont come with active cooling.. RAM sinks are passive cooling too. About 800Mhz 2.0v.. this guy here
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...dpost&p=9546766

using Hynix 533 o'c @800Mhz only use 2.0v with preety good timing.

This post has been edited by yehlai: Dec 13 2006, 08:47 PM
@meno
post Dec 14 2006, 11:55 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

I've seen someone's sig with a Mushkin DDR2 533 overclocked to DDR 900 if not mistaken at 4-4-4-12.
Couldn't recall his ID though.

This post has been edited by @meno: Dec 14 2006, 11:57 AM
DarkForce
post Dec 14 2006, 03:27 PM

short thinking syndrom
544 posts

it can eat high voltage oso.. but depand on their chip...
mushkin isn't in VR rite??
@meno
post Dec 15 2006, 03:18 AM

2,386 posts

I finally saw the sig again.
It belongs to a forumer "mruzian"
He's doing DDR900, 4-4-4-12 on 2.1v on his mushkin DDR2 533.
I wonder is the mushkin that he's using the mushkin that Viewnet is selling for RM190 per stick for 512mb.

This post has been edited by @meno: Dec 15 2006, 03:21 AM
lohwenli
post Feb 15 2007, 11:32 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Basically kingston will use the most easily available affordable chip and market it under their brand (I think they also buy PCBs, but I'm not sure). Fortunately they don't do any relabeling on the chips, so the is a chance you might find a good chipset when you're looking in shops.

Corsair on the other hand, although they do the same thing they completely relabel their chips. There is NO way to find out if the VS you get is good or bad at OC-you can only guess by OCing it and noting the pattern of voltage/speed combinations you get. However IMHO generally Corsair uses slightly better chips than Kingston.

Summary
Kingston-do your research, and search shop after shop for the chipset(s) you're looking for and you might get some cool OC rams for budget price. Prepare for a LOT of searching.
Corsair-cross your fingers and just buy. This is ram lottery. Hopefully you get a good one.
BlackThyra87
post Feb 18 2007, 06:06 PM

Can't be Mad.
1,643 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Dec 12 2006, 07:19 PM)
im using the same ram as yours. but i have difficulties ramping it up to 800MHz.

whats ur settings? (voltage, timings)

and whats ur ram IC? mine is XMS5402v8.1 PROMOS chip (from the RAMGUY)

This post has been edited by BlackThyra87: Feb 19 2007, 06:08 PM
CV6149
post Feb 19 2007, 03:26 AM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

well here is mine........
im still in the course of pushing it more....
burn n test,burn and test......

hopefully this is good. voltage is at 2.0v

This post has been edited by CV6149: Feb 19 2007, 03:27 AM

vailance
post Feb 23 2007, 12:10 AM

wat??
841 posts

wondering value ran oc from 667@800 no need to stick extra heatsink on the chip? wont overheat?
CV6149
post Feb 23 2007, 07:06 AM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

nope...shud not be a problem with heat..
its due to ddr2 voltage spec.low voltage compare to DDR.
but still depend on the voltage use for oc.
Crazyboyrs
post Mar 3 2007, 01:13 AM

1,112 posts

QUOTE(CV6149 @ Feb 19 2007, 03:26 AM)
well here is mine........
im still in the course of pushing it more....
burn n test,burn and test......

hopefully this is good. voltage is at 2.0v
Is ur ram is Corsair Value Select? Mine only can perform 800mhz @ 5-5-5-15
-pWs-
post Mar 3 2007, 01:20 AM

8,545 posts

Last time my corsair value select can do 815Mhz at 4-4-4-12 at vdimm 2.2 if not mistaken smile.gif

-pWs-
CV6149
post Mar 3 2007, 06:50 PM

La Furia Roja!!
1,347 posts

QUOTE(Crazyboyrs @ Mar 3 2007, 01:13 AM)
Is ur ram is Corsair Value Select? Mine only can perform 800mhz @ 5-5-5-15
mushkin 667
alexkhoo
post Mar 29 2007, 05:03 PM

128 posts

i am using CVS DDR667...
how to know is a good chipset or bad chipset..??

sHawTY
post Mar 29 2007, 05:11 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(alexkhoo @ Mar 29 2007, 05:03 PM)
i am using CVS DDR667...
how to know is a good chipset or bad chipset..??
Take a look on the chipset itself.
Then state here every single word you can find on the chipset. thumbup.gif
aliex87
post Mar 31 2007, 12:04 PM

376 posts

thats shhhhhwwweettt!~
serez
post Apr 1 2007, 11:49 AM

serez beznez
1,231 posts

i`m using cvs too. any chances of o/c this ram? brows.gif
another q. most of cvs using what cip aa? is it very rare to find micron on cvs?
kalakatu
post Apr 1 2007, 12:58 PM

Insanely Addictive
2,323 posts

QUOTE(serez @ Apr 1 2007, 11:49 AM)
i`m using cvs too. any chances of o/c this ram? brows.gif
another q. most of cvs using what cip aa? is it very rare to find micron on cvs?
well to see the result u have to try oc it first..
alexkhoo
post Apr 1 2007, 04:00 PM

128 posts

my corsair chipset there got this number :
64M8CFEG
PS0900707
XAA236-F93G

how to set the timing/...??

Added on April 2, 2007, 4:08 pmanybody wat chipset of my corsair VS ???

at chipset got this number

64M8CFEG
PS0900707
XAA236-F93G

This post has been edited by alexkhoo: Apr 2 2007, 04:08 PM
sHawTY
post Apr 4 2007, 04:35 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(alexkhoo @ Apr 1 2007, 04:00 PM)
64M8CFEG
PS0900707
XAA236-F93G
Not sure what chipset is that.
Perhaps if you could take some pictures, it'll help better in explaining what chipset is that.

It maybe a "chapalang" chipset. laugh.gif
Or it maybe a Micron D9 chipset relabeled. brows.gif

I suggest you to take a closer picture on that chipset, take a very clear picture on that chipset. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 4 2007, 04:36 PM
alexkhoo
post Apr 4 2007, 04:38 PM

128 posts

oh...okok...
hopefully not chapalang la...
lohwenli
post Apr 4 2007, 11:00 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Corsair relabels all their chipsets, and its not possible to check CVS chipsets even if you're working in Corsair-you can only check for their high end series like XMS and Dominator. ValueSelects chipset information is classified or non-existant, most you can do is check who they are buying from, and hope you get one of the better ones.
alexkhoo
post Apr 5 2007, 02:33 PM

128 posts

lol...
then no need to know the chipset...

Amedion
post Apr 5 2007, 03:55 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

What timing is good?

My timing is 3-4-4-8-16.. Very funny..
See most of people using 4-4-4-4-12
alexkhoo
post Apr 5 2007, 04:10 PM

128 posts

4-4-4-4-12 timing sure suit for all RAM..??
or depend the RAM chipset..?
lohwenli
post Apr 7 2007, 01:19 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(alexkhoo @ Apr 5 2007, 02:33 PM)
lol...
then no need to know the chipset...
Well, its good to know, since if you know the chipset and batch you can easily find out its OC ability even without trying it out. Up to now, I've yet to find out who does Corsair buy its Valueselect chipsets from. All I know is that they buy from more than one chipmaker-Valueselect OC ability is unusually inconsistent to be from a single chipset batch.

QUOTE(Amedion @ Apr 5 2007, 03:55 PM)
What timing is good?

My timing is 3-4-4-8-16.. Very funny..
See most of people using 4-4-4-4-12
QUOTE(alexkhoo @ Apr 5 2007, 04:10 PM)
Slower timings will usually allow for higher overclocking, though sometimes lower clocks and tighter timings are better. Above DDR800 there is usually minimal increase in real-life performance, so 4-4-4-x is usually a common choice as its not too slow but still allows for adequate OCing with easy to find, but better than average chipsets.
HanevE
post Apr 9 2007, 11:20 AM

125 posts

Twinmos Value RAM (i think it's Powerchip chipset)

it's my first DDR2 RAM,using this before i using Micron ram.chg to micron coz i thoght this twinmos ram is just a crap..

rite now my friend borrow me this ram, n i ask him to OC the ram..

then he done OC this ram at divider DDR800 @ 411MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V shocking.gif

I'm very very shock aa

This post has been edited by HanevE: Apr 9 2007, 11:30 AM
yqric
post Apr 10 2007, 07:39 PM

35 posts

Just a question, let say im not very familiar with these OC thingy and I would like to get some RAM just for normal use.

Is it really matter to get those RAM with nice chips like Micron or Hynix etc, or just simply get whatever I can get from the shop not considering what chips I can get as long as its from Kingston or Corsair.
sHawTY
post Apr 10 2007, 07:58 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(yqric @ Apr 10 2007, 07:39 PM)
Just a question, let say im not very familiar with these OC thingy and I would like to get some RAM just for normal use.

Is it really matter to get those RAM with nice chips like Micron or Hynix etc, or just simply get whatever I can get from the shop not considering what chips I can get as long as its from Kingston or Corsair.
If you're into overclocking, then the chipsets like micron is a good point for you to buy rams.

But if you're not into overclocking, those rams with normal AKA chapalang chipset is considered good for normal use.

Those rams that uses Micron D9GKX chipset is the best rams. wub.gif
D9GKX is the king of overclocking chipset. thumbup.gif
D9GKX has the highest potential in overclocking. wink.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 10 2007, 07:58 PM
lohwenli
post Apr 10 2007, 08:05 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

For normal use it doesn't really matter what chip is it, all ram WILL work at the default spec or else you can RMA it. What counts is that you get a spec decent enough for your use and there is good warranty; Kingston and Corsair are good bets.

Its only when overclocking that the chip matters. Lousy chips won't overclock far no matter what you do.
yqric
post Apr 10 2007, 08:13 PM

35 posts

Thanks for enlighten me.

cheers biggrin.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Apr 20 2007, 03:29 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(yqric @ Apr 10 2007, 08:39 PM)
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 10 2007, 08:58 PM)
QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 10 2007, 09:05 PM)
I've tried OEM cap palang DDR266 512MB RAM b4... really depends on ur luck... among 10 piece, 4 not stable, and 2 can't work... advance module chip if i not mistaken... unsure.gif
lohwenli
post Apr 20 2007, 06:37 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Apr 20 2007, 03:29 PM)
I've tried OEM cap palang DDR266 512MB RAM b4... really depends on ur luck... among 10 piece, 4 not stable, and 2 can't work... advance module chip if i not mistaken... unsure.gif
If they're new then you should go back to the shop and demand a replacement or refund. How the hell can a shop sell ppl faulty stuff (unless the buyer us buying with understanding that its faulty)? Not stable at stock means faulty, apa lagi if not working.

And yes, lifetime warranty is pretty much standard these days, there's no reason to skimp and get anything less.
t3chn0m4nc3r
post May 27 2007, 01:01 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 20 2007, 07:37 PM)
If they're new then you should go back to the shop and demand a replacement or refund. How the hell can a shop sell ppl faulty stuff (unless the buyer us buying with understanding that its faulty)? Not stable at stock means faulty,  apa lagi if not working.

And yes, lifetime warranty is pretty much standard these days, there's no reason to skimp and get anything less.
yeah... i know... but it's cheaper than Kingston by RM50... wat to do... ppl also doing business only ma... of course already demand refund la... they replace wif real Kingston but still Advance Module... sad.gif nvm la... already sold all to home users who don OC... so no prob... nod.gif but i already anti Advance Module liao... i now only see Hynix, and Samsung... icon_rolleyes.gif
SlayerXT
post May 27 2007, 10:09 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

I heard there is many kind of D9 micron chips used on value ram. But usually going for DDR2-800 is easy.
@meno
post May 28 2007, 12:38 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ May 27 2007, 10:09 PM)
I heard there is many kind of D9 micron chips used on value ram. But usually going for DDR2-800 is easy.
Basically, most Micron D9s should be able to do DDR2 800 with ease.
t3chn0m4nc3r
post May 30 2007, 04:16 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 28 2007, 01:38 AM)
Basically, most Micron D9s should be able to do DDR2 800 with ease.
i can do more than 800... blink.gif i haven't open my RAM sink yet so dunno wat chip la... most probably Hynix i think... or Samsung... unsure.gif
Vtec(Rock)
post May 30 2007, 05:55 PM

500 posts

i can do 5-5-5-14 2.2v at ddr1000mhz at corsair value series with bribane 3600+!woh corsair rock!!!post out screen shoot soon.just order 20 unit from corsair suppier.who interest can pm me.nice ram and best value for money who wan oc.

This post has been edited by Vtec(Rock): May 30 2007, 07:58 PM
storm88
post Jun 1 2007, 05:55 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(Vtec(Rock) @ May 30 2007, 06:55 PM)
i can do 5-5-5-14 2.2v at ddr1000mhz at corsair value series with bribane 3600+!woh corsair rock!!!post out screen shoot soon.just order 20 unit from corsair suppier.who interest can pm me.nice ram and best value for money who wan oc.
tried Team 667 with can do 1100 with 2.3V tim. smile.gif
duo8668
post Jun 1 2007, 06:49 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 1 2007, 05:55 PM)
thr is another forumer called gigaleon who make it into 1200 rclxms.gif
mayb dis RAM really full potential ... but as he told me the stability ... so so ...
SlayerXT
post Jun 2 2007, 08:14 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 1 2007, 05:55 PM)
TEAM VALUE?! shocking.gif
gengstapo
post Jun 2 2007, 10:01 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(alexkhoo @ Apr 5 2007, 04:10 PM)
i would say it depend on the chipset used on the RAM
at default on their respected speed, mostly run on 4-4-4-12 but when it come into overcloking, the one with more potential chip would maintain tight timing at higher speed

u know what i mean.. smile.gif
Henry
post Jun 3 2007, 07:19 AM

276 posts

My Corsair VS DDR667 1GB x2 can do 500 54412 2.25v, promos chip.

SlayerXT
post Jun 3 2007, 05:44 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Promos chip really done well here. I heard TEAM Dark series also use one of this promos chip.

0.0271sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:01 PM