4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Could Corsair 1GB DDR667 VS OCable to DDR800?

alexkhoo
post Apr 4 2007, 04:38 PM

128 posts

oh...okok...
hopefully not chapalang la...
lohwenli
post Apr 4 2007, 11:00 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Corsair relabels all their chipsets, and its not possible to check CVS chipsets even if you're working in Corsair-you can only check for their high end series like XMS and Dominator. ValueSelects chipset information is classified or non-existant, most you can do is check who they are buying from, and hope you get one of the better ones.
alexkhoo
post Apr 5 2007, 02:33 PM

128 posts

lol...
then no need to know the chipset...

Amedion
post Apr 5 2007, 03:55 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

What timing is good?

My timing is 3-4-4-8-16.. Very funny..
See most of people using 4-4-4-4-12
alexkhoo
post Apr 5 2007, 04:10 PM

128 posts

4-4-4-4-12 timing sure suit for all RAM..??
or depend the RAM chipset..?
lohwenli
post Apr 7 2007, 01:19 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(alexkhoo @ Apr 5 2007, 02:33 PM)
lol...
then no need to know the chipset...
Well, its good to know, since if you know the chipset and batch you can easily find out its OC ability even without trying it out. Up to now, I've yet to find out who does Corsair buy its Valueselect chipsets from. All I know is that they buy from more than one chipmaker-Valueselect OC ability is unusually inconsistent to be from a single chipset batch.

QUOTE(Amedion @ Apr 5 2007, 03:55 PM)
What timing is good?

My timing is 3-4-4-8-16.. Very funny..
See most of people using 4-4-4-4-12
QUOTE(alexkhoo @ Apr 5 2007, 04:10 PM)
4-4-4-4-12 timing sure suit for all RAM..??
or depend the RAM chipset..?
Slower timings will usually allow for higher overclocking, though sometimes lower clocks and tighter timings are better. Above DDR800 there is usually minimal increase in real-life performance, so 4-4-4-x is usually a common choice as its not too slow but still allows for adequate OCing with easy to find, but better than average chipsets.
HanevE
post Apr 9 2007, 11:20 AM

125 posts

Twinmos Value RAM (i think it's Powerchip chipset)

it's my first DDR2 RAM,using this before i using Micron ram.chg to micron coz i thoght this twinmos ram is just a crap..

rite now my friend borrow me this ram, n i ask him to OC the ram..

then he done OC this ram at divider DDR800 @ 411MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V shocking.gif

I'm very very shock aa

This post has been edited by HanevE: Apr 9 2007, 11:30 AM
yqric
post Apr 10 2007, 07:39 PM

35 posts

Just a question, let say im not very familiar with these OC thingy and I would like to get some RAM just for normal use.

Is it really matter to get those RAM with nice chips like Micron or Hynix etc, or just simply get whatever I can get from the shop not considering what chips I can get as long as its from Kingston or Corsair.
sHawTY
post Apr 10 2007, 07:58 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(yqric @ Apr 10 2007, 07:39 PM)
Just a question, let say im not very familiar with these OC thingy and I would like to get some RAM just for normal use.

Is it really matter to get those RAM with nice chips like Micron or Hynix etc, or just simply get whatever I can get from the shop not considering what chips I can get as long as its from Kingston or Corsair.
If you're into overclocking, then the chipsets like micron is a good point for you to buy rams.

But if you're not into overclocking, those rams with normal AKA chapalang chipset is considered good for normal use.

Those rams that uses Micron D9GKX chipset is the best rams. wub.gif
D9GKX is the king of overclocking chipset. thumbup.gif
D9GKX has the highest potential in overclocking. wink.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 10 2007, 07:58 PM
lohwenli
post Apr 10 2007, 08:05 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

For normal use it doesn't really matter what chip is it, all ram WILL work at the default spec or else you can RMA it. What counts is that you get a spec decent enough for your use and there is good warranty; Kingston and Corsair are good bets.

Its only when overclocking that the chip matters. Lousy chips won't overclock far no matter what you do.
yqric
post Apr 10 2007, 08:13 PM

35 posts

Thanks for enlighten me.

cheers biggrin.gif
t3chn0m4nc3r
post Apr 20 2007, 03:29 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(yqric @ Apr 10 2007, 08:39 PM)
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 10 2007, 08:58 PM)
QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 10 2007, 09:05 PM)
I've tried OEM cap palang DDR266 512MB RAM b4... really depends on ur luck... among 10 piece, 4 not stable, and 2 can't work... advance module chip if i not mistaken... unsure.gif
lohwenli
post Apr 20 2007, 06:37 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(t3chn0m4nc3r @ Apr 20 2007, 03:29 PM)
I've tried OEM cap palang DDR266 512MB RAM b4... really depends on ur luck... among 10 piece, 4 not stable, and 2 can't work... advance module chip if i not mistaken... unsure.gif
If they're new then you should go back to the shop and demand a replacement or refund. How the hell can a shop sell ppl faulty stuff (unless the buyer us buying with understanding that its faulty)? Not stable at stock means faulty, apa lagi if not working.

And yes, lifetime warranty is pretty much standard these days, there's no reason to skimp and get anything less.
t3chn0m4nc3r
post May 27 2007, 01:01 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 20 2007, 07:37 PM)
If they're new then you should go back to the shop and demand a replacement or refund. How the hell can a shop sell ppl faulty stuff (unless the buyer us buying with understanding that its faulty)? Not stable at stock means faulty,  apa lagi if not working.

And yes, lifetime warranty is pretty much standard these days, there's no reason to skimp and get anything less.
yeah... i know... but it's cheaper than Kingston by RM50... wat to do... ppl also doing business only ma... of course already demand refund la... they replace wif real Kingston but still Advance Module... sad.gif nvm la... already sold all to home users who don OC... so no prob... nod.gif but i already anti Advance Module liao... i now only see Hynix, and Samsung... icon_rolleyes.gif
SlayerXT
post May 27 2007, 10:09 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

I heard there is many kind of D9 micron chips used on value ram. But usually going for DDR2-800 is easy.
@meno
post May 28 2007, 12:38 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ May 27 2007, 10:09 PM)
I heard there is many kind of D9 micron chips used on value ram. But usually going for DDR2-800 is easy.
Basically, most Micron D9s should be able to do DDR2 800 with ease.
t3chn0m4nc3r
post May 30 2007, 04:16 PM

Teh Necron Lord
4,139 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ May 28 2007, 01:38 AM)
Basically, most Micron D9s should be able to do DDR2 800 with ease.
i can do more than 800... blink.gif i haven't open my RAM sink yet so dunno wat chip la... most probably Hynix i think... or Samsung... unsure.gif
Vtec(Rock)
post May 30 2007, 05:55 PM

500 posts

i can do 5-5-5-14 2.2v at ddr1000mhz at corsair value series with bribane 3600+!woh corsair rock!!!post out screen shoot soon.just order 20 unit from corsair suppier.who interest can pm me.nice ram and best value for money who wan oc.

This post has been edited by Vtec(Rock): May 30 2007, 07:58 PM
storm88
post Jun 1 2007, 05:55 PM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(Vtec(Rock) @ May 30 2007, 06:55 PM)
i can do 5-5-5-14 2.2v at ddr1000mhz at corsair value series with bribane 3600+!woh corsair rock!!!post out screen shoot soon.just order 20 unit from corsair suppier.who interest can pm me.nice ram and best value for money who wan oc.
tried Team 667 with can do 1100 with 2.3V tim. smile.gif
duo8668
post Jun 1 2007, 06:49 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 1 2007, 05:55 PM)
tried Team 667 with can do 1100 with 2.3V tim. smile.gif
thr is another forumer called gigaleon who make it into 1200 rclxms.gif
mayb dis RAM really full potential ... but as he told me the stability ... so so ...

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0211sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:17 PM