Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

zerox888
post Aug 4 2016, 10:17 AM

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 4 2016, 09:24 AM)
Actually Pedalspot's prices are always higher when they take over a product rights. Look at Rockshox nowadays. Anyway, Brompton's prices were very hard hit by our currency's slide. They started with 5.8K if I am not mistaken and now it is in the 7K region for the 6 speed. If you are really interested, there are 4 more units here in Taiping from the 1st batch. Initially the minimum order was 10, so I guess the shop sold 6 already and really trying to get rid of the other 4.  When I moved here, I had the chance to actually buy 2 (EPF withdrawal) and the boss says he can give me a very good price (old price) and my guess was less than 12K for 2 bikes but he did not want to confirm till I actually wanted.

So, I was sleepless for a few nights, whether to get it or not. Then I decided to get another mini velo to complement the other that my wife rides, which is more practical to me as I don't need to commute anywhere and I can fit in either 2 mountain bikes or 2 mini velos into my car easily (without any racks) . KTMB Komuter here allows bikes for an extra RM2.00 per bike (full size) so Brompton doesn't not make sense to my needs.
The mini velo (modified with straight bar) are much more agile, lighter, faster, wider gear range. more comfort (chromoly) and most of all it cost less than a Brompton even with a 20 speed Ultegra groupset.

That's why I skipped the Brompton which I have been pondering on since my Dahon days. But if you are really interested, head here to Taiping, only 4 left! Maybe slightly less than 6K,brand new! 2 black edition (racing green and lagoon blue) and black and the final one red.
Hi Sifu etigge,

May I know which shop in Taiping that is selling this Brompton?. Thanks....
zerox888
post Aug 4 2016, 09:16 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 4 2016, 05:20 PM)
PM you already  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks.... thumbup.gif

zerox888
post Aug 20 2016, 07:37 PM

Hi all, Anyone tried Marathon Plus and Big Apple for their folding bike? Which is better for touring? Thanks...
zerox888
post Aug 21 2016, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 21 2016, 03:54 AM)
When I first bought a foldie, it came with a Rotolo, a Dahon contracted tire. Then I got another used Speed P8 which comes with Big Apples. The ride can be cushy but the resistance is very obvious compared to even the Rotolo which is 1.75 compared to Big Apple's 2.0. So, I changed to Maxxis DTH as I wanted more grip on sandy or gravel trails. Maxxis DTH are actually BMX's tires but it suited the Dahon well. Grip was good, rolling was good compared to Big Apples and because it was a folding tire with kevlar bead, it was also very much lighter than the Big Apples. The 2.0 Maxxis DTH cannot fit onto a Dahon Speed as the tire profile was squarish unlike the Big Apples which are rounded. The sides was brushing the chain stays and some paint wears off. So, I still maintain Maxxis DTH but smaller 1.75 ones. And I used it till it started to get more punctures, it wears off very fast in fact. The compound was soft and thins out very fast, even a small grain of sand can get embedded into it and then slowly gets deeper and finally punctures it.

It was then I switch to Marathon Supreme and the little treads it have actually improves rolling resistance. It also last longer and also less punctures than the Maxxis. So far the best tires on foldies I have used was the Marathon Supreme. The Marathon Racer is slightly smaller, 1.5 but it has more treads. Big Apples........hmmm, if you ride like I did those days, 100 kilometers at a time or Genting Peras every weekend, the resistance is going to wear you off. But if it is a casual ride with friends, a round in Putrajaya or the housing estate, no doubt the Big Apples will be good for bumping over kerbs or running over roots but on long haul, it's going to sap your energy.

Then again, it all have to do with yourself. If you can't ride strong, even the Kenda Kontender will not help you. There are people who can ride long distance with even Snow Bikes aka Monster Bikes.

IMO.............for touring get the Marathon Supreme or Plus. Can even buy a spare one and keep it in the bag as they come in folding form too. I think the Marathon Supreme with it's semi slick form is still the best.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks... Sifu..
zerox888
post Aug 21 2016, 02:35 PM

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Aug 21 2016, 02:54 AM)
Neva tried the marathon plus, but currently using the big apple. Definitely a much more cushy and comfy ride compared to normal thin profile..and i guess it should be good and comfy for long haul in touring. Check the web, some schwalbe test said the rolling resistance is just as good the thinner profiles. I do not personally experience much higher rolling resistance compared to my previous stock thinner tyres, yet it gives comfort qualities, and better puncture protection. I think the marathon series is geared more for longetivity, i suppose.
Im sure many sifus here like desastar and etigge can provide valuable input.
👍🏻
zerox888
post Aug 24 2016, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(denyhazrin @ Aug 23 2016, 08:51 PM)
Rolling reaistance- 7/10
thumbsup.gif
zerox888
post Aug 6 2017, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 6 2017, 08:16 PM)
i know sometime brand do make some different interms of quality and riding feel. dahon quality are different than java. for me, i had ride java before, the only different is the wobble and folding mechanisme different on both brand.

dahon have been into folding industry for more than 35years. the rnd do have improvement from time to time. u pay some premium price for a good frame compare to gearing and other component. and off coz, all can be upgraded accept the frame.

here is some proof of it.

this afternoon my friend rb had a spoke broken and flat tyre. it happens 3km before we reach our rv point to end the ride. so i had to carry him in oder to save time.

my weight is 80kg
my friend weight is 80kg
the bike weight with accessories is more than 12kg

the total load on my dahon speed p8 is 160kg and still rocks without any problem 😉
wow ur rear rack really power la.. can withstand 80kg

0.1130sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:27 AM