Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

helven
post Aug 6 2017, 01:04 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

Hi.

I am looking for foldie for my wife, budget set at around 1.5k
I come across with Java Fit and Dahon Vybe D7 2017 which fall under my budget, anyone can provide some explanation what is the important thing I should concern?
Java Fit is Shimano Sora 18 speed while Dahon Vybe is Shimano Revo 7 speed.

Is 7 speed sufficient? My wife is not a cyclist and not so good in physical activity, feel free to name me other model that falls within my budget.

Thanks so much!
helven
post Aug 6 2017, 05:43 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Aug 6 2017, 04:53 PM)
Dahon "American branded made in China"
Java "China brand made in China"
If you are those who swear never buying proton,  Dahon is your bike.
If you value function over brand, buy the Java fit.

*PS, Dahon boss is a Hong Kong born American…
I'm not a brand guy, I want it to be usable and durable and doesn't need to upgrade anytime soon, of course there need to be sparepart available if anything spoiled.
Is 18 speed sora good to go for foldie? Because for rb, sora groupset is a no go. Anything else I should take into consideration?

Is the bike usable for touring as well? I plan to carry the bike with me while on local road trip. It is a fun activity to do I think,

This post has been edited by helven: Aug 6 2017, 05:45 PM
helven
post Aug 6 2017, 06:37 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Aug 6 2017, 05:55 PM)
Don't think too much. 1.5k only get you so far.
Sora no good for RB. Hmmmm… u gotta raise your budget liao… say 3.5k maybe…
Really, it's all about how big a budget you have…
Its very normal to set a budget and demand more with the same money. I lagi worst,I want a 2kg bike for 150ringgit. wink.gif
Haha okok, thanks bro.

0.1163sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:27 PM