Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion
Bensonleemun
Nov 26 2015, 09:43 PM
Hello fellow foldies... So i recently got myself a mongoose bike.may i know if its possible to upgrade my single chainring to a 60t one? Currently using shimano tourney. How much is the estimated cost?
Bensonleemun
Nov 26 2015, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 26 2015, 10:29 PM) wah u wana cnc the 60T?  Yeah... Is it possible ah? And where do i find it...idk if its possible to fit into my bike😮😮😮kinda hard to find also...
Bensonleemun
Nov 26 2015, 11:02 PM
I wonder how much does it cost to get it done...
Bensonleemun
Nov 26 2015, 11:05 PM
Oh btw crankset can use road bike one right
Bensonleemun
Nov 27 2015, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 26 2015, 11:14 PM) if the mongoose use square bb with removable crank, u just need to get a pair of bcd 130 crank. and longer chain... hollow bb oso can as long it can fit the mongoose... i no kaki mod, so kenot answer ur Q, gota wait for sifus....  I see... Thanks for enlighting👍👍👍 probably will get used with current chainring before upgrading
Bensonleemun
Nov 27 2015, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 27 2015, 11:08 AM) Another option is to get an even smaller cassette combinations. There are cassette that starts from 9 cogs instead of 11. You just need to trawl through the internet. Seems more logical too , rather than changing the front chain ring to 60T which actually looks ridiculous. If you can find the 9 cog, the gear is even higher than a 60 teeth chain ring. 60T/11cogs = ratio 5.454
53T/9 cogs = ratio 5.888 55T/9 cogs = ratio 6.111 58T/9 cogs = ratio 6.444 I come to realise that many riders wants to mod their bikes without actually understanding the theory behind the mods  Study the facts because sometimes the general public is not always right. Your fellow riders might have done it and even he has bungled the mod and is regretting, he will never admit it. If this is the case, you will be blindly following without even realizing. FOR REFERENCE the normal ratio , 53T/11 cogs = 4.818 ( for those not familiar, the ratio here means the number of revolution the rear wheels turns on one turn of the crank )Hmm... The smallest cassette i could find was 11t and it has to be bought from amazon😅😅😅 so i think i would still stick to the crankset as oem crank isnt in good condition... So do u suggest a 60t chainring or perhaps a smaller one? This post has been edited by Bensonleemun: Nov 27 2015, 01:45 PM
Bensonleemun
Nov 27 2015, 08:47 PM
QUOTE(desastar @ Nov 27 2015, 08:10 PM) Hmmm... 60T chainring? Are you sure? How big are your legs?? That little bike with the 70T chainring is just crazy. I don't get it..... Say you can get it to 30-35kmh, it will be like why?? LOL Maybe 60t maximum... I dont think my engine can tahan 70t chainring.crazy sia😅 just wanna make my bike as quick as possible without burning a hole in my pocket😁
Bensonleemun
Nov 27 2015, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(etigge @ Nov 27 2015, 10:10 PM) Ada lah bang!  Also not expensive lorr. You can get from Amazon, my first google but I didn't check further. It's Shimano Capreo. The price is USD37.54 free shipping in US but don't know about here lah. Here's the link, Mau cepat-cepat beli lorr, stocks not many left. http://www.amazon.com/Shimano-CS-HG70-Moun...e/dp/B00STRLUHIhttp://i1284.photobucket.com/albums/a566/k...zpsjvtf6y1z.jpg Thank you fellow sifus for enlighting... Hopefully will learn from you guys... I'll get 56t chainring and maybe upgrade my cassette in the near future(still student so pocket isnt that deep) 😅cheers! This post has been edited by Bensonleemun: Nov 27 2015, 11:30 PM