Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

weikee
post Jul 17 2017, 12:08 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Jul 17 2017, 11:40 AM)
Nobody will know what bike you need other than yourselves. So just buy one at the price that you don't mind giving away and ride the hell out of it. The next bike will come closer to your dream bike.
Get the 406, keep changing and upgrade till it becomes your dream bike, then get a 451 and repeat the process, after which you start doing it on a 16", after which Brompton, … then you get a 700c Road Bike, and later it's variants such as TT bike AeroBike,touring, MTB 26", 27.5", 29" wich it's variants xc, downhill,… Hybrid… foldable 700c, minivelo 306, 359, 406.
Then you can start playing Triathlon, Ironman, cyclocrossmetc etc

But of course you can quit halfway and be a cycle-for-more-food AKA Kayuh-makan-kayuh, like me tongue.gif

The ideal number of bikes to own is n+1.
n being the number of bike you currently own. Just like golf smile.gif
True, and my selection currently is quality with the budget i have. Will go check it out and decide.

down the road will do the upgrade / building one. I am a type of person like to dismantle and build smile.gif
KenC
post Jul 17 2017, 11:03 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 17 2017, 12:08 PM)
True, and my selection currently is quality with the budget i have. Will go check it out and decide.

down the road will do the upgrade / building one. I am a type of person like to dismantle and build smile.gif
welcome to the club!
don't let quality delay your purchase. You can always do something about it afterward. and plenty time to do that too…
*PS, almost everyone will start complaining over their bike within a month… no matter what bike…

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 17 2017, 11:09 PM
weikee
post Jul 18 2017, 08:24 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Jul 17 2017, 11:03 PM)
welcome to the club!
don't let quality delay your purchase. You can always do something about it afterward.  and plenty time to do that too…
*PS, almost everyone will start complaining over their bike within a month… no matter what bike…
Thanks, but don't welcome me first (lah) until i really got one. Been planning this since last year but due to other matters cant execute it.

"always do something about it" That I agreed, especially for person like me who like to dismantle and fix things.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jul 18 2017, 08:45 AM
KenC
post Jul 18 2017, 10:52 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 18 2017, 08:24 AM)
Thanks, but don't welcome me first (lah) until i really got one. Been planning this since last year but due to other matters cant execute it.

"always do something about it" That I agreed, especially for person like me who like to dismantle and fix things.
We same gang la, I dismantle even when there are nothing to fix tongue.gif

gck
post Jul 18 2017, 11:24 AM

36 posts

Tell me about this..
Started many many years ago with MTB, stop for 6 years, bought a Tern P9, idle for 6 months, then train for OCBC ride, bought another tern for wife. then backside itchy buy a road bike, after that, bought another folding Giant Expressway. The yesterday bought a Marin Touring bike...this disease no cure.

The 6 years i stop MTB, 26" wheelset creep up to 29". 9 speed mainstream became 11 speed...

QUOTE(KenC @ Jul 17 2017, 11:40 AM)
Nobody will know what bike you need other than yourselves. So just buy one at the price that you don't mind giving away and ride the hell out of it. The next bike will come closer to your dream bike.
Get the 406, keep changing and upgrade till it becomes your dream bike, then get a 451 and repeat the process, after which you start doing it on a 16", after which Brompton, … then you get a 700c Road Bike, and later it's variants such as TT bike AeroBike,touring, MTB 26", 27.5", 29" wich it's variants xc, downhill,… Hybrid… foldable 700c, minivelo 306, 359, 406.
Then you can start playing Triathlon, Ironman, cyclocrossmetc etc

But of course you can quit halfway and be a cycle-for-more-food AKA Kaki ayuh-makan-kayuh, like me tongue.gif which it doesn't matters as long as it's a bicycle

The ideal number of bikes to own is n+1.
n being the number of bike you currently own. Just like golf set smile.gif
gck
post Jul 18 2017, 11:25 AM

36 posts

Now I have to sell off my wife mint Tern N8 to make ways for more bike.

KenC
post Jul 18 2017, 12:10 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Jul 18 2017, 11:25 AM)
Now I have to sell off my wife mint Tern N8 to make ways for more bike.
Sell to weikee la….. tongue.gif make him an offer he can't resist smile.gif

After that we con him to spend min 3x the purchase price on all kinds of modifications tongue.gif

But most likely he won't need us to con him… he will do it just like everyone else here LOL

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 18 2017, 12:17 PM
KenC
post Jul 18 2017, 12:13 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Jul 18 2017, 11:24 AM)
Tell me about this..
Started many many years ago with MTB, stop for 6 years, bought a Tern P9, idle for 6 months, then train for OCBC ride, bought another tern for wife. then backside itchy buy a road bike, after that, bought another folding Giant Expressway. The yesterday bought a Marin Touring bike...this disease no cure.

The 6 years i stop MTB, 26" wheelset creep up to 29". 9 speed mainstream became 11 speed...
Bicycle is the only vehicle JPJ don't kacau when modified… so… LOL
sonicbull
post Jul 18 2017, 02:15 PM

503 posts

Hi sifus. Need your help on bike recommendation. Asking for friend.
Budget: RM1k including accessories
Purpose: recreation exercise not racing

Is this ok?
https://bicyclebuysell.com/item/346978/20-q...ng-bike-7-speed

weikee
post Jul 18 2017, 02:29 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Jul 18 2017, 12:10 PM)
Sell to weikee la….. tongue.gif make him an offer he can't resist smile.gif

After that we con him to spend min 3x the purchase price on all kinds of modifications tongue.gif

But most likely he won't need us to con him… he will do it just like everyone else here LOL
Poisoning cool2.gif
weikee
post Jul 18 2017, 02:36 PM

12,019 posts

I gottoo much poisoned in my body and wallet cannot take it. Arduino, Raspberry, Computers, Car... now Bike...

This post has been edited by weikee: Jul 18 2017, 02:37 PM
KenC
post Jul 18 2017, 02:55 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 18 2017, 02:36 PM)
I gottoo much poisoned in my body and wallet cannot take it. Arduino, Raspberry, Computers, Car... now Bike...
Great… next you can build a power
meter and GPS bike computer with Arduino and Raspberry Pi smile.gif I personally prefer Beaglebone board.

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 18 2017, 02:57 PM
gck
post Jul 18 2017, 03:46 PM

36 posts

Weikee, u want to buy or not? New one 2.2k, mine hardly used low mileage can let go 1.4k

gck
post Jul 18 2017, 03:49 PM

36 posts

gck
post Jul 18 2017, 03:50 PM

36 posts

Pardon the tayar, it is both Kojak. i was testing Schwalbe Marathon for a short while..
gck
post Jul 18 2017, 03:52 PM

36 posts

Ok for me may not be ok for you.
But for recreational rider is good enough, until you decide to be a bit pro then you want to upgrade very difficult to do.
So if you don't want to upgrade in future, buy this, if you decide to upgrade you are better off with a new bike..

QUOTE(sonicbull @ Jul 18 2017, 02:15 PM)

Is this ok?
weikee
post Jul 18 2017, 09:00 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Jul 18 2017, 03:46 PM)
Weikee, u want to buy or not? New one 2.2k, mine hardly used low mileage can let go 1.4k
Thanks for the offer, saw your posting in buysell forum too. Will pass for now. Looking at other model first.
weikee
post Jul 18 2017, 09:02 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Jul 18 2017, 02:55 PM)
Great… next you can build a power
meter and GPS bike computer with Arduino and Raspberry Pi smile.gif I personally prefer Beaglebone board.
Bit off topic, personally I prefer soc with more users support, raspberry is one good platform.
sonicbull
post Jul 19 2017, 02:48 PM

503 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Jul 18 2017, 03:52 PM)
Ok for me may not be ok for you.
But for recreational rider is good enough, until you decide to be a bit pro then you want to upgrade very difficult to do.
So if you don't want to upgrade in future, buy this, if you decide to upgrade you are better off with a new bike..
Thanks for your feedback
KenC
post Jul 19 2017, 03:36 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ Jul 18 2017, 02:15 PM)

Is this ok?
Its like going to see doctor for your friend…

If your friend komplain after he/she bought it, (which surely happen) you get all the blame…

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 19 2017, 03:41 PM

148 Pages « < 133 134 135 136 137 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:15 AM