148 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

SerioseCat
post Jun 10 2017, 11:51 PM

501 posts

etigge and KenC you guys are really inspirational! Thanks for sharing!
KenC
post Jun 11 2017, 12:33 AM

78 posts

ahh… we all cycle for more food. we share many hobbies, 1st cycling and 2nd food.
Anyway, almost everyone I know cycle for either their health or their weight. some after doctors advise, others don't need a doctor to tell them they are unhealthy and obese tongue.gif
Other than my teenager nephew's and nieces who cycle for ECA credits and attracting their lovely classmates and the pride of participate d in Ironman and Triathlon wink.gif
My life long hobby is to save money, it's also a occupational hazard sad.gif
I find pride and joy to do everything and anything with minimum outlay… unless that expenditure will bring in revenue… Especially since I do moderate exercise, and expect to live longer, I should save up more to span longer tongue.gif
BTW, I am one of those who cannot accept a bicycle cost more than a kapcai…
Just like you, my knees can't handle my weight… no jogging and hiking for me sad.gif

Variety is the spice of life. I hope everyone will just buy a bike they don't mind dumping and cycle the hell out if it. Spend whatever you are comfortably. Don't go be a weight Winnie until you put enough milage to learn your needs.

You can be like ettige who can't tolerate that kraak-kraak sound than spend as much as you would want and go for it. Or you are like me who enjoy saving every penny and like the krak-kraak sound, please do as you please.

Janji Kayuh

This post has been edited by KenC: Jun 11 2017, 01:04 AM
mattalex
post Jun 11 2017, 06:02 PM

50 posts

Hello everyone,

I plan to take up cycling and looking at 26" foldie - Montague models - Navigator or Paratrooper. Can this fit in the boot of a B-segment car, say a City or Vios, without putting down the rear seats? I don't have either the bike or the car now, so can't do a check before purchasing either one.

etigge
post Jun 12 2017, 05:37 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(mattalex @ Jun 11 2017, 06:02 PM)
Hello everyone,

I plan to take up cycling and looking at 26" foldie - Montague models - Navigator or Paratrooper. Can this fit in the boot of a B-segment car, say a City or Vios, without putting down the rear seats? I don't have either the bike or the car now, so can't do a check before purchasing either one.

I am not sure about Vios but I am quite certain the Montague can fit into a Honda City. A friend used to ride a foldable 26 inch mtb . It's called Change bike and it fits in OK. I am sure the Paratrooper or Navigator is about the same size or even smaller after folding.

I used to ride the Dahon Dash and even that when folded is bigger than other normal folding bikes. It can be fitted into the car boot but I find it easier if I lay cheap blanket (IKEA) on the rear seats and put the bike there rather than the car boot.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jun 12 2017, 05:38 PM
alexloon
post Jun 13 2017, 09:43 AM

100 posts

Great input guys, i have an awesome ride last weekend with my wife.
Agreed with you guys about work the hell out with what you have, the result is important and of cause good helmet is important too smile.gif

I was in Stand Up Paddle (SUP) sport for years and i get tired because the availability of SUP location that i do on weekend in klang velley area, sometimes i have to hike with the board to location to do the SUP thingy. I lost 10kg in 2 months on this sport. 12km on this thing is intense (to me) due to upwind, down wind, lake and sea condition. I really love it, now i'm doing bicycle more because i can go anywhere and the setup is much easier than before... really. Currently i'm still doing both, kinda happy about. Just that i need to learn more about the cycling stuff.

Just to share something about my SUP thingy hope you guys don't mind, is was part of my experience and journey that lead me to cycling again.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
SerioseCat
post Jun 13 2017, 10:01 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(alexloon @ Jun 13 2017, 09:43 AM)
Agreed with you guys about work the hell out with what you have, the result is important and of cause good helmet is important too smile.gif

I was in Stand Up Paddle (SUP) sport for years and i get tired because the availability of SUP location that i do on weekend in klang velley area, sometimes i have to hike with the board to location to do the SUP thingy. I lost 10kg in 2 months on this sport. 12km on this thing is intense (to me) due to upwind, down wind, lake and sea condition. I really love it, now i'm doing bicycle more because i can go anywhere and the setup is much easier than before... really. Currently i'm still doing both, kinda happy about. Just that i need to learn more about the cycling stuff.

Just to share something about my SUP thingy hope you guys don't mind, is was part of my experience and journey that lead me to cycling again.
Are crocodiles a concern for you?
alexloon
post Jun 13 2017, 10:09 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Jun 13 2017, 10:01 AM)
Are crocodiles a concern for you?
Yes, definitely! haha... but nothing happen all these years. Just put your legs down wisely will do.
azamunekurone
post Jun 13 2017, 10:43 AM

140 posts

after 18 days of fasting,
last sunday only had a chance to cycle.. must do more workout like previous year laugh.gif

SerioseCat
post Jun 13 2017, 10:58 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 12 2017, 05:37 PM)
I am not sure about Vios but I am quite certain the Montague can fit into a Honda City. A friend used to ride a foldable 26 inch mtb . It's called Change bike and it fits in OK. I am sure the Paratrooper or Navigator is about the same size or even smaller after folding.

I used to ride the Dahon Dash and even that when folded is bigger than other normal folding bikes. It can be fitted into the car boot but I find it easier if I lay cheap blanket (IKEA) on the rear seats and put the bike there rather than the car boot.
Would you have any idea whether a 27.5er 15" MTB will fit at the backseat of Proton Saga BLM with front wheels off?

Or maybe both wheels off?
etigge
post Jun 13 2017, 11:50 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Jun 13 2017, 10:58 AM)
Would you have any idea whether a 27.5er 15" MTB will fit at the backseat of Proton Saga BLM with front wheels off?

I usually travel with 2 (yes ! two) full sus mountain bike in my back seat with 4 wheels in the boot. SO, I am very sure it can fit in. biggrin.gif

PS/ I cover the back seat with the IKEA cheap blanket and then flip the mtb over and rest them on the handlebar on the seat. Then I cover the RD cage with a part of the blanket and pull the rear seat belt to hole the frame. I also bought 2 of those sponge (those sold in hardware stores , the mosaic layers use them) and protect the glass from hitting when there's bump.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jun 13 2017, 11:53 AM
SerioseCat
post Jun 13 2017, 12:03 PM

501 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 13 2017, 11:50 AM)
I usually travel with 2 (yes ! two) full sus mountain bike in my back seat with 4 wheels in the boot. SO, I am very sure it can fit in.  biggrin.gif

PS/ I cover the back seat with the IKEA cheap blanket and then flip the mtb over and rest them on the handlebar on the seat. Then I cover the RD cage with a part of the blanket and pull the rear seat belt to hole the frame. I also bought 2 of those sponge (those sold in hardware stores , the mosaic layers use them) and protect the glass from hitting when there's bump.
Thanks man

by car you mean the common sedan, right? Not a Vellfire or those large 'cars'? biggrin.gif
mattalex
post Jun 13 2017, 04:07 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 12 2017, 05:37 PM)

Thank you for the feedback. I might end up leaving it in the car at times, so the boot is my preference.

KenC
post Jun 13 2017, 06:28 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Jun 13 2017, 10:58 AM)

Yes, even 700c also can. I do that all the time.
KenC
post Jun 13 2017, 06:43 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(alexloon @ Jun 13 2017, 09:43 AM)

WoW! you mush have very strong upper body strength and core muscle!
KenC
post Jun 13 2017, 06:47 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 13 2017, 10:43 AM)
after 18 days of fasting,
last sunday only had a chance to cycle.. must do more workout like previous year laugh.gif

Sifu Azam just received a baby. Congrats
jimmyyap03
post Jun 14 2017, 07:05 AM

274 posts

Hi all, newbie in town here, just started on biking and looking for folding bike with budget around RM 1k,any recommendation?I staying in cyberjaya
etigge
post Jun 14 2017, 07:47 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Jun 14 2017, 07:05 AM)
Hi all, newbie in town here, just started on biking and looking for folding bike with budget around RM 1k,any recommendation?I staying in cyberjaya
I think nowadays, any folding bike above RM800 is decent already. The more important criteria is, how far you want to go ? My opinion on your case is.................

Since you are staying in Cyberjaya, your ride will usually be the parks there and Putrajaya, that's the beginning lah! dry.gif So, any 8 speed bike willdo, preferably maybe Java, Raleigh, Trinx and if budget allows ( a few hundred more than your budget ) the low end Terns or Dahons which are 7 speed. For this, I am sure there will be no changing in the near future , maybe just upgrading as the brand and frame is already good. thumbup.gif

If not, then the former 3 brands will do. Once you get bored with Putrajaya or Cyberjaya, then you can join groups for their rides which is more fun. The socializing, the eating, the activities and in some groups the sightseeing and excursions to factories, fishing villages, paddy indistries etc.etc. This is when you get more serious lah. Once you reach this stage, there will be moddings and bike changing to keep up with times.

So, I laid it out there, if your intention is just exercise, then the basic 8 speeder will do but if you are planning into the latter, then spend a little more and get the Terns and Dahons.

Your nearest is in Dengkil, Swee Leong, near the traffic light. Go see Frankie and he can give a good deal but for more choices , take a drive to Kimbell Jaya in Jalan Bdr. Hussein Onn and talk to Jimmy. Visit and see with your own eyes are still the best recommendation. I can talk till my guts flows out but usually when they actually visits a bike shop, they get something else. tongue.gif
KenC
post Jun 14 2017, 08:52 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 14 2017, 07:47 AM)
…I can talk till my guts  flows out but usually when they actually visits a bike shop, they get something else.  tongue.gif
Ahhhh… common experience wink.gif

Usually, they will end up spending 2~3 times their budget and fully convinced themselves :/
Anyway, own money own spend explanations not required smile.gif
Janji Happy!

This post has been edited by KenC: Jun 14 2017, 08:57 AM
jimmyyap03
post Jun 14 2017, 11:30 AM

274 posts

Thanks, I m looking for future road cycling.

Btw, this Will you recommend for beginner like me?
http://www.asogo.com/product/506/Garion-24...le-Bike-(24sp)/

QUOTE(etigge @ Jun 14 2017, 07:47 AM)
I think nowadays, any folding bike above RM800 is decent already.  The more important criteria is, how far you want to go ?  My opinion on your case is.................

Since you are staying in Cyberjaya, your ride will usually be the parks there and Putrajaya, that's the beginning lah!  dry.gif  So, any 8 speed bike willdo, preferably maybe Java, Raleigh, Trinx and if budget allows ( a few hundred more than your budget ) the low end Terns or Dahons which are 7 speed.  For this, I am sure there will be no changing in the near future , maybe just upgrading as the brand and frame is already good.  thumbup.gif

If not, then the former 3 brands will do. Once you get bored with Putrajaya or Cyberjaya, then you can join groups for their rides which is more fun. The socializing, the eating, the activities and in some groups the sightseeing and excursions to factories, fishing villages, paddy indistries etc.etc. This is when you get more serious lah. Once you reach this stage, there will be moddings and bike changing to keep up with times.

So, I laid it out there, if your intention is just exercise, then the basic 8 speeder will do but if you are planning into the latter, then spend a little more and get the Terns and Dahons.

Your nearest is in Dengkil, Swee Leong, near the traffic light. Go see Frankie and he can give a good deal but for more choices , take a drive to Kimbell Jaya in Jalan Bdr. Hussein Onn and talk to Jimmy. Visit and see with your own eyes are still the best recommendation. I can talk till my guts  flows out but usually when they actually visits a bike shop, they get something else.  tongue.gif
etigge
post Jun 14 2017, 11:41 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(jimmyyap03 @ Jun 14 2017, 11:30 AM)
Thanks, I m looking for future road cycling.

Btw, this Will you recommend for beginner like me?
http://www.asogo.com/product/506/Garion-24...le-Bike-(24sp)/
This is a 24 inch folding model. Sometimes it is hard to get the tires and tubes. Also I sometimes thinks...............might as well get non folding bikes if we go for either 26 or 24 inch wheels. After all , it is not saving much space. I can fit 2 mountain bikes into my car with 2 passengers. For the price, I can get better mountain bikes than folding bikes, espevially the second hand market.

148 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:51 PM