Folding Bicycles v5 - Not only Folding Bikes, Folding bicycle discussion

KenC
post Mar 26 2017, 09:30 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 26 2017, 11:05 AM)
Another solution is to get another BB with longer spindle. It is a common thing those days but now, you can still get it online from Chain Reaction.  smile.gif
My LBS did the spindle change. cheap and effective.
life is carena
post Mar 27 2017, 05:02 PM

bought a folding bicycle last month. So excited to have this bicycle
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/gario...olding-24175075

skywolfie
post Mar 28 2017, 09:48 AM

23 posts

Hi, any of you guys know a bike shop that can repair 14" bike? Its a 14" electric bike. Just a tyre puncture, nothing big

I checked with all the shops nearby my house in old klang road, all cant do sad.gif . They said spare part is difficult to find
etigge
post Mar 28 2017, 10:50 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(skywolfie @ Mar 28 2017, 09:48 AM)
Hi, any of you guys know a bike shop that can repair 14" bike? Its a 14" electric bike. Just a tyre puncture, nothing big

I checked with all the shops nearby my house in old klang road, all cant do sad.gif . They said spare part is difficult to find
Changing tubes is easy. Just refer to Youtube. Instead of carrying the bike around hunting for LBS to repair, why don't you just hunt for the inner tubes. Or you can go Ace Hardware or Daiso and get a patch kit and patch it up which is even cheaper. 14 inch tires are not that rare actually, mostly used on kiddies bike. Most use the same size tubes.

PS/I don't think it is the parts problem. Usually LBS has this kind of attitude. The bike not bought from them, no need for after sale service.......Takes too much time and too little profit, a waste of time......... too busy assembling new bikes out of the box , no time to repair. biggrin.gif

PS/PS/ If you want to patch it yourself, you don't have to take out the wheel. Just overturn the bike (upside down) and use tire levers to take out the tube and locate where the hole is. Then the usual procedure, look for the cause by rubbing your fingers slowly inside the tire. Take out the cause and then patch the tire and put it all back. In the 60s and 70s, LBS patches puncture this way, 30 cents to patch. Those days, you can have like 10 patches and still you are using the same inner tubes unlike nowadays, they just change the tubes. But my guess is, you don't have a pump......hahaaaaa. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Mar 28 2017, 11:00 AM
skywolfie
post Mar 28 2017, 11:20 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 28 2017, 10:50 AM)
Changing tubes is easy. Just refer to Youtube. Instead of carrying the bike around hunting for LBS to repair, why don't you just hunt for the inner tubes. Or you can go Ace Hardware or Daiso and get a patch kit and patch it up which is even cheaper. 14 inch tires are not that rare actually, mostly used on kiddies bike. Most use the same size tubes.

PS/I don't think it is the parts problem. Usually LBS has this kind of attitude. The bike not bought from them, no need for after sale service.......Takes too much time and too little profit, a waste of time......... too busy assembling new bikes out of the box , no time to repair.  biggrin.gif

PS/PS/ If you want to patch it yourself, you don't have to take out the wheel. Just overturn the bike (upside down) and use tire levers to take out the tube and locate where the hole is. Then the usual procedure, look for the cause by rubbing your fingers slowly inside the tire. Take out the cause and then patch the tire and put it all back. In the 60s and 70s, LBS patches puncture this way, 30 cents to patch. Those days, you can have like 10 patches and still you are using the same inner tubes unlike nowadays, they just change the tubes. But my guess is, you don't have a pump......hahaaaaa.  tongue.gif
Its an e-bike, it looks tricky. Plus i know nothing about changing tyres etc haha. Tried fixing my own tap in bathroom, ended up sprained my thumb sweat.gif
Ya its looks like it, they quickly said cannot do with excuses this and that, right after i mentioned its a folding bike

etigge
post Mar 28 2017, 11:48 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(skywolfie @ Mar 28 2017, 11:20 AM)
Its an e-bike, it looks tricky. Plus i know nothing about changing tyres etc haha. Tried fixing my own tap in bathroom, ended up sprained my thumb  sweat.gif
Ya its looks like it, they quickly said cannot do with excuses this and that, right after i mentioned its a folding bike
Get a cyclist friend to help you out. I am sure you have friends who cycles and I am sure they know how to patch an inner tube. No need to take out anything if you patch. Just pry the tires off the rims and pull the inner tube out and locate the leak and patch it. No need to unscrew anything. Good luck. tongue.gif
KenC
post Mar 28 2017, 12:01 PM

78 posts

Its an e-bike, it looks tricky. Plus i know nothing about changing tyres etc haha. Tried fixing my own tap in bathroom, ended up sprained my thumb  sweat.gif
No pain no gain tongue.gif
Sprain your thumb a few more times and you will get a hang of it. smile.gif

There are plenty (too MUCH to list) YouTube tutorials on tire patching, look em up.

This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 28 2017, 04:44 PM
desastar
post Mar 28 2017, 12:37 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(life is carena @ Mar 27 2017, 05:02 PM)
bought a folding bicycle last month. So excited to have this bicycle
http://www.11street.my/productdetail/gario...olding-24175075

You got a "lot of bike" for your money, 19kg worth! 😳
KenC
post Mar 28 2017, 04:46 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(desastar @ Mar 28 2017, 12:37 PM)
You got a "lot of bike" for your money, 19kg worth! 😳
Heavier the better for going downhill.
small_fish18
post Mar 28 2017, 07:43 PM

27 posts

Go to the tradisional bicycle shop at your neighbourhood, they will be more than happy to help. Of course, if they don have the tube, get somewhere and go to them.
I got the same situation for my 16" folding bike(even common size compare to 14") , buy my own tube from taobao, go to traditional bike shop and now learn how to do it myself...
skywolfie
post Mar 29 2017, 11:11 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(small_fish18 @ Mar 28 2017, 07:43 PM)
Go to the tradisional bicycle shop at your neighbourhood, they will be more than happy to help. Of course, if they don have the tube, get somewhere and go to them.
I got the same situation for my 16" folding bike(even common size compare to 14") , buy my own tube from taobao, go to traditional bike shop and now learn how to do it myself...
i have already, but all said cannot do right off the bat, soon as i mentioned its an ebike.

QUOTE(etigge @ Mar 28 2017, 11:48 AM)
Get a cyclist friend to help you out. I am sure you have friends who cycles and I am sure they know how to patch an inner tube. No need to take out anything if you patch. Just pry the tires off the rims and pull the inner tube out and locate the leak and patch it. No need to unscrew anything. Good luck.  tongue.gif
dont have friends lol. will give the diy a try, see how it goes smile.gif

QUOTE(KenC @ Mar 28 2017, 12:01 PM)
No pain no gain tongue.gif
Sprain your thumb a few more times and you will get a hang of it. smile.gif

There are plenty (too MUCH to list) YouTube tutorials on tire patching, look em up.
hahaha true true, no pain no gain

alright will give the diy a try, thanks smile.gif
harry_croft84
post Mar 29 2017, 07:49 PM

69 posts

Hi Sifu,

I'm newbie. want to start cycling hobby. Please give some advice to start.

I'm eyeing on this bike. price ~rm2600
mosso frame 1.4kg
hydraulic brake
shimano 3 x 10
schwalbe tyre

can anybody comment on this bike? How is the price? is it expensive?
KenC
post Mar 30 2017, 06:32 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(harry_croft84 @ Mar 29 2017, 07:49 PM)
Hi Sifu,

mosso frame 1.4kg
hydraulic brake
shimano 3 x 10
schwalbe tyre

You learnt to ride a bicycle yet?

This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 30 2017, 06:34 AM
fatani
post Mar 30 2017, 09:27 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(harry_croft84 @ Mar 29 2017, 06:49 PM)
Hi Sifu,

mosso frame 1.4kg
hydraulic brake
shimano 3 x 10
schwalbe tyre

Mtb?
rolandhoo
post Mar 31 2017, 03:51 PM

224 posts

guys, i am thinking of getting either one of the bikes for leisure and casual ride (budget less than rm1k).

Trinx Dolphin 2.0
Volcano XC 320

any thought about these two folding bikes? pls share your comment. thanks!
Jay Chua CC
post Mar 31 2017, 05:44 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

Hi. Letting go my near mint Raleigh ugo at a very special price. Ride not more than 20 times. Upgraded with schwalbe
kojak tyres and ergon gp3. Cod only at Taiping. Free bike helmet, bicyle bag to store folded bike, pump and inner tube. Hit me with pm if interested.

This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: Mar 31 2017, 05:47 PM
matapalo
post Apr 3 2017, 10:40 AM

Hi, how much is the market price for Tiagra RD and flatbar shifter?

Looking to upgrade my mini velo.

fatani
post Apr 3 2017, 12:57 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(matapalo @ Apr 3 2017, 09:40 AM)

tiagra 4700 flatbar shifter is <rm300
i bought the 10s 105 rd for rm180 so tiagra rd is probably less than that..
etigge
post Apr 3 2017, 11:50 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(matapalo @ Apr 3 2017, 10:40 AM)

The Tiagra SL-4600 10 speed flat bar shifters are RM310 per pair nowadays.

http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/373372/shim...flatbar-shifter

while the Tiagra RD-4600 is RM155.

http://bicyclebuysell.com/item/328350/shim...d-4600-10-speed
desastar
post Apr 7 2017, 10:36 AM

42 posts

I'm interested in one of these Indonesian bikes. Anyone hear of them?

148 Pages « < 107 108 109 110 111 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:59 AM