Do you EDC?

jaycee1
post Jan 22 2016, 06:18 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Jan 22 2016, 02:44 PM)
Weird this topic is in RWI. It's like free post count lol. Anyway, I DIY'ed myself this thinga  few days ago.

If you're wondering what those numbers are, they are actually sizes for hex screws. I bought this at a local hardware shop for about RM9. Then bough some screws because the provided screws are too big.
Actually, you can make this more useful by buying a few different sets (these come in sets of Torx, Allen and 3 Philips/3 slot combo). And for 8.90 each, they aren't expensive to start. I have all 3 sets in my car. They have a set that is slightly more than 1/2 inch shorter @ 6.90 that you can use to canibalize the tools from.

Mix and and match and you have a key holder with some additional tools. And the phillips/slot tool is much more useful than any found on those mini multitools.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 22 2016, 06:19 PM
jaycee1
post Jan 24 2016, 06:02 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Jan 22 2016, 06:50 PM)
That's a good idea, bt even with only 6 keys, the final weight isn't something i would call light.

The only problem with mixing in tools is the possibility it'll disrupt the thickness. And unless you plan well, it'll look weird with one side being thicker while the other thinner or one side has ore stuff while the other has less stuff. (I'm very anal about having my stuff symmetrical, so either of those problems will surely irritate me)

I guess it depends on your personal needs. For me, it would be cool to add more, but the stupidly thick "grip" and weight of it is a turnoff for me to add any more.

Interesting that the have the other screws. My place only had the torx set. Bummer.
On the topic of key holder/organizer, I found this the other day :
http://superclassic.jp/?pid=51202

It can't hold any extra tools or a lot of keys, but for the essential ones, it'll work. Plus there's a coin pouch. Very useful for us Malaysians where we are still very reliant on coins but use a slim wallet with no place to put your coins. Too bad the price is kill. Just sharing

Here are my Mr.DIY budget specials.

1) Folding knife
2) Mini multitool
3) Customized Folding tool (2 Philips, 1 slot, 2 Allen), made by combining 2 different sets)
4) AAA LED flashlight.

Prob spent less than rm45 for everything...and very light and compact (the longest is the flashlight at 10cm, rest don't exceed 8cm when folded)

EDC don't have to expensive as long as it serves the purpose.

An expensive Leatherman might give you a better blade and pliers but nothing beats dedicated screw bits...especially M5 and M6 Allen bits.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 24 2016, 06:16 PM
jaycee1
post Jan 24 2016, 07:24 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Jan 24 2016, 07:10 PM)
I guess that one is expensive due to the leather probably. I dunno.

But bruh... That knife tho... Where?!
All from Mr. DIY

The knife is only 8.50. drool.gif
jaycee1
post Jan 24 2016, 08:11 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(graphidz @ Jan 24 2016, 07:37 PM)
Whut. That kind of curing doesn't come cheap liao. Will keep an eye out alright. Oh didn't notice it, but nice color theme. I just mix any color as long as it serves its purpose
LOL. Dont expect some exotic metallurgy for 8.50. The blade has what looks to be some printing on the surface.

Blade is soft and don't hold its edge for very long, but it is easy to sharpen quickly, and quite sharp when freshly sharpened. Serves its purpose of occasional use.

The only thing out of the colour theme is the metal flashlight. I do have other coloured anodized single AA sized LED flashlights that also does a reasonable job for the price. Just waiting for them to sell one in red.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 24 2016, 08:19 PM
jaycee1
post Jan 26 2016, 07:48 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 26 2016, 06:03 PM)
just bought 2 new toys.
sanrenmu 7045 blade that comes with seat belt cutter and glass breaker, and a olight i3e...single mode at 90 lumens.

the i3e is in the middle of the SAK 58mm and fenix LD01...its so nice and small tongue.gif
[attachmentid=5916295]
The i3e is nice. Especially in red. biggrin.gif

How long does it burn on one Alkaline AAA? 90 lumens is quite bright for a AAA.

How much was it and where did get it from? Only lists for 12 bux.

Used to EDC a Maglight AAA (before they had LEDs)which was hopelessly dim and eats batteries. Now even cheap brand less DIY specials outperform it.

Again ...90 lumens from something this small is impressive...even my old 4x D cell fullsized Maglight makes 100 lumens....ah progress.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jan 26 2016, 07:53 PM
jaycee1
post Feb 13 2016, 02:42 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

Just for kicks and giggles .

Selection of colour matched tools.

Typical EDC will be the bigger of the 2 multi tools, AA LED flashlight and Allen/Philips/slot foldable. These are ones used for work on a daily basis.

jaycee1
post Jun 5 2017, 09:50 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 17 2017, 10:28 AM)
hmm so i saw mr.diy now has almost the full range of copies of those gerber gdc.
[attachmentid=8821290]

so my itchy hands decided to try out some of the mr.diy copies.
[attachmentid=8821260]

the badly named hotak...from the packaging appears to be a mr.diy brand that they make in china...
and like the gerber it's damn hard to open due to the frame lock putting too much side pressure on the blade.
theres also no way for me to use this as part of my edc...
i also wonder what are the chances of the factory being the oem for gerber...
[attachmentid=8821272]

the next cheap crap is the skeletool copy...its basically almost the same size as the original but thicker due to that extra blade.
claims its stainless steel...but from the rest of the samples in store...it looks softer since can see what look to be deep scratches on some.
the wire cutters also look like they're made from some alloy.
the blade also isnt sharp at all...not surprising there.
[attachmentid=8821273]

anyway, that traveler brand kinda sux...but that hotak thing has some decent quality...
if i had any other use for those gerber copies i may get them...maybe wait for a hook knife or money clip copy tongue.gif
Haha, I have been using that exact same cheap traveler brand mini tool for ages. Works for me. The blade isn't the sharpest, but it gets the job done, and it costs only a few ringgit. Only real complaint is that the blade is not easy to pull out...leading to a few chipped fingernails. The needle nose pliers are useful though.

I've seen the hotak gerber knockoff as well, interesting but rest not very useful, other than the knife and LED light/btl opener. I have some hotak branded tools, and they are quite decent quality.

PS. they do sell pepper spray though, but don't know how effective they are.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Jun 5 2017, 09:53 PM
jaycee1
post Aug 7 2017, 01:13 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ May 17 2017, 10:28 AM)
hmm so i saw mr.diy now has almost the full range of copies of those gerber gdc.
[attachmentid=8821290]

so my itchy hands decided to try out some of the mr.diy copies.
[attachmentid=8821260]

the badly named hotak...from the packaging appears to be a mr.diy brand that they make in china...
and like the gerber it's damn hard to open due to the frame lock putting too much side pressure on the blade.
theres also no way for me to use this as part of my edc...
i also wonder what are the chances of the factory being the oem for gerber...
[attachmentid=8821272]

Just wondering how did you managed to get past that bloody frame lock on the Hotak blade. Hands got itchy during my last DIY shopping trip and got one. Only to realize its nearly impossible to use as you can't get the blade out.

On the flipside, the quality and feel is really good. Maybe too good. Going to have to disassemble it and see if I can bend out the frame lock.

Pity, fits perfectly as a EDC keychain accessory. Missing a small knife/cutter.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 7 2017, 01:33 PM

jaycee1
post Aug 7 2017, 01:31 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 7 2017, 01:24 PM)
first few tries i used a coin instead of breaking my fingernail tongue.gif
i loosen the frame already...just stick a flat head screwdriver between frame and blade and twist...no need to disassemble anything.
I think I am going to dremel down that nub/catch so I can get the blade out without messing up the frame lock by bending it out (the frame lock still needs to hold the blade in the open position). There is enough side pressure from the frame itself to prevent the blade from unintended opening...so no idea why they need the extra catch.
jaycee1
post Aug 7 2017, 01:42 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 7 2017, 01:35 PM)
ya, more than enough side pressure.
i bent the frame so that its almost at the edge of the blade, still locks fine...and wont be using it hard so not like its going to fold over and cut off my fingers... tongue.gif
but in the end i still rather carry around a sak classic with a kershaw cinder which at least can be opened with 1 hand.

actually if u dremel away the ball detent, there is gonna be more frame pushing against the blade...wouldnt that make it even harder to open?
Don't think so. The ball (on Frame) sits inside a detent machined onto the blade itself. This is what makes it so difficult to open. Not only you have to overcome the friction of the frame lock, you have to exert enough force to push the frame lock out of the detent, in which you have no leverage.

0.0358sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:42 AM