Headphones Fostex TH-X00 - It's go time!, Anyone else getting one? :p

FaezFarhan
post Apr 29 2016, 03:48 AM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

I feel like joining the purpleheart drop. Guys how long did it take for your orders to arrive after shipment, did you get taxed, and how was the process?
FaezFarhan
post Apr 29 2016, 10:41 AM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(echineko @ Apr 29 2016, 07:57 AM)
No idea about the first part, as I didn't have it shipped direct from MD, tax is entirely up to luck whether you get charged (our local customs are very inconsistent, but seems like they're more ruthless these days), but this should qualify to get taxed (6% GST + 15% sales tax, if I recall correctly), and if you mean the ordering process from MD, very smooth, all you need is a verified PayPal account.
Crazy. GST, PLUS 15% sales tax? That's like Rm400 or so.
FaezFarhan
post Apr 30 2016, 08:09 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(batmang @ Apr 30 2016, 12:50 PM)
If you get stopped by kastam.yes .Rm400 ++
Bloody hell hahah. I joined the purpleheart drop. So I'd better be prepared to be stopped.

Joined the AKG K7XX drop recently and it's goint to be delivered by DHL.
FaezFarhan
post Apr 30 2016, 11:29 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ Apr 30 2016, 10:11 PM)
I didn't get taxed, but there really is no safety netting unless you contact MD and ask if they are willing to declare a lower amount. Otherwise always have 21% ready in case.
I see, I will try to contact them regarding the price declaration. Thank you for the heads up! Hopefully they're willing to help. Otherwise I'd have to pay another RM400 cry.gif
FaezFarhan
post May 1 2016, 12:59 AM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(echineko @ Apr 30 2016, 11:43 PM)
MD will not do that, nor will any other American retailer worth their salt. Their customs actually do their jobs, and any fraud is subject to heavy penalties and possible future restrictions. You're better off going with a forwarding service which requires you to declare the price yourself
Yeap I feel the same too. They won't take the risk so I'd better off be praying so it gets through like a ninja biggrin.gif

Are you guys using it with an amp? If so, which amp?

I'd be pairing my soon arriving AKG K7XX with the Aune T1se but I read that the TH-X00 won't sound good with tubes. It's another 3 months until the Purpleheart arrives so I can save a bit of money for a decent amp.
FaezFarhan
post May 1 2016, 06:40 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ May 1 2016, 07:37 AM)
They are easily driven, so if it were me I would rather wait for its arrival and test with the Aune first. You might just like it who knows?
I see, sure, will try it out with the Aune T1se and see how it goes. The amp is solid state anyway so yea. The M9XX looks very nice but the drop ended and it's off my budget at the moment.

QUOTE(echineko @ May 1 2016, 07:48 AM)
Either with my Sony ZX2 directly, or paired with my Hugo. Either way, doesn't need a lot to drive it. Also sounds great with the Mjolnir 2, but that's a tube sound signature, depends on personal preference.

Also, personally I feel that the TH-X00 > AKG K7XX, eh? Let's see how you feel after it finally arrives biggrin.gif
The highs of the Purpleheart is mentioned to be slightly more emphasized on the massdrop page. So if it turns out to be bright, then I'd definitely find a warmer tube amp.

Btw why are you selling yours bro? Did the cable change made any difference to the sound?
FaezFarhan
post May 3 2016, 03:50 AM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

Comparison between Purpleheart (purple), and Mahogany (yellow).. That bass boost tho wub.gif

This post has been edited by FaezFarhan: May 3 2016, 03:52 AM

FaezFarhan
post May 3 2016, 05:20 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 3 2016, 04:24 PM)
If delivered by DHL sure kena...
So I guess I have to prepare the 21% out of $200 when the AKG arrives laugh.gif
FaezFarhan
post May 3 2016, 07:28 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ May 3 2016, 06:37 PM)
Not exactly 21%. It's 21.9% (1.15 x 1.06) because it's compounded. Also, it's 21.9% on top of CIF (Cost Insurance Freight). They'll add DHL freight cost and for insurance cost, they'll estimate as 1% of the price if it's not mentioned.

Then another RM 50 or so goes into DHL's pocket for contacting you and putting it all nicely for you to pay.
So if I get taxed then DHL will pay it for me and I'll pay them later right? I remember buying football boots from Prodirect UK back in the days, it was Rm2k overall, and the tax was RM200 only.. How I wish it was still that simple laugh.gif
FaezFarhan
post May 4 2016, 06:08 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(batmang @ May 4 2016, 02:27 PM)
The dhl that arrives in 3 days. Not the one that arrives after 3 weeks.(aka poslaju)
I don't think it'll be that fast. It's been at New Jersey since the 28th of April. This is a forwarder service, Massdrop only delivers to the USA. $15, so I guess it's a slower service? I'm expecting it around 3 weeks yawn.gif
FaezFarhan
post May 4 2016, 08:22 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(echineko @ May 4 2016, 05:05 PM)
Massdrop, that's courier only, not Express. Will take significantly longer, that's why I usually skip it  tongue.gif
QUOTE(batmang @ May 4 2016, 06:09 PM)
Massdrop standard is 3 weeks laugh.gif
The K7XX is being delivered by DHL GM Packet Plus Priority. Still sounds like 3 weeks to me haha!
FaezFarhan
post May 4 2016, 10:29 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(batmang @ May 4 2016, 08:29 PM)
Confirm 3 weeks.

Had one of those. laugh.gif
My Purpleheart will be delivered on the 21st August (estimated date). So I guess, 15 September would be the earliest that I'd see my love laugh.gif
FaezFarhan
post May 5 2016, 12:09 AM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(ezekiel_77 @ May 4 2016, 10:39 PM)
That's a long wait. I jumped in and out of the drop haha.
In the end you bailed out? Haha I wanna get to know the K7XX for a few months while waiting for the TH-X00. If both of the arrives together then I'd probably leave the K7XX in the box laugh.gif
FaezFarhan
post May 8 2016, 05:46 AM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

Guys, about my K7XX shipment, it now states at the tracking website-

MalaysiaPost, MY
DEPARTED FROM LOCAL DISTRIBUTION CENTER

Does it mean I didn't get taxed? That was very fast from DHL though. It's only been a week!
FaezFarhan
post May 12 2016, 04:37 AM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(echineko @ May 8 2016, 05:59 AM)
There should be a line that says "clearance processing complete", if that's there, yes, it got through customs. Depending on which airport was used (I believe non-express shipments use Subang instead of KLIA), it might pass through more than one checkpoint before customs inspection. But either way, once it's been cleared, it's on the way for delivery.
It is now on:

DEPARTED FROM TRANSIT FACILITY
MalaysiaPost

Not sure where it is now. Btw I think it's nearly impossible for me to get the Grace M9XX for my upcoming TH-X00.. So is it better for me to aim for the Chord Mojo? Is it suited for desktop use?
FaezFarhan
post May 12 2016, 02:08 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ May 12 2016, 05:13 AM)
wait for MD next drop, they will open in 3 months time if not mistaken
3 months is good enough I guess. Especially because of the wait for the Purpleheart is also 3 months.

QUOTE(echineko @ May 12 2016, 07:53 AM)
Why not just call DHL and ask? That's what the airway bill is for  tongue.gif

Also, why you so keen on the Grace M9XX? Completing a set?
Called, they gave me pos malaysia's number but they never answer their phone. Called several times.

The M9XX, well. First off all the price is just nice around RM2k.. Secondly the looks and size seems perfect.. Though I don't mind a bigger dac/amp.. Lastly the synergy? People have been talking about how well the M9XX pairs with the TH-X00..

But I am looking for an alternative if there's one.. Reading forums and stuff to get a rough idea of which other amp suits the TH-X00..
FaezFarhan
post May 12 2016, 10:17 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ May 12 2016, 10:02 PM)
M9xx drop is now available,  thumbup.gif
No budget edy right now cry.gif Just bought the TH-X00, K7XX, HE-350, and the Aune T1se doh.gif

Planning to buy an amp when the Purpleheart is about to arrive.. Around September I guess.. Reading about all the possible amps that would give good synergy with the TH-X00.. So far only the M9XX & Chord Mojo is in my list..
FaezFarhan
post May 12 2016, 10:40 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

QUOTE(echineko @ May 12 2016, 10:33 PM)
Decide if you want it to be portable or not first. Mojo would be more flexible since you can take it with you, but might not be a priority for you.

Check out Schiit Audio for some value options too, maybe others can chime in.
I don't think I need it to be portable.. I would prefer tube amps but I'm not sure how it would perform with the TH-X00.. Love the looks of the Schiit Valhalla 2 but heard it's for high powered cans.. What about the Schiit Lyr 2?
FaezFarhan
post May 31 2016, 11:15 AM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

Sorry to ask here but would a debit card work when purchasing on massdrop? Really tempted to join the M9XX drop for my TH-X00 that is coming in September.
FaezFarhan
post Jun 16 2016, 11:49 PM

United till I die!
3,424 posts

My M9XX for the TH-X00 through USPS.. Tax incoming? cry.gif

0.0210sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 06:45 PM