Overheating?

TSkwekeugene
post Dec 6 2006, 04:59 PM, updated 20y ago

1,479 posts

Hey all,

Wanna ask how come they is 2 readings on speedfan? One is for the proc, another one for motherboard?

Here is mine. Do you think if they is anything wrong with the temparature. I find the 2nd temperature a little high.

thanks.

This post has been edited by kwekeugene: Dec 6 2006, 04:59 PM
kev_neville
post Dec 6 2006, 05:03 PM

Holy Shit!!!
676 posts

Definitely high.... Better check properly.... 90C can use for cook aledi...
irangan
post Dec 6 2006, 05:13 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

STOP RUNNING YOUR COMP. it is super high.. shut it down and check the CPU fan and so on. before you burn your processor.
deric88
post Dec 6 2006, 06:52 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

whoa, take away the heatsink put a metal tumbler containing water over it can boil adi.....

how long u been running on tht temp? lower your clock

coolmast3r
post Dec 6 2006, 06:52 PM

740 posts

maybe the 2nd temp is the chipset temp.
some mobo does has temp probe at the chipset.

and yes, the temp is very high.
but you should check it using a conventional temp probe, manually.
it might be the software bug.
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2006, 07:02 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Dec 6 2006, 06:52 PM)
whoa, take away the heatsink put a metal tumbler containing water over it can boil adi.....

how long u been running on tht temp? lower your clock
Lower the clock?
He's processor are running at 1.8GHz, how low you wanna go?
800MHz? laugh.gif

That 91degrees must be the processor's temps...
TS, take out the heatsink, clean the heatsink, then, reapply a new thermal paste, then put the heatsink back on top of the processor...

About you're chipset temperature [50degrees], if the chipset heatsink is using a heatsink with fan, clean it too, those temperatures are very high, you can kill you're motherboard in just an instance... sweat.gif
TSkwekeugene
post Dec 6 2006, 07:09 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 6 2006, 07:02 PM)
Lower the clock?
He's processor are running at 1.8GHz, how low you wanna go?
800MHz? laugh.gif

That 91degrees must be the processor's temps...
TS, take out the heatsink, clean the heatsink, then, reapply a new thermal paste, then put the heatsink back on top of the processor...

About you're chipset temperature [50degrees], if the chipset heatsink is using a heatsink with fan, clean it too, those temperatures are very high, you can kill you're motherboard in just an instance... sweat.gif
Yes, the temperature is HIGH. But what does that temperature (90 degrees)reading refers to? Processor temp? I cleaned the remove the fans on top of the processor and put the on again. Still no change.

Any other solution?

One more thing, why do I have 2 temperature readings? Shouldn't I just have 1, just like in BIOS

This post has been edited by kwekeugene: Dec 6 2006, 07:11 PM
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2006, 07:27 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Dec 6 2006, 07:09 PM)
Yes, the temperature is HIGH. But what does that temperature (90 degrees)reading refers to? Processor temp? I cleaned the remove the fans on top of the processor and put the on again. Still no change.

Any other solution?

One more thing, why do I have 2 temperature readings? Shouldn't I just have 1, just like in BIOS
U have cleaned the heatsink fan, but did u apply a new layer of thermal paste between the heatsink and the processor before putting the heatsink back? blink.gif

By the way, it's 2 temperature reading coz there's two temperature sensors in you're pc...

Temperature 1 is for the nortbridge chipset
Temperature 2 is for the processor

Capiche? smile.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 6 2006, 07:30 PM
deric88
post Dec 6 2006, 08:08 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

weird my 1.7 p4 runs cool without thermal paste, under the stock hsf there's a thermal pad....
shoudln't be hsf contact problem because fixing 478 hsf much more easier than 775
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2006, 08:12 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Dec 6 2006, 08:08 PM)
weird my 1.7 p4 runs cool without thermal paste, under the stock hsf there's a thermal pad....
shoudln't be hsf contact problem because fixing 478 hsf much more easier than 775
I know about that thermal pad, IINM, it's not thermal pad, it's some kind of metal / zink sheet that works like the thermal paste, but in a lesser performance.
After some time, it'll wear off, and another thing, once you've taken out the heatsink from on top of the processor, it won't work the same way as it used to be...

Take out the thermal pad / metal sheet and replace it with some thermal paste, believe me, this way, heat conduction will work a lot better than just relying on the thermal pad / metal sheet thumbup.gif
TSkwekeugene
post Dec 6 2006, 09:01 PM

1,479 posts

Aite aite. Thanks sHawTY. Will make a visit to Lowyat soon. Thanks biggrin.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 8 2006, 10:21 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Dec 6 2006, 09:01 PM)
Aite aite. Thanks sHawTY. Will make a visit to Lowyat soon. Thanks biggrin.gif
Will Make A visit?

Which heatsink are you going to buy? blink.gif

Aiyoh, discuss with us liao... sweat.gif
TSkwekeugene
post Dec 8 2006, 12:54 PM

1,479 posts

I checked with a mate of mine. Apparently, he say the 2nd temp value will most likely be neglectable. According, to him, you'll get funny values when you don't have the motherboard drivers properly installed.

I think what he say does make sense. My PC has been on for the whole week and no crashing or slowing down.
sHawTY
post Dec 8 2006, 02:02 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Dec 8 2006, 12:54 PM)
I checked with a mate of mine. Apparently, he say the 2nd temp value will most likely be neglectable. According, to him, you'll get funny values when you don't have the motherboard drivers properly installed.

I think what he say does make sense. My PC has been on for the whole week and no crashing or slowing down.
And you believe him? doh.gif

Look boy, as i've said earlier, the temperature 1 is the chipset, while temperature 2 is for the processor...

And seriously, you're friend just act like he knows everything..
Like hell, what's the relationship on drivers with temperatures? shakehead.gif

He's just acting like he knows everything...

Look at you're system, you're chipset is on 50degrees, you're processor is on 91degrees, and now you say you wanna leave it just like that?

Okay, if you insist on leaving it like that, let it be, but if something bad happen, please, tell me first as i'll be the first to laugh out loud... laugh.gif
irangan
post Dec 8 2006, 02:59 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Dec 8 2006, 12:54 PM)

errr.... i think it is better to listen to advise from forum rather than some friend of yours (some friends just love to brag as if they know everything). FYI, wrongly installed mobo driver will cause your comp to crash or cannot boot and not increase the temp to insane level. do some research using google and you will know the truth.
Doom
post Dec 8 2006, 03:09 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

If u are dare than place a aluminum piece to the HSF area... if the heat transfer to you hand fast .. that mean it is damn hot ...

TSkwekeugene
post Dec 8 2006, 04:15 PM

1,479 posts

Okay. Don't burn my ass yet. Hey, I'm still learning the basics. Let me go sort out this mess ASAP.

hey shawty, keep it cool man (pun intended tongue.gif). I don't want to fry no processors.

irangan, sure, will do research. thanks for the tip.

Doom, I tried that just now, I cooked a egg over it. Shit. Now i got to clean up all the egg white on it. tongue.gif

Kataro
post Dec 8 2006, 04:23 PM

Super Saiya Jin 4
775 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Dec 6 2006, 07:09 PM)

Any other solution?

You mean you remove the fan only or you have remove the fan together with the heat sink? Did you re-apply thermal paste? blink.gif
Doom
post Dec 8 2006, 04:42 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Dec 8 2006, 04:15 PM)
Okay. Don't burn my ass yet. Hey, I'm still learning the basics. Let me go sort out this mess ASAP.

hey shawty, keep it cool man (pun intended tongue.gif). I don't want to fry no processors.

Doom, I tried that just now, I cooked a egg over it. Shit. Now i got to clean up all the egg white on it. tongue.gif
I guess the proc really hot ....
irangan
post Dec 8 2006, 05:48 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Dec 8 2006, 04:15 PM)

not flaming you la.. just worry you toast your processor if u listen to your friend. if u want to learn the basic, you can learn alot from this thread.
Ah Shawn
post Dec 8 2006, 09:53 PM

512 posts

post deleted

This post has been edited by Ah Shawn: Dec 9 2006, 06:01 PM
TSkwekeugene
post Dec 8 2006, 10:02 PM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(Ah Shawn @ Dec 8 2006, 09:53 PM)
if any of u have used speedfan b4 u all shud know that speedfan does give odd readings which aren't actually refering 2 any of ur components.this is bcos da thermal sensor on da mobo or wherever is not connected(correct me if wrong,i read this fr another thread)as far as i know da only way u'll know which one is da actual reading is by stopping da proc fan and see which temp goes up(pls tell me if there's an alterantive method).dats da correct reading.fr ur speedfan reading da 51c wud most likely be ur cpu assuming it's functioning properly.at 90c ur bios wud haf automatically shut down ur pc according 2 da preset shutdown temp in bios.4 da rest of da ppl who posted ere they r pretty much spamming tongue.gif:P
Remember the friend I told you about? Well, that's him. May the National Debate Championship begin. tongue.gif
irangan
post Dec 8 2006, 10:57 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

if any of u have used speedfan b4 u all shud know that speedfan does give odd readings which aren't actually refering 2 any of ur components.this is bcos da thermal sensor on da mobo or wherever is not connected(correct me if wrong,i read this fr another thread)as far as i know da only way u'll know which one is da actual reading is by stopping da proc fan and see which temp goes up(pls tell me if there's an alterantive method).dats da correct reading.fr ur speedfan reading da 51c wud most likely be ur cpu assuming it's functioning properly.at 90c ur bios wud haf automatically shut down ur pc according 2 da preset shutdown temp in bios.4 da rest of da ppl who posted ere they r pretty much spamming tongue.gif:P
after reading this, i think you need to google up abit more on 'How Speedfan and any other temp detector software obtain the temp?'.

4 da rest of da ppl who posted ere they r pretty much spamming tongue.gif:P
oh.. so everyone here is wrong and you are the only one that correct.. hmmmm... good for you... good for you...

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Dec 8 2006, 10:02 PM)
Remember the friend I told you about? Well, that's him. May the National Debate Championship begin. tongue.gif
nothing much to debate.. your friend is errrrr abit... FUNNY?

This post has been edited by irangan: Dec 8 2006, 11:01 PM
sHawTY
post Dec 9 2006, 05:28 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

So you think you're clever enough?

Hey, not all motherboard will auto shut off when the temps go high than usual... whistling.gif
Not all motherboard have that function you know... doh.gif
Don't brag as if you know everything..

You're the one who's spamming kid...
lolhalol
post Dec 9 2006, 05:36 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

actually i have to agree with shawty here... ur spamming bro... as far as i know alot of budget boards and unknwon brands DO not have tthe emergency shit off ... also u can always accidentally turn this setting off in the bios... well i never use speed fan coz it sometimes doent label the temps..like in this case..use mbm5. or similar.. but last time speed fan gave a 300 degrees on my cpu..u think dats correct?
Ah Shawn
post Dec 9 2006, 05:58 PM

512 posts

if u all keep on telling ppl 2 replace thermal paste n all then how come my speedfan gives readings such as 8c and up until 80c(on a sempron?doesnt make sense)?some readings fluctuate n dun make sense.nyway forgive my earlier statements.i may haf overshot.but if anyone cud xplain y so many speedfan users ask this same question about da weird temp readings please do so.da piece of information i obtained came fr a thread dat was posted some time ago on da tech supp forum.i even opened up a thread asking da similar question quite sumtime ago n those were da answers i got.so sorry if i terlanjur kata. i assume it was correct.sorry again.educate me notworthy.gif

as u can see 19c does not make sense.my pc has been on for more than an hour.my northbridge temp at one time registered 77c n my cpu 80c.i set my mobo 2 auto shut off at 65c(im using winfast 6100k8mb wit a sempy 2800).but in da configure option of speed fan there's another temp reading at da same address showing a more logical temp.i touched my northbridge heatsink n it's oni warm.not anywhere near 77c as stated.

This post has been edited by Ah Shawn: Dec 9 2006, 06:59 PM

sHawTY
post Dec 11 2006, 09:37 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Ah Shawn @ Dec 9 2006, 05:58 PM)
if u all keep on telling ppl 2 replace thermal paste n all then how come my speedfan gives readings such as 8c and up until 80c(on a sempron?doesnt make sense)?some readings fluctuate n dun make sense.nyway forgive my earlier statements.i may haf overshot.but if anyone cud xplain y so many speedfan users ask this same question about da weird temp readings please do so.da piece of information i obtained came fr a thread dat was posted some time ago on da tech supp forum.i even opened up a thread asking da similar question quite sumtime ago n those were da answers i got.so sorry if i terlanjur kata. i assume it was correct.sorry again.educate me  notworthy.gif

as u can see 19c does not make sense.my pc has been on for more than an hour.my northbridge temp at one time registered 77c n my cpu 80c.i set my mobo 2 auto shut off at 65c(im using winfast 6100k8mb wit a sempy 2800).but in da configure option of speed fan there's another temp reading at da same address showing a more logical temp.i touched my northbridge heatsink n it's oni warm.not anywhere near 77c as stated.
Maybe because u're motherboard sensor chip is faulty... whistling.gif

irangan
post Dec 11 2006, 10:21 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 11 2006, 09:37 PM)
Maybe because u're motherboard sensor chip is faulty... whistling.gif
hahaha... good one.. actually i dont even bother to read what he is posting. (i hate ppl that so self center)
TSkwekeugene
post Dec 11 2006, 11:31 PM

1,479 posts

Alright. This thread no longer serves the purpose of educating. Mods please Close Thread. Thank You.

This post has been edited by kwekeugene: Dec 11 2006, 11:33 PM
irangan
post Dec 11 2006, 11:47 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Dec 11 2006, 11:31 PM)
Alright. This thread no longer serves the purpose of educating. Mods please Close Thread. Thank You.
you are damm right about that.. haha... btw, you can close this topic yourself... scroll till end of this page, you will see moderation option on your left. select close and done.. this topic is close..

want to remind you again... i dont listen to that friend of yours.. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 11 2006, 11:49 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 11 2006, 11:47 PM)
want to remind you again... i dont listen to that friend of yours.. smile.gif
Same goes to me, he just seems to just brag all that he wants... laugh.gif

I don't believe him... smile.gif
styloe
post Dec 12 2006, 12:50 AM

6 sTaR wORkaHOLic JuNKie
1,242 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 11 2006, 10:21 PM)
hahaha... good one.. actually i dont even bother to read what he is posting. (i hate ppl that so self center)
speedfan kinda dumb act.it nvr accurate.for c2d user have better temp reading software like coretemp i guess and TAT.irangan i think he's not self centeredla come on he thinks the damn universe evolves around him kots..

OT...

sHaWTy, dude u got ur mobo yet? whistling.gif

0.0269sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:14 AM