How to transfer money to Taiwan, without high tax or surcharge

TSpsyduck89
post Nov 25 2015, 09:44 AM, updated 11y ago

New Korean Member
818 posts

Im looking for a way to transfer money to Taiwan.
My friend is over there and I want him to buy something for me..
the amount is rm3k, and they told me I will get charge around 100+..
I dono isit true or what method they using..

Any 1 got idea how to send money to Taiwan without get high surcharge? hmm.gif

Update:
He is using city bank (taiwan account, not local account),
can I just bank in into his city bank account?

This post has been edited by psyduck89: Nov 25 2015, 12:15 PM
wykl
post Nov 25 2015, 09:51 AM

568 posts

ask him to use credit card and u pay him back later?
TSpsyduck89
post Nov 25 2015, 09:52 AM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(wykl @ Nov 25 2015, 09:51 AM)
ask him to use credit card and u pay him back later?
he go no cash and credit card..
since the amount I want to spend is big,
so I need to send him the money 1st.
wykl
post Nov 25 2015, 09:54 AM

568 posts

what if u online transfer money to his account and withdraw from his side? there will be charge but not sure how much.

i think u better check with the bank or something
TSpsyduck89
post Nov 25 2015, 09:56 AM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(wykl @ Nov 25 2015, 09:54 AM)
what if u online transfer money to his account and withdraw from his side? there will be charge but not sure how much.

i think u better check with the bank or something
okay,
will check with him 1st.
yokoloco
post Nov 25 2015, 10:11 AM

1,116 posts

Can try Western Union but not sure how much to transfer to Taiwan
jmas
post Nov 25 2015, 10:15 AM

I can edit title???
830 posts

maybank2u FTT, RM10, but takes up to 3 days.

AFAIK, no money changer in Taiwan takes MYR. Even bank also reluctant.
TSpsyduck89
post Nov 25 2015, 10:16 AM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Nov 25 2015, 10:15 AM)

so i must send TWD instead of rm?

surcharge only RM10?
hihihehe
post Nov 25 2015, 10:41 AM

13,791 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Nov 25 2015, 10:15 AM)

did you face it before or u just heard about it?
TSpsyduck89
post Nov 25 2015, 12:21 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Nov 25 2015, 10:11 AM)
Can try Western Union but not sure how much to transfer to Taiwan
u use bfeore?
yokoloco
post Nov 25 2015, 12:28 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Nov 25 2015, 12:21 PM)
u use bfeore?
Used WU before but not to Taiwan.
TSpsyduck89
post Nov 25 2015, 12:32 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Nov 25 2015, 12:28 PM)
Used WU before but not to Taiwan.
roughly how much they charge?

yokoloco
post Nov 25 2015, 12:46 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Nov 25 2015, 12:32 PM)
roughly how much they charge?
Not too sure. Different country different pricing. Better you go to bank with western union sign and ask. Transfer done in 10-15mins.

Can ask the bank person for alternative ways as well.
TSpsyduck89
post Nov 25 2015, 12:49 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Nov 25 2015, 12:46 PM)
Not too sure. Different country different pricing. Better you go to bank with western union sign and ask. Transfer done in 10-15mins.

Can ask the bank person for alternative ways as well.
oh?
bank with western union?
u mean i go city bank and ask?

yokoloco
post Nov 25 2015, 01:00 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Nov 25 2015, 12:49 PM)
oh?
bank with western union?
Any bank with the western union logo outside can use already.
Western Union direct transfer to his name, he just need to go to a bank in Taiwan with western Union and collect it in cash
palgo47
post Nov 25 2015, 01:02 PM

462 posts

Use Paypal la easiest.
TSpsyduck89
post Nov 25 2015, 01:14 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(palgo47 @ Nov 25 2015, 01:02 PM)
Use Paypal la easiest.
he dont have pay pal,
how to receive money wor..
TSpsyduck89
post Nov 25 2015, 01:15 PM

New Korean Member
818 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Nov 25 2015, 01:00 PM)
Any bank with the western union logo outside can use already.
Western Union direct transfer to his name, he just need to go to a bank in Taiwan with western Union and collect it in cash
any bank oso sane rate?
PetomJL
post Nov 25 2015, 01:36 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Nov 25 2015, 09:44 AM)
Im looking for a way to transfer money to Taiwan.
My friend is over there and I want him to buy something for me..
the amount is rm3k, and they told me I will get charge around 100+..
I dono isit true or what method they using..

Any 1 got idea how to send money to Taiwan without get high surcharge? hmm.gif

Update:
He is using city bank (taiwan account, not local account),
can I just bank in into his city bank account?
I don't know about other banks, because I only have used Maybank and CIMB for foreign transfer.

Maybank or CIMB only charge RM10 for online foreign telegraphic transfer, or RM25-30 if do over the counter. There will be charge on the receiving bank's side, it depends on banks so you can ask your friend how much is the fees (to receive money). I did a transfer to Taiwan few years ago, I can't remember the cost but the receiving charge was a lot higher than our side (RM10), but still cheaper compared to Western Union.

Unfortunately, i just checked, both banks no longer offer TT in TWD currency, so transactions will be in USD (MYR-USD, then USD to TWD, double conversions there, so you could lose a lot). In the past, it was directly in TWD.

If you have Citibank account you can ask them, maybe they have special rate for transfers between Citibank local and overseas, I don't know.

QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Nov 25 2015, 12:49 PM)
oh?
bank with western union?
Only few banks in malaysia have Western Union service, CIMB used to have but now already ditched it. I think banks that still offer WU service: RHB, Ambank, Bank Islam, BSN.. some others. I don't think Citibank got Western Union. Western Union is available at post offices.

I had always avoided Western Union because to me bank's TT is cheaper (especially the fees from the Malaysian's side). But you can try to get a quote and compare.

Paypal can be cheaper if the amount is small.

SUSpijaklu
post Nov 25 2015, 02:27 PM

use paypal, the cheapest. or else, western union also charging around rm75

0.0217sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:17 PM