Recommend me some leather boots

patryn33
post Nov 25 2015, 08:09 AM

3,940 posts

I cannot stand breakin process, I always put in orthodontic insoles and they always certainly make them feel better.

Dress boots I like quick lace. Custom made go with indo recommendation.

Redwing iron ranger etc hard to find good deals around.

Or you can hunt down AE.
http://www.shoebank.com/FactorySecondInven...&DIM=D&SIZE=100

Or try wolverine 1000 mile
http://www.sierratradingpost.com/wolverine...-prod-prod9721R

Or new brands - smaller brands
http://thursdayboots.com/collections/boots
https://www.bostonbootco.com
http://kendalhyde.com

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 25 2015, 08:22 AM
patryn33
post Nov 25 2015, 09:22 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 25 2015, 08:59 AM)
all these are removeable insoles?

you own a pair of 1ks?
I own a cheap wolverine 1883 made in Portugal for usd$12 on sale. No removal insole.

Not removal just size up to add, if u interested do some research. The joy is in the hunting don't want to rob u off the fun
patryn33
post Nov 25 2015, 12:35 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 25 2015, 09:38 AM)
so cheap? USD 12? thats a steal...
Lol... I know ppl who bought redwing at usd$50 and those iron ranger for usd$100.

Key is you got to visit the factory at the right occasion
patryn33
post Nov 25 2015, 12:42 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 25 2015, 10:09 AM)
lol no thanks bro. not my style. after some forum members recommended me like red wings and I found wolverine 1k also.

Now still thinking of the pros and cons about them.

If anyone owns both or either one of the pairs. then maybe can give me some advise on which is better for comfort.
Google! The fun is the research, enjoy
http://www.styleforum.net/t/315339/red-win...erine-1000-mile
patryn33
post Nov 26 2015, 01:47 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 25 2015, 09:12 PM)
viberg... never heard before... he is a boots kind of guy
Well priced over usd$700 different market from red wing
If u looking at such prices I am sure not hard to recommend
http://viberg.com/collections/footwear?page=2
patryn33
post Nov 26 2015, 11:04 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 26 2015, 09:25 AM)
Hmm no bro....buying my first boots from Timberland already I felt the heart ache.... red wings iron range is more expensive than timberlands i think...
Iron ranger maybe around 1200.
Not sure what timberlands u got but in general they cost more.

Timberlands are glue constructed while redwing are Goodyear welt
Timberland made in China, red wing made in USA

Breakin - not shoe trees. Shoe tree is used to maintain shape
Read up
http://www.theshoesnobblog.com/2012/07/bre...st-30-days.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 26 2015, 11:17 AM
patryn33
post Nov 26 2015, 11:43 AM

3,940 posts

Timberland markup really high in Asia not really worth the money.
My winter timberland boots only cost me usd$50+, north face also around that price.

At times Kickstarter can find good deals on boots, but not many enjoy the long wait
patryn33
post Nov 26 2015, 09:24 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 26 2015, 01:29 PM)
CHUKKA style? Wolverine 1000 having a chukka sale.

I dig this style, nice price

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 26 2015, 11:03 PM
patryn33
post Nov 26 2015, 11:10 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 26 2015, 11:06 PM)
not bad looking  rclxms.gif wolverines can get in Msia?
Read. Only the 1000 mile USA made, 1883 all Portugal made.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2890961/all

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 26 2015, 11:13 PM
patryn33
post Nov 28 2015, 09:26 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 28 2015, 04:13 PM)
Haha I am kinda thinking about red wings iron ranger already. But my wallet don't seem to agree with me.

Maybe I save up for a few months to get it ba. Then again. I only can wear during weekends since it is not suitable for office wear.

Come to think of it, once I started working I don't get to wear all my t shirts, shorts and other casual clothing and accessories.

Kinda waste though
big waste if U don't wear it...
but here they see no issue to wear it to the boardroom
http://www.mensjournal.com/style/shoes/tir...-boots-20130207

buy something like this
http://www.herringshoes.co.uk/product-info...d=6&shoeid=7355
http://www.allenedmonds.com/shoes/mens-sho...or=6043#start=5

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 28 2015, 09:35 PM
patryn33
post Nov 29 2015, 09:14 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 29 2015, 01:32 AM)
yeah... iron rangers but the price  icon_question.gif
Get one made in China or Portugal or Dominican Republic and price will be lower. Made in USA, UK, Spain with leather made in developed countries pay up!

Goodyear welt in general also cost more, you can replace sole when it wear out. Your timberland, sole worn out means throw away shoes.

Read
http://www.primermagazine.com/2014/spend/u...stich-cementing

Learn to buy online and you can get deals such as
http://www.sierratradingpost.com/frye-walt...-prod-prod9143J

Or try buying new brands these starts at usd$199, they do ship internationally
http://thursdayboots.com/collections/boots
http://thursdayboots.com/pages/faq

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 29 2015, 09:21 PM
patryn33
post Nov 29 2015, 10:38 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Nov 29 2015, 09:31 PM)
looks gooding. you own thursday boots? you seem to know alot about boots.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Sorry don't own one, but read around for reviews

Own cheap timberland and north face for snow
Wolverine 1883 and a cheap Cole Hann for daily abuse.
Also have that Brooklyn boots
Timberland and red wing safety boots
Just score that Allen Edmonds.

Hope next year can find some red wing mock toe and stuff in their annual tent sale. See if pal willing to help me out.

If u like European style try. These are GYW made in China and finished in Spain iirc. High QC. A lot of fans.
https://www.meermin.es/catalogo.php?idFamilia4=5

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 30 2015, 02:00 AM
patryn33
post Nov 30 2015, 11:51 AM

3,940 posts

U did say u be working at office and most of the time be dressy.

Such style also rugged
http://www.allenedmonds.com/shoes/mens-sho...r=1713#start=12

My 1883 comes with rubber sole
Check out other style
http://www.wolverine.com/US/en/mens-1883-boots-shoes/

Get a Chippewa maybe same price as your timberland
http://www.amazon.com/Chippewa-Mens-Rugged...p/dp/B0036VN958

This post has been edited by patryn33: Nov 30 2015, 12:10 PM
patryn33
post Dec 1 2015, 08:11 AM

3,940 posts

below made in USA with rubber sole if you like the style.
Original price $385 after discount $156
This has a 35% off code CYBERDEAL
https://www.brooklynboot.com/product/31

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 1 2015, 08:18 AM
patryn33
post Dec 2 2015, 11:47 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Dec 2 2015, 04:49 PM)
I go have a look. hmm... he got it directly from indo? or online ship it to malaysia? anywhere in msia to try them prior to purchasing?
sagara boots still over US$200, MTO ones starts US$255.
patryn33
post Dec 2 2015, 11:53 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Dec 2 2015, 01:51 PM)
Anything on the market that is Goodyear welted but below 500? I'm looking for something I can afford to abuse.
other welt not considered?
http://mydenimlife.com/blog/construction2/

some suggestion here
https://www.reddit.com/r/goodyearwelt/comme...ot_buying_guide

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 2 2015, 11:57 PM
patryn33
post Dec 3 2015, 11:59 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Dec 2 2015, 01:51 PM)
Anything on the market that is Goodyear welted but below 500? I'm looking for something I can afford to abuse.
Eastland not Goodyear but storm welt
http://www.eastlandshoe.com/product/mobile...mber+up+boot.do

Sale at usd$75
https://www.nordstromrack.com/shop/product/...olor=Dark+Brown

These too
http://www.goldenfoxfootwear.com/boots/moc-toe/6-inch.html/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 3 2015, 12:14 PM
patryn33
post Dec 4 2015, 11:46 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Dec 3 2015, 12:39 PM)
Ah i see. Sagara now made a name of themselve and decided to up the price. Last time u can get it around rm300-500 and for MTO around rm 500-800 tops. Well its too bad then
Last time is how many years ago?
They were at such price iirc in 2013.
patryn33
post Dec 4 2015, 12:14 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Dec 4 2015, 12:09 PM)
2013-2014 before they went international (got recogition from SF, stylesforum etc.) u know the drill anyways. After that lah. My friend MTO around 2013 and only got his boots half a year later.
2012 already 200 maybe with 40 shipping
http://www.styleforum.net/t/321619/sagara-...om-indonesia/60
patryn33
post Dec 4 2015, 12:17 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Dec 4 2015, 12:11 PM)
if im not mistaken last year they did a sample sale which around rm300 - rm500 for a boot and shoes.
Sale is good! Any idea when those sale?

0.0298sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:45 PM