Coolermaster GeminII, discuss anything this cooler here

sHawTY
post Dec 6 2006, 11:39 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

It have been posted before, and it's CoolerMaster Japan Engineered, not like other CoolerMaster products that is engineered by taiwan.

For me, it's too damn large, it'll surely break the motherboard, i wouln't trust my motherboard to take such a large heatsink... shakehead.gif

Furthermore, the heatpipes is too long before it reaches the fins, so the heat is taking longer time to reach the cooler parts aka the fins...

Let's just wait either it'll really going to be produced or just a concept item... smile.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2006, 11:46 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 6 2006, 11:40 AM)
OH... it is just a prototype, is it... i thought that is a retail products. never see it in my life. so big!
Yeah, it's a Prototype a.k.a. Concept Item

Will it be released and produced?

It's too damn large you know? rclxub.gif
'
What kind of motherboard can stand the weight of that big heatsink?
Furthermore, it seems like it'll need a large free space, will got stuck with other parts on ther motherboard such as the Northbridge heatsinks... rclxub.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2006, 12:02 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Dec 6 2006, 11:52 AM)
its not prototype anymore laa..its releasing somewer around this month..if prototype i dun bother to create this thread coz we all see b4

it looks gigantic but is not monstrous heavy..about 850g with both fan..at least not heavy like hyper 6  sweat.gif

found the prototype pic

the prototype dun hav hole in the middle..but this hav a hole..cut a hole there save alot of weight i guess
Owh, my bad, my bad... sweat.gif
Sorry...

But an 850Gm without fan it's a little bit heavy don't you think?
But to think that the old heavier Hyper 6 can be supported by most motheboard, i think this heatsink wouldn't be a problem though, but still, it's too... BIG...

The biggest heatsink i've seen so far... rclxub.gif

Wanna try this aa Powerslide? laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2006, 05:01 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Darn the last picture that Powerslide gave us here, is making me drool... drool.gif

I'm gonna wait for some results from some reviews, and check the price first, if both is good, might wanna use this...

With that large surface area, it should beat the other super heatsink... wub.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2006, 06:30 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 6 2006, 05:55 PM)
now we have 2 big fans cooling that CPU. rclxms.gif
big is beautiful? (sounds familiar?) tongue.gif
No la, it should be "Size Does Matter" laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 6 2006, 07:03 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Dec 6 2006, 06:51 PM)
which ones are good?  shocking.gif
CM Hyper TX performs well you know? smile.gif
CM Eclipse is also good... thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 8 2006, 10:06 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Dec 8 2006, 09:22 AM)
...... come come .... should be able to arrive soon ...

better off Mordeno bring in the cooler for his bulk orders....
Believe me, he will bring it in his bulk sales... smile.gif

If the item is good, then why not...

Now i'm worried about my casing...
Will it fit? or it won't? sweat.gif

What's the measurement of the heatsink aahh? sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 8 2006, 08:04 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Dec 8 2006, 04:02 PM)
Show us ur rig in action ... then we could dicuss about it mah .....
Man, more and more people asking me to show my rig... sweat.gif

I think i really have to find a camera now... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 9 2006, 04:45 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 8 2006, 08:35 PM)
the height = 17.5 cm + 25 cm (fan), totaling 20cm, eeehhh same like ultra-120, then it will not fit in ur tsunami dream lor whistling.gif

should we also worried bout the location of the proc? rclxub.gif ...

Damn it, this thing will never fit in my Tsunami Dream!!!
Argh...
Maybe this is the right time for me to change to Gigabyte's 3D Aurora case?

Looking at the displacement of heatsink, i'm kind afraid if it doesn't fit in my motherboard... sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 9 2006, 11:45 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Dec 9 2006, 06:16 PM)
time to change to *ahemmmm* lian li  whistling.gif

cm stacker would fit  tongue.gif ..but this cm dun make it support s478  doh.gif
Am thinking of getting a Lian Li PC A10 @ Gigabyte 3D Aurora...
3D aurora is cheaper, but, i love the design of A10 as the motherboard tray is facing left side of the casing... wub.gif

Hmm, which one to go? sweat.gif

What do you think of that casing guys? brows.gif

QUOTE(s[H)
sIkuA,Dec 9 2006, 06:30 PM]I am more worried about the noise rather than the weight sweat.gif

if 2 = 220CFM , then 1 = 110CFM , AFAIK , a 12cm that can produce such high CFM at the same time will also provide alot of noise doh.gif
Noise?
Change the fan lor... icon_rolleyes.gif

I am not gonna use that 110CFM per fan it's gonna be noisy leh... shakehead.gif

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 9 2006, 08:50 PM)
can't u flip the window upside down, making the case fan sits at the bottom near the pci slots.... sweat.gif
or, u could just sell it to me laugh.gif
Sell what?
My case? whistling.gif

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 9 2006, 10:51 PM)
Damn nice! I'm gonna haf a real good look at it when it comes out. Really good design. The fans sit on a bracket that can slide to the left or right so u can adjust it to fit ure mobo n case. I love it coz it cools the whole mobo n my mobo is 1 hot mobo. Look damn cool too. Love the design n the 2 big fans. Big is goooooooooooooooooooood. Heatpipes r sexayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. I like.  laugh.gif
Yerp, Heatpipes are sexy!!! wub.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 9 2006, 11:46 PM
sHawTY
post Dec 11 2006, 09:14 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 9 2006, 10:51 PM)
Damn nice! I'm gonna haf a real good look at it when it comes out. Really good design. The fans sit on a bracket that can slide to the left or right so u can adjust it to fit ure mobo n case. I love it coz it cools the whole mobo n my mobo is 1 hot mobo. Look damn cool too. Love the design n the 2 big fans. Big is goooooooooooooooooooood. Heatpipes r sexayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. I like.  laugh.gif
There u go with u're heatpipe fetish again... laugh.gif

QUOTE(@meno @ Dec 11 2006, 04:55 PM)
But since it is for enthusiast, then the compatibility issue shouldn't be a problem as long as it fits most high-end extreme motherboards.

Bout the blockage problem mentioned by s[H]sIkuA, i don't think that would be a real problem as the heatsink has a rather high clearence.
I'm more worried bout the weight though.
Even if it has high clearance, i don't think fitting in on vertical would be a good idea as i think it'll got block with some high end vga cards... sweat.gif

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 11 2006, 04:59 PM)
weight = little heavy than xp-90c & little lighter than CM Hyper 6 tongue.gif
Nice... wub.gif

QUOTE(@meno @ Dec 11 2006, 05:21 PM)
Ya, and that is considered to be damn heavy already.
Don't wanna damage the mobo.
I cant imagine if they built a full copper Fujin...(Luckily it was aluminium)
Full Copper Fujin... sweat.gif
Seriously, even if they will build a full copper fujin, it's gonna be freaking heavy, and i don't think there will be any motherboard that can support Full Copper Fujin... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 12 2006, 10:36 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 11 2006, 09:31 PM)
great, so it depends on mobo design, the casing clearance for top and side and most of all, the bonding strength. high cfm doesn't mean it can efficiently cool of the heat from the processor. considering the large block is there to obstruct the internal circulation

2 things, GC card and rear exhaust fan will be blocked?
This is the thing that make me scared to use that heatsink... sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 12 2006, 11:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 12 2006, 10:58 PM)
as for amd they have to recheck their socket adapter (which way does it face - like in the pic), lucky for 775 user, can mount anyway they want, don't have to worry lor thumbup.gif

Not really, you have to check the placing of you're LGA775 socket, if the socket is in the wrong place, then you're screwed... sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 20 2006, 07:08 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Powerslide, the fujin, not released yet? drool.gif drool.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 23 2006, 12:02 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 22 2006, 12:07 AM)
february ar.... hmmm... so near but i yet see any news about it in local pc magazine. any idea on its pricing? estimated?
It should be lower than RM300, it can't be more than that, as if it's more than RM300, those Ultra 120 & Infinity users will just stick with their heatsink... rolleyes.gif
sHawTY
post Feb 9 2007, 05:06 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(point blanc @ Feb 9 2007, 04:44 PM)
i guess the price would be 2 or 3 times the current HSF.
may be more... considering it's size, fan and heat pipes...
probably end up to about RM 700.00
That's propostorous! shakehead.gif
There's no way an air cooling heatsink will reach RM700 shakehead.gif

I'd say that the highest price for that heatsink will only be RM300

For what you spend RM700 for that heatsink?
RM700 could get you a lower end swiftech watercooling kit dude!

Definitely way better than all other high end heatsink. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 4 2007, 01:36 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(error @ Mar 4 2007, 12:50 AM)
surprisingly the coolermaster geminII / fujin? is cheap ...
sapu-ed 2 biji for myself and another fren at RM 145 each in MyPC biggrin.gif
the staff said it arrived yesterday ( 2nd March ) and i've took the last 2 piece tongue.gif

ok result so far is quite good. I was using stock intel hsf and now this monster with 2 x 120 cm led fans.

C2D 6600 @ default speed @ 1.275v
Intel hsf --> idle:45c || load:65c
geminII --> idle:40c || load:52c
WTF..
RM145?

Tell me this is not real. sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Mar 4 2007, 10:22 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(error @ Mar 4 2007, 02:02 AM)
Error, have you used other types of aircooling heatsink before this geminii?
What's your opinion about this geminii compared to your previous air cooling heatsink? blink.gif

sHawTY
post Apr 8 2007, 07:29 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Got a time to go to moderno shop last week, and got a hold of the geminii in my hand. [hold only, no buy laugh.gif ]
From my experience, yes, it is lightweight. thumbup.gif

But looking at overlength heatpipes, i don't know either i can really rely on that heatsink. hmm.gif
sHawTY
post Jun 10 2007, 09:09 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(^666^ @ Jun 10 2007, 08:55 PM)
ok...update with core temp....
Pergh, sejuk seyh.
Cayala.

Tak tau geminII perform sehebat ni. rclxms.gif