clawhammer
post Dec 16 2007, 03:39 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 16 2007, 01:58 PM)
Still can't afford a floppy ? smile.gif what gpu are you using btw ? smile.gif
I'm using a cheap 2600PRO and DOTA is all I play for now (plus a bit of NFS: Pro Street)
Old man don't play a lot of games and I guess I'll borrow a floppy from my friend when it's needed biggrin.gif

Added on December 16, 2007, 3:40 pm
QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 16 2007, 12:04 PM)
So, clawhammer, how's the turning off all 3 fans thing going on?
I still haven't tried but maybe in a couple of days time. For now, it's pretty ok smile.gif
Hot afternoon, no air cond with 1.4Vcore and I get 35C idle.

This post has been edited by clawhammer: Dec 16 2007, 03:40 PM
clawhammer
post Dec 16 2007, 09:07 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Dec 16 2007, 03:49 PM)
That explains it... all processor OCers use cheap, low-power GPUs smile.gif  I've yet to see someone with a GTX push 400fsb with a PSU that doesn't cost a bomb smile.gif
I think many people just enjoy overclocking (like me) and not a true gamer hence no point investing on an expensive graphics card when we don't use it.
I've just replied to your other thread and those PSU thingy are simply commercialized so that manufacturers can make more money. Just get a decent PSU, RM200-300 and it'll last you for years.

Added on December 16, 2007, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(LyraSummersile @ Dec 16 2007, 04:26 PM)
lol =_= ....DotA sucks lo
Thanks but that's the only game I play these days smile.gif

This post has been edited by clawhammer: Dec 16 2007, 09:07 PM
clawhammer
post Dec 17 2007, 03:18 PM

///M
8,788 posts

The concern is on the load temps.
Idle is never a problem even for stock HSF.
clawhammer
post Dec 22 2007, 01:49 AM

///M
8,788 posts

Previously I already had my IHS lapped and today, I lapped my GeminII. The results? Only 2-3C difference.
clawhammer
post Dec 23 2007, 02:15 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Dec 22 2007, 06:31 PM)
Hello u using wad type of thermal paste?Original by the gemin ? or other?
Arctic Cooling MX-2

clawhammer
post Dec 23 2007, 05:20 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 23 2007, 04:47 AM)
The real question is, is it worth your time and work? <-- This is a real question, bkn sindir. blush.gif
I think it's more of interest and the joy of modding (lapping) laugh.gif
It's not much of a difference in terms of temps but at least I tried it out and manage to witness myself biggrin.gif
clawhammer
post Dec 25 2007, 06:30 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Dec 24 2007, 12:54 PM)
Hello can i know what's your rig and idle and load temp?
Mine Brisby X2 4000 Default Volt 2.7Ghz idle at 41 celcius and orthos run at 48-49 Celcius.
My idle is about 25C-27C in an air cond room. If there's no air cond then 32C-33C.
clawhammer
post Dec 26 2007, 05:37 AM

///M
8,788 posts

yp skylineGTR, why not get MX-2? Tuniq is better?
clawhammer
post Dec 26 2007, 05:46 AM

///M
8,788 posts

Oh ok biggrin.gif There's something new which is made from Diamond dust. Those folks in the US already have them. Hopefully someone would bulk it back here.
clawhammer
post Dec 26 2007, 05:53 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(skylineGTR @ Dec 26 2007, 05:50 AM)
waa, diamond dust??  hmm.gif not expensive ka bro? tongue.gif
Fortunately it's not and around the price of AS5. I think they got the dust from those diamond makers because when they cut the diamonds, there'll be dust so they collect them and turn it to thermal compound. Just a guess but I'm really looking forward to it as many people says they give better temps over MX-2 (which is currently the best) biggrin.gif

clawhammer
post Dec 26 2007, 10:55 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Dec 26 2007, 12:30 PM)
I gotta lap it when reach home.BTW what is the first grit u used to lap?Cos i can see the GeminII come with quite smooth surface.Can skip to 1200 grit?
The original surface is pretty flat so you can start at 800 or 1200 as you like.
Don't be too particular about the mirror finishing as the ultimate objective is to get a flat surface, not to make a mirror. Good luck smile.gif
clawhammer
post Dec 27 2007, 02:34 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(skylineGTR @ Dec 27 2007, 06:34 AM)
and definitely dont lap the proc, unless the proc is out of warranty or u r very rich and dun mind about the warranty  tongue.gif
I've already lapped mine and sold my stock HSF biggrin.gif No more warranty but anyway, it's the cheapest Intel CPU now.
clawhammer
post Jan 8 2008, 09:01 AM

///M
8,788 posts

Icute fans are good and cheap but they are not very silent unfortunately biggrin.gif
clawhammer
post Jan 8 2008, 11:33 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Jan 8 2008, 12:39 PM)
I found that Icute fan is very noisy.I put two 12cm on the top of my casing to exhaust.It make more sound then it alone.Duno is the air turbulance or the resonate from the casing.I duno what modification shld i go for.Sifu pls help.
I had the same problem earlier with my GeminII + CM690. The reason is because the two fans are blowing towards your CPU/motherboard and the rear/top exhaust fan is busy sucking air out. Not only it creates a terribly loud noise, the temp is also very bad.

What you have to do is ensure the air flow is right. I fix the problem by moving low cfm fan around the area and I was back on track smile.gif
clawhammer
post Jan 9 2008, 11:30 AM

///M
8,788 posts

Top and back fans should always be exhaust (sucking air out) because thats what the rule says smile.gif
clawhammer
post Jan 16 2008, 12:41 AM

///M
8,788 posts

What's different between Intel & AMD? All the mountings are included in the package.
clawhammer
post Jan 16 2008, 05:44 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Jan 16 2008, 03:08 PM)
hot air would always rise up while cooler air would reside downwards...

do cm690 comes with dust filter? m thinking getting it but worry dust getting into the system...
The CM690 has a dust filter at the bottom but you'll get dust inside the casing anyway (sooner or later) smile.gif
clawhammer
post Jan 16 2008, 09:13 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jan 16 2008, 08:59 PM)
I still havent got my fans to replace my AeroCool.Any suggestion guys ? Below RM100 for 2 120mm fans for my GeminII
Icute LED fans - cheap and good smile.gif
clawhammer
post Jan 19 2008, 12:27 AM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Jan 18 2008, 09:38 AM)
guys,

got any clearance issue fitting gemin2 onto a cm690 casing?
It's a good fit.
clawhammer
post Feb 17 2008, 10:22 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Feb 16 2008, 09:38 PM)
GeminII fans, usually we put both blowing to the board right ? Any of you guys tried blowing out ? Is it effective or not ? Because other HSF blowing out and for towers, directly transfer the heat to rear exhaust
You can try it but I'm pretty sure it'll be very much worse off smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0242sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:55 AM