Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V16

tvcat
post Jul 26 2023, 01:29 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,901 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jul 26 2023, 01:07 PM)
I'm very out of touch with the smartphones these days - so many brands with their countless models and variants.

Am looking for a secondary phone, mainly for one thing - Maybank's MAE APP. Have 2 accounts and they are not interlinked, so I need a second phone to register the MAE's secure thinga-majig.

1. Brand: Preferably on the Android spectrum (using Samsung atm)
2. Budget: I'd figure something around (or below) RM 1,000 oughta fit the bill
3. Specs: MAE app. Yes. Also pokemonGO laugh.gif
4. Type/Size: fitting enough to be operated one-handed
5. Condition: At least launched not more than, what - 2-3 years ago? (worried the model if too old - will stop getting updates and then become redundant/irrelevant)
It is very hard to get small phone nowadays.

Check out the Samsung A series.
tvcat
post Jul 26 2023, 02:44 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,901 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jul 26 2023, 02:31 PM)
Thanks for that - the A14(LTE)@799.- and A14 5G@949.- has a RM 150 difference - thoughts if I should "future-proof" by going with 5G? rclxub.gif
Not sure if 5G will be better since you play pokemon go, otherwise both is ok for normal use.

If possible I would recommend A24 because it has 5 years of security updates, 4 times Android OS updates. this way you can use it longer for bank app.

Update policy of A14 5G is 4 years of security updates, 2 times Android OS updates.
tvcat
post Jul 26 2023, 03:27 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,901 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Jul 26 2023, 03:24 PM)
ngl..i mean, what are the odds .. i just got an sms from MBB with regards to the MAE app thing to merge the separate M2U Ids  laugh.gif

nonetheless, will keep the A14 & A24 in mind - thank you tvcat  thumbsup.gif
No problem. good thing that Maybank actually listen to its customer unlike PBB that having so many complain with a bad app but still not changing anything, sigh...
tvcat
post Jul 26 2023, 04:19 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,901 posts

QUOTE(real_cranium @ Jul 26 2023, 10:52 AM)
Hi sifus. I'm looking for a new phone to replace my son's ageing iPhone 5s. Was wondering if I should purchase yesteryear value phone like Pixel 4a or go with the current budget offering e.g. Poco C40, Redmi 9C or Infinix Hot 30i?

1. Brand: Any
2. Budget: Max RM450
3. Specs: Mainly just watching YouTube.
4. Type/Size: Normal size.
5. Condition: Any
Just get the one that with good condition and snapdragon if possible. For YouTube maybe get one with biggest screen of all choices. If the official YouTube app feel slow then there are some 3rd party app to use like NewPipe.

0.0334sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:49 PM