Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V16

eddieleon7pc
post Jul 29 2024, 08:46 PM

115 posts

Looking for Used (preferred) or New smartphone - Budget 800 MAX

I currently have only 1 main phone, Google pixel 4a 4G, performance and camera great.
Unfortunately

1. has no VoLTE / VoWIFI support (no support these 2 protocol is absolute terrible)
1.5 3G already shut down so cant use that , and 2G is garbage. Other person on line when use garbage 2G is like HAH what u say???
2. the battery life is meh (already changed with genuine new battery).

I am deciding whether to buy a new / used main phone or buy a spare new / used main phone

If i am going the main phone route,
- i want it to have good camera, dont have to best but prefer it dont look like washed out painting
- performance as long as UI smooth and browse website smooth ok
- speaker must be stereo
- must have VoLTE + VoWifi Support
- screen must be AMOLED (dont care refresh rate)
- screen must bright because back then i use Pixel 3a XL 400 nits screen damn dark yo
- plastic build ok
- screen must be color accurate , basically dont have dull colour screen
- storage 64gb minimum , 6gb ram minimum

If i go spare phone route
- must have VoLTE + VoWIFI support
- stereo speaker
- screen doesent matter OLED or LCD
- Performance UI smooth ok

Bonus another option
- be patient and wait for what future holds...redmi note 14?

This post has been edited by eddieleon7pc: Jul 30 2024, 04:41 PM
eddieleon7pc
post Aug 12 2024, 11:24 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(zzpp_low @ Aug 8 2024, 09:53 PM)
So my phone died. RIP. πŸ˜‚ Repair is gonna cost me 200+ something since it fucked up the screen πŸ™ƒ

I can only afford  one of these three atm, thankfully there's a sale going on and I have a coupon for these πŸ˜‚

- redmi note 13, 128gb. Rm514
- Tecno spark 20 pro 256gb 
- Poco m6 pro 256gb 50mp main camera
- infinix hot 40 pro 256g

The regular variant for the m6 100mp main camera is only rm512 also but storage is only 128gb. Everything else is about 580.

I like the tecno and inifinix selfie flash gimmick and they look cute I think , the two Mi's have more famous brand but they aren't as cute altho m6 pro has image stabilization. Sigh so hard.
Hi , personal suggestion is to fix your current phone , may I know what phone is it ?

2. What do you use your phone mainly for ?
3. Do you mainly call using your phone ? Do you listen to WhatsApp voice messages ?
4. Do you care about software updates and support ?
eddieleon7pc
post Aug 12 2024, 11:27 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(SuperTuhan @ Aug 11 2024, 09:41 AM)
What android phone can last for more then 5 years with IP protection and fast charging ? Will buy protection casing for it

For work purpose and wanna set budget less then Rm2000

Gmail, YouTube , Waze, TikTok and once a while light gaming

Camera doesn’t matter

Please recommend , thanks
Easy, only Samsung can provide this. Go for either Samsung a35 or a55.
You will get four (4) android os update and five (5) years security update

note - not 9 years ya

eddieleon7pc
post Aug 16 2024, 12:45 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(zzpp_low @ Aug 15 2024, 06:59 PM)
1. I use mainly for Social media, managing mail/shopping/shipping, media consumption and Photography.
2. I rarely ever use voice call, mainly thru DM, Whatsapp and texting.
3. used the reddmi note 8, and only got like 2 major software updates so didn't really care too much. since they just get shittier by removing features and bloated with each update anyways.

also lol, i didnt get back here before making my purchase. i got infinix note 30 pro it was on sale for RM480 as i liked the amoled screen.  but I might resell it if I'm not vibing with it. its kinda ugly and im sentimental about losing my redmi, lol
I see.,.no worries for now I think the Infinix will suffice. But if you do change mind and go for Redmi take note of the presence of proximity sensor .
Avoid virtual proximity sensing
eddieleon7pc
post Aug 16 2024, 12:51 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(zzpp_low @ Aug 15 2024, 07:00 PM)
are the sub RM499-1000 samsung devices worth it reliability and durability wise? like their buttons and battery.
Buttons should be ok as long as don't break within like 5 years if normal use

The battery is subjective , batteries are consumable which means everyone's battery experience is different but with proper care it can last 3 to 4 years before needing a change or can even stretch 5 years

Charge at 20 unplug at 80 , heat kills lithium batteries.

The Samsung budget range has come long way , used to be lowest of low back in the 2010 days upwards to 2017. Ever since they introduce A(XX) series there is noticable improvements

Stay away from Exynos - Google tensor

0.1797sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:00 PM