Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V16

danielcmugen
post Aug 18 2016, 11:58 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(joefacker @ Aug 16 2016, 02:17 PM)
Hi sifus, looking to get a cheap 3rd phone to complement my personal and work phones...Can't decide between these 3:

a) Lenovo vibe p1M
b) Meizu MX4
c) Huawei p8 lite

Their prices range from 400 to 600 but I believe they have very similar specs.

Looking to use it more for as a GPS and maybe for Pokemon GO.
P8 lite got so cheap?
danielcmugen
post Aug 19 2016, 03:27 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(joefacker @ Aug 19 2016, 03:00 PM)
Yes, it's listed as RM 675 on lazada and if use CC on certain days, there's additional 10% off
Reviews on battery life seem bad, probably not suitable since pokemon go consume a lot of battery hmm.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Aug 19 2016, 03:28 PM
danielcmugen
post Aug 21 2016, 06:53 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Aug 14 2016, 11:27 PM)
Tbh, both are overpriced in their own ways. You can get a Lenovo Vibe X3 that is price similarly but with better specs.

But I were to choose either one, I would go for  Galaxy A7 2016 mainly because it's the more stable one compared to Xperia XA Ultra. Sony's X series is a disaster.
How is it a disaster? Cuz of price?
danielcmugen
post Aug 21 2016, 06:58 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Aug 21 2016, 06:55 PM)
Yes, the price and specs. It's not worth it.

Unless you really like Sony or the phone really attracts you, can't argue with that.
I think Sony is trying to go premium with its image just like its other products biggrin.gif , since no more with Ericsson now.
danielcmugen
post Sep 4 2016, 11:07 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(pcm123 @ Sep 4 2016, 09:53 PM)
1. Brand. - any brand (android)
2. Budget. - 1k
3. Specs. -
4. Type/Size. - 5"

Hi all, was looking at Nexus 5X. Is there any other competitor to have such specs with such price. Choosing 5X believing that software will be smooth. Using mi4i currently, really dislike MIUI.

Also thinking whether should I wait for Sailfish.

Thank you!
May I ask, why u dislike MIUI? Laggy? Have u tried downloading third party launcher is it any better?
danielcmugen
post Sep 4 2016, 11:09 PM

5,538 posts

What't the cheapest phone that supports OTG without root? I found meizu m1 note at rm399. Anything cheaper?

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Sep 4 2016, 11:15 PM
danielcmugen
post Nov 30 2016, 01:58 AM

5,538 posts

Cheapest phone with OIS? Came across HTC desire 830 at RM8xx. Any others?

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Nov 30 2016, 02:35 AM
danielcmugen
post Dec 16 2016, 02:11 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(xEskandaRx @ Dec 15 2016, 08:38 AM)
Need recommendation for hp with dual sim 3G slots (both active) and a memory card slot. Thanks in advance.
I know HTC one E9/X9 got dedicated non-hybrid slot.

They may not be the best bang for buck in terms of specs tho. Personally using E9, overall it's okay.
danielcmugen
post Dec 19 2016, 02:27 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(tapiritam @ Dec 17 2016, 09:36 PM)
Hi guys,

Need recommendations for my new phone as below:

1. Brand - dont mind any brand
2. Budget - max 600
3. Specs - dont mind. But need good performance form
4. Type/Size - strictly big screen, 5.5inch as I use phone to watch movie most of the time

I am considering redmi note 3 at the moment from 11st around rm 5xx but import set. Malaysia set have to add another 200 - 300 which is quite pricey. Should i go with import set or any other good phone within my budget?
Maybe can consider Alcatel flash plus 2. Processor and battery not as good as redmi note 3 though, but should be fine and it's cheaper anyway.
danielcmugen
post Dec 25 2016, 02:16 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(mrizacs @ Dec 24 2016, 10:31 AM)
Hi guys.. need opinion.. HTC desire 830 RM799 ok or not? or with that price can get other better phone?
The thing is, I can't find a definite answer on what processor is it using. Different sources give me different answer. If it runs MT6795M Helio X10 then it's fine, but I suspect that it's running MT6753 only....which should be fine also for normal use.

Normally at this price ppl will go for xiaomi redmi note 3.

However, desire 830 wins in
-Camera with optical image stabilization
-Boomsound stereo speakers
-Maybe ultrapixel front camera carried from the rear of htc m7/m8
-More premium brand maybe?

Tried my best to justify desire 830 purchase.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Dec 25 2016, 03:04 PM
danielcmugen
post Dec 27 2016, 01:33 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Confession @ Dec 25 2016, 11:49 PM)
Hey guys, would like to ask is it still worth to buy an Iphone 6 64GB new at the price of MYR1.9k ? Or is there any other option better than it ?
There are still ppl using iphone 4s till today so the 6 should be fine. Anyway, whr u found the price?

QUOTE(firr @ Dec 26 2016, 07:31 PM)
At some point, some ppl choose 4050mAh over 2800mAh not to bring PB along..
QUOTE(HayateAyakasi8 @ Dec 26 2016, 11:49 PM)
don't those MediaTek chips heat fast, plus theres more support on phones that uses SD chips
What I meant was, the xiaomi wins in every single aspect except those few I mentioned.

QUOTE(UnknownZai @ Dec 27 2016, 01:06 AM)
1. Brand = anything
2. Budget = around RM800
3. Specs. As good as possible
4. Type/Size = 5.5 and above

parent use. biggrin.gif
Xiaomi redmi note 3
danielcmugen
post Dec 29 2016, 12:36 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(zhenhao @ Dec 28 2016, 01:05 PM)
sorry I am lacking knowledge in smartphones... is huawei suitable for 3 to 4 years use?
QUOTE(Jeff_lwh @ Dec 28 2016, 01:45 PM)
My Huawei Honor 3C 29th month already.  So far so good.  Only the battery life shortens (still original battery).

My main phone, Iphone5 White yesterday just celebrated its 4th birthday.  In excellent condition...
QUOTE(oneeleven @ Dec 28 2016, 07:14 PM)
LIKE, me too!  rclxms.gif

Looking for a recommendation -- an uncle friend needs to give up flip phone for more capable smartphone.
What brand/model good for a happy transition gift, less learning curve but not crippled tech, smallish pocketable?
Haha same here, Honor 3C 2 yrs and 7 months. Software crashed once recently, but fixed it for RM60 at huawei service centre. My battery still can achieve close to 4 hrs screen on time.
danielcmugen
post Jan 5 2017, 08:44 PM

5,538 posts

Edit: Read wrongly

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jan 5 2017, 10:39 PM
danielcmugen
post Apr 10 2017, 11:14 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(filage @ Apr 10 2017, 06:20 PM)
Is it still advisable to buy 3g only handphone now with no 4G LTE support?
QUOTE(lylee73 @ Apr 10 2017, 07:02 PM)
You still can use 3G, and calling and Internet works on it, only slightly slower Internet speed. I had been using a 3G-only device for more than a year already.
4G quite low signal and coverage (at least from my exp), plus the constant auto switch between 3G and 4G due to that, so in the end it drains my battery faster. Now i disable 4G cuz 3G feels fast enough. I value batt life more.
danielcmugen
post Apr 23 2017, 02:36 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(edmund_yung @ Apr 19 2017, 10:24 PM)
I wanna get my wife a better phone for selfie. Here's her old phone:

HTC Eye: Really good selfie camera at the time, but after 2 years usage, the 16GB storage and slow CPU didn't cut it anymore.

Oneplus 3T: The phone is much faster than the HTC, the front camera is also much brighter, but it isn't as wide, and the camera software isn't as refined as the one in HTC.

1. Brand - Except Apple
2. Budget - 2~3.3k?
3. Specs - flagship, 32GB Storage or more (microSD if below 64GB).
4. Type/Size - around OP3T size

Anyone compare the front camera of Galaxy S8 and LG G6? or any phone running the SD820/821?
What about HTC 10? The front cam has OIS. Running SD820. Recently saw directd selling at rm21xx for ori set.
danielcmugen
post May 23 2017, 12:27 PM

5,538 posts

Any phone below 1k supports RAW capture?
danielcmugen
post May 23 2017, 12:35 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(awinfakhari @ May 22 2017, 05:32 PM)
hi i need new phone just for gaming, my iphone battery draining too fast.

budget 7xx
ram must be 3gb
size good for gaming is ok.
other i dont care.
Redmi note 3 / note 4. Snapdragon version.
Note 3 should do better in gaming, but note 4 better batt life.

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ May 23 2017, 11:22 AM)
1. Brand : Samsung only
2. Budget : 1k or below
3. Specs: for videos, reading and very light gaming
4. Type/Size : prefer big screen
J7 / J7 prime

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: May 23 2017, 12:36 PM
danielcmugen
post Jun 17 2017, 03:59 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Jun 7 2017, 03:49 PM)
Get the Moto G5 Plus, best camera in it's class.
What about zenfone 3 ZE520KL? Now can be had for as low as 1.1k.

Zenfone got Sony IMX298 sensor (same as oneplus 3) with OIS

G5 plus camera not sure using what sensor, but the F/1.7 is eye catching. The camera samples look better in a comparison review with P10 lite.
danielcmugen
post Jun 18 2017, 12:27 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(hydrogen2oxide @ Jun 17 2017, 08:14 PM)
Hey everyone, looking for recommendation

Brand - any
Budget - up to 1.2k
Specs - Don't play any sort of games but decent camera and extremely good battery life (very important!), prefer 64gb but minimum 32gb. Lastly but most importantly, i prefer it to be hardy (prone to drop, scratches etc) - I work in construction
Type/size - 5"
Redmi note 4 for superb battery life, got 64 or 32gb variant. For durability, get a good casing and all should be good.
Performance...camera etc also quite ok
danielcmugen
post Jun 20 2017, 09:51 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(pokie182 @ Jun 19 2017, 01:50 PM)
Guys,

I'm planning to buy a new phone with budget under RM1,000. Any good recommendation? If possible min 3GB RAM and fast processor. dont really care about the camera and others stuff.

Thanks!
Redmi note 3, redmi note 4

0.2242sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:27 AM