1. Calls, WhatsApp messaging
2. Scrolling through Facebook videos endlessly
3. Grab

Brand
Anything except Apple and Lenovo.

Budget
RM900

Specifications
1. Bar design only. No flip / swivel phones - too many moving parts = easy to break.
2. A good processor. I have been told that Snapdragon processors are better than MediaTek / Exynos / Kirin / etc. - is that true? I would want whatever kind of processor that is the best. (Do kindly advise on how to choose processors. )
3. Minimum 2GB RAM. 2 SIM slots of any kind. At least a memory card slot of any kind.
4. No preference on camera / screen size / thickness.

What do I need -
1. A phone with LONG battery life. I can't be arsed to bring a power bank around.
2. A phone that is NOT prone to crack / shatter / get damaged easily. I drop my phone or step on my phone a few times in an average week. I am clumsy, I know, and this is why I need a phone that can reasonably withstand a few drops.
3. SHOULD NOT LAG WITH GENERAL EVERYDAY USE
Maybe you can consider Asus Zenfone Max Pro (M1). It should be available early next month.

1. 5000mAh battery should be more than enough for a day use.
2. Hard to find phone that is durable as the screen is made from glass. This one has metal back instead of glass back.
3. The SoC should be good enough for daily use.

caviars
post May 29 2018, 01:55 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(wira_laju @ May 28 2018, 05:58 PM)
Used nexus 6p is worth to buy?.rm530 now.erm.
I don't think so. Snapdragon 810 was known to have overheating issue. Then there is this lawsuit

https://www.xda-developers.com/google-huawe...p-class-action/
caviars
post May 29 2018, 01:59 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(catscatscats93 @ May 28 2018, 03:20 PM)
hi would like to ask for recommendation~

1. Brand : Samsung
2. Budget : RM1200 and below
3. Specs : Decent processor / RAM for low-mid gaming
4. Size : Not too big, I'm a girl with very small hands haha
Maybe Samsung A5 2017.
caviars
post Jun 30 2018, 07:38 PM

1,142 posts

1. Brand. Any
2. Budget. RM400. Lower the better
3. Specs. 32GB of internal memory and not AP set. Prefer non-Mediatek SOC
4. Type/Size. Any

So far the closet found is Meizu M6. Is there any better option out there. Thanks
caviars
post Aug 17 2018, 10:38 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(Hola @ Aug 4 2018, 10:15 AM)
1. Brand. Between Huawei, Oppo, Vivo and Samsung
2. Budget. Around RM1,000
3. Specs. Faster processor, better battery life (fast charging is a plus), dual sim, for normal usage and light gaming
4. Type/Size. Around 5 inch

Currently thinking about Huawei Nova 3i or Oppo F7.
Maybe can try to consider Honor play. Need to add a bit as it will cost ~RM1.2K + freebies. It has Kirin 970 SOC is better than Nova 3i/F7.
caviars
post Aug 17 2018, 10:41 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(bartbarb @ Aug 13 2018, 05:21 PM)
1. Brand.
    Eyeing for either Huawei/Xiaomi, other brand is welcome to be recommend.
2. Budget.
    RM1.8k & below
3. Specs.
    64gb internal memory minimum, at least 4gb RAM & above. Battery 3500mah & above.
    preferable to have audio jack but optional.
4. Type/Size.
    Below 6.5inches, half for taking picture, moderate gaming.
Nokia 7 Plus.
caviars
post Oct 20 2018, 08:17 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(dengwong @ Oct 13 2018, 06:29 PM)
Huawei nova 3i or honor 8x?

I always see the sifus here recommend nova 3i if ppl is planning to buy for their parents...

but honor 8x now come out with similiar spec but abt rm300 cheaper than nova 3i...which is ard rm899 ..

If i would like to buy hp for my mum too, which one is more value for money... thx thx
Honor 8X should have better value for money,
caviars
post Oct 20 2018, 08:24 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(kilazilla @ Oct 17 2018, 11:10 PM)
Hi, just want to get some opinion,

If I got budget of RM2k, which are the phones that is the best in camera (mostly for shooting people, landscapes, low light) , not into selfies. have headphone jack is preferable as I don't want to have another item to be misplaced and lost. I don't mind having previous years phone / older version of android.

I checked through, huawei mate 10, p20, samsung s8, mi8, are the choices. any other options ?

I am not into camera, but these phone has high score in DXOmark

Mate 10 Pro
Mix 2S
caviars
post Oct 20 2018, 08:32 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Oct 16 2018, 12:21 PM)
kind to recommend dual lens android phone?

which in budget rm800-rm1200?

prefer none china brand. help
- Asus zenfone max pro m1 (6GB version)

if you can increase budget by RM100 you get more option
- Asus Zenfone 5
- Samsung A7 2018

caviars
post Oct 21 2018, 12:52 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Oct 21 2018, 08:56 AM)
wow factor on Samsung new A7 2.2 processor. got 3 lens more.

but what processor they using? i cannot find.
Should be Exynos Exynos 7885.

Youtube video link Fast forward to ~1:00
caviars
post Oct 22 2018, 10:25 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(exkaizen @ Oct 22 2018, 11:59 AM)
Need recommendation for a smartphone mostly for gaming (besides Poco F1).

Below RM1k (max RM1.2k).

Snapdragon 845 if possible.
The closest one is Honor Play which has Kirin 970.
caviars
post Oct 22 2018, 10:32 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(burgerRamli @ Oct 22 2018, 05:51 PM)
Need recommendation for smartphone budget RM 1.5k max.

This phone is for my mom. So it is very important to have a phone that don't do funny things, like when I visited some phone's threads can read there were some bugs on the skin then got some funny problem which requires people with IT savvy.

so, any phone to recommend? for mom to use for basic features like youtubing, facebooking etc
Maybe Samsung A7 2018. Samsung UI typically is quite stable.
caviars
post Oct 23 2018, 10:03 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(burgerRamli @ Oct 22 2018, 11:37 PM)
Noted. Other than that anything else? Haha.. mi 8 looks good but mcm unstable

How about huawei? Or honor?
Most IU are stable. It just need some time to get use to.
caviars
post Nov 3 2018, 09:50 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Nov 2 2018, 09:10 PM)
Need some recommendations for crappy Nexus 5X replacement. It bootlooped twice.

Brand preference - Samsung, XiaoMi, Huawei
Budget - Within 1k
Priorities - Durability? (not sure if this is relevant lol), camera and decent gcard
Screen size - Less than 6"

Currently aiming at Samsung A6 and XiaoMi A2. Would love to know more recommendations from you guys smile.gif

Thanks guys smile.gif
I would suggest MiA2.

Top up a bit a get the 128GB version as it don't have SD card slot.
caviars
post Nov 3 2018, 10:10 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Nov 3 2018, 10:00 PM)
Hm... If this were to compare with Honor 8X? Since both are under 1k mark
MiA2 if you into gaming and stock android.

8X if you into build design and large screen.

caviars
post Nov 4 2018, 10:25 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(kimicher @ Nov 4 2018, 08:46 PM)
Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy a phone for my boyfriend.. He's currently using an Oppo F1 and it sucks because the phone doesn't send notifications when he receives whatsapp msgs.. I've done some homework and I am torn between the following phones:

OnePlus 6T 8gb/128gb variant
Pocophone F1 6gb/128gb variant

I know that the Pocophone is roughly half the price of the OP6T, which is why I can't decide.. is the price difference worth paying for the OP6T? My bf's phone usage is quite simple; social media browsing, Waze, Mobile legends, light camera usage (not a pixel peeper). Are there other models comparable to the two I mentioned above in terms of bang for buck? The camera doesn't have to be the best, just decent is enough. The main priority is that it doesn't lag and has no notification/GPS issues like his previous phone.. I'm hoping to score a good deal on the 11.11 sales, so I gotta decide soon.. I've shown both phones to my bf and he likes them both (physically)
Poco should has better value for money since your BF don't care much for camera and has no problem with the build. But you might want to check the owner to get better user expencience view.

Other model within range with SD845 6B/128GB

- Asus Zenfone 5Z
- Xiaomi Mi 8

caviars
post Nov 6 2018, 08:39 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(wira_laju @ Nov 6 2018, 11:00 AM)
Asus Zenfone Max Pro M1 32gb @ note 5 32gb ?..
I would choose Asus Zenfone Max Pro M1 due to larger battery.
caviars
post Nov 6 2018, 08:48 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(xfiac @ Nov 5 2018, 08:51 PM)
hi i have some extra money want to upgrade my phone, currently i still using the noob smartphone which is samsung j3.......

i prefer to buy a new smartphone with smooth and good performance without hanging or lagging issue. must have with snapdragon processor not mtk and kirin one.

camera at least can take picture with clearly and not blur one, 3,4gb ram is ok, good display screen and not low display screen like 720p.

Battery life can normal lasting around 1 day or 1 day 6,12 hours is fine but the battery life dun drop rapidly 

My budget will around RM 1000 below, i more prefer on Sony xperia seriers, LG, Nokia or other brand expect and i not prefer the famous china brand smartphone like asus, xiaomi, huawei, vivo, oppo or HTC and also the Samsung  ( and not prefer user or refurbished. only can acceptable with new import or malaysian set)

i know every kind of smartphone currently which is make from china but i want the next smartphone design which is special and better than china brand smartphone.
Maybe Nokia 6.1 plus.

caviars
post Nov 8 2018, 10:05 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Nov 8 2018, 01:07 PM)
Buying a cellphone for my kid.
1. Honor Play (4GB ram only, enough?)
2. Pocophone (Flagship processor, but phone has many problems)

Mainly using for mobile gaming, eg PUBG.
Maybe can consider Realme 2 pro. SD660 but with 8GB RAM and 128GB storage.
caviars
post Nov 9 2018, 10:26 PM

1,142 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Nov 9 2018, 02:31 PM)
SD660 good enough for PUBG? I saw video clip in Youtube, it's laggy.
Just a cheaper option. If you want gaming in HD and high setting better choose poco with SD845.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1811sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:27 PM