mac os classic, how to install in ibook G4?

TSdennisdreams
post Dec 5 2006, 09:21 PM, updated 20y ago

465 posts

help~ can anyone teach me how to install mac os classic in my ibook G4? with only one partition...
azxel
post Dec 5 2006, 09:49 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I think it's best that you have 2 partitions for that...
Timber
post Dec 6 2006, 12:22 AM

484 posts

When I was still with my humble Ibook G3 few years ago I managed to install OS9 and OSX in one partition. But I was using OS9 first and then I installed OSX. But i've never tried installing OS9 on my G4 powerbook before.

piauster
post Dec 6 2006, 12:48 AM

136 posts

OS X and classic is meant to run on the same partition. classic is basically an emulator for OS 9. to install it, just run the installer on your recovery disc. there's a disc labelled os 9 classic or support or something like that.
TSdennisdreams
post Dec 8 2006, 10:15 PM

465 posts

QUOTE(piauster @ Dec 6 2006, 12:48 AM)
OS X and classic is meant to run on the same partition. classic is basically an emulator for OS 9. to install it, just run the installer on your recovery disc. there's a disc labelled os 9 classic or support or something like that.
ooo~thanks a lot, i'll give it a try
artfiq14
post Dec 9 2006, 12:07 AM

110 posts

eh
you should have 2 cd in the box.
one mac os tiger and the other one classic
when u install the classic its automatically make another partition for you or you can just install in ur place.
wei
post Dec 11 2006, 08:51 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

If you don't want to run as emulation, you can simply restart your machine as OS9.2 only. Go to Startup Disk once you have OS9.2 installed.

0.0190sec    1.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:39 PM