QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 12 2009, 03:19 AM)
Based on the 2 websites u posted,

Avid touring S
P175/65R14 81S

Avid T4
P175/65R14 81T

Where got "D" in there?
oh....that D, lol, i though u say the AVID that D doh.gif sry my bad blush.gif

how is that tyre? any comments? been searching through many tyre manufacturer website, only hv this few result

avid touring S
avid T4
falken Ziex ZE512
firestone FR380 (never see this before, found on bridgestone website)

my current tyre size only 175/65D14, i dont know can mix with 175/65R14 or not, i mean 175/65D14 in front and 715/65R14 at rear

my current tyre is stock tyre, bridgestone NCT5, i feel like the shoulder /outer part of the thread wear off faster than the center, and i want try some different tyres also

BTW, my car is VIOS 2nd gen

This post has been edited by amduser: Jan 12 2009, 10:37 AM
iman_210
post Jan 12 2009, 11:28 AM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

looking for 195/50/16 ones...any leads on the prices guys?
GRexer
post Jan 12 2009, 12:19 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 12 2009, 10:36 AM)
oh....that D, lol, i though u say the AVID that D doh.gif sry my bad  blush.gif

how is that tyre? any comments? been searching through many tyre manufacturer website, only hv this few result

avid touring S
avid T4
falken Ziex ZE512
firestone FR380 (never see this before, found on bridgestone website)

my current tyre size only 175/65D14, i dont know can mix with 175/65R14 or not, i mean 175/65D14 in front and 715/65R14 at rear

my current tyre is stock tyre, bridgestone NCT5, i feel like the shoulder /outer part of the thread wear off faster than the center, and i want try some different tyres also

BTW, my car is VIOS 2nd gen
Think there's probably something wrong with the labelling of your tyres, Vios comes with 175/65R14, most would just upgrade to 185/60R14 or 185/65R14 for more choices of tyres. The tyres you've listed are not available locally except the Falken ZIEX ZE-512 and it's a very old model.

Current bang per buck is Falken ZIEX ZE-912 for 185/60R14 at a price ranging from RM135-150 each depending on where you shop for it in the Klang Valley.
amduser
post Jan 12 2009, 01:11 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jan 12 2009, 12:19 PM)
Think there's probably something wrong with the labelling of your tyres, Vios comes with 175/65R14, most would just upgrade to 185/60R14 or 185/65R14 for more choices of tyres. The tyres you've listed are not available locally except the Falken ZIEX ZE-512 and it's a very old model.

Current bang per buck is Falken ZIEX ZE-912 for 185/60R14 at a price ranging from RM135-150 each depending on where you shop for it in the Klang Valley.
something with the labelling?! i think maybe i see wrong lar, only ZE-512? so AVID is not available in malaysia, then not much choice ler.

i also advice my parents to chagne to 185, but since i only change the front tyres, it is not advisable to go for 185 right? and somemore the thread at the rear r still very good, if change to 185 need to change 4 tyres, too expensive sad.gif
GRexer
post Jan 12 2009, 02:21 PM

3,815 posts

You can always change to 185 in front first, no harm doing that.

But why only fronts are worn out? Rotation not done?

In fact, ZE-512 itself performs quite shitty. And I doubt it has the size of 175/65R14 locally. Malaysia's tyre business is a bit odd as in they only bring in "common" sizes and thus the other considered as uncommon sizes either not stocked, or costs more.
amduser
post Jan 12 2009, 03:29 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jan 12 2009, 02:21 PM)
You can always change to 185 in front first, no harm doing that.

But why only fronts are worn out? Rotation not done?

In fact, ZE-512 itself performs quite shitty. And I doubt it has the size of 175/65R14 locally. Malaysia's tyre business is a bit odd as in they only bring in "common" sizes and thus the other considered as uncommon sizes either not stocked, or costs more.
and mix 185 and 175 together? hmm.gif i though some ppl said the alignment and balancing will be mess up?

my parents never concern about car, especially my mother, as long as the car move, she wont care, so i decided to interfere with their thinking, i've decided to install the new tyres at rear and the old rear tyres change to front let it worn out then change to new one.

i heard toyo T1R is good, but it doesn't seems to available in 175/65R14 or 185, toyo tyre r start from 15" right?

is it really ok for me to put 185 on rear and 175 at front?

BTW, my vios rim is stock 14" from toyota, can 185 really fit inside?
SUSceo684
post Jan 12 2009, 03:44 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 12 2009, 03:29 PM)
and mix 185 and 175 together? hmm.gif i though some ppl said the alignment and balancing will be mess up?

my parents never concern about car, especially my mother, as long as the car move, she wont care, so i decided to interfere with their thinking, i've decided to install the new tyres at rear and the old rear tyres change to front let it worn out then change to new one.

i heard toyo T1R is good, but it doesn't seems to available in 175/65R14 or 185, toyo tyre r start from 15" right?

Good question. Seen quite alot of people attempted to use 185 on 5" rim. Normally 185 suits 5.5" width rims better. 185 on 5.0" is at the limit of tyre fitment IIRC.
Cos i read somewhere that says if ur tyres are too wide for ur rims, its not safe either.

But then again, for normal use, just get either michelin xm1 or falken 912 or goodyear NCT5 for 175/65/14, the NCT5 for 99% traded-in tyres should be cheap.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 12 2009, 03:46 PM
amduser
post Jan 12 2009, 04:30 PM

5,542 posts

how to see the width of my rim? i know wat will happen when the tyre close to it's limit, it will explode randomly then u will end up crashing somewhere else.

i dont think michelin XM1 is available for 14"

the falken 912 u r talking about is the falken ZE912? it doesn't available for 14" as well, i've checked on the website sad.gif

currently using NCT5, which is the tyre toyota install on this vios when we brought it, wanna try other brand instead of stick to 1 brand, and the front tyre shoulder seems to wear off faster than center part, maybe inflated pressure too low or wat.

seems like it is really hard to find good tyres for 175/65R14 cry.gif

y vios r not 15" in stock cry.gif

This post has been edited by amduser: Jan 12 2009, 04:30 PM
Vannus
post Jan 12 2009, 04:55 PM

Geeks
909 posts

yes vios is 15" stock if you buy the high end spec S or G =) lolx...yours must be E or J ... =
amduser
post Jan 12 2009, 04:59 PM

5,542 posts

yup, it's E cry.gif

now gt wat tyres can recommend la, not much choice for 175/65R14

wonder can 185 fit in perfectly and safely
Vannus
post Jan 12 2009, 05:07 PM

Geeks
909 posts

trade in whole set rim + tyre get more gaya rim and tyres =) change to 195/50/15 for more grip or 195/55/15 for more grip + comfort
amduser
post Jan 12 2009, 05:30 PM

5,542 posts

it not about change or not change, u know la, my parents not into modding car, if i recommend this and that then they will THIS AND THAT, and even if i trade in i dont think will selling for it for high price, that one is toyota stock rim, not like those light weight rim, and the tyres also not very good already doh.gif

vios club malaysia recommend me to go to KIN alignment, but i cant find their contact number and address, and i dont know there gt sell tyres and trade-in or not.

and it is impossible that trade in who set of rim + tyres for a 15" will cost me less than 1k right?? that's too "over budget" for some non-modder and some ppl who dont know about cars (talking about my family)

and next week gonna go back kampung celebrate new year, hope to get a new set of tyre before that.
cheeann
post Jan 12 2009, 07:12 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 12 2009, 05:30 PM)
how to see the width of my rim? i know wat will happen when the tyre close to it's limit, it will explode randomly then u will end up crashing somewhere else.

the falken 912 u r talking about is the falken ZE912? it doesn't available for 14" as well, i've checked on the website sad.gif

currently using NCT5, which is the tyre toyota install on this vios when we brought it, wanna try other brand instead of stick to 1 brand, and the front tyre shoulder seems to wear off faster than center part, maybe inflated pressure too low or wat.

dude~
XM1 is available in 175/65-14 n 185/60-14 lo~ doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
if u can't find tis tire then can always come find me for it~
GRexer
post Jan 12 2009, 07:14 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 12 2009, 03:29 PM)

Depends on the car, some cars are ok with running 2 different widths front and rear as some cars have smaller track on the front. And you are right that there's no 14" for Toyo T1-R.

How fresh are your rear tyres? You might consider talking to the shop and trading in your rear tyres so that you can have a full set of 185/60R14. Is it better than putting the fresh tyres in rear, if you had to, better to stick with wider tyres in the front than rear as the Vios is a front wheel drive car.

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 12 2009, 04:30 PM)

Which Vios is this? The second generation VIOS? Then those wheels are 5" wide, not entirely perfect for 185 width tyres but it's still within manufacturer recommended specs. 5.5" would be perfect for 186 width tyres.

Yes, the Falken 912 that I mentioned are the Falken ZIEX ZE-912, it's available in 185/60R14, this I'm VERY sure as it's checked in most tyre shops locally, not on overseas websites. If both sides of the shoulders wear off than the middle, then it's a case of underinflation, but if only one side of the shoulder, it might be alignment or camber(but if both side of the camber is near equal, don't bother adjusting it, consult the Toyota service centre regarding this issue as they seemed to have a pretty wide tolerance for camber) issue.

And yes, the XM-1 is available in both 175/65R14 or 185/60R14 or 185/65R14. In fact, it even has 155/65R13(but I ain't too sure about local availability on the 13" size)

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 12 2009, 05:30 PM)
it not about change or not change, u know la, my parents not into modding car, if i recommend this and that then they will THIS AND THAT, and even if i trade in i dont think will selling for it for high price, that one is toyota stock rim, not like those light weight rim, and the tyres also not very good already doh.gif

vios club malaysia recommend me to go to KIN alignment, but i cant find their contact number and address, and i dont know there gt sell tyres and trade-in or not.

and it is impossible that trade in who set of rim + tyres for a 15" will cost me less than 1k right?? that's too "over budget" for some non-modder and some ppl who dont know about cars (talking about my family)

and next week gonna go back kampung celebrate new year, hope to get a new set of tyre before that.
I think it's better you just stick with the stock 14", changing to 15" WILL reduce the comfort level(which I don't think is a good idea considering this is your parent's daily drive). Either get the 185/60R14(closer to the original size of 175/65R14) or 185/65R14(slightly bigger diameter, but more comfortable due to the slightly increased sidewall height)

KIN alignment is in Sunway, back row same as LINKS performance, if it's easier, it's behind Redzone and Kakimotor row.

This post has been edited by GRexer: Jan 12 2009, 07:15 PM
andylim2000
post Jan 12 2009, 07:29 PM

246 posts

Hi all, How much for the Goodyear NCT5 175/65/R14 for 4units. Plus balancing, chamber adjustment? My car is myvi.

Any advice & best price?

GRexer
post Jan 12 2009, 07:38 PM

3,815 posts

Advice would be to give other tyres a try, as the Goodyear NCT5 would probably cost quite a bit, but would be considered costly for the performance it gives.
andylim2000
post Jan 12 2009, 08:16 PM

246 posts

yup, but budget is quite tight .. cannot overspend -.- sigh~
amduser
post Jan 12 2009, 08:21 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(cheeann @ Jan 12 2009, 07:12 PM)
dude~
XM1 is available in 175/65-14 n 185/60-14 lo~  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
if u can't find tis tire then can always come find me for it~
really? but i heard XM1 not good for cornering, but good for highway drive as it hv less rolling resistance.

y find u for it? u open tyre shop? where r u?

QUOTE(GRexer @ Jan 12 2009, 07:14 PM)
Depends on the car, some cars are ok with running 2 different widths front and rear as some cars have smaller track on the front. And you are right that there's no 14" for Toyo T1-R.

How fresh are your rear tyres? You might consider talking to the shop and trading in your rear tyres so that you can have a full set of 185/60R14. Is it better than putting the fresh tyres in rear, if you had to, better to stick with wider tyres in the front than rear as the Vios is a front wheel drive car.
Which Vios is this? The second generation VIOS? Then those wheels are 5" wide, not entirely perfect for 185 width tyres but it's still within manufacturer recommended specs. 5.5" would be perfect for 186 width tyres.

Yes, the Falken 912 that I mentioned are the Falken ZIEX ZE-912, it's available in 185/60R14, this I'm VERY sure as it's checked in most tyre shops locally, not on overseas websites. If both sides of the shoulders wear off than the middle, then it's a case of underinflation, but if only one side of the shoulder, it might be alignment or camber(but if both side of the camber is near equal, don't bother adjusting it, consult the Toyota service centre regarding this issue as they seemed to have a pretty wide tolerance for camber) issue.

And yes, the XM-1 is available in both 175/65R14 or 185/60R14 or 185/65R14. In fact, it even has 155/65R13(but I ain't too sure about local availability on the 13" size)
I think it's better you just stick with the stock 14", changing to 15" WILL reduce the comfort level(which I don't think is a good idea considering this is your parent's daily drive). Either get the 185/60R14(closer to the original size of 175/65R14) or 185/65R14(slightly bigger diameter, but more comfortable due to the slightly increased sidewall height)

KIN alignment is in Sunway, back row same as LINKS performance, if it's easier, it's behind Redzone and Kakimotor row.
i remember my father brought this vios just after a week it release, so it should be about 3 years, so 185 tyres will fit perfectly but still able to fit in to 5" la?

actually i dont really mind the comfort level, and my parents gt no feel towards the car problem and comfort level, they cant feel a thing, i bet if i do sound proofing already they wont even know i drive 150km/h doh.gif

wat i need is performance, i dont need comfort

y i want to install the new tyres on the rear is because of this video i found
http://www.michelinman.com/tire-care/tire-...eartire-change/

iman_210
post Jan 12 2009, 08:36 PM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Jan 12 2009, 11:28 AM)
looking for 195/50/16 ones...any leads on the prices guys?
any hint for best bang for the buck guys? looking to change to a neo rim on my persona...i think 195/50/16 is best as compared to 205/50/16 of which will rub the inner fender of my wife's ride

125 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:27 PM