Fire Extinguisher for Home use, What is recommended?

TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 11:32 AM, updated 4y ago

9,333 posts

I'm looking to purchase a certified fire extinguisher for home use.... we never know when we might need it...

But I'm at a lost of

1. Where to get one (no petaling street stuff pls) in Klang Valley.

2. What types to get for residential use... powder? CO2? Chemical?

Hope anyone with some knowledge of this can help shed some light on the subject
slaveone
post Nov 17 2015, 11:40 AM

1,230 posts

http://www.firefighter.com.my/t1/online-products.php
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 11:54 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Nov 17 2015, 11:40 AM)
Thanks!

Went to their website... was looking at their home use CO2 and Powder extinguisher.... and noticed they both share the SAME product description (which is actually for CO2).... sweat.gif
enriquelee
post Nov 17 2015, 01:44 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

Go visit those homedec kind of exhibition. Many choices there. I saw some the extinguisher can become an art piece in your home. Very nice!
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 02:25 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Nov 17 2015, 01:44 PM)
Go visit those homedec kind of exhibition. Many choices there. I saw some the extinguisher can become an art piece in your home. Very nice!
Wow... did u manage to snatch a brochure? I was at Perfect Living last weekend in PWTC but didnt manage to see anythign liek that
Kevin Chan
post Nov 17 2015, 02:26 PM

1,997 posts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4SmU_9_s-c

RM130 a peace, can keep for 5years.

i suggest you go AceHardware and get one of those compress air type, because you can used it as a defense weapon as well.
you can grab it and discharge on any intruder and basically used a frying pan to finish the job. AceHardware selling at RM40 only.
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 02:42 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Kevin Chan @ Nov 17 2015, 02:26 PM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4SmU_9_s-c

RM130 a peace, can keep for 5years.

i suggest you go AceHardware and get one of those compress air type, because you can used it as a defense weapon as well.
you can grab it and discharge on any intruder and basically used a frying pan to finish the job. AceHardware selling at RM40 only.
Will check out that youtube thanks!

Er... self defense I have enuf katana, shortspear, axe, machete, etc in the house.... blush.gif
kurangak
post Nov 17 2015, 02:45 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

definitely powder... get the ABC rated one..
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 02:47 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Nov 17 2015, 02:45 PM)
definitely powder... get the ABC rated one..
I kinda agree. Powder seems best suited to for all kinda fires that we might usually encounter in a resident.

But I notice most website says powder are not recommended for indoor/residential use due to the toxicity of the powder if we breath it in...

Also the powder seems to be difficult to get out of furniture/carpets etc... though its still better then being burnt down i suppose tongue.gif
ozak
post Nov 17 2015, 03:41 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 17 2015, 02:47 PM)
I kinda agree. Powder seems best suited to for all kinda fires that we might usually encounter in a resident.

But I notice most website says powder are not recommended for indoor/residential use due to the toxicity of the powder if we breath it in...

Also the powder seems to be difficult to get out of furniture/carpets etc... though its still better then being burnt down i suppose tongue.gif
Once the thing get burn down, do you still clean it back, repair and use back ? For example, a furniture or a carpet.
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 03:56 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 17 2015, 03:41 PM)
Once the thing get burn down, do you still clean it back, repair and use back ? For example, a furniture or a carpet.
No...means let say your electrical outlet on fire.. u kasi spray spray the powder.. it ghets into the perfectly fine carpet/furniture etc...

GOnna be susah to clean..
ozak
post Nov 17 2015, 03:58 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 17 2015, 03:56 PM)
No...means let say your electrical outlet on fire.. u kasi spray spray the powder.. it ghets into the perfectly fine carpet/furniture etc...

GOnna be susah to clean..
Just vacuum it out.
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 04:16 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 17 2015, 03:58 PM)
Just vacuum it out.
Not so easy.

DISADVANTAGES

X Visibility Problems - The application of dry powder and generation of a dense powder cloud will dramatically reduce the visibility of the operator so they may not be able to use vision to judge the effectiveness of the powder on the fire or may jeopardise escape in a fire.
X Can Cause Breathing Problems - If dry powder is inhaled it can irritate the respiratory organs. Whilst short term exposure is not considered to be harmful, repeated inhalation should be avoided.
X Leaves a Residue - Dry powder is a very messy extinguishing agent that will leave behind a residue that is corrosive to certain materials and because it is a find powder it can also be abrasive. Thoughtless use may lead to the powder causing more damage than the fire itself, using dry powder fire extinguishers in kitchens or offices as powder can contaminate food and inhibit the use of electrical components such as keyboards if discharged. Because of the properties of powder being very light and easily carried through the atmosphere dry powder extinguishers when discharged risk contamination over a wide area.
X Poor Post Fire Security - Due to the smothering and chemical interference effect of dry powder, it will only remain effective whilst it is present in the atmosphere above the fuel. Because it is a cloud of fine powder, particles of it can easily be dispersed by the wind, giving a very real danger of rapid re-ignition of fuel.
X Vulnerable To Packing Down – Failure of extinguisher can result from the packing down of the powder within the extinguisher body, this problem is associated more with cartridge operated extinguishers. This can be a particular problem on vehicle mounted equipment as the vehicle vibration will cause the powder to compress under its own weight. Regular maintenance routines are essential; to prevent failure of equipment at a crucial time.
X Can Break Down Foam Blanket – The use of dry powder close to an area covered by a foam blanket may lead to the foam breaking down more quickly.
X Usage & Location – Because of the disadvantages above dry powder extinguishers should only be found in industrial settings and where no alternative fire extinguisher mediums are suitable. They should not be found in offices, flats etc.
X Limit of use, not to be used on class D,F fires
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 04:17 PM

9,333 posts

Usage & Location... not recommended for Offices/Living quarters
enriquelee
post Nov 17 2015, 04:17 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 17 2015, 02:25 PM)
Wow... did u manage to snatch a brochure? I was at Perfect Living last weekend in PWTC  but didnt manage to see anythign liek that
All brochures already i the dust bin long time ago. tongue.gif
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 04:23 PM

9,333 posts

Man... if we can just get something liek these here...

http://osafefi.com/products/
Zot
post Nov 17 2015, 04:26 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 17 2015, 11:54 AM)
Thanks!

Went to their website... was looking at their home use CO2 and Powder extinguisher.... and noticed they both share the SAME product description (which is actually for CO2)....  sweat.gif
What you meant by SAME product description? Yes, both to extinguish fire laugh.gif

I'd say go for CO2. The powder type, if used indoor, can obscure vision or damage goods and machinery. It is also very messy. The dis advantage of CO2 is that has no post fire security (the fire could re-ignite) but more suitable for electrical fire
Zot
post Nov 17 2015, 04:31 PM

7,934 posts

maybe just but small portable one like for use in car. It is handy for use in kitchen also.

http://www.lelong.com.my/flamefighter-hous...7-01-Sale-I.htm
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 04:35 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Nov 17 2015, 04:31 PM)
maybe just but small portable one like for use in car. It is handy for use in kitchen also.

http://www.lelong.com.my/flamefighter-hous...7-01-Sale-I.htm
Looks cute.. but too small leh.... I prefer something bigger like say 5kg... then put a few around the house.. can pakai tembak saja!

ANd yeah.. CO2 would be more manageable... can even test test for fun tongue.gif
Zot
post Nov 17 2015, 04:49 PM

7,934 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Nov 17 2015, 04:35 PM)
Looks cute.. but too small leh.... I prefer something bigger like say 5kg... then put a few around the house.. can pakai tembak saja!

ANd yeah.. CO2 would be more manageable... can even test test for fun tongue.gif
http://abodefireextinguisher.com/

Free Delivery (?) More like included in price laugh.gif
TSMeToo
post Nov 17 2015, 05:34 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Sean Lo @ Nov 17 2015, 05:13 PM)
www.mastercraft.com.my <--- Feel free to call Sean @017-602 3537 for more renovation or design and build service.
I went thru your website, I dont see any fire extinguisher.
Xcaliber
post Nov 17 2015, 05:43 PM

630 posts

for home usage .. you cab use Dry Powder type or CO2

For ABC Dry Powder .. suitable for Solid , Liquid , Gas fire ..
For CO2 .. can also but effective if its indoor ..

Powder .. you have about 22 seconds usage
CO2 ... about 10 seconds usage

remember CO2 can kill human ya ... if trapped and engulfed with CO2

Go to balai bomba .. ask them to teach you how to use ..

if you in Kuala Terengganu.. come ..I'll teach u for free

alexander3133
post Dec 21 2016, 10:26 AM

1,716 posts

Sorry for resurrect old topic, but I do think this is important.

Is there a guideline on what is the size of fire extinguisher to get for our house? Or it just depends on your storage space?
TSMeToo
post Dec 21 2016, 10:44 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Dec 21 2016, 10:26 AM)
Sorry for resurrect old topic, but I do think this is important.

Is there a guideline on what is the size of fire extinguisher to get for our house? Or it just depends on your storage space?
From my research... size ofcourse bigger better in terms of firefighting..

But... at the end of the day you have to a one that is suitable to your household...

If u have old ppl, or girls etc.. then u get a big one they cannot handle its pointless... make sure u get that they can handle efficiently...

For me its a tool to ESCAPE and PROTECT our life and limb... not to save the house.. its insured..
alexander3133
post Dec 21 2016, 10:51 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 21 2016, 10:44 AM)

But... at the end of the day you have to a one that is suitable to your household...

If u have old ppl, or girls etc.. then u get a big one they cannot handle its pointless... make sure u get that they can handle efficiently...

For me its a tool to ESCAPE and PROTECT our life and limb... not to save the house.. its insured..
Thanks for your advise, didn't think about other people that will handle the fire extinguisher earlier.
Will get the appropriate size accordingly.
ozak
post Dec 21 2016, 11:10 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 21 2016, 10:44 AM)

I think 2kg will be idea.

Not so expensive

Not heavy for girl

Can keep more than 1. Rather buy 1 big and expensive.

Makesure get the wan that have gauge to check and refuel.
TSMeToo
post Dec 21 2016, 11:17 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 21 2016, 11:10 AM)

Not so expensive

Not heavy for girl

Where u put it also important... have to be strategic spot.... dont put it where fire is likely to start... if its burning there u cant get to it...

Place it where it can help secure your escape route form the house...
alexander3133
post Dec 21 2016, 11:38 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 21 2016, 11:10 AM)

Not so expensive

Not heavy for girl

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 21 2016, 11:17 AM)
Where u put it also important... have to be strategic spot.... dont put it where fire is likely to start... if its burning there u cant get to it...

Place it where it can help secure your escape route form the house...
Thanks again.
And I am also thinking to get the fire extinguisher hang on wall rather than put on the floor, for easier pick up.
TSMeToo
post Dec 21 2016, 11:43 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Dec 21 2016, 11:38 AM)
Thanks again.
And I am also thinking to get the fire extinguisher hang on wall rather than put on the floor, for easier pick up.
Thats going to be really really ugly bro,,,
ozak
post Dec 21 2016, 12:03 PM

17,018 posts

Ya. it is ugly.

You can hang in the store room.

For others place, put in the cupboard.
idoblu
post Jan 22 2017, 02:46 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 21 2016, 12:03 PM)
Ya. it is ugly.

You can hang in the store room.

For others place, put in the cupboard.
Buy this one, cantik enough to hang as part of your decor

ozak
post Jan 22 2017, 02:54 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 22 2017, 02:46 PM)
Wow, nice.

But that price is killing me rather the fire. biggrin.gif

It nice to put in the public place or restaurant and shop.

You just remind me to order some of this Fire extinguisher. Always forget to buy.
idoblu
post Jan 22 2017, 03:36 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 22 2017, 02:54 PM)
Wow, nice.

But that price is killing me rather the fire.  biggrin.gif

It nice to put in the public place or restaurant and shop.

You just remind me to order some of this Fire extinguisher. Always forget to buy.
Buy normal one and ownself draw. Maybe can make a sticker like for phones then sell biggrin.gif
TSMeToo
post Jan 22 2017, 08:27 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 22 2017, 02:46 PM)
Seen it but lazy drive there buy.

Was hoping bump into them in those home Dec .... maybe can get some discount too hehe
idoblu
post Jan 22 2017, 08:50 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 22 2017, 08:27 PM)
Seen it but lazy drive there buy.

Was hoping bump into them in those home Dec .... maybe can get some discount too hehe
where did you saw them?
Richard
post Jan 23 2017, 12:53 AM

1,083 posts

General info ..

Carbon based fire (wood, timber furniture) - Use water base, foam or dry powder FE

Oil based fire (kitchen, petroleum chemical station) - Use Foam or dry powder FE

Electrical based fire (metal, live electricity) - Use dry powder or Gas discharge (C02, FM3000, Halon) FE

Note * discharge gasses (CO2. FM3000, Halon) all heavier than air thus don't hide in a hole when you use it.. You will suffocate..

Get some training to use the FE and there is an expiry date for dry powder FE (it hardens with age and cannot flow out) so there is a periodic maintenance cost..

Technically the location of FE's are always at the exit routes, never in a storage room..

You grab the FE fight out of a fire NOT risk running into a room (where you might be trapped) getting a FE..

The objective is to save lives and property.. Lives always comes first..

This post has been edited by Richard: Jan 23 2017, 01:16 AM
ozak
post Jan 23 2017, 09:15 AM

17,018 posts

Cheapest I can find for 2kg dry powder.

Buy, buy, buy.

CKKwan
post Jan 23 2017, 09:23 AM

886 posts

You should get one of those latest Aerosol Fire Extinguisher from China.

Light weight, efficient and last long.
ozak
post Jan 23 2017, 09:36 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Jan 23 2017, 09:23 AM)
You should get one of those latest Aerosol Fire Extinguisher from China.

Light weight, efficient and last long.
The "China" word already make me feel unsafe.

Aerosol doesn't last long in storage and have an expired date. Which is very short. And it is not cheap.

This kind of aerosol don't have the gauge to tell me what are the pressure inside.

So the "Light weight, efficient and last long." is questionable.

I will buy the cheap wan put it in my car.

CKKwan
post Jan 23 2017, 09:48 AM

886 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 23 2017, 09:36 AM)
The "China" word already make me feel unsafe.

Aerosol doesn't last long in storage and have an expired date. Which is very short. And it is not cheap.

This kind of aerosol don't have the gauge to tell me what are the pressure inside.

So the "Light weight, efficient and last long." is questionable.

I will buy the cheap wan put it in my car.

ozak
post Jan 23 2017, 09:57 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Jan 23 2017, 09:48 AM)

It just a adv demo. Doesn't tell me anything.

The bad fact is overwhelm the good.

Actually I brought aerosol type before. Back 17yrs ago. Before you know it exist.

The shelf life is only 2yrs. By the yrs 6 (I m lazy to replace it), I try to squeeze, there is no more pressure inside.
CKKwan
post Jan 23 2017, 10:02 AM

886 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 23 2017, 09:57 AM)
It just a adv demo. Doesn't tell me anything.

The bad fact is overwhelm the good.

Actually I brought aerosol type before. Back 17yrs ago. Before you know it exist.

The shelf life is only 2yrs. By the yrs 6 (I m lazy to replace it), I try to squeeze, there is no more pressure inside.
The reusable one will loose pressure over time.

Those disposable type can last longer. It is like opening a can, once you break it, you have to finish it.

Aerosol fire extinguisher is more suitable for home and personal usage. Even though it also started to gain popularity in industry and military.
ozak
post Jan 23 2017, 10:16 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Jan 23 2017, 10:02 AM)
The reusable one will loose pressure over time.

Those disposable type can last longer. It is like opening a can, once you break it, you have to finish it.

Aerosol fire extinguisher is more suitable for home and personal usage. Even though it also started to gain popularity in industry and military.
The reuseable can tell me the pressure is still good or not. By checking the gauge.

If pressure low, I can bring it to refill that doesn't cost me much.

So the refilling method still cost me less in a long run.

For the aerosol type, I don't no is it good or not in the shelf. By the time I need it, it probably in low pressure. It don't have the gauge to tell me.

The only reason I want to get the aerosol type is to put inside my car. Cause the refill type is too big store under the car seat.

But not for my home.

CKKwan
post Jan 23 2017, 10:25 AM

886 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 23 2017, 10:16 AM)
The reuseable can tell me the pressure is still good or not. By checking the gauge.

If pressure low, I can bring it to refill that doesn't cost me much.

So the refilling method still cost me less in a long run.

For the aerosol type, I don't no is it good or not in the shelf. By the time I need it, it probably in low pressure. It don't have the gauge to tell me.

The only reason I want to get the aerosol type is to put inside my car. Cause the refill type is too big store under the car seat.

But not for my home.
You need to check the gauge, some needs to be certified as well. It is really a hassle for average home user.

The disposable type can easily last 10 years. When it is expired just buy a new one.
ozak
post Jan 23 2017, 10:33 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(CKKwan @ Jan 23 2017, 10:25 AM)
You need to check the gauge, some needs to be certified as well. It is really a hassle for average home user.

The disposable type can easily last 10 years. When it is expired just buy a new one.
You don't have proof.

You don't have fact.

You don't have experience.

And it is a joke to just check the gauge and you called hassle.
CKKwan
post Jan 23 2017, 10:45 AM

886 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 23 2017, 10:33 AM)
You don't have proof. 

You don't have fact.

You don't have experience.

And it is a joke to just check the gauge and you called hassle.
I gave you the video link. There are many more studies, in fact I have seen it in action in one of the military exhibition.

You are based on your 17 years out dated experience right?

ozak
post Jan 26 2017, 11:55 AM

17,018 posts

Which wan is better for car ?

The small wan can put below the seat.

The 1kg must be put behind the trunk.

TSMeToo
post Jan 26 2017, 11:59 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 26 2017, 11:55 AM)

The 1kg must be put behind the trunk.

I would avoid putting it in the trunk.

Also.... make sure its a GOOD brand... cause our cars get VERY hot when parked under the sun... my fren had a gas cannister which exploded in the trunk and embedded itself halfway thru the backseat...
ozak
post Jan 26 2017, 12:05 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 26 2017, 11:59 AM)
I would avoid putting it in the trunk.

Also.... make sure its a GOOD brand... cause our cars get VERY hot when parked under the sun... my fren had a gas cannister which exploded in the trunk and embedded itself halfway thru the backseat...
The 1kg is safe to put in the trunk compare to the gas canister. Very much different from the safety design and the storing material.

And it already been age for such type of fire extinguisher in the trunk.

But I have a dilemma which is more useful when need it.
TSMeToo
post Jan 26 2017, 12:08 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 26 2017, 12:05 PM)
The 1kg is safe to put in the trunk compare to the gas canister. Very much different from the safety design and the storing material.

And it already been age for such type of fire extinguisher in the trunk.

But I have a dilemma which is more useful when need it.
I avoid trunk not about its exploding, its about accessibility... cabin would be much easier to access.

Best would be in a position where u can access even if you are pinned in the car...

In the same vein... I have a very nice knife with belt cutter and carbide window breaker within easy access as well. (dont get a STEEL window breaker... it doesnt work and you wont have the leverage to make it work).

This post has been edited by MeToo: Jan 26 2017, 12:10 PM
ozak
post Jan 26 2017, 12:14 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jan 26 2017, 12:08 PM)
I avoid trunk not about its exploding, its about accessibility... cabin would be much easier to access.
Thanks. I would think that too.

Since I can place it at the bottom of the seat, I can access it faster and nearer. But such fire extinguisher is limited capacity.

Compare to 1kg, which have higher capacity, but no place for the front.
idoblu
post Jan 26 2017, 12:59 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 26 2017, 11:55 AM)

The 1kg must be put behind the
Buy this one la
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...re+extinguisher
ozak
post Jan 26 2017, 01:45 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 26 2017, 12:59 PM)
Crazy that price.

And after that short expired date, I got to throw it away.

Ace got selling.

Just arrived. brows.gif

idoblu
post Jan 26 2017, 01:50 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 26 2017, 01:45 PM)
Crazy that price.

Ace got selling.
Just arrived.  brows.gif
How much?
ozak
post Jan 26 2017, 01:55 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 26 2017, 01:50 PM)
How much?

Want to buy 2 more. But sold out jor. sad.gif
TSMeToo
post Jan 26 2017, 02:40 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 26 2017, 01:45 PM)
Crazy that price.

Ace got selling.
Just arrived.  brows.gif
ACE usually sell stuff at a premium de....
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 11:47 AM

17,018 posts

Four in a family killed in fire

PETALING JAYA: Just days after holding a Chinese New Year reunion dinner, a couple and their two sons were killed in a blaze, choked by smoke when they were trapped by the iron grille on the windows of their house.

The body of Lim Ah Kok, 58, was found with those of his two sons, Lim Yong Liang, 20, and Lim Yong Wei, 17, in the second room on the upper floor of a double storey terrace house in Jalan USJ 2/3, Subang Jaya.

His wife Goh Bee Khim, 51, was found in the bathroom of the master bedroom.

The couple’s eldest daughter, Lim Yi Jun, 23, was not home as she is staying near her college in Cheras.

The family’s two dogs survived the fire.

It is believed that Lim could have rushed to wake up his sons in the next room before they all succumbed to the smoke.

The early morning blaze yesterday was believed to have been sparked by a short circuit on the ground floor.

Neighbours who heard the screams from the house had alerted firemen, who reached the scene in 10 minutes upon receiving a call at 5.34am.

However, by then, the fire was too big.

Selangor Fire and Rescue Depart­ment assis­tant director (operations) Mohd Sani Harul said the firemen had problems trying to enter the house as the front gate was locked.

“We had to cut the autogate’s lock,” he said.

Another team, added Mohd Sani, managed to get onto the roof of the house through a neighbour’s house to bring the blaze under control and keep it from spreading.

It is learnt that the firemen managed to rescue the dogs, one of which was kept in the house and was found with its fur blackened by the thick smoke.

Subang Jaya OCPD Asst Comm Mohammad Azlin Sadari said a post-mortem showed that the couple and their sons had died from smoke inhalation, adding that their bodies were not burnt by the fire.

The cause of the fire was still under investigation but he did not rule out the possibility of short circuit.

“We believe that the fire started downstairs, because the victims appeared to be trapped upstairs,” he told reporters at the scene.

Police, he said, believed that Lim had been trying to alert his sons as their bodies were found in the same room.

The family, added ACP Moham­mad Azlin, was believed to have been trapped in by the iron grille on the windows.

He urged the public to ensure that they only installed those which could be opened during emergencies.

The funeral for the four victims is expected to be held in Butterworth
Ketchup Sause

alexander3133
post Feb 7 2017, 11:51 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 11:47 AM)
Trapped by iron grill windows, they might be ok if they have fire extinguisher.
TSMeToo
post Feb 7 2017, 11:54 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Feb 7 2017, 11:51 AM)
Iron grill.. double edged sword.

But I dont understand ppl who dont atleast install an unlocked portion of the grill.... wanna save cost?
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 11:57 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Feb 7 2017, 11:51 AM)
Kill by smoke. Fire extinguisher can't help.

They probably can survive if have the smoke detector. Cause when a person in sleep, hearing is more sensitive than others sense in your body.

And some basic knowledge of fire escape.
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 11:59 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 7 2017, 11:54 AM)

But I dont understand ppl who dont atleast install an unlocked portion of the grill.... wanna save cost?
This people have totally no basic knowledge about fire and safety.

Pour in hundred thousand into renovation, but neglect the safety.
alexander3133
post Feb 7 2017, 12:00 PM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 11:57 AM)
Kill by smoke. Fire extinguisher can't help.

They probably can survive if have the smoke detector. Cause when a person in sleep, hearing is more sensitive than others sense in your body.

And some basic knowledge of fire escape.
Talking about smoke detector, do you came across any smoke detector that able to send alarm notification to handphone aside from having loud beep when triggered?
Maybe I should ask this in Smart Home thread.
TSMeToo
post Feb 7 2017, 12:00 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 11:59 AM)
This people have totally no basic knowledge about fire and safety.

Pour in hundred thousand into renovation, but neglect the safety.
Maybe we are just more kiasu...

I rather have these life saving stuff and never need it.. then not to have it when I need it..
TSMeToo
post Feb 7 2017, 12:02 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Feb 7 2017, 12:00 PM)
Talking about smoke detector, do you came across any smoke detector that able to send alarm notification to handphone aside from having loud beep when triggered?
I'm using First Alert smoke detectors... both PHOTOELECTRIC AND IONIZATION... bought a handfull of them during my trips to US. Much cheaper there sigh...

Loud enuf to hear it if you are in the house... no handphone gadget though... but rest assure your neighbour will call Bomba faster then u if you are not in the house tongue.gif

This post has been edited by MeToo: Feb 7 2017, 12:03 PM
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 12:05 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(alexander3133 @ Feb 7 2017, 12:00 PM)
Yes. A bit more expensive. It have an output where you can connect to your alarm system.

I think I have 1 smoke detector have such function. But don't remember. Cause I search such function before.
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 12:08 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 7 2017, 12:00 PM)
Maybe we are just more kiasu...

I rather have these life saving stuff and never need it.. then not to have it when I need it..
If you check with your friend house or relative house, you can know the statistic how many house equip with the fire safety.

I believe it is very low to none.

It is not kiasu. But our society of safety awareness is very low.
alexander3133
post Feb 7 2017, 12:08 PM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 7 2017, 12:02 PM)
I'm using First Alert smoke detectors... both  PHOTOELECTRIC AND IONIZATION... bought a handfull of them during my trips to US. Much cheaper there sigh...

Loud enuf to hear it if you are in the house... no handphone gadget though... but rest assure your neighbour will call Bomba faster then u if you are not in the house tongue.gif
Thanks for recommending, looking good for a dual sensing detector.
braindeath
post Feb 7 2017, 01:59 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 12:08 PM)
If you check with your friend house or relative house, you can know the statistic how many house equip with the fire safety.

I believe it is very low to none.

It is not kiasu. But our society of safety awareness is very low.
Maybe it is not they have a zero awareness, more like zero money to really care about it?
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 02:14 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Feb 7 2017, 01:59 PM)
Maybe it is not they have a zero awareness,  more like zero money to really care about it?
Zero money?

If you say people no money is bullshit.

But the fire safety device here are expensive. Gov should subsidy to reduce the price.

Gov did engage some NGO or fire safety co; to give talk to organiser, company etc. Each talk, they will claim to the gov.

Anyway the fire safety device cost is coming down compare last time. But still not as cheap as many country.
TSMeToo
post Feb 7 2017, 02:43 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Feb 7 2017, 01:59 PM)
Maybe it is not they have a zero awareness,  more like zero money to really care about it?
Spend small money for fire extinguisher, fire alarms, proper grill with unlockable openings cannot...

Go buy 200k car no problem...

Typical Malaysian style..
TSMeToo
post Feb 7 2017, 03:24 PM

9,333 posts

New house coming up soon... so will need to shop additional FF equipment (need extra cause of slightly biogger space etc)

Now we have

http://www.eversafe.net/

http://www.uniquefire.com/

http://www.firefighter.com.my/dry.html

Choices choices.... (unique is like next to my house..)

TSMeToo
post Feb 7 2017, 03:43 PM

9,333 posts

Or if you are printing money.. you can always go OSafe.... ofcourse their stuff is small for high price.. just like all luxury items tongue.gif

http://www.osafefi.com/
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 04:05 PM

17,018 posts

Go cheap and get more. Most of the time it is sitting there only.

Get the smoke detector that can link to your house alarm.
TSMeToo
post Feb 7 2017, 04:10 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 04:05 PM)
Go cheap and get more. Most of the time it is sitting there only.

Get the smoke detector that can link to your house alarm.
I dont wanna go the smart house path.....

One of these days I should hack into my neighbour's wifi and see if they have any indoor cam.... brute forcing these WEP is ridiculously easy... not to mention those wifi house view cam system with 4 digit password ... so much lol
ozak
post Feb 7 2017, 04:30 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 7 2017, 04:10 PM)
I dont wanna go the smart house path.....

One of these days I should hack into my neighbour's wifi and see if they have any indoor cam.... brute forcing these WEP is ridiculously easy... not to mention those wifi house view cam system with 4 digit password ... so much lol
It is a basic simple link. Not a smart thing at all. But very usefull when trigger.

braindeath
post Feb 7 2017, 08:49 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 7 2017, 02:14 PM)
Zero money?

If you say people no money is bullshit.

But the fire safety device here are expensive. Gov should subsidy to reduce the price.

Gov did engage some NGO or fire safety co; to give talk to organiser, company etc. Each talk, they will claim to the gov.

Anyway the fire safety device cost is coming down compare last time. But still not as cheap as many country.
You said it yourself

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 7 2017, 02:43 PM)
Spend small money for fire extinguisher, fire alarms, proper grill with unlockable openings cannot...

Go buy 200k car no problem...

Typical Malaysian style..
Not everyone can afford 200k cars

And not everyone understand safety and security risks.

TSMeToo
post Feb 8 2017, 10:10 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Feb 7 2017, 08:49 PM)
You said it yourself
Not everyone can afford 200k cars

And not everyone understand safety and security risks.
Its a choice.... should you spend 2k on a Re-union dinner....

Or spend 1000 and use the other 1000 for a few fire extinguishers.

We live with choices everyday, and sometimes we have to bear the heavy burden of our choices..
ozak
post Feb 8 2017, 10:50 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 8 2017, 10:10 AM)

We live with choices everyday, and sometimes we have to bear the heavy burden of our choices..
This is the kind of person who can give a stupid unlogic reason in exchange for not to have a safety device in the house.

The news of house fired and death is not real for them.
counterspider
post Feb 8 2017, 12:07 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 7 2017, 11:54 AM)

Any sample or picture of unlocked portion of the grill? totally not locked by any padlock? Or it is only can be opened from inside?
TSMeToo
post Feb 8 2017, 12:15 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(counterspider @ Feb 8 2017, 12:07 PM)
Any sample or picture of unlocked portion of the grill? totally not locked by any padlock? Or it is only can be opened from inside?
Soemthing like this. Lock with key.

Padlock is so ugly its not even funny...

https://singaporemotherhood.com/forum/attac...0129-jpg.13471/

This post has been edited by MeToo: Feb 8 2017, 12:18 PM
braindeath
post Feb 8 2017, 12:58 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 8 2017, 10:10 AM)

Im not talking about money, im talking about awareness

Educate people, dont simply said typical Malaysian because somebody didn't understand the risks.

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 8 2017, 10:50 AM)
This is the kind of person who can give a stupid unlogic reason in exchange for not to have a safety device in the house.

The news of house fired and death is not real for them.
Wanna race who can don fireman suit in under 3minutes? Including SCBA tested and ready to fight fire?
braindeath
post Feb 8 2017, 01:00 PM

521 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by braindeath: Feb 8 2017, 01:01 PM
TSMeToo
post Feb 8 2017, 01:05 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Feb 8 2017, 12:58 PM)

Educate people, dont simply said typical Malaysian because somebody didn't understand the risks.

if you want to wait for the govt to educate then good luck. We are a 3rd world country, well being of our people is not top of the list.

We are all adults, its OUR responsibility to educate ourselves on these things. When wan buy the latest Audi vs BMW, can spend time read up on magazines, troll forums etc for info.... cannot spend some time to do the same on safety issues?

Hence I say its all about priorities, if they dont prioritise their own safety, then its their choice.
ozak
post Feb 8 2017, 01:30 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(braindeath @ Feb 8 2017, 12:58 PM)

Wanna race who can don fireman suit in under 3minutes? Including SCBA tested and ready to fight fire?
Contribute your knowledge here and explain to people.

Hence the awareness.
TSMeToo
post Feb 10 2017, 11:15 AM

9,333 posts

Hmm... on wednesdays dropped by Unique's factory (2km form my place)...

ABC Extinguisher...
2KG @ $46
4KG @ $58

CHEAP! Its a factory so they do the servicing/refills there as well..
ozak
post Feb 10 2017, 11:17 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 10 2017, 11:15 AM)
Hmm... on wednesdays dropped by Unique's factory (2km form my place)...

ABC Extinguisher...
2KG @ $46
4KG @ $58

CHEAP! Its a factory so they do the servicing/refills there as well..
Why so cheap ?
TSMeToo
post Feb 10 2017, 11:22 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 10 2017, 11:17 AM)
Why so cheap ?
Shrug... maybe cause its wholesale price? They give you all kind of DO/invoice etc...

http://uniquefire.com/wp-content/uploads/2...ufi-book-p5.pdf
ozak
post Feb 10 2017, 11:26 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 10 2017, 11:22 AM)
Shrug... maybe cause its wholesale price? They give you all kind of DO/invoice etc...

http://uniquefire.com/wp-content/uploads/2...ufi-book-p5.pdf
Can I buy like 3 set? Layan you or not for small qty ?

I still need another 3set of 2kg.

Which address is correct ?

No.9 , Jalan Anggerik Mokara 31/55, Kota Kemuning , Seksyen 31
40460 Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan , Malaysia

or

16, Jalan BK 1/12, Kinrara Industrial Park, Bandar Kinrara, Off Jalan Puchong, 47100, Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia, 47180
TSMeToo
post Feb 10 2017, 11:37 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 10 2017, 11:26 AM)
Can I buy like 3 set? Layan you or not for small qty ?

I still need another 3set of 2kg.

Which address is correct ?

No.9 , Jalan Anggerik Mokara 31/55, Kota Kemuning , Seksyen 31
40460 Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan , Malaysia

or

16, Jalan BK 1/12, Kinrara Industrial Park, Bandar Kinrara, Off Jalan Puchong, 47100, Puchong, Selangor, Malaysia, 47180
I went to the Kota Kemuning location, seems to their HQ and factory.

Yes... buy 1 set also layan, but the 2kg seems to be low/out of stock when i was there.

Just give them a call to double check.
ozak
post Feb 10 2017, 11:46 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 10 2017, 11:37 AM)
I went to the Kota Kemuning location, seems to their HQ and factory.

Yes... buy 1 set also layan, but the 2kg seems to be low/out of stock when i was there.

Just give them a call to double check.
Thanks. Will call them up.

Prefer 2kg. Easy for girl.
TSMeToo
post Feb 10 2017, 11:53 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 10 2017, 11:46 AM)
Thanks. Will call them up.

Prefer 2kg. Easy for girl.
Speaking of 2kg... I'm leery of using the ABC in kitchen.... the clean up would be crazy..

Anyone else uses Wet Chemical for the mainly class F kitchen fire?
ozak
post Feb 10 2017, 12:07 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Feb 10 2017, 11:53 AM)
Speaking of 2kg... I'm leery of using the ABC in kitchen.... the clean up would be crazy..

Anyone else uses Wet Chemical for the mainly class F kitchen fire?
99.999% won't be using. Don't wish to use.

So whatever type is ok for me as long as the price is affordable.

But the fire already cause the mess. Doesn't matter with that additional powder to clean up.
TSMeToo
post Feb 10 2017, 12:29 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 10 2017, 12:07 PM)
99.999% won't be using. Don't wish to use.

So whatever type is ok for me as long as the price is affordable.

But the fire already cause the mess. Doesn't matter with that additional powder to clean up.
Oh... the ABC powder is really sometyhing else bro... it will masuk every single nook and cranny of your kitchen.... and you dont really want it in your food..
steventan85
post Jul 18 2022, 03:35 PM

6,447 posts

sorry to bring up old thread.

recently i m planning for my house fire safety equipment.

initially bought 1kg FE for my 1200sf apartment.

then realise not really sufficient based on fire rating calculation which i need at least 8-10A. a 1kg FE only 5A .

So i placed another order for 6kg which is 27A ... which is kind of bulky also.

for the 6kg FE, i can also move to my new double storey house ....

so now should i just put 2 x 1kg FE in my 1200 sf , and move the 6kg to my double storey ?

my new plan is to put 1kg FE inside each room .. got only 3 rooms ....

This post has been edited by steventan85: Jul 18 2022, 03:37 PM
TSMeToo
post Jul 18 2022, 03:43 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 18 2022, 03:35 PM)

then realise not really sufficient based on fire rating calculation which i need at least 8-10A. a 1kg FE only 5A .

So i placed another order for 6kg which is 27A  ... which is kind of bulky also.

so now should i just put 2 x 1kg FE in my 1200 sf , and move the 6kg to my double storey ?
1kg is very very very small... meaning if you shoot wrong area, a few sec alrdy habis....

Get one that is usable (weight wise) by most occupants of your house. No point getting a 10kg if the ladies in the house cannot use...
steventan85
post Jul 18 2022, 03:59 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 18 2022, 03:43 PM)
1kg is very very very small... meaning if you shoot wrong area, a few sec alrdy habis....

Get one that is usable (weight wise) by most occupants of your house. No point getting a 10kg if the ladies in the house cannot use...
if thats the case , 4kg-6kg should be good enough for most ppl to use it.

my plan is like this , if there is small fire in kitchen / hall , i can 1st grab a 1kg FE to come out from my room before reaching for a bigger size FE, in case there is another fire nearby my room door.

a big one 4-6kg at the hall, 1kg FE inside room. that's my planning

This post has been edited by steventan85: Jul 18 2022, 04:00 PM
ozak
post Jul 19 2022, 12:13 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 18 2022, 03:35 PM)

So i placed another order for 6kg which is 27A  ... which is kind of bulky also.

1kg mean for the car. Not for home.

At least 2kg for each room. And a 9kg for near the kitchen.

steventan85
post Jul 19 2022, 08:43 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 19 2022, 12:13 AM)
1kg mean for the car. Not for home.

At least 2kg for each room. And a 9kg for near the kitchen.
even for a condo with 1200sf ?

ordered a 9kg FE initially , but i cancelled due to the weight is too heavy to handle by lady in case there is fire.

so i opt for 6kg instead... price wise is almost the same .

2kg of FE in each room is fine , it is not that heavy ...
ozak
post Jul 19 2022, 09:30 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 19 2022, 08:43 AM)
even for a condo with 1200sf ?

ordered a 9kg FE initially , but i cancelled due to the weight is too heavy to handle by lady in case there is fire.

so i opt for 6kg instead... price wise is almost the same .

2kg of FE in each room is fine , it is not that heavy ...
Why you use the sf as a guideline? Is that less sf equal to burn lesser? Doesn't make sense to me.

2kg is about the right weight for a lady. But 2kg doesn't last long also if fire is big. That's is why I put each room 2kg. If she prefer use all the 2kg.

9kg is for the kitchen since it is a fire hazard place. The house not just a lady's stay. And I believe when a panic situation, 20kg is also not a problem.

I have 2kg in each room. Additional 9kg in the master bedroom and storeroom near the kitchen. And 3kg CO2 additional in the working room.

I have some fire hazard liquid and my explosion hobby. sweat.gif

steventan85
post Jul 19 2022, 09:48 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 19 2022, 09:30 AM)
Why you use the sf as a guideline? Is that less sf equal to burn lesser? Doesn't make sense to me.

2kg is about the right weight for a lady. But 2kg doesn't last long also if fire is big. That's is why I put each room 2kg. If she prefer use all the 2kg.

9kg is for the kitchen since it is a fire hazard place. The house not just a lady's stay. And I believe when a panic situation, 20kg is also not a problem.

I have 2kg in each room. Additional 9kg in the master bedroom and storeroom near the kitchen. And 3kg CO2 additional in the working room.

I have some fire hazard liquid and my explosion hobby.  sweat.gif
i use this as guideline Guideline

my ultimate purpose is to be able to escape from the house soonest possible . if a 3 x 1kg FE + 6kg FE also cant extinguish the fire , it should be a very big fire , so i will just escape only....

6kg and 9kg FE is almost the same , if a 6kg FE can't do the job , so do 9kg ...

This post has been edited by steventan85: Jul 19 2022, 09:51 AM
TSMeToo
post Jul 20 2022, 10:51 AM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 19 2022, 09:48 AM)
i use this as guideline Guideline

my ultimate purpose is to be able to escape from the house soonest possible . if a 3 x 1kg FE + 6kg FE also cant extinguish the fire , it should be a very big fire , so i will just escape only....

6kg and 9kg FE is almost the same , if a 6kg FE can't do the job , so do 9kg ...
For my case, 9/10kg is not easily wieldable by the petite ladies in my household. So I skip those, easier to have more smaller ones then 1 super huge when ppl cant use it.

Its more important to get the right kind of FE, what works in the kitchen might not work at your fuse panel etc.
steventan85
post Jul 20 2022, 11:04 AM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 20 2022, 10:51 AM)
For my case, 9/10kg is not easily wieldable by the petite ladies in my household. So I skip those, easier to have more smaller ones then 1 super huge when ppl cant use it.

Its more important to get the right kind of FE, what works in the kitchen might not work at your fuse panel etc.
ABC FE isn't one of the most common usable in household right .... i mean for normal household fire

0.0553sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:38 AM