Q&A DIY soundproof room

TSalienxp03
post Nov 17 2015, 11:24 AM, updated 11y ago

202 posts

I want to play my violin, but the sounds is a bit too high. And since I'm not living alone, it's going to be troublesome for others. I'm thinking to make my room soundproof. Anyone had any experience with building a soundproof room? Would love to get some insight on how did you guys do it smile.gif
TSalienxp03
post Nov 17 2015, 04:19 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Nov 17 2015, 12:42 PM)
u want to soundproof ur bedroom?
Yeah. That's the idea. So that the noise won't reach outside the room

QUOTE(6216 @ Nov 17 2015, 12:46 PM)
I want to soundproof or reduce the sound leak in my hifi room....
Hi bro. High five 😁
I might go to shopping and get something done this weekend.

QUOTE(empire @ Nov 17 2015, 01:09 PM)
Do we really have to google about this topic and then help you? Cant you search for this in google?
https://malaysia.video.search.yahoo.com/yhs...t&hsimp=yhs-001
By that standard, no need forum. No need Q/A tag. Just Google everything. Which is why I'm asking for experience, if anyone in this forum has ever done it before. No need to be an a$$hole. If I'm wrong, point it out nicely. I'm not an ignorant. Unless you are.

TSalienxp03
post Nov 17 2015, 06:26 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(juicyliana @ Nov 17 2015, 06:11 PM)
TS angry liao....
Haha. Not angry. An eye for an eye, that's all smile.gif

QUOTE(LeaSe*lineR @ Nov 17 2015, 06:46 PM)
Carpet, thick curtains/blanket, and alot of pad cushion can cover string instruments already except drum and bass guitar la haha...or electric violin + headphones smile.gif
I'm using violin. Wonder if that setup would be good enough. But thanks. I can make it thicker I think
TSalienxp03
post Nov 17 2015, 07:03 PM

202 posts

I see. I didn't know about that. Thanks for the insight. Some friend of mine are suggesting egg cartons. Seems like usable, but looks a bit ugly. Haha. And not sure how long can it last
TSalienxp03
post Nov 17 2015, 10:32 PM

202 posts

Ducktape who on where again? Haha

I think I'll give it a try with tapestry and sound-proof foam. The door is my main concern, with those two I think I can make it work
TSalienxp03
post Nov 18 2015, 11:41 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Nov 18 2015, 07:40 PM)
continue playing till you get complain lo..if no one complain then no need soundproofing anymore  rclxm9.gif

just kidding TS dont angree... hehe

if you sound proof already wont it make the room too deafeningly silent?
a room that can make you physcotic  rclxub.gif
Haha. I rarely angry in real life. I never had a room that's too deafeningly silent. That would be awesome if I can make it. I'm half psycho anyway biggrin.gif

0.0177sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:05 AM