Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3

feydrax
post Oct 14 2016, 02:18 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Hazellez @ Oct 14 2016, 02:03 AM)
Hi, not sure if my question is suitable here but it's still related to big 4

before entering uni, i was just like most of the others studying acct, be it degree or prof qualification, aimed to enter big 4 right after graduation, work for 3 years, reach senior level, complete the requirement of 3 yrs exp both for acca and mia, and finally call myself a CA(M) and ACCA member. (and what next? jump to commercial? continue to cimb up in big 4?)

BUT, my mind changed after i completed my degree and internship.

I don't really agree with and enjoy the culture of big 4.

knowing what i really want is important, i want work life balance, i want opportunities for learning and career advancement, i would be utmost serious during working hours, giving my 100% but not 8 hours standard working hours + 8 hours OT. i dont really mind having OT but definitely not 8 hours OT for every single day.

after consideration, i applied to the large plc and glc for a position of acct exec. and yea managed to get a job with one of the top plc in property development industry. another interview scheduled next week with a glc.

all of a sudden, i feel unsecured for choosing a road that most others not taken.
most of my peers go for big 4 including some who fared ordinarily in uni. ps: i see myself a high cgpa scorer (although thats nothing to be proud of, it only means i did study for my degree) and active in cocu (presidents, directors).

so just wish to get some advice from all the experienced sifu here,
am i putting myself in a less competitive position by commencing my career path this way?

and i m keen in financial reporting. i wish to be in a leading financial reporting role for a plc in the future. so is it possible to climb from a small small acct exec to such a role?
wish to know more about the trend in real world, will a plc prefer to promote internally or hire outsiders from big 4 with audit exp? or is auditing exp necessary for such a role in plc?

thanks for spending ur precious time on reading such a long story
appreciate if u could share some info with me thank u once again
Most people go in Big4 for efficiency.
The hours spent in OT essentially translates into faster promotion rates, where exit opportunities have more breadth as audit experience is a useful entry ticket to any industry. After exiting, certain auditors may find problem in learning the whole new erp / accounting system initially, but time will solve the problem.

TLDR: Audit trades hours for promotions;Audit experience is a safety net for hardworking / risk conscious people; Your mental strength will be mad hardened too, not sure if it's a plus or not.

Being an account executive, you will be more familiar with the operations of the company, but you need to make an early choice, as being specialized in a certain industry, say property, may result in certain skills or knowledge in software being not transferable to another industry. (e.g. IFCA is pretty much a popular software for property industry, while SAP or Oracle is pretty much the norm for MNCs and such). However, if you are really really good and fortunate enough to be in a good company under *important* a good boss, your career advancement can beat auditors. Certain companies have promotion policies, where X amount of years are required, so you better have a good boss to vouch for you. It's not easy to have a good boss who is willing to fight for you.

TLDR: Industry experience allows early specialization and familiarity to operation;you need to make an early decision compared to auditors.

My 2 cents : I am from an accounting background, I've been in financial audit, accounts operations, account software support and IT audit. I don't like the lifestyle of BOTH financial audit and finance reporting. Both are pretty much routine jobs. Plus to financial audit is that you work in projects, that makes it less dull. In my software support days, I really feel bad for the consol people who crazy late for month ends.

OH! I forgot to tell you this. Every month end / year ends can be full of OTs for those working in the industry. So you're not really OT proof afterall!

p.s. Thank god I moved myself out of accounting & finance.

feydrax
post Oct 14 2016, 10:32 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ Oct 14 2016, 04:50 PM)
One problem I found in audit is that, the usual excuse “not enough time, no people and lousy client” excuse cannot be simply applied once you switched to corporate world (especially when they pay you handsomely precisely to solve those problems!). Those that have made the jump should know what I mean.
This is especially true. Your CFO won't have the time to listen to your excuses, especially when the meeting with MD is due in a few hours. Fail that and you're gonna get it.

feydrax
post Oct 19 2016, 09:58 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Oct 18 2016, 06:32 PM)
Hi Topace111, thanks for the detailed input.

Looking at the 2 pizzas-sized team, its probably difficult enough for finance background to join their CF and on top of financial background preference in their hiring decision like what you mentioned, does this means realistically I should look elsewhere?
(if this helps: first class honours degree from UM with active extra-curricular participation and achievements, <1 year Corporate Strategy experience at a public-listed startup, and a finance internship at a MNC)

What I gathered so far, IB doesnt seem realistic for non-finance background like me even for local investment banks, since they have pools of top finance graduates from global top tier unis to choose from. But of course I hope to be convinced otherwise.

Would I stand a better chance as financial analyst or CF role at local companies I wonder?

----
I'd be most grateful if someone from Big4 (or any firms and companies) CF could have a brief phone conversation, at your convenience. Please let me know. That'd be great.
If you're that interested, I suppose you have done your homework.
Why don't you just try applying?
feydrax
post Dec 29 2016, 12:01 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ Dec 28 2016, 06:18 PM)
hey I heard a lot about audit side, but what about advisory side?

If you worked around 3 years in advisory as a fresh grad in one of the Big4 are your exit opportunities any better than the audit counterpart?
I think it shouldn't be a problem looking for jobs, but the demand is based on market though. Advisory have their respective specializations, so it may vary from one to another.
feydrax
post Dec 1 2017, 09:06 PM

257 posts

The process is pretty fast for me, but they called me up, so I guess it's different.
feydrax
post Dec 15 2017, 11:12 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(winaka @ Dec 14 2017, 09:16 PM)
Hi guys, this thread is really informative!

I have a few questions:

1) I went for an interview at Deloitte two weeks ago, the HR person told me it would take about two weeks to proceed to the next step of the application process. I sent a follow-up email today and got an automatic reply that she is on leave until the 26th of December. So should I wait until after the 26th then follow-up with her again? Or should I contact another HR person to follow up? (she mentioned in the auto-reply email that I could contact one of her colleagues for immediate assistance)

2) I received a call from EY for a phone interview last week, I was busy when she called but she said she could call back another time. After that, I missed a few calls from her. Is it possible that she will call me again or my application would get rejected just like that?

3) Two weeks ago, HR from KPMG emailed to do the online assessment and request for additional documents (academic transcript etc), I completed the online assessment and send in my documents last week. I didn't hear back since, what is a good time for me to follow up?
One thing I notice in freshies is that you guys are pretty afraid of the HR. Like seriously, your job in the future is to nag and questions people (read: audit). Don't be afraid. You guys are gonna talk to A LOT of people in the future.

Picking up calls from potential candidates IS part of their job. Sometimes, if you don't nudge them, they may just forget about you in the stream of emails and applications they get on a daily basis. Like this guys actually forgot to acknowledge the stuff I sent him, so just emailed him to acknowledge it. Most of the time, if they did not response to you, chances are they missed that out.

Oh yeah, ALWAYS know the name of your HR guy/gal, it'd be much easier to contact him/her when you called into the general line. Like that time you were busy, it'd be good if you took down her name.

HR are there to help you guys get into the company, just be friendly, they are not they to make your life hard (that is if you are qualified for the job). Also, chances are that you won't really deal with them anymore once you are in. Recruitment teams usually face outside, and internal is handled by another team in the HR. Like unless you are way over the board and being EXTREMELY pushy, I bet your hiring manager won't even notice the emails/phonecalls you made.

Happy job hunting!

This post has been edited by feydrax: Dec 15 2017, 11:13 AM
feydrax
post Oct 17 2020, 10:35 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(fakerdemit @ Oct 17 2020, 04:54 AM)
Hi all, I got an interview with pwc for senior associate role, advisory. Any tips from those who went for pwc interview?

They contacted me on Linkedin and scheduled the interview quickly. I read here that you have to go through some accessment but I wasn't given any yet. What should I expect at this point? Any advice is greatly appreciated.
They could be desperate for a specialized skillset you have for a running or upcoming project. Just make sure you know your stuff.

0.0199sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:14 AM