Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3

eddydo
post Apr 14 2018, 04:00 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

Spoke to a partner in a career fair and handed my CV, few days later got a call from HR scheduling for a skype interview, next day got drilled by 2 partners (1 SG & 1 MY), few days later I was asked to fill in the application form and all required academic documents, and now my application is waiting to be processed by country managing director.

srs question is this recruiting process normal? (not offered a job yet)

This post has been edited by eddydo: Apr 14 2018, 08:08 AM
eddydo
post Apr 14 2018, 06:02 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(immabee @ Apr 14 2018, 04:04 PM)
Lol what kind of position are you applying for?
Financial advisory associate lmao
eddydo
post Apr 15 2018, 11:48 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(immabee @ Apr 15 2018, 09:21 PM)
Oh no wonder they drill you ahahaha. I doubt the intake is big since this division is pretty niche so it can be quite competitive. If you don't mind me asking, was it from the one that is based near TTDI? PM me if you're not comfortable answering here.
had to pull out Google for this haha yes

just heard from my friend he went through the standard way, application form first, phone screen, test, hr etc

niche I'm not sure but definitely competitive!

eddydo
post Apr 15 2018, 11:58 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(june96 @ Apr 15 2018, 11:04 PM)
Hi guys just wanted to get some advice before making a decision: audit or management trainee?

I am a soon to be fresh grad and have offer from big4 to join audit and offer from another company to join their management trainee programme in a specific sector. Audit salary typical 3k, management trainee 3.8k

I study accounting and finance but have no interest in any specific field. I prioritize learning but I can't deny that salary and work life balance are the next priorities.

So from what I've gathered:
Audit: Learn ALOT, gain exposure but suffer and low salary and increment.
Management trainee: Better salary and work life balance, learn alot too with hands on experience in different departments of a company but no exposure to different fields

I am actually more inclined to going for audit but I actually prefer finance more and a friend advised that the skills I learn in management trainee (about the different departments) are applicable to all companies too, plus I will be in better position to negotiate salary when changing jobs in future.

Any advice is welcomed!!
what is your long term goal?

eddydo
post Apr 16 2018, 02:22 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(june96 @ Apr 16 2018, 12:56 AM)
Well I guess that's my main dilemma. Idk what I wanna do in the future thus no long-term goal yet hence why I wanted to go into audit
mind sharing the firm that is providing management trainee? this might help better judge the exit opportunities
eddydo
post Apr 16 2018, 03:05 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(immabee @ Apr 16 2018, 06:25 AM)
🤣 Is your friend applying the same position as yours? I think you could be one of those students currently at overseas and bump into them during the career fair...
both of us study overseas. yeah same position, but he applied before the career fair so he did his final interview during the career fair, I applied during the career fair.
eddydo
post Apr 16 2018, 04:58 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(immabee @ Apr 16 2018, 04:18 PM)
Ahahaha. Yeah in a way you bypassed those early stages because you submitted your CV directly to the Partner during the career fair. I am not sure if the career fair you're referring is not held in Malaysia. If so, that means one of the Partners at the career fair could be their Country Managing Partner. Depends who you were talking to that day but I would say this way of applying sounds normal if you were to pass your CV directly to the Partner.

Your friend would have the normal application process as I think he submits his application online. Each to its own.
It's was in UK. yes the country managing partner was there too but I didn't speak to him sweat.gif If i knew he was going to be processing the final hiring I would have threw myself all over him lmao

I didn't skip much tho haha, was still required to do the assessments

there is the country managing director, a partner in financial advisory and a director from deloitte consultant if i remembered correctly.

This post has been edited by eddydo: Apr 16 2018, 05:01 PM
eddydo
post Apr 16 2018, 07:23 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(immabee @ Apr 16 2018, 06:39 PM)
Now it makes a lot more sense. Lol, you'll eventually get to bump with him if you're are onboard.

Since they took the effort to fly all the way UK to look for Malaysians graduating from UK universities, your chances are pretty high I reckon (depending how many others aced such interviews).

Sounds positive so far with all that processing, good luck.  thumbsup.gif
fingers crossed, it'll be pretty unfortunate if I didn't get it hahaha

Thanks thanks.
eddydo
post Apr 17 2018, 12:41 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(june96 @ Apr 17 2018, 12:33 AM)
the firm is in property development, a pretty narrow sector that's why I initially decided not to go for it. but I am applying for other management trainee programmes also, so hopefully can get more offers
wild guess, chief people is ft?

eddydo
post Apr 17 2018, 12:43 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(june96 @ Apr 17 2018, 12:38 AM)
have you gone through all stages already? i know someone who applied the normal way also already heard back from them soon after they fly back to msia
i don't know tbh, i didn't ask but i would like to guess so
eddydo
post Apr 17 2018, 01:48 AM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(june96 @ Apr 17 2018, 12:56 AM)
chief people is ft?
you should just email them
was guessing the firm that is offering the MA programme.

I forgot to ask the last time they call me but in the email they say " we will have to go through the head of division and the Country Managing Partner’s approval for all hiring. Kindly allow a week time for this".

Got another conditional offer from a blue bank but their HR haven't reply me for three weeks already confused.gif doh.gif doh.gif
eddydo
post Apr 17 2018, 09:10 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(june96 @ Apr 17 2018, 08:54 PM)
ohh never heard of that firm before

they said allow a week, so if more than a week just email only lah

sad weih both your offers like jadi but also tak jadi but should be fine la sometimes they just slow. No reason to rush also since long way to go
nah just that conditional offer from the blue bank tak jadi, the other one very good potential cause HR active. My referee told me they just received the form so rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by eddydo: Apr 17 2018, 09:14 PM
eddydo
post Apr 18 2018, 04:44 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(june96 @ Apr 18 2018, 08:13 AM)
ohh then that's good!!
actually what's the pay for financial advisory graduate like?
from what I've heard, it's pretty disappointing lmao. oh well let's see what they offer if I'm successful 🤗
eddydo
post Apr 21 2018, 03:01 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(june96 @ Apr 18 2018, 09:47 PM)
I thought the pay will be higher than audit, that's what i heard la
I got offered Valuations and Modelling services but planning to switch to Corporate Finance instead but I'm not sure whether it's a good choice.

Anyone have any advice?

This post has been edited by eddydo: Apr 27 2018, 10:14 PM
eddydo
post Apr 28 2018, 04:49 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(jschog @ Apr 28 2018, 02:33 PM)
Hi guys, does anyone know the career progression of Deloitte and the salary wise. Appreciate it!
QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Apr 28 2018, 02:48 PM)
just scroll back to previous pages lul
they are alot
This below is just average for Big4

1. Fresh grad - RM3k++
2. Senior - RM4,+++ TO RM5,+++
3. AM - RM6,+++
4. M - RM8,+++
5. SM - RM10,+++
6. AD= RM 13+++
6. Partner 20k+++

btw this is 2016 data

well would be very good if anyone can update it to 2018 ver tongue.gif
fresh grad 3.2 non negotiable

This post has been edited by eddydo: Apr 28 2018, 11:15 PM
eddydo
post Apr 28 2018, 08:23 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(jschog @ Apr 28 2018, 05:57 PM)
Hi, thanks for the reply. Are you working in Deloitte? Appreciate if I can pm you to more information
Currently still studying, got an offer last week but due to me being indecisive I delayed the process. Flip a few page back, I shared my journey there.

Sure pm me if there is anything more I can help innocent.gif
eddydo
post May 7 2018, 10:39 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(tommy1212 @ May 7 2018, 10:08 PM)
I have submitted application to all the Big 4 a week ago, yet no response received. Usually it took how long for the HRs to inform the shortlisted applicants?
I think only shortlisted candidates will be notified (i might be wrong). I would say give it a month since it's just the first stage.
eddydo
post May 9 2018, 04:45 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ May 9 2018, 03:53 PM)
Does the salary differs between Audit/Assurance vs Advisory/Consulting in BIG 4?
and d consulting > d advisory nod.gif
eddydo
post May 9 2018, 05:54 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ May 9 2018, 05:03 PM)
Bro advisory and consulting is the same no? At least in BIG 4 terms.
thats why i added "d", go figure whistling.gif

Add: ok maybe not everyone will know but, d consulting is more on s&o, while d advisory is financial advisory

This post has been edited by eddydo: May 9 2018, 05:56 PM
eddydo
post May 9 2018, 06:46 PM

vroom vrooom~
1,265 posts

QUOTE(Manada @ May 9 2018, 06:11 PM)
what is d? deloitte?  icon_idea.gif
thumbsup.gif

0.0902sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled