Big 4 Recruitment Drive_v3

Blofeld
post Aug 10 2018, 12:04 AM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(workhardandlearn @ Aug 8 2018, 11:09 PM)
Hi. I have recently graduated with a Accounting and Finance degree and am joining a Big 4's business tax advisory in this September and planning to take a professional qualification as a part time student. I am considering between ICAEW and ACCA.

1) how tough is it to work and study part time?
2) Is there any suggestion or advice for which professional qualification to go for? The reason why I am contemplating is because ICAEW gives me exposure to UK tax while ACCA gives exposure to Malaysian tax. I have basic knowledge on UK tax (really basic) and minimal knowledge on malaysia's corporate tax/business tax advisory. Will it be very tough to apply UK tax knowledge into Malaysia's tax system?

I am willing to put effort to learn.

Hope to hear your wise suggestions
You can still opt for UK tax variant in ACCA.

The debate between ICAEW and ACCA are usually heavily discussed among fresh grads and students.

Instead, employers are looking at your skill sets and performance. That's their priority. Choose whichever prof qualifications you feel comfortable with. It's the same thing.

Even Big Four now prefers non-accounting graduates such as engineering and IT (although they expect them to pursue a professional accounting qualification upon employing them)
Blofeld
post Sep 5 2018, 02:38 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(SmallPenguin @ Aug 30 2018, 12:34 AM)
Im not from a uni but college, with acca platinum status starts with a S in penang
EY doesnt offer it
And the other 2, I told them upfront Im still studying acca but classes are held in non-working hours while calling the HR after a month.
Plus from other posts, I know they ARE looking for people around December.

Been like 5 weeks or 6. So yea chances are Im not getting it.
Just want to get into the interview process so i can proof myself worth for the company

kesian i tak laku laugh.gif
Sentral brows.gif

EY and Deloitte can be easy to get in during December. Send in straight to HR.

PwC more formalised, need to apply through the website.

0.0866sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:34 PM