Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia
ThanatosSwiftfire
Sep 5 2016, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(Soony @ Sep 5 2016, 03:06 PM) Is there any considerations of starting your career in Singapore first before considering the move elsewhere? Banking is not really a big thing in Australia comparing to Singapore and Hong Kong. Also, with regards to any jobs not related to your field, that's what a lot of people say but after a year, that thinking changes. Be very careful and be clear with what you want to achieve in Australia. To be rich? This is not the place. For the kids, then you are getting somewhere. Just my two cents worth. Australian asset management is pretty decent though. Probably because theres tonnes of super funds around to feed the asset managers
ThanatosSwiftfire
Oct 7 2016, 10:24 AM
I got plenty of frens in big 4 in sydney / melb. I think they are doing well. At least facebook suggests that. XD
ThanatosSwiftfire
Oct 31 2016, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 31 2016, 02:59 PM) my wife still cannot get over the idea of being jobless if she's in Australia  oh well... let's see how it goes later when she joins me  Haha some girls abit insecure. They dont feel that comfortable depending on their hubby.
ThanatosSwiftfire
Nov 2 2016, 11:55 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Nov 2 2016, 10:37 AM) good for you  my wife already accepted the fact of leaving, actually we didn't thought it will be so soon... but since i already found a job, it should be a lot better than going there and search for one later on... Good la. One couple shud have the same goals. Can be quite stressful and sad when.both partners want different things  . Good luck dude. Hopefully u love australia
ThanatosSwiftfire
Nov 17 2016, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(Progineer @ Nov 17 2016, 12:55 PM) Desperate times calls for desperate measures. Msia is really abandon ship time. QUOTE(DarReNz @ Nov 17 2016, 01:23 PM) it's quite common. i've got an uncle who used to be CFO in msia/sg, now in oz is just an accountant mate  Good for both sides also la. Then i can get promoted to take over these ppl's roles back home. Otherwise if they stay here, i also very hard to move up...
ThanatosSwiftfire
Dec 7 2016, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(z21j @ Dec 7 2016, 09:09 AM) Well, yes. I have better work-life balance in SG, as I have a team that is willing to work equally hard to achieve the common goal together. In OZ, I feel like I'm more of one-man show whereby my team (non-Asian) will just leave the office on the dot irrespective whether they can finish their works or not. Being the team manager, I'm the one who stay late (cannot claim OT/in-lieu etc) to complete the juniors' team members work. I have never had this kind of experience in SG. Considering the work-life balance aspect, I've got no choice. I hope I'm not the only one that feel "no work-life balance" in OZ land (yes, another aspect is that I care about my job being a professional, so I just don't understand when people can just leave the office on the dot whereby the tasks cannot be completed.) If you are still in audit, I think you are in for a surprise in SG.
ThanatosSwiftfire
Apr 27 2017, 01:23 PM
Aud > myr. Aud life so good. I see u all everyday can post photo of melbourne, sydney and perth i so jealous. The house so nice by the beach, every weekend post cafr and awrsome australian kopi.
Jeles. >_<
If only australia want me.
ThanatosSwiftfire
Apr 27 2017, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Apr 27 2017, 02:15 PM) Are you a woman or a man? Options:- 1. if you're woman, get ang moh kia to marry 2. if you're man, get ang moh bo to marry Sudah kahwin dan beranak. So dun have that option liao.
ThanatosSwiftfire
Apr 28 2017, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 28 2017, 07:20 AM) Come over to Perth where we are always by the beach. Pretty sure $400k Aud can get you a place close to the beach, but a bit far off from the CBD. Ya my friend on fb (somehot chick and one lucky guy) has a beautiful tw story apartment that overlooks the sea in perth. Im soooooo massively jealous. (Of the house and that guy)
ThanatosSwiftfire
Apr 28 2017, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(jianh @ Apr 28 2017, 10:56 AM) What's the damage for her apartment, don't mind if I ask? No idea. Not that close to be able to ask such a question...
ThanatosSwiftfire
Jun 13 2017, 07:28 PM
Good luck. May you find your way to Australia ^^
ThanatosSwiftfire
Aug 26 2017, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(immabee @ Aug 25 2017, 03:40 PM) Thanks guys. Currently at a BIG4 firm. Gotta thank them for the reputation. alot of my friends are in sydney pwc. some r in smaller tier firms. i think itd not that hard if they need ppl. which they do because work life balance depends on which job/client u get ;p