Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

limeuu
post Jul 30 2021, 12:45 PM

12,290 posts

The easiest way to migrate is to graduate onshore in a profession where jobs are plenty. No break in between, graduate, start job, get adequate points, apply for PR, go up the "Australian experience" ladder.

Within my circle of family and friends who went on this pathway, are those in healthcare (doctors, nurses, optometrist, podiatrist etc), childcare, niche IT (eg cybersecurity).

Those doing generic courses like finance, Commerce, even IT and engineering etc, face considerable problems getting relevant jobs (ie based on your qualification, to be eligible for work experience points) and had to either retrain, or use other pathways (eg employer sponsored, partner etc).

Those applying from outside faces even more problems. Especially the lack of "Australian experience" which seems so vital for employers.

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 30 2021, 12:51 PM
limeuu
post Aug 9 2021, 03:54 PM

12,290 posts

A few basic points to note.

1) In Australia, the job is separate from the Visa, as in, you can get different visas which enables you in different ways and not necessarily tied to a job.

2) A independent migrations visa (189/190) is the best, as it allows you to move without a job. (Getting a job is a different matter). It's points based, and very high points are need. Go check how many points you can get.

3) If it's tied to a job, then your visa is employer sponsored and tied (now usually TSS Visa subclass 482), and limited to 2 or 4 years. No long term security. But many will use that as a stepping stone, and apply for independent visas while in Australia.

In all cases, your chances depends on if your profession is in a "skill shortage" list of some kind (it's confusing as different visas use different lists!). Such claimed profession needs both qualification verification and professional accreditation. Ie you need both the required qualification, and need registration with the appropriate professional bodies. And they have professional bodies for almost everything! Plumbers and bricklayers included.

https://www.tssimmigration.com.au/migration-news/blog/CSOL

Banker is not there. Financial "something" is.
limeuu
post Aug 15 2021, 01:30 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Aug 15 2021, 09:46 AM)
Thanks. What’s your take on onshore vs offshore immigration consultant?
Thanks. The point based system is clear. Each criteria is accredited by relevant agency. Wouldn’t this take a long time? I am an engineering graduate but have not spent a single day in engineering. Took up professional finance paper and that’s it. For 189, how do the authorities evaluate subjectivities as such? Any platform to make our cases?
Work experience points must be relevant to claimed qualification. So you will not get any work experience points applying as an engineer. If applying under finance, your finance qualification needs to be accredited by the relevant professional body.

Like I said, they have professional bodies for almost everything, so you will need any claimed professional qualification(s) assessed to be "equivalent" and "acceptable", especially non-Australian ones.

The 189 process starts with submitting an EOI, with your claimed points. How soon you get called for processing depends on how many points you have, and whether the claimed profession is a "pro-rata" or not. Pro-rata means too many applicants more than the allocated numbers, so the points needed to get called is higher.

This site used to give up to date information, but lately, not so many updates, due to Covid slowing down processing.
https://iscah.com/news-page/

Wait time to get invites can thus range from "immediate" (when points are high enough) to 2 years (validity of EOI). That's roughly 100/85 points for pro-rata, and 90/80 points for non-prorata. Below these points, EOIs usually will expire before invite. You can submit another EOI after, but realistically, if you don't at least 80 points, the chance is practically zero.

This post has been edited by limeuu: Aug 15 2021, 08:12 PM
limeuu
post Sep 25 2021, 08:51 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 16 2021, 11:18 AM)
3 years exp sounds about right then smile.gif

if only you able to nego the pay to exclude super but if you are in the 20s go for it.

i believe you need to have visa + employment offer letter ready first before you can apply for bank.
Banking stuffs, leave it till in the country....

private sector, packages usually quoted with super added....only gov quote package without super, which is added on top...

good initial stepping stone into the country, but remember is a TSS visa....you still need to apply for a permanent visa at some point, so start working at the points...

Visa no problem...getting a quarantine spot will be....that's the bottleneck now...even high high priority medical specialists get bumped off flights multiple times when quarantine spots are filled up by returning Aussies....
limeuu
post Sep 25 2021, 08:53 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(itchyfingers19 @ Sep 16 2021, 09:46 AM)
I thought since the borders are closed, getting hired in Australia is close to nil. Mind sharing which field are you in and is it through a transfer program from your current workplace in Malaysia?
there is a priority profession list where people get fast processing to cover manpower shortage....just started a month ago.
limeuu
post Oct 4 2021, 12:29 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Screen @ Oct 3 2021, 11:31 PM)
Yep gonna do extensive research and work towards it, I think my firm has a strong immigration/global mobility department, probably will bug them constantly for the requirements haha

On quarantine, my firm promised to arrange for me, just need to set date and let them know, so let's see how it goes, it is in another 1.5 month or so

Bumped off flights - means they ask you to reschedule arrival if quarantine spots are full?
Bumped off flight means exactly that: you don't get to fly...the capacity is determined by how many quarantine places available that day....some flights may only have 10 passengers, if that's all there is quarantine places...flights are limited, and people come in from all over the world....

And remember Melbourne is still on lockdown....

Things should probably improve by next month. They are trialing home quarantine for returning residents, so that will release more hotel quarantine places...
limeuu
post Nov 20 2021, 11:05 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 18 2021, 07:57 PM)
I think everyone is waiting for more details to come out.

I have already transferred more than rm1mil over the past 8 months (transferred with CBA to MBB with rates between 2.98 and 3.17). Can only do A$50k max each time and fees from CBA was A$22 each time via telegraphic transfer and Maybank deposits the money in my acct in less than 1 hour with tt. I was not intending to transfer more starting from 2022 but you never know when we might need more ringgit - maybe a very attractive investment opportunity might come by.

I have been following https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3524728/+200

Really terrible news even though 3% may not be a huge sum. Any form of tax is repulsive and despicable!!
1 million will last you a long time in Malaysia, if you spend normally....
limeuu
post Mar 26 2022, 11:42 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(NeeYaMa @ Mar 24 2022, 03:06 PM)
Hi guys. My wife has an offer to be relocated to Sydney for a couple of years on work visa. We have a 1 year old and it seems daycare there is damn expensive ! Are there any cheaper options that im not considering ?
unless both parents are high income earners, childcare is so expensive one parent will usually have to stop working...
limeuu
post Mar 29 2022, 05:51 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 28 2022, 07:12 PM)
Not ideal, but a colleague had the grandparents take care of his kid for a few years while they migrated to Sydney (somewhere in China) and things seemed to work out alright for them.
The kid came over and then they had the 2nd one here - he's probably a high income earner so it's alright for him now.

One a side not, has anyone been able to successfully put through a passport renewal for this website?: Link
Both wife and myself would've attempted to upload our bloody pictures over a few hundred times (I personally attempted at least close to 200) and it's chipping away at my sanity.
We've used photos we took ourselves, actual passport photos, photos from apps, etc. and we're mainly getting the 'failed to validate image' & we have to re-upload the picture for validation/checks again.
did the same,cannot upload, and went to the immigration office....and they told me ALL uploaded pictures cannot accept, so don't bother, just go and they will take the picture for you....which looks worse than the pictures i tried to submit....lol
limeuu
post Jun 13 2022, 10:25 PM

12,290 posts

Having a PR while not really staying also has it's problems....and if children are young, and not ready to move, doesn't make sense....that's why we gave up last time....
limeuu
post Jun 15 2022, 08:18 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 14 2022, 03:23 PM)
Actually, bro,... for myself,... I don't really think Msia is that bad.

For one, the Msian gov't doesnt really prevent you from doing too many things in life.

They don't limit you from investing your money outside of Msia. They don't impose international tax.

They allow you to have two passports, tho' they say otherwise, but they don't enforce closely.

The tax rates here are not that high compared to many countries.

Mkt is inefficient because of racial segregation activities, hence, allowing everybody to be able to earn money.

Gov't enforcement actions are not too efficient,... there is goodness in this.
my business sector friends who came back all say the same....it's not a bad place to do business, for 2 of the points above....

everything can be "adjusted"....lol

and the intrinsic inefficiencies allow you to get ahead, and avoid the rules....lol lol
limeuu
post Jul 4 2022, 05:24 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(disco333 @ Jul 4 2022, 01:24 PM)
It depends on the context. For someone making RM200k in Malaysia, their quality of life would be higher than someone making $130k in Australia which is why I suggested that the original poster not settle on an offer which appears low for their skillset and experience. On $110k which is the offer they were getting, they’d be below manager level whilst RM200k in Malaysia would indicate they are an experienced manager/senior manager. This is a significant compromise on position and pay.

I agree that Australian employers overvalue local experience but where there are severe skill shortages they are willing to pay a premium.  I think Malaysians often sell themselves short when they move here, and I find it quite frustrating. I did the same thing and I regret it. One of my colleagues who just joined from Malaysia was downgraded two levels when he joined us recently and I feel frustrated for him because he is better than the locals above him but because he came from Malaysia they downgraded him.

It’s a difficult situation because on the one hand you want to move and don’t really care about the pay. I was the same way when I first moved but having been here for 4/5 years I realise that this might not have been the best thing for my career.
Generally, don't convert. Then you get the real "PPP" of your income. Things are very expensive in Australia, and a seemingly high income when converted into MYR and thinking in Msian costs, may actually be quite a struggle at real Aussie costs. So moving from MYR200k to AUD130k is actually a downgrade.

But as stated in other posts, there are other considerations other than income when people migrate. In the Malaysia context, the push factor is very strong....As Gary is finding out. When your children comes into the equation (by implication, looking 50 years into the future), the trajectory of Msian is not promising.

This post has been edited by limeuu: Jul 4 2022, 05:25 PM
limeuu
post Jul 26 2022, 08:58 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cruxmihilux @ Jul 26 2022, 09:40 AM)
Good day everyone, my wife and I have 3 kids and considering to migrate to Aus for better future prospects. Would like to ask how do we apply for jobs there?  How is it like there to start a new life with kids these age? their future outcome ie education, livelihood etc. Hows the salary like ? We are in our early 30's, middle class, working in the health and education sectors. Quite frustrated and saddened by the salary here and how the inflation is making it worse. Future looks bleak. Apologize for the barrage of questions, hope your goodselves would be able to shed some light smile.gif Thank you
The first step isn't looking for a job, but to look at your qualifications and points to see if you can qualify for a migrant visa.
limeuu
post Jul 28 2022, 07:32 PM

12,290 posts

hence the best option is see if you are eligible for an independent pr visa from the beginning....then you don't have this uncertainty, and being tied to an employer....which may not work out....
limeuu
post Aug 25 2022, 11:23 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(rko1268 @ Aug 24 2022, 10:47 AM)
Hi guys, any chance for a 4.5 years experience QS / Contract Executive / Estimator in a construction industry to get a job in sydney? is there any requirements?
QUOTE(kagenn @ Aug 24 2022, 07:39 PM)
You could check the priority occupation list for Australia if you're interested:
https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/visas/worki...occupation-list

It does look like Construction Estimator is on the job list. You'll have to calculate your points to see if you can get enough points to get an invitation.
the question was about getting a job....

fyi, the two are quite separate issues....getting a pr and getting a job....

unless you are talking about employer sponsored tr visas....which unfortunately give you no long term certainty....
limeuu
post Aug 26 2022, 11:07 AM

12,290 posts

Relevant points to note for potential migrants: the new labour government is going to have a big conference next week to discuss on labour shortages, and one of the policy changes expected is a revised immigration policy to increase the number of skill workers. So I expect the numbers of the skilled migration categories (independent or state sponsored) will be markedly expanded, and processing time reduced. Points needed will likely also be eased.

So may be a good time to apply, for those who have interest.

The list of professions in shortage is listed above by kagenn.
limeuu
post Sep 2 2022, 09:27 PM

12,290 posts

The manpower meeting just ended, and good news for those who are considering to work, or even study in australia....the immigration numbers will be increased by 35,000 places for this financial year (ie till june 2023), and graduates will be allowed to stay and work longer (details not available yet)...
limeuu
post Oct 29 2022, 06:39 PM

12,290 posts

The Fed is going for another 75 basis points, so even if RBA goes 50, it's still lagging the US and the AUD will still likely drop against the USD.
limeuu
post Nov 3 2022, 10:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(NoComment222 @ Nov 1 2022, 01:26 PM)
Guys, want to inquire, how much is an average property (condo/landed) in Aussie and are foreigners allowed to borrow from banks at 80%-90%? My budget will be 3k/monthly with downpayment 10%
foreigners need to get approval from FIRB https://firb.gov.au/

When I applied in 2014, it was free, but since 2015, there is a significant fee to pay.... https://www.homeloanexperts.com.au/non-resi.../firb-approval/

Getting local Australian housing loans is problematic nowadays, when i asked last time, they say can loan 50%, but don't know about now. https://www.homeloanexperts.com.au/non-resi...igner-mortgage/

The housing market is very varied between locations, so you cannot ask such general questions, identify your locations first...

This post has been edited by limeuu: Nov 3 2022, 11:54 PM
limeuu
post Dec 5 2022, 08:57 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Dec 5 2022, 12:39 PM)
Found this from ATO. Does the ‘resident’ here mean a tax resident? What are the taxes involved for tax resident to transfer offshore money to onshore?

If you are moving to Australia for the first time, any sum of money that you bring into the country will not be taxable, according to the Australian Tax Office (ATO). However, once you become a resident of Australia, you may be taxed on money you transfer into your Australian account.
Tax resident, or 183 days or more within Australia. Then remittances inwards may be taken as income and tax imposed.

21 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 >Top

0.2107sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:43 AM