Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

Garysydney
post Mar 1 2021, 04:19 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 1 2021, 01:45 AM)
Good morning, Gary,.. tqvm for your great inputs. I think now is not a good time to migrate into Msia, bro,... Let things settle down first,... get your vaccine shots in Australia first. I believe Msia has a long way before she is able to ctrl the infections successfully, even with the rollout of vaccines.
Hello Hansel, thank you for your advice.

My wife is the one who really wants to go back fast. Her dad passed away last May (in KL) and she couldn't attend the burial. She has so many things to do in KL and she is quite skeptical about taking the vaccine. I am more inclined to stay back in Sydney but my wife really hates winter as well.

I have a 82-year old uncle (who usually lives in KL) but has been locked down in Sydney (holds an Aust retiree visa) and he was initially skeptical about the vaccine but now wants to take it before returning to KL as he doesn't want the China vaccine. Don't know when is his turn but older residents like him will get priority.

When going back to Msia, we need permission to leave Aust (from Dept of Foreign Affairs) and also need permission from Msian embassy (need to get a Travel Note from Msian Embassy online). Flying from one country to another is harder than going to the moon smile.gif
Garysydney
post Mar 2 2021, 04:48 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 1 2021, 09:45 PM)
Take the vaccine. Eventually, no vaccine no travel.

and move to QLD lah!
There are a lot of people i know who are afraid of the side-effects of the vaccine. When you live in Aust and the number of new infections are virtually non-existent (talking about situation now), you will wonder whether it is necessary to take the vaccine. I don't know what the future ruling will be in future - whether vaccine will be a prerequisite for travel but at moment it certainly looks that way.

Queensland is a highly desired destination for retirees - a lot of NSW retirees do eventually end up there. I would but i have no relatives there (all my relatives are in Sydney). At the end of the day, my wife is the boss as she cooks my meals so i leave it to her to decide - as long as my tummy is full, i have no complaints. This is why i like Msia - there is food everywhere and so many different varieties and much cheaper than Sydney smile.gif .
Garysydney
post Mar 2 2021, 05:04 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(GrammarNazi @ Mar 2 2021, 02:46 PM)
How long will you want to wait to take the vaccine?

Australia has to open up eventually, I would not like to be unvaccinated when that happens. I think the COVID shot will end up being a yearly affair like the flu shot tbh.
I suspect my turn (age 59) will not be till July earliest this year. There is currently a slight delay in the rollout of the vaccine. Govt estimates everyone will be vaccinated by Sept/Oct at the latest.

From what i gather Aust govt is rolling out Pfizer and Astrazeneca and according to the news, we will not be told which one will be used when we go for the vaccine.

There is so much talk that people who fly in future will have to be vaccinated before they are allowed to fly. Don't know what to think of this.
Garysydney
post Mar 2 2021, 05:09 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 2 2021, 04:26 PM)
That's basically the problem with Oz.....unlike other countries where vaccination results in opening of economy, for Oz/NZ even with vaccination, opening of economy means letting Covid in....

For the likes of USA/UK/Europe, dropping from 5 figures to 3 figures cases is wonderful....

for oz, reaching 3 figures cases is a disaster....
Imagine people like us (PRs and citizens) are locked in the country unless you have a very good reason to leave the country. Talking about freedom and human right!!

Going back a few months, Australians couldn't even leave the country to attend funerals (of their loved ones) overseas!! Only citizens and PRs are allowed to come back to Aust - PRC students all can't get back into Aust once they leave the country. No wonder all the PRC students are not coming back anymore!!
Garysydney
post Mar 4 2021, 02:57 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 3 2021, 06:33 PM)
Gentlemen,.. all the inputs above are valuable and are highly appreciated - thank you. I'd like to ask : is there an app or a website in Australia whereby we can register to take the shots ?
My uncle did register himself (he is 82 y.o.) for the jab. His daughter registered it for him. If i ask my uncle, he probably wouldn't know as he is not very IT savvy.

I have been told to register for the vaccine through my GP.

I have a very good Egyptian friend (who i used to lend money to) and he works at RPA hospital nowadays. He got his first Pfizer jab a few days ago and he mentioned he didn't feel anything. He is a 63 y.o. male but he is very tough physically. Thought i just want to add this in as he is the first person i know in Sydney who has got his jab.
Garysydney
post Mar 10 2021, 08:51 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 10 2021, 07:40 AM)
It's good to see he forum still lively - it's been a busy period in my company with so many people leaving and joining - one would think that the job market is back to pre-covid situations.

I's great that the vaccine roll-out is here - though I've seen news that those in China who recovered from Covid caught it again about half a year later. Without clear reporting it's hard to tell if it was the same strain - but I am also in the boat that the vaccine is temporary like the flu jab. Wife has shared news of Malaysians scrambling to get the vaccine desperately in a bid to return to normalcy, though I highly doubt that the current government will relinquish their new found grasp n control and power. Imo, it's too politically unstable with all that power struggle which will quite well last past my lifetime.

On a side note, Vanguard looks to be starting their own Super in Australia. Any opinions on this? I'm pretty keen to find out more and hope they're gonna be low on fees too: https://www.canstar.com.au/superannuation/v...superannuation/
Superannuation will be a big thing in the future as more and more money goes in. As long as you are in an industry superfund, you should be fine as fees will be minimal. If you are young, just go for the most aggressive investment option (like 100% international shares or 100% High Growth) as you have plenty of time to recover if something goes wrong.

I have a defined benefit super which is very conservative in their investments and i also have a second superfund (Unisuper) which i have nominated 100% International shares - the returns on my Unisuper is more than double my defined benefit fund (State Super SASS). I am at the stage where i can start withdrawing my super as i am retiring on 15 March. I need to consolidate the two super accounts into one - hopefully what i have will be able to last me till i conk off smile.gif

I haven't forgotten the lunch i owe you - just need to get all my finance organised. We can have yum cha at Burwood if you like since it will be nearer your residence. I usually have yum cha at Zilver in Chinatown but parking is a bit difficult sometimes as people are all starting to return to the city on weekends.
Garysydney
post Mar 10 2021, 11:49 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 10 2021, 11:23 AM)
I've set my current super to roughly 50% high growth and am thinking of making it 80%. If he Vanguard super (I assume) allows for investing into their ETFs, I'm more than happy to put it all into Vanguard's High Growth ETFs - that's where the bulk of my stock purchases are anyway.

Does the super grow your account even after retirement age if you choose to leave money in it? Would it be better to put the entirety of one's super into dividend stocks and living off the dividends alone without touching the base? I've read living off dividends (roughly 50k/year from 1mil in dividend stocks) and this looks like a nice way to retire, while doing something fun or earn a little on the side. Something to strive for.
Both areas are good, more than happy to follow your recommendations. Also no issues taking the train to either destination - I dislike driving into the city and will avoid it when possible. At least 60% of passengers still wear their masks so I don't think it's too bad.
When you are young, be as aggressive as possible - after all you have many years ahead of you. Even for older retirees some of us who do not need the money for a long period, we can take a more aggressive position. When markets drop they tend to bounce back up. We have not seen a prolonged bear market for a long, long time and i do not think we will see one in the next 10 years because interest rates are low and there is so much liquidity in the market.

A lot of my retiree friends have more than a million in their superfund (i am the poorest in my group smile.gif ). They are all living very comfortably and i can see most of them are still quite thrifty (only vice is going out to eat nowadays). Their passive income from their super is definitely more than what they can spend. I would say a million (Aussie) in retirement is more than enough to live on at age 60 for a couple (no mortgage/rent). I am at that stage now and i have been worried over the last few years about this.

Since you are taking public transport, we can go anywhere then. My wife and i are still wary about taking public transport. We will decide when we are ready for it. You will probably find it very easy to recognise me - 178cm, 80kg and 85% white hair biggrin.gif .
Garysydney
post Mar 20 2021, 02:01 PM

527 posts

I have lived in Sydney for about 40 years now - never seen so much rain in my whole life in Sydney.

Many places will be flooded in NSW today and the next few days.

Supposed to go out for dinner in Chinatown tonight but with this rain being so crazy, my wife and i dare not even go out the front door ranting.gif !!

This post has been edited by Garysydney: Mar 20 2021, 02:02 PM
Garysydney
post Mar 22 2021, 09:49 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Mar 22 2021, 09:13 AM)
Dams all full, at least solved water shortage issues for a few years...
Warragamba dam which supplies most of Sydney's water supply is now over-spilling and those low-lying suburbs where the river passes through are all getting flooded. Never seen it so bad before.

Whole week raining - at least the rain will clear up on Wednesday biggrin.gif . Cannot do any washing for the whole week!!
Garysydney
post Mar 23 2021, 12:30 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 23 2021, 12:14 PM)
This is as close as it gets to Malaysia during the raining season. Best chance to convince your wife that the flooding now is just like in parts of rural Msia.

I personally quite enjoy the slightly gloomier weather, it's the best to sleep in or relax for the indoor person I guess.

For those living in Sydney and had their passports expire, can it only be done if we go to Canberra? Any options to do it online? Was hoping to renew it back in Msia but with Covid this is now not feasible.
The last time i renewed in Canberra was 9 years ago - i had to call up and booked an appointment beforehand. We drove down the night before and stayed at a motel. You hand in your application around 9am and collect after lunch. They only do a limited number a day. The procedure is probably different now with Covid. Mine is not due until June next year.

Looks like weather is clearing up now where i am. It is now a lot brighter compared to this morning. Got a Tuesday night dinner with my retiree friends group at Wewok Kingsford tonight. Hopefully we will get a few days of sunshine from now.

Garysydney
post Mar 24 2021, 08:21 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 24 2021, 07:35 AM)
Thanks for the info, probably a good excuse to travel and explore Canberra a little. A day trip might be good - anything nice to check out in Canberra?

Hope you're enjoying the weather - nice sunny day today. Time for you to go out and makan more. Personally itching for good cendol but nothing here beats the roadside cendol in Msia.
Looks like the sun is finally out today!!

I have been to Canberra so many times i have forgotten the places of interest now. In the nineties, Canberra opened their casino before Sydney's Star Casino so every time we had visitors in Sydney (from Msia), we would drive them down to Canberra to visit the casino. Most of these visitors were not interested in visiting the tourist venues in Canberra and just wanted to spend time in the casino biggrin.gif .

I quite like the War Memorial (it is a war museum) because as we get older, we learn to appreciate life during war a lot more (older people tend to reflect more on how their lives has changed compared to younger days). There is also the Telstra Tower where you have to drive through some winding road before you reach the top of the mountain. Parliament House is quite pretty and you can go inside the Parliament to have a walk around - you might want to drive through all the different embassies (it is quite near the Parliament) as well as visiting the old Parliament. There is a place where they have everything built in smaller denominations (Cockington Green??? - cannot recall the name now). Been to Canberra so many times as i used to love to drive long distances but now old man don't enjoy driving far nowadays biggrin.gif .

I need to make a time to have yum cha with you - maybe if it is okay, we can go next week on Easter Saturday at Zilver at around 12noon? Take your partner along (if she wants to go along) and i will see if my wife wants to join us. Don't bring anything up what i have written in LYN as she doesn't know i have revealed so much of our personal life on LYN tongue.gif
Garysydney
post Mar 24 2021, 12:13 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 24 2021, 11:56 AM)
Thanks for the suggestions on where to visit in Canberra. Will note down the places and also do some research on makan places there too. Won't be able to visit Canberra anytime soon either. Highly doubt we can travel out of Aus for the next few months anyway - so passport renewal can wait. I also hate long distance driving, especially alone as I tend to get sleepy when bored driving down a straight highway. Driving to Taiping/Ipoh was especially boring back in Msia as it was a uneventful drive. Would be great if I could nap through any long drives.

Lunch next Sat sounds good - both missus and I will be going. Looking forward o this meet-up. I'll do my best to remember regarding LYN topics. Also don't mind going earlier if that helps with the lunch crowd too.
Good that you can attend on 3 April Saturday around 12noon Zilver. Usually Saturday is not very busy but being a super long weekend, it might be slightly busier. I have been there quite a few Saturdays yum cha and it wasn't very crowded. My wife and i would normally walk around Chinatown after lunch and do a bit of shopping. We have been eating quite a lot out in Chinatown in the past few weeks biggrin.gif .

I don't think you will be able to travel until next year (earliest) so no need to renew your passport. At the moment, the Aust govt won't allow us out unless it is an emergency (compassionate) or if you are relocating for longer than 3 months. It is so difficult to travel overseas nowadays and with the need to quarantine, visiting loved one overseas is close to being impossible.

See you on Easter Saturday biggrin.gif

Garysydney
post Mar 27 2021, 06:04 AM

527 posts

NSW is giving A$100 to be spent to revive businesses caught up in the Covid downturn

https://www.news.com.au/travel/nsw-governme...ea7a13f49ef0c96

My wife and i got the 4 vouchers each worth A$25/voucher per person. Two vouchers each can be spent on restaurants. Most of the restaurants we go to are on the list of approved restaurants. Since retirees eat out a lot, this is a good thing for a cheapskate retiree like me rclxm9.gif .

This post has been edited by Garysydney: Mar 27 2021, 06:07 AM
Garysydney
post Apr 4 2021, 05:12 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Mar 24 2021, 11:56 AM)
Lunch next Sat sounds good - both missus and I will be going. Looking forward o this meet-up. I'll do my best to remember regarding LYN topics. Also don't mind going earlier if that helps with the lunch crowd too.
Good morning Kagenn, daylight saving has ended and we are now 2 hours different from Peninsular Malaysia now. Days are slowly getting shorter now.

Nice to meet you and your wife yesterday - my wife says you are very good looking. She was initially apprehensive about meeting someone she has no clue about but last night she told me you are a nice couple. If we had kids, they will probably be your age smile.gif .

Enjoy whatever is left of Easter.

This post has been edited by Garysydney: Apr 4 2021, 05:13 AM
Garysydney
post Apr 5 2021, 05:30 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Apr 4 2021, 12:04 PM)
Yeah, it'll be easier to chat with friends and family from Malaysia now. It was a nice catching up with you and the wife yesterday too - always happy to meet other Msians. Always up for another before you make a move back to Msia (if/when you do).

Lol thanks for the confidence boost! Yeah I know the feeling, we were also mingling around a little and it is pretty hard to mix with people whose values are vastly different (cultural and personal) - but I think we're slowly adapting.
Some colleagues are great people and they're a blast to work with.

Gonna be mostly house chores now - we're supposed to give the cat a shower and clean the house yesterday, so today is the replacement day. I gotta wash my car too - troublesome as ther's no car wash bay here.
Maybe dinner with our ex-landlady in Bankstown. You have a nice break too - I really miss these long weekends and Msian holidays.
Long weekend coming to an end now. Weather has been fabulous the past few days - wish Sydney was like this whole year round. When i was younger, i didn't feel cold even in winter - i could just wear a light jacket at night even in winter but as we get older, we can really feel the cold now. We prefer warmer weather now - Brisbane is nice for oldies but i don't have any friends and relatives there.

We will see if i have some time for another lunch - maybe we can go to Bankstown Pho An one weekend Saturday (i don't like going on Sundays because restaurants are usually packed on Sunday (lunches).

Looks like coming week may get a little showery.

Keep in touch.

This post has been edited by Garysydney: Apr 5 2021, 05:32 AM
Garysydney
post Apr 12 2021, 10:01 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ Apr 12 2021, 09:14 AM)
Weather's pretty darn cold now in Sydney, do keep warm people.

Would anyone know how different winter is in Queensland? I keep hearing that it's most similar to Msia and summer/winter are much more tolerable.

Is there the same issue with flies/mosquitoes there? Is the infrastructure on par with Sydney/Melbourne?
I was going to post this morning after i came back from morning walk to Coles but completely forgotten because my consolidation of the two super funds is finally happening today. I was so happy with the interest that the 2 super funds gave me from 15 March till now that i totally forgotten about posting - got A$21k for interest from the superfunds smile.gif in the last 28 days. Even though i am now in a balanced strategy, that is fantastic but it is happening on the back of very strong markets (both internationally and overseas).

Now back to the weather - it is 9.6 deg in Randwick when i started walking there. Bloody freezing!! I had to wear my winter track suits and it still felt a little cold! Lucky the sun was bright and shiny!!

I bought a mid-sized Chanel for my wife last week and she is now asking for another Chanel bag after i told her about my super interest doh.gif . I must learn to keep quiet now whenever my super jumps bangwall.gif but i am the type of person who cannot keep quiet when good news come across. My share portfolio (outside super) has also jumped about 3% so never mind - lah smile.gif .

This post has been edited by Garysydney: Apr 12 2021, 10:02 AM
Garysydney
post Apr 19 2021, 04:20 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 18 2021, 06:07 PM)
You cannot talk about QLD as one place, as it is a huge state, that stretches a very long way latitude wise.

Generally you can divide it into 2. The southeast part is where the majority of population lives, and has a sub-tropical climate, essentially a long warm summer (9 months), and a short cool winter (3 months). It seldom gets very cold (average low teens), and also, seldom very hot either.

Very similar to places like Taiwan/HK, Florida etc.

The northern half is basically tropical, not unlike Malaysia year round.

Mosquitos and flies are everywhere in Australia...lol

Visit it lah, it's typical Australia, except without the crazy Syd/Mel costs.

Perfect retiree location....lol. In fact Sunshine Coast is the most popular retirement home location: spaced out, slow paced, cheap, and miles of beaches and sunshine, without the tourists! A top notch UQ University Hospital, and yet only just over an hour to Brisbane.
Definitely agree Queensland has the best weather for retirees.

I have no friends/relatives in Queensland otherwise i won't mind trying retirement there.

Weather is starting to get cold in the mornings now in Sydney and my wife is starting to get headaches (due to the cold) and allergies. I myself don't mind the cold (like now) as it is not really that cold yet. I start getting uncomfortable in mid-June when morning temperature starts dropping to single digit.
Garysydney
post Apr 21 2021, 02:27 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(Rand @ Apr 21 2021, 02:00 PM)
I remember when I had to fly to Brissie for work one winter. I went from 7c in Melbourne to 27c in Brisbane.

Walked out of the airport wearing my black puffer jacket looking like an idiot.
Melbourne is so cold during winter. Brrrrr....

I remember my first visit to Melbourne in late June 1981 (during semester break) and stayed at my friend's place in Clayton. At that time, we were all Uni students and we had all studied at Taylor's College previously (Taylor's was located at the bottom of Pantai Hill then). Most of the the students in Taylor's ended up in Melbourne while i went to Sydney as my sister applied for NSW universities for me (via UCAC in those days). Good memories. It was bloody freezing in Clayton (i think it was something like -2 deg in Clayton (morning temp) the few days when i was in Melbourne. We were young then and it didn't feel that cold.Now thinking back that was 40 years ago!!
Garysydney
post May 2 2021, 10:45 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(kagenn @ May 2 2021, 08:13 AM)
It's been a busy few weeks, and it's probably gonna continue to be that way till June is over. May have to fly down to Shepperton (3 hours from Melb I think) mid June and I'm dreading the -2'c. Hopefully it'll stay above 10, that's bearable for me.

Thanks for the explanation on QLD. While the sub-tropical weather sounds like a great place, I'd rather endure the cold than deal with mosquitoes and flies. There are so few of those where I live - I'd encounter them once a month or so, rather than a daily basis back in Msia. I do miss the feeling of zapping those bugs, it used to be so satisfying.

Personally more a quieter area closers to greenery than the constant crowd of beaches (and insufficient parking). Keeping an eye out for houses in suburbs further away but prices are pretty scary now in Sydney. On the (minor) plus side, the apartment we're living in has gone up a little too.
Shepperton in winter - wow, it is going to be cold (esp in the mornings/night).

Looks like there is a lot of confidence in the economy at the moment. House/unit price surging, strong share market as well as a strong Aussie. Everyone in Aust seems to be laughing now. Hope it stays that way for a long while.

I am applying to go back to KL in late May - if successful, i may be going back to KL at the end of May for a trial retirement. A bit scared about the Covid cases in Msia but my wife seems more scared about the cold smile.gif coming soon.
Garysydney
post May 3 2021, 04:02 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 2 2021, 05:58 PM)
justification for travel?...apparently intending to stay out more than 3 months is good grounds....i was told....

but once out, trying to get in again is going to be a problem....
Yes - i have been following Facebook group and according to them, all you need is to write a stat declaration and inform Border Force you will be away for at least 3 months - if you put a longer period your chance of approval is higher. I put one year on my application and i think chances will be very high.

The only problem with trying to get back to Aust is the expensive air fares and the 14-day quarantine. You also need to book your tickets a little ahead in advance. MAS used to bump passengers off last minute but recently seems to have stopped doing that because passengers are moving to SIA because of the unreliability of MAS services.

I bought a one-way Syd-Kul (me and my wife) and it cost A$1,720.

25 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0427sec    1.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:19 AM