Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

hihihehe
post Jun 20 2016, 03:10 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(divine061 @ Jun 20 2016, 03:09 PM)
Like how you have some rental that cover electric or gas bills. Like how you don't pay for electricity when you rent a room in AirBnb or a hotel. It is part of your rental.
that i know
just that someone mentioned why he doesn't have to pay the bill and the landlord don't have any idea too
hihihehe
post Jul 18 2016, 03:57 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(adamisme101 @ Jul 18 2016, 10:43 AM)
Dear forumers, I'm a holder of 190 subclass visa which is already activated but I haven't actually moved permanently there yet as I am working abroad. Somehow along the way, I got attached to this girl from Vietnam and we have been together for more than a year. We are planning to move to Australia together and I'm wondering which visa options will give her the best chance for her application. I doubt if I could include her as a secondary applicant under subclass 190 as it was dated sometime back..Prospective spouse, defacto partner, get married outside of australia and moved there, tourist visa+get married later, student visa, etc ? Many years back after she has completed her undergrad in Vietnam, she got a place at RMIT for an MBA course but her student visa was rejected, and just early this year her tourist visa was also rejected when we planned to spend the new year there together. At that time, she was staying with me and working as a marketing exec in Singapore, but we didnt attach any documentations of our relationship, finance, etc as I though it would be just be a simple paper work and didn't really gave it much thought. The criteria seems to be much more restrictive for certain nationalities..
de-facto would be a best choice but why she get rejected for tourist visa? any reason?

australia immigration doesn't treat all countries the same. priorities given to american/european more than asian
hihihehe
post Oct 10 2016, 01:36 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 10 2016, 12:00 PM)
thanks for the feedback smile.gif

i'm earning more than that in Malaysia, similarly with my wife... so moving from 2 income sources to 1 is a real setback for my wife as she's very concerned my salary is enough to support the entire family in Melbourne... cos the overall cost is similar to KL, may be 20-30% cheaper in Melbourne, but that's just based on my observation after spending a few days there

my wife can look for a job but she doesn't know what she can do since currently she's a sales manager...

yeah, i do have the intention of migrating, 6 months can be a good try for us... worse case we'll just go back if things aren't smooth sailing but we will try our best to avoid that...

thanks again for the comments, keep it coming smile.gif
your wife can go into property agent if she's comfortable
hihihehe
post Nov 16 2016, 06:13 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Nov 15 2016, 09:21 PM)
And don't have to pay back if your salary is below certain number. That's the reason the people here don't like to work, hence the opportunities for foreigners.
studied in university and yet duwan to work? doh.gif

btw, low salary still have to pay HECS but of course in smaller amount
hihihehe
post Nov 16 2016, 07:59 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Nov 16 2016, 07:09 PM)
Yea, no point right? When you work, get taxed + pay superannuation, remaining balance still got to repay loan.
you borrow, you pay. not like the PTPTN borrowers here in malaysia
and HE fees are way cheaper than international students. 1-4 years can settle HECS
hihihehe
post Jan 9 2017, 06:46 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(Kikokent @ Jan 9 2017, 05:55 PM)
Hi guys, need some clarification.
What I had found that, IELTS had 2 categories - Academic and General.
As what I had being told, I may need to consider the General ielts as it's easier and meant for migration / working visa.
But actually for 189 or 190 visa, both ielts category also can be use for application right? Kindly adv.
technically general is meant for immigration but actually both also can be used
hihihehe
post Jan 10 2017, 02:41 PM

13,773 posts

http://www.news.com.au/finance/work/are-yo...a701e2fafe06a06
hihihehe
post Apr 18 2017, 04:52 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(xphonerz @ Apr 18 2017, 04:09 PM)
Can no longer apply for PR after 2 years like 457?
yes but i think they changed to 3 years from that medium term(not short term) working visa
hihihehe
post Apr 19 2017, 10:10 AM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(freshprince @ Apr 19 2017, 12:19 AM)
Scored 75 points for CSOL pending Vetasess review...

Suddenly found out my occupation removed from tomorrow onwards.. 

http://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Work/Work/Sk...led-occupations

Dreams dashed overnight...
that is very unfortunate.

they start scrapping it instead of doing it annually on july
hihihehe
post Apr 19 2017, 11:19 AM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(freshprince @ Apr 19 2017, 11:04 AM)
You are right buddy.

My agency just called me saying vetassess result out on Friday. Now i am on 85 pointer and yet nothin can be done.
QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 19 2017, 11:04 AM)
this only affect the 457 visa...there will be significant changes to the 189/190 visas in july....
so it still available for PR SOL list?
hihihehe
post Jun 6 2017, 04:23 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(kwaick @ Jun 5 2017, 06:11 PM)
Hi Guys,

I have just consulted an agency for my PR application under subclass 190 as "Marketing Specialist". Base on the agency, at the moment, there is no specific state sponsor. However, the job skilled occupation marketing specialist is still in the list, they advise me to proceed as soon while waiting for the opening, as rules are changing.

They assessed me and i score a min of 65 points with state sponsor (Extra 5 points from there).

Hear from you guys !

Eddie
marketing specialist is there since many years but not available in all the states as state nominations

and i don't think it will open for application any soon because there are tons of them
hihihehe
post Jul 20 2017, 09:10 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jul 11 2017, 11:21 PM)
when a substantive visa expires and you have applied and are waiting for another substantive visa, you will be given a bridging visa...generally you cannot leave the country during this period....

as to what kind of condition you will have under the bridging visa, i don't know, so this would be an opportunity to make your migration agent work for their fees, no?....
under certain reason, you can leave the country if you are holding bridging visa but you have to inform the immigration with the reasons.
been there, done that. and my reason was visiting family (it was during CNY)

IINM, one of the bridging visa type have one condition that doesn't allow you to leave though.
hihihehe
post Jun 17 2021, 04:44 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Jun 17 2021, 03:31 PM)
I don't know, bros,... but I think it depends also on the earning power of the kid. My younger one is doing architecture+civil eng'g,... wouldn't his income be able to afford a property in Sydney or Melbourne later ? ... generally-speaking....
most of my friends in melbourne are in architecture field too but they still need FAMA assistance for 1st downpayment

they only get comfortable after doing more freelance job
hihihehe
post Jun 17 2021, 04:59 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jun 17 2021, 04:51 PM)
In Melb or Sydney, you will definitely need parents help with the deposit even on two incomes. Even with housing rates at 2% now, you will still need a good deposit to break in. Very hard to enter the property market unless you got rich parents who are willing to help  smile.gif
yep, is either you stay outside CBD or look for smaller unit within CBD

hihihehe
post Sep 16 2021, 01:47 AM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(Screen @ Sep 15 2021, 11:19 PM)
Just got an offer from one of the Big4s in Melbourne. Apart from the Visas and stuff, wish to seek out on advice on important facts and things to do to settle down there (e.g. insurance, bank accounts etc)

Sponsored by the Big4 on a Temporary Skills Shortage Visa, they gave me a 2 year contract while the Visa is 3 years. 80k per annum including superannuition and I'm expected to start around mid-Nov this year
80k pa including super? it will be more attractive if 80k + super

how many years of working experience?
hihihehe
post Sep 16 2021, 11:18 AM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(Screen @ Sep 16 2021, 10:25 AM)
Yeah 80k including super, actually yields higher gross pay comparing dollar to dollar in Malaysia for the same post, hence decided to take the jump.

Close to 3 years of working experience? Then saw the priority migration announcement for auditors and the recruitment post, then applied and got it
3 years exp sounds about right then smile.gif

if only you able to nego the pay to exclude super but if you are in the 20s go for it.

i believe you need to have visa + employment offer letter ready first before you can apply for bank.
hihihehe
post Nov 18 2021, 03:08 PM

13,773 posts

planning to transfer some funds from commback to maybank but the given rats is quite disappointing

i also heard about transferwise but how safe it is? planning to transfer <10k AUD
hihihehe
post Nov 18 2021, 06:10 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 18 2021, 05:28 PM)
Hope you are aware that after 1 Jan 2022, there may be a 3% tax on incoming remittance for Msian residents.

Don't know how the govt is going to implement this - may have to send before 1 Jan 2022 to avoid this tax. Really affect people who have money overseas and regularly send money back to Msia.

Real bummer!!
yes and this is the reason i am going to transfer back

but the date is confirmed?
hihihehe
post Nov 18 2021, 08:02 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 18 2021, 07:57 PM)
I think everyone is waiting for more details to come out.

I have already transferred more than rm1mil over the past 8 months (transferred with CBA to MBB with rates between 2.98 and 3.17). Can only do A$50k max each time and fees from CBA was A$22 each time via telegraphic transfer and Maybank deposits the money in my acct in less than 1 hour with tt. I was not intending to transfer more starting from 2022 but you never know when we might need more ringgit - maybe a very attractive investment opportunity might come by.

I have been following https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3524728/+200

Really terrible news even though 3% may not be a huge sum. Any form of tax is repulsive and despicable!!
i have been transferring with CBA to MBB too from the past and would really like to leave some AUD funds there but this 3% tax is bothering me.

another way is to fly to Australia and cash out but the current pandemic really killing this plan
hihihehe
post Dec 30 2021, 10:14 PM

13,773 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 18 2021, 09:09 PM)
Yes - getting cash from Aust may be the best solution to avoid paying the 3% tax. You must make sure you don't change more than rm3k each time when you change at the money changer in Msia because they ask for your ic and you got to fill a form which request for your occupation and company you work for. Just go to different money changers - there are about 4 money changers in Mid-Valley that i know of. Only problem is flying in and out of Aust at the moment with this Covid!!

I got a couple friend who just sold their unit in PJ and is wanting to bring the money back to Sydney (they are working in Sydney at the moment) so i can change some with them too. They lost money on their small unit bought 7 years ago. Msia is not a good place to invest (esp condos) as getting tenants is difficult. My returns on my funds left in Sydney has done so well in the last 18 months since the Covid crash. Only thing is whether we should lower our risk level at the moment  smile.gif
now that the gov u-turn the tax thingy so i dont have to rush TT back the money now

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0265sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:49 PM