Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia

limeuu
post Sep 12 2017, 06:44 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Sep 12 2017, 12:17 AM)
Just landed. Passed Borders. Now resting i hotel.
Then yes, technically you have entered Australia as a landed immigrant and is now a tax resident....

However, if you are like some people, who did an initial landing, then continued to live elsewhere, you can argue that you are still not a tax resident, as long as you have not conducted yourself as a resident....
limeuu
post Oct 27 2017, 01:08 PM

12,290 posts

Oz tightening the screws....they have been very lax with the ETA for msians....too lax....and too many are jumping plane....

I just hope they are just profiling, and this is not a prelude to removing ETA from msians....
limeuu
post Oct 30 2017, 10:38 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Oct 30 2017, 10:12 AM)
i wonder how people survive in Melbourne and Sydney by jumping aeroplane... things are so freaking expensive...
You can live quite cheaply in Oz...if you know how....and of course avoid the major cities....
limeuu
post Oct 31 2017, 07:56 AM

12,290 posts

The majority just want to earn some money before they are caught....stay below the radar, work hard and earn the money and save up...

They know there is no long term future....just short term opportunity to make some money....if they are lucky, they stay undetected for a few years and save enough to buy a house when they return....

Kenji, they wouldn't stay in Syd/Mel unless they have a good reason....that may be a good paying job, enough to cover the higher cost of living....

I don't know personally of any of these....but have a relative who did this in London for 5 years....
limeuu
post Nov 1 2017, 06:55 PM

12,290 posts

Even if you move only when the kids are bigger, you may avoid the "westernisation" of your kids, but your grandkids will still be ABCs and may still face the same problems....

But I do believe it is still possible to instill family values in ABCs, it's how you bring them up, the value system you have, etc....there is a critical mass of Asians in most cities for a microcosm of Asian culture to exist and florist...and enough practising Christians to retain religious values....

As to nursing homes, in the kind of Australian environment existing now (nuclear family, small housing, working couples, etc). It is not realistic to expect Asian style multi-generational extended family setting, and we have to accept aged and end of life care will most likely be outsourced (ie nursing homes)...

Finally, I never believe in leaving money for children when you die....the time they need your help is actually when they are just starting out....not when they are middle age and inheriting your wealth....
limeuu
post Nov 3 2017, 12:38 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 3 2017, 03:06 AM)
When i newly joined this forum a few months back, i didn't understand the mentality of Msians (esp non-Chinese). In the last few weeks, i spent a lot more time reading the other threads (i don't like to go on the computer too long daily) and i am truly surprised at the things that are expressed (esp comments from non-Chinese). A lot of what was expressed is similar to remarks made in the earlier days of apartheid in Sth Africa! I was actually quite shocked because the comments were en-mass with huge crowds joining in. I don't normally like to get involved in politics so i just read casually but with some apprehension. I have been away since 1981 so it will be interesting when i do return to Msia to retire what i am going to find out. I now can fully comprehend the feelings of the minorities in Msia and why they see an extremely dark outlook for their future generations.
It is so entrenched, they think it's a hak, not racism....they actually think Australia is a more racist country...

See current discussion here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4445942
limeuu
post Nov 3 2017, 12:46 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 3 2017, 12:36 PM)
I see a lot of young Msians who are in Uni and i would chat with them (i work in a uni too but not an academic) - all of them tell me they want to live in Aust because parents tell them not to go back. None so far have told me that they want to go back to Msia! I have also a few Singaporean students here in my faculty (Medicine) and none of them wants to stay back in Sydney!! What a difference between the 2 groups! I graduated in 1983 and only 15% of the Msian overseas students in my group stayed back and got PR (about 35% went to Spore to work) and the rest all went back to Msia. I still keep in touch with a lot of these Uni mates here in Sydney and also those in Msia/Spore.
In my son's medical class, all unbonded msians stayed back...all Singaporeans except one went back....even the 2 mara scholars wanted to stay on.... but they are bonded....
limeuu
post Nov 3 2017, 01:03 PM

12,290 posts

They are asking why you so stupid migrate to a more racist country....
limeuu
post Nov 3 2017, 02:03 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Nov 3 2017, 01:53 PM)
Difference between racism and dicrimate.
Racism is discrimination based on race....no?
limeuu
post Nov 3 2017, 02:22 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Nov 3 2017, 02:16 PM)
Religion.

Anyway. Lets stop here there will be no ending again.
In Malaysia, religion is used as a surrogate for racial discrimination....and is also effective in segmentalising bumis (think those from Borneo)....
limeuu
post Nov 4 2017, 07:47 AM

12,290 posts

Nobody who trials returning to Msia from Oz, or retiring, should burn their bridges....nor is it necessary to liquidate Oz assets....

2 immediate colleagues came back for family reasons... when that need is over, they both went back to Oz, very happy their properties in Melbourne and perth had rode up the housing boom....
limeuu
post Nov 4 2017, 11:37 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ Nov 4 2017, 08:03 AM)
interesting, I come from the minority and find Aus has given me opportunities that would not have been possible for me and my kids.

I am grateful I am judged by merit and performance and rewarded accordingly.

my kid who is 14 and in a Aussie public school just won a scholarship to att3nd a leadership school for a semester all cost borne by the state . my 2ife just retrain3d all at no cost .

this would not have been possible in malaysia being a minority.

We took the leap of willing to be kuli we are grateful everyday it has worked out better then expected.
Many thinks your are faking your good fortune, going to a more racist country....
limeuu
post Nov 4 2017, 01:03 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ Nov 4 2017, 12:53 PM)

I guess me and the thousands of malaysians who came before are faking it. smile.gif
Many in the kopitiam forum will like to believe that...

Racist Australia cannot be better than generous Msia, what....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Nov 4 2017, 02:25 PM
limeuu
post Nov 6 2017, 11:53 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 6 2017, 08:15 AM)
In Aust, local shares are not going anywhere. I have only started taking a keen interest in my superfund returns after my wife started her self-managed superfund. We have done quite well recently with international shares (mainly invested in US shares unhedged) and with Aussie dollar going south, it actually pushes up out super balance. If you look at the Unisuper international shares performance over the last 2 months, it has gone up more than 8%!! This is due to 2 factors - world stock markets esp Dow Jones and Aussie dollar dropping against US dollar. State Super (SASS) which holds the bulk of my super balance is quite conservative in their investment approach and i have always been invested in the high risk category (Growth strategy) (http://www.statesuper.nsw.gov.au/investments/performance/declared-rates-over-the-last-10-financial-years-ending-30-june-2016) and they have been returning 5-6% in the last 10 years.

In Aust, superfunds have matured very significantly over the last 10 years (with govt giving a lot of tax concessions in this area) and this will be the talk of future generations in years to come. You can even put in your own money (max 100k/yr which is called non-concessional contributions) and earnings (incl capital gains) are taxed at 15% which is very good considering the high personal tax rates in Aust. Earnings (incl capital gains) are tax free once you retire. This is a godsend for many retirees here!! Never heard about 0% tax in Australia until now!! People who are about to retire (like me) pump all their money into super whcih becomes tax free once you retire. Better thing that ever happened in Aust!!
The problem with choosing a high equity option in your super, is that you are exposed to fluctuations of the stock markets. You are seeing a very short term appreciation, and with the mild softening of the AUD, see good paper returns in AUD. You will only realise the paper gains if you swap out from the high equity option. If the market crashes, you may see all your gains and significant part of savings wiped out.

Normally, for near retirees, an asset protection approach to investment is advisable.

The tax free status of super returns is great for near retirees, but for the young, it's very far away, and that concession may no longer be there in 30 years time, just as defined benefits disappeared. Most young people don't even have savings for a first property down payment, let alone top up supers.

The babyboomers are the lucky generation. The gen X and y are not so optimistic about their future.
limeuu
post Nov 6 2017, 03:29 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Iruga6000 @ Nov 6 2017, 02:04 PM)
I sent my nomination application on 9th October - any chance that the result will be reverted in less than a month time (or less than 12 weeks)? Do they send an email to notify even if my application is rejected? Or should I take no email as rejection? Estimating roughly from the date I sent in my application, I should be getting the result by mid-November if the processing time is exactly 12 weeks as what is stated. But has anyone experienced delay before? cry.gif
whatever the outcome, you will be informed....
limeuu
post Nov 7 2017, 08:57 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 7 2017, 04:02 AM)
All financial planners recommend a very conservative approach towards retirement as retirees cannot stomach the pain when they see their retirement funds shrinking. In the last 20 years, I have always nominated a high-risk (equities) strategy in super and it seems like it has done very well (except for the 2 years GFC 2008-2009). I find that markets usually rebound after it has dropped signfiicantly (may need to wait a longer period of time for it to recover) so if you have the time to wait for its recovery, it doesn't matter. When i retire at 57 (another 18 months), i probably have a life expectancy of at least another 20 years so i plan to leave most (around 80%) of my funds in International equities in my super and the rest in less risk assets. As years go by, i will cut back on my exposure to International shares as i may not have the time to wait for a recovery. I have seen some of my colleagues who retired a few years ago (around 60) and went into extremely conservative investments and was yielding 3% p.a. but they were very happy - i suggested to them to have 10-20% in international shares and they told me they will not be able to sleep at nite. I dare not tell them i have all mine in international shares (i know they will try and talk me out of it). Do you think i am too much of a risk-taker?
The only reason to choose higher risk instruments is the anticipated higher growth potential. And the only reason for that is to grow your egg nest. Yes, in the long term, all squiggles will even out, with a historical 10% annualised returns just on index pegging.

For people at retirement, that egg nest will start to be drawn down, so it is past growth stage. What one does at that point will depend on how big that egg nest is. I think it will be foolhardy to risk the entire estate on high risk instruments. It is not that difficult to calculate how much you need to maintain the same lifestyle after retirement, and projected over your expected life expectancy, that will be the sum you cannot and should not risk. That is best placed in secure vehicles, 3% return will protect it from inflation.

Should there be money in excess of that basic need, then it's what i call white elephant money, money you can afford to lose (sleeplessness not withstanding). If you want to gamble with it, that's fine.

Finally, your window may not be 20 years. Illness can strike anytime, and death is an inevitable side effect of life. A statistical life expectancy of 20 years form 57, just mean half your cohort will live up to 77. The other half don't.

One last comment. Money is for use. I presume you have more than enough to live comfortably for the rest of your life. Many believe in leaving some for the next generation "to help out". Whether that is a good thing or not is debatable. Since you don't have children, you don't have this dilemma. So what's going to happen to your excess money when you go? ie, what's the ultimate reason for the high risk investments and higher returns? Sometimes it's the hunt, not the game we want.

It is inevitable as we get older, we get more philosophical..... laugh.gif
limeuu
post Nov 7 2017, 11:59 AM

12,290 posts

It's the instinct and thrill of the hunt! Lol

This post has been edited by limeuu: Nov 7 2017, 12:10 PM
limeuu
post Nov 7 2017, 12:13 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Nov 7 2017, 12:05 PM)
One small question.. lazy to research. When u turne citizen in aussie, are u able to take all the epf money before reaching retirement age?
Once you have migrated away from Msia permanently, you can apply to withdraw all your EPF...

limeuu
post Nov 7 2017, 02:34 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Nov 7 2017, 01:43 PM)
I think PR can no longer withdraw their epf if i am not mistaken. I think they changed the law quite a few years ago. I might be mistaken but i think you must take up Aust citizenship before you can get the epf.
Yes you are right, they have tighten up....they now require a renouncement of Malaysian citizenship or pr for complete withdrawal....which poses some problems for those who want to keep their Malaysian citizenship....

There are people who naturalised, but continue to keep and travel with their Msian passports....
limeuu
post Nov 8 2017, 08:54 AM

12,290 posts

It's a tricky business trying to travel with 2 passports.... Australia will not force you to renounce your Malaysian citizenship since it's legal to have dual citizenship....and you can travel out with any passport....

On the Msia side, never show your foreign passport....always Msian....the moment you show your foreign passport, their database will show you are Malaysian, and your Msian passport will be cancelled....

Citizenship comes under home ministry....to withdraw from EPF, you will have to officially renounce....

Any one with any intention of the remotest possibility of living in Msia again, for a protracted period of time, should just stay a pr.... just no vote, and pay your kids hecs/help lah....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Nov 8 2017, 08:55 AM

21 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1852sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:05 PM