Working in Australia V2, All About working in Australia
DarReNz
Apr 25 2017, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Apr 25 2017, 06:44 AM) They mentioned one to one  It's on this same page a few posts above QUOTE(teikwing @ Apr 25 2017, 07:09 AM) I'm not sure why most people are under the impression that the tax rate in AU is 40+% throughout when the actual fact is that number (or close to it) is only applicable to the highest bracket. On average a salaried worker on $100k pa is only taxed at approx. 30% - but of course this is still higher than the tax rate in M'sia. And yes plenty of Malaysians are getting the same or higher post-tax package/salary vs what they used to earn back home, on dollar to dollar basis. It's very much dependant on the job & industry. Having said that, the feedback gathered from these folks is S'pore pays even better for the same job/role (about +30% on average) at a lower tax rate. So I guess it's depends on what one is after - career or overall lifestyle. since we are comparing one to one (rm to aud), with aud we still get more value even though the net amount is much less what can aud 6k buy in australia ? what can rm 8k buy in malaysia ? This post has been edited by DarReNz: Apr 25 2017, 05:52 PM
DarReNz
Apr 27 2017, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Apr 27 2017, 02:50 PM) Sudah kahwin dan beranak. So dun have that option liao. so the only option is family uproot
DarReNz
Apr 29 2017, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 29 2017, 02:52 PM) What he is referring to is the built area rather than the land area. E.g. My house has a land area of 400 sqm but only with a built area of 160sqm. normally built area is about half or less than land area
DarReNz
Apr 29 2017, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(Soony @ Apr 29 2017, 10:42 AM) Perth is still pretty alright with new estates going from 250sqm to 450sqm (or even bigger). I just bought mine at 350sqm, which is around 20km from the CBD. Unless you are talking about strata (non-green titled) properties, then you are right, they are around 100-200sqm based on what I'm seeing in the vicinity of Perth CBD (approx 10km radius) how much you bought ?
DarReNz
May 16 2017, 09:19 PM
QUOTE(Soony @ May 16 2017, 06:57 PM) Yes you are correct but to be honest the authorities doesn't really care a lot. I ve tried filling a claim via them and they say go and talk to your management and reach a settlement outside, they don't even want to budge even when you have all the evidence. The process is too complicated and too much hassle that it doesn't really benefit the employee. Hence why you are still seeing so much under table payment, especially Chinatown. i am sure once you report it to the ombudsman, they will take action  take a look at the number of msian restaurants being fined in australia, it is rising as msian staffs had enough and demanded fair wages This post has been edited by DarReNz: May 16 2017, 09:20 PM
DarReNz
May 26 2017, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(tishaban @ May 26 2017, 03:01 PM) So my 5 years is almost up on my 175. Due to my circumstances, I have no plans to move. Will apply for the RRV if and when I need it. Good luck everyone else applying and/or planning to move. yeap if you are staying put in australia and not flying overseas you don't need RRV
DarReNz
May 26 2017, 09:07 PM
QUOTE(FuQuO @ May 26 2017, 04:36 PM) unless you have a valid story to tell, slim chance that DIBP will grant an RRV if you do not fulfil the minimum stay requirement. it is still possible for tishaban to get RRV of 1 year if he has a compelling reason, just lodge it offshore and renew it every year until he is able to fulfill the criteria then he will get the 5 years
DarReNz
May 28 2017, 11:01 AM
Australian visa fees increasing from July 1 2017By Mosiqi Acharya Visa Application Charges (VACs) will change from 1 July 2017. Details of the visa application fee increases were shared as part of Budget on Tuesday night. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Tourist visa fees are going up from $135 to $140 while student visa fees will increase from $550 to $560.
Temporary Graduate – Post Study work will go up from $1470 to $1500.
Skilled visas – 189 and 190 will increase from existing $3600 to $3670 for primary applicants. Adult dependent and child dependent visa too will go up from $1800 and $900 respectively to $1835 and $920.
Partner visas will see an increase from $6865 to $7000 from July 1 2017. Better targeting skilled visas: (effective March 2018)
New temporary skilled shortage visas will be introduced in March 2018. Short term 2-year visa will cost $1150 and a medium term 4-year visa will cost $2400.
Dependents of short term 2-year visa applicants will have to pay $1150 (adult dependent) and $290 (child dependent).
Dependents of medium term 4-year visa applicants will have to pay $2400 (adult dependent) and $600 (child dependent). Temporary sponsored parent visa – establishment: (effective November 2017)
New temporary sponsored parent visa will be made available from November 2017. 3-year validity visa will cost $5000 and 5-year validity visa will cost $10,000.
The VACs will be updated in the “Fees and charges for visas” section of the Department’s website (https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa/Fees) from 1 July 2017.
Take a look at the Fee changes effective from July 2017:
http://www.sbs.com.au/yourlanguage/hindi/h...ing-july-1-2017This post has been edited by DarReNz: May 28 2017, 11:02 AM
DarReNz
Jun 3 2017, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 3 2017, 10:05 AM) They can visit as visitors, but no they are not part of your migration visa.... You can try sponsor them over in future....but the wait list is very long....and they may not want to move permanently.... your parents can get the contributory parent visa which they need to pay around $40k each otherwise can get the new parent visa which is listed here http://www.sbs.com.au/yourlanguage/hindi/e...tay-parent-visaThis post has been edited by DarReNz: Jun 3 2017, 09:30 PM
DarReNz
Jun 4 2017, 07:42 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 4 2017, 07:10 AM) That is a temporary visa, for a maximum of 10 years only....it will be a sad day at the end, when your parents will have to leave....there is no option for pr....not a viable option for most people.... Contributory Visa is expensive.... The normal parents visa can take up to 30yrs!!! you are able to extend once for 5 years so that means a maximum of 15 years and can't be PR ..... contributory visa around 10k is a bond which will be returned eventually while the rest of the amount is to be used for your parents medicare for life This post has been edited by DarReNz: Jun 4 2017, 07:44 PM
DarReNz
Jun 7 2017, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 7 2017, 08:20 AM) the visa is either 3 or 5 years, with one extension of 5 years, making it maximun 10 years, not 15....then you have to leave... the visa is your pick of 3, 5 or 10 years so obviously you will take 10 years with one extension of 5 years so you will have 15 years max bro This post has been edited by DarReNz: Jun 7 2017, 07:27 PM
DarReNz
Jun 12 2017, 08:14 PM
QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jun 12 2017, 05:45 PM) Guys am flying out to WA for ONE day for an interview tomorrow at 9am. I cannot believe this; it's sheer luck. I just randomly applied. Seriously freaking out now. good luck bro cos you never know, come in your suit
DarReNz
Jun 17 2017, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(daylight_dancer @ Jun 13 2017, 03:40 PM) Lol landed at 5.30am Half asleep Took uber to aunt's house Showered Interview place is 10 mins away so ok la I was early. It was fast. Seems okay. Nervous like hell. Flying back now. Lol any good news or 2nd round interview ?
DarReNz
Jun 22 2017, 07:24 PM
QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Jun 22 2017, 02:29 PM) I understand, any recommendation? My friend told me to get one that majority of the company will pay. most companies gives you their crappy default super so you need to choose a good one, look at past records
DarReNz
Jun 22 2017, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Jun 22 2017, 08:41 PM) i see, so if the default one, the company will register for us? or do we need to register ourself? the company will get it (default) done for you if you don't have your own
DarReNz
Jun 23 2017, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(Red_rustyjelly @ Jun 23 2017, 12:27 PM) Thanks for info. anyway, I had my distribution business here and SG, so I probably will be working casual or part-time while managing the business here. Part of my earlier question about the Super is that I want to know how I can do with the payroll system, if I use the company here to pay to me in Aussie account, I wonder if the company here is allowed to pay to super. forgot to mention this is PAYG (under company payroll) however if you go and create an ABN (your own company) then you need to do it yourself
DarReNz
Jun 30 2017, 02:22 PM
New 457 visa list effective 1st July 2017 announced The revised 457 visa list has been announced by Department of Immigration and Border Protection. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Immigration Minister Peter Dutton has issued the revised list of occupations (Subclass 457 Visa) for employers to bring in foreign workers to meet skills shortages.
This revised list will be effective from 1st July 2017.
The revised list is in two parts. The Medium and Long‑term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL) and the Short‑term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL).
As of 1 July 2017, the main changes to these lists are summarised below:
• 12 occupations have been completely removed from the lists; • a number of occupations have been added to the lists for certain visa programmes; • some additional occupations have moved between the STSOL to the MLTSSL; • the caveats on some occupations have been revised; • caveats on occupations now apply to both the Temporary Work (Skilled) visa (subclass 457) and the Employer Nominated Scheme (subclass 186) – Direct Entry Stream.
http://www.sbs.com.au/yourlanguage/hindi/e...-2017-announced
DarReNz
Jul 7 2017, 07:08 PM
DarReNz
Jul 10 2017, 07:05 AM
QUOTE(I_Thought @ Jul 10 2017, 12:28 AM) Estimated about RM 36k inclusive of visa,skill assessment and state nomination. wow looks like the agent fees inclusive has doubled from the past 6 years This post has been edited by DarReNz: Jul 10 2017, 07:12 AM
DarReNz
Jul 11 2017, 03:12 PM
was wondering where this thread went, oh under Expatriates