expensive stuff is usually the cabinet... unless you buy loose furniture... build in cabinet are killing... just kitchen alone will cost you a bomb....
Budget for New Apartment - 20-30K enough?, Newbie with limited budget
Nov 16 2015, 09:55 AM
317 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
expensive stuff is usually the cabinet... unless you buy loose furniture... build in cabinet are killing... just kitchen alone will cost you a bomb....
Nov 16 2015, 10:31 AM
2,567 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Get the basic stuff done (eg: wiring) first,
cabinet can be later. dun be obsessed with show room ID, do what you really need Try search track lights design for ceiling, and you don't really need plaster ceiling then. It looks good and easy maintain. This post has been edited by frequency: Nov 16 2015, 10:35 AM |
Nov 16 2015, 10:53 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Thing that need to hack need to be done first, like conceal wiring, and new piping. Then come extension -> Flooring -> Cabinet -> Plaster ceiling -> paint.
Work according to your budget. |
Nov 16 2015, 01:11 PM
46 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
>< need so many ar
Nov 16 2015, 01:14 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,963 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
im sure supersound says can do everything for less than 20K
Nov 16 2015, 01:24 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
11,554 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(cwlim16 @ Nov 15 2015, 12:27 AM) Hi Experts, Just the ID cost already rm30k, not to mention they will charge 50-100% more from the actual renovation cost. I' ve just got my new apartment around 1200sf - 3 Br I am totally new to this and I am planing to hire a contractor cum ID to do my apartment. I have a budget of 20-30K for the below works: 1) Kitchen cabinets 2) Masterbedroom - wardrobe + Flooring 3) Masterbathroom - change tiles & sink + rainshower 4) 2nd Bedroom - basic wardrobe 5) Living room - TV cabinet 6) Lighting for areas including installation of ceiling fans *only reno for permanent fixtures Is this possible? I want to get some opinion before I engage with the contractor.... Thank you TV cabinet are not a must. Still measurement are important to know the cost. What I can say is, do not go to shops that having fancy front display as you are going to pay for those. |
Nov 19 2015, 04:36 AM
1,327 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
kitchen cabinet - 9k
plaster ceiling, wiring, lighting - 6k reasonable for both item 15k? |
Nov 19 2015, 04:16 PM
736 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
for me, I will go for wiring, flooring and plaster ceiling first. With just 1200sf, you can get done these 3 things around 15k-20k. Balance can install kitchen cabinet, maybe around 10k (moderate design and material). Room cabinet can install later. Bathroom renovation also can be done later, since it's within specific area.
Floor, plaster ceiling and wiring are the things that you can't do in the middle. You have to do it in the beginning stage. |
| Change to: | 0.0157sec
5 queries
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:24 AM |