Vibration When Car Is Stationary At Traffic Lights

TSSportyHandling
post Nov 14 2015, 09:23 PM, updated 11y ago

623 posts

Mild vibration when the car is stationary and not moving at traffic lights. Vibration where you can feel inside the car on the seats, steering wheel etc. when the car is not moving, waiting at the traffic lights.

What are the possible causes other than worn out engine mountings?

anordin
post Nov 14 2015, 09:27 PM

83 posts

iz it 3-cylinder car or 4-cylinder car?

how old is the jalopy?

whats the idling rpm?

MechaLEE
post Nov 14 2015, 09:35 PM

148 posts

I have the same problem too with my proton persona year 2008. it shake a lot when idle at about 900RPM
ryansxs
post Nov 14 2015, 09:37 PM

2,378 posts

try increasing your idle timing. 1000-1100rpm can have less shaky feeling. drawback is of coz slight increase in oil consumption.
MechaLEE
post Nov 14 2015, 09:41 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Nov 14 2015, 09:37 PM)
try increasing your idle timing. 1000-1100rpm can have less shaky feeling. drawback is of coz slight increase in oil consumption.
oh, how to set it? engine tuning shop? yes u r right, my car is not shaky when above 1000RPM
Seiro
post Nov 14 2015, 09:41 PM

56 posts

increase your idle rpm to 1000 rpm...maybe 900 too low for your engine
TSSportyHandling
post Nov 14 2015, 09:48 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(anordin @ Nov 14 2015, 09:27 PM)
iz it 3-cylinder car or 4-cylinder car?

how old is the jalopy?

whats the idling rpm?
2-year old cars. Not too sure about RPM, probably below 1,000 RPM. 4-cylinders.
ryansxs
post Nov 14 2015, 09:49 PM

2,378 posts

QUOTE(MechaLEE @ Nov 14 2015, 09:41 PM)
oh, how to set it? engine tuning shop? yes u r right, my car is not shaky when above 1000RPM
normal car repairing shop can do it. just ask them to increase the timing.
TIPS: do it, when you doing other repairs else they will ask for money also (as its just matter of adjusting a screw)
red.merc49
post Nov 14 2015, 09:51 PM

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 14 2015, 09:48 PM)
Preve or Focus?
lamir_loco
post Nov 14 2015, 10:00 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 14 2015, 09:23 PM)
Mild vibration when the car is stationary and not moving at traffic lights. Vibration where you can feel inside the car on the seats, steering wheel etc. when the car is not moving, waiting at the traffic lights.

What are the possible causes other than worn out engine mountings?
Hi, bro. Does this happen before? Or just recently ? If recently, than, it could mean something a bit off. Do check it

If memang like that, than, either live with it, or increase the rpm slightly.

My car engine, idling around 7++ rpm (not more 800) . see the picture

This post has been edited by lamir_loco: Nov 14 2015, 11:04 PM
TSSportyHandling
post Nov 14 2015, 10:13 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(red.merc49 @ Nov 14 2015, 09:51 PM)
Preve or Focus?
Both.
TSSportyHandling
post Nov 14 2015, 10:22 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(lamir_loco @ Nov 14 2015, 10:00 PM)
Hi, bro. Does this happen before? Or just recently ? If recently, than, it could mean something a bit off. Do check it

If memang like that,  than, either live with it, or increase the rpm slightly.

My car engine, idling around 7++  rpm (not more 800) .  see the picture
When cars were new, no vibration at all. After 1 year, vibration can be felt. Now 2 years, mild vibration when the car is stationary at traffic lights.

For the Ford Focus, registered a complaint at the service centre. They couldn't find any vibration in the car when the tested it. Perhaps the vibration is too mild. Anyway I will lodge a complaint again during my next appointment with them.

For the Preve Turbo, this one is a long history although the car is only 2 years old. The gearbox broke down and was replaced with a new one. After that, major vibration everywhere in the car and all engine mountings and gearbox mountings are replaced. Now the major vibration is gone but still, I can feel very minor vibration.

A caveat or disclaimer. I am a rather fussy and critical person and may be overly-sensitive with my ears when compared to the masses. Nevertheless, the mild vibration is present in both cars that are 2 years old. Other people may be able to accept the mild vibration and consider it a non-issue. However, I will continue to find ways to eliminate this vibration completely although it may be minor vibration.

Since both cars are still under warranty, I will get them to fix the vibration but I doubt they can fix it and the typical answer of "We cannot detect any major vibration" or "there is nothing we can do about this mild vibration and you will have to just live with it" kind of response. I just want to know what are the possible causes of this mild vibration and the ways to eliminate the vibration (other than new engine mountings).
GuyM
post Nov 14 2015, 10:43 PM

1,787 posts

Change all the mountings together, get original, not OEM, problem solved
andrekua2
post Nov 14 2015, 11:38 PM

13,478 posts

Did you swift to N? Second when was the last time you had your engine mounting checked or replaced?
Zot
post Nov 14 2015, 11:43 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 14 2015, 09:48 PM)
Car is not considered old yet for me. Maybe there is something else. Have you check the spark plugs? Maybe one is not working at peak. idle rpm is usually around 800 but it will increase when sir-con compressor kicked in and there is actuator that will increase the rpm. If this is not working, the engine vibrates badly due to heavy load
CarroTT
post Nov 15 2015, 12:03 AM

ms. sunflower
1,216 posts

QUOTE(MechaLEE @ Nov 14 2015, 09:35 PM)
I have the same problem too with my proton persona year 2008. it shake a lot when idle at about 900RPM
Engine mounting out liao lar
lamir_loco
post Nov 15 2015, 12:34 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 14 2015, 10:22 PM)
When cars were new, no vibration at all. After 1 year, vibration can be felt. Now 2 years, mild vibration when the car is stationary at traffic lights.

For the Ford Focus, registered a complaint at the service centre. They couldn't find any vibration in the car when the tested it. Perhaps the vibration is too mild. Anyway I will lodge a complaint again during my next appointment with them.

For the Preve Turbo, this one is a long history although the car is only 2 years old. The gearbox broke down and was replaced with a new one. After that, major vibration everywhere in the car and all engine mountings and gearbox mountings are replaced. Now the major vibration is gone but still, I can feel very minor vibration.

A caveat or disclaimer. I am a rather fussy and critical person and may be overly-sensitive with my ears when compared to the masses. Nevertheless, the mild vibration is present in both cars that are 2 years old. Other people may be able to accept the mild vibration and consider it a non-issue. However, I will continue to find ways to eliminate this vibration completely although it may be minor vibration.

Since both cars are still under warranty, I will get them to fix the vibration but I doubt they can fix it and the typical answer of "We cannot detect any major vibration" or "there is nothing we can do about this mild vibration and you will have to just live with it" kind of response. I just want to know what are the possible causes of this mild vibration and the ways to eliminate the vibration (other than new engine mountings).
To be honest 2-3 years car are still new, usually these vibration issues occur with older car, due to wear n tear, one of my car (5-6 years old) actually have issue with excessive vibration when idling and sometime stalling, it turn out that the car's power steering pump on the way out and actually creating extra parasitic load through the belting system. So before I replace the pump, my mech increase the idling rate to compensate it ( it's a temporary solution) until the pump replaced.

Another thing, you could do, is to drop by to an outside specialist and ask for their advise (asking wont void warranty kan). However Im surprise preve mounting need replacement in 2 years rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Chester
post Nov 15 2015, 08:54 AM

2,380 posts

If at Neutral no vibration, i would suspect engine mounting
voscar
post Nov 15 2015, 10:31 AM

1,526 posts

Ok, you will need a car with auto stop engine or hybrid with auto stop so you will not feel any vibration on idling.. Since you said you're are fussy person this is the only solution...
Any traditional combustion engine will have mild vibration especially auto when gear is on D. Only when the car is new you feel lesser on that
TSSportyHandling
post Nov 15 2015, 12:34 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 14 2015, 11:38 PM)
Did you swift to N? Second when was the last time you had your engine mounting checked or replaced?
I always switch to N when waiting at the (red) traffic lights. It's the same with N or D, the vibration is there.

ALL mountinngs (engine mounting and gearbox mounting) on the Proton Preve Turbo were replaced last month.

The engine mountings on the Ford Focus are still the stock mountings. The last time the guys at the service centre checked the engine mountings, they informed the condition was still good. And they cannot feel any vibration on my car.
TSSportyHandling
post Nov 15 2015, 12:36 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Nov 15 2015, 10:31 AM)
Ok, you will need a car with auto stop engine or hybrid with auto stop so you will not feel any vibration on idling.. Since you said you're are fussy person this is the only solution...
Any traditional combustion engine will have mild vibration especially auto when gear is on D. Only when the car is new you feel lesser on that
I do not experience any vibration with my 5-year old Nissan Sylphy even after 5 years when I sold off the car. It's only the Ford Focus and Proton Preve Turbo whereby both cars are 2 years old show some minor vibration.
Alan
post Nov 15 2015, 05:41 PM

413 posts

Get a v6 brows.gif
Btw, may observe if the vibration worse in traffic jam under hot sun, maybe related to temperature...
Mine is worse in hot (afternoon), but less in cooler condition (late evening), maybe air conditioning compressor /cooling system high load, or engine oil...

This post has been edited by Alan: Nov 15 2015, 05:45 PM
red4900
post Nov 15 2015, 08:02 PM

464 posts

I had another issue that requires cleaning out the throttle body. After I cleaned it up, I noticed the vibration at my car during N becomes somewhat better.

Might wanna ask your SC that.

Btw my car is 16 years old so things could be a little bit different and makes no sense sometimes lol
eastwest
post Nov 16 2015, 09:52 AM

1,608 posts

crossmember?

0.2138sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:50 AM