TStinkerbel
post Dec 6 2006, 04:40 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

azxel,

I'm really an impatient person and when I've set my mind to something, I usually want it yesterday [well, i'm sure that doesn't surprise u too much blush.gif coming from my line of work]

Anyhow, back to the question of Leopard, how long'd u think i'll need to wait? I know u prob won't know but rough estimate? Wait till Jan 07 maybe still can but if gotta wait till March/Apr 2007, might as well don't buy oredi lah like dat *heh heh*

goldfries,

Exactly my theory of 'It isn't true people do not like changes'. Well, I sure wouldn't mind a brand new BMW 3 series for the price of uhm, a brand new Honda Civic [well, at least I didn't say Proton Saga ok?!] tongue.gif

I also wouldn't mind a 42" Plasma in exchange for the 21" FlatScreen Sony TV that's sitting in my room too *grins*
TStinkerbel
post Dec 7 2006, 01:49 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

supafreak,

Don't worry bt me looking you up for something as 'small' as the MiniDVI and DVI. I'll just ask the shop when I go in and make my purchase of the MBP - am sure they'll be able to show me how to work it. It's definitely gonna be more useful being shown than anything else biggrin.gif

At the moment, I've no intentions of running XP on the Mac but, and if the time/need comes I guess I'll just run bootcamp on it and get XP installed but thanks for the info anyways. rclxms.gif

Er, and how'd u manage to crash your Mac? What did u do?

Acquiesce,

Am home sick today but will try to get a copy of InTech biggrin.gif

Keith,

I don't think Acquiesce is starting a debate on Mac vs PC here. Instead, I think he's just sharing info about an article which appeared in InTech today. Until he starts behaving like a 'fanboy' then we'll decide what we wanna do with him, k? laugh.gif

redlum,

Ah, so ur having programs with IM programs. I did read about the 'not-stableness' of certain IM programs but whilst they're being developed for the better, there are still quite a few options available (though it was pre-warned not to expect great GUI). I think aMSN was recommended as a pretty stable IM program - can a Mac user confirm this please?

I'm assuming Mercury's an IM program too? On XP I'm just running MSN Messenger so I guess aMSN should be sufficient for me, or well Mercury [jots this down in her book!]

Er, I've heard of Firefox but don't quite know what app that is. Oops... whistling.gif
Ok - got it figured. Firefox is a web-browser alike to Safari.

Btw, N0eL's having some issues with Gesture controls on Firefox - anyone can assist? [Now I gotta go figure out what Gesture controls are] rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 7 2006, 02:03 PM
TStinkerbel
post Dec 7 2006, 03:36 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

N0eL,
My reading and research tells me the current MSN Messenger for Mac is uhm... well, not too good. Connecting in is a problem - it takes ages, so many have abandoned that or just waiting for a better version to come along I guess *shrugs*

Gesture controls aren't something I use so it shouldn't be too big a concern for me. Am on MC today - should perhaps go over to 1U and sit myself down to test out the MBPs drool.gif

Won't be surprised if I walked out with one too... Then again, I can't leave the house cause sick sad.gif
TStinkerbel
post Dec 7 2006, 07:48 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

supafreak,
Give ur Mac a break will ya? Though it's supposedly stable, u really don't need to overwork it tongue.gif

I haven't gone into Mac 201 yet so have no idea how Parallel works though in Mac 101 i learnt about it.

redlum,
Adobe Creative Suite 3 with intel-support? Er, what's that now?

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 7 2006, 07:49 PM
TStinkerbel
post Dec 7 2006, 11:31 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
You don't really want to TRY crashing your Firefox Mac do you?! Then again, go all out and let us know when it happens biggrin.gif

mymac,
I just read and was introduced to Camino (www.caminobrowser.org). You may wanna try that out, if you haven't - let me know what you think of it smile.gif

kevler,
You're still ahead of me. I'm learning about Mac without having purchased the MBP yet! blush.gif Share with me what you learn `k? I'll definitely appreciate it.
TStinkerbel
post Dec 8 2006, 10:39 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
Precisely why I said to share with us all when it crashes. That way we all can avoid it.

redlum,
Keep me updated when CS3's out. I don't follow that too much since that program isn't on my high priority list for installation but well no harm since I'm thinking of having CS2 installed [i'm hoping to find someone to teach me how to use the CS3 programs!] blush.gif

I'm assuming you're in the Advertising/Creative industry?

mymac,
Keep on searching for your perfect browser. Different people have different views and needs. I'm happy using IE, then again, I don't do much on it so tongue.gif Y not just use Safari?

N0eL,
I'm so excited I fell ill. And I've got a 3-7pm function to attend, followed by a dinner function from 730pm onwards today. Can probably give the 3-7pm a miss but not the latter one [it's not a date, mind u]

Actually, the guys here are NOT 'luring' me to be one of "u". I guess I'm kinda decided on getting it. Question here now is, wait or do not wait for OS Leopard to be released? I doubt though by then I'll still be so 'excited' and well, if the last 2 months was hard for you, I can't imagine the next 4-5 months for me. I prob get so over it and just stick to using my current dinasour laptop cry.gif

I oredi uhm.. decided i want the MBP leh.

kevler,
At least u've got Unix background. I don't. The only background I have with computers are *uhm...thinks for a bit* well, zilch i guess unsure.gif

Take ChopSuey's advise and try out NeoOffice - i hear it's pretty good and even compatible with Office. Then again, as a non-user yet I shouldn't be recommending too much whistling.gif

azxel,
3 years?! sweat.gif Sorry lah bro but I won't be able to wait 3 years. Ask me to wait 3 years to get married maybe still can think but for a laptop, no way!

Finally, can someone tell me how safe it is to buy a MB/MBP off some forum site, perhaps like this one, or others elsewhere?

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 8 2006, 10:41 AM
TStinkerbel
post Dec 8 2006, 11:23 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

redlum,

Honestly, I don't know how to work the CS2 softwares. My designers won't allow me to touch the Macs for fear I may do something to mess things up [however, when it comes to inputting text copies, they love for me to be around! And imagine getting them the Dual Processor G5 when they complained about the G4s being slow!] - that's how they treat me cry.gif *sigh* No more upgrades for them. Instead, get myself a MBP biggrin.gif

But do keep me updated cause I do intend to have CS installed.

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 8 2006, 11:37 AM
TStinkerbel
post Dec 8 2006, 03:20 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

azxel,
I got solution for you. Either you DON'T play Dungeon Siege on your almost 4 year old G4. Or play it only in an aircond room biggrin.gif

So, how now brown cow?! No one answered my question about waiting for Leopard.....

PS: All the last minute stuff in the office plus wanting the Mac is definitely getting to me ... Headache oredi cry.gif
TStinkerbel
post Dec 8 2006, 03:55 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

wei,
But if I had to get a laptop 3 months ago I doubt i be waiting too. If Leopard's released next month then I might as well wait mah, no meh? Then again, how to know if its OS is as stable i dunno lah.

Think maybe i just go ahead onli lar. Now to find someone to give me the $.
TStinkerbel
post Dec 8 2006, 04:29 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

azxel,
Just cause I got my 2 star status oredi u can 'kacau' me lah now issit?! Some more i spend so much time replying your question on the other thread vmad.gif

Nolah, me not poking fun at u, leh. I think brown cows are cute - but if u think otherwise, then well, too bad tongue.gif

If want to be patient and wait I think can one but question is, no body knows want to wait how long.. iSh...... then again, no one can solve this issue hor?! *SiGh*
TStinkerbel
post Dec 8 2006, 07:03 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

wei,
Rereading the post, i'm wondering - u been using Leopard for 3 months now? whistling.gif

azxel,
Wait ah? Oklor then I just wait onli lor but in the meantime I'm still gonna bug u people wif answers, as if i oredi own a Mac biggrin.gif

If we're having a private discussion elsewhere I sure ain't in the know. Maybe when you've dyed yourself brown I'll notice laugh.gif

What's the point of wanting so many STARS for when you've got special strips? Ish, can someone lend me their OLD Mac first ah so i can play play with it?! cool.gif

supafreak,
On impulse, I may just walk into a Mac shop and get the damn thing immediately. Who knows, my next postings may just be off the new MBP! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 8 2006, 07:04 PM
TStinkerbel
post Dec 9 2006, 12:34 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

wei,

If ur buddies with Jobs can u just ask him when he's launching Leopard? Otherwise, can u just ask him if he can give me free upgrade if i bought my MBP now [well, at least i'm not asking him for discount!!!! but if he wants to give me i dun mind taking it also lah] rclxms.gif

azxel,
I said special strips. I didn't ask u to strip - and i thought I'm the one who's a little tipsy here. What's wrong with u?! And don't be too sure ur momma doesn't read this - u wouldn't know blush.gif

No point getting a 2nd hand Mac - if gonna get might as well just get the MBP straight.... And besides, ur gonna be going away soon so when ur gone, who's gonna take over be my si-fu?!
TStinkerbel
post Dec 9 2006, 12:52 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries,
I was a little too embarassed to ask what GIMP was but now that u mentioned Photoshop, can I assume GIMP is somewhat similar to Adobe CS2?
TStinkerbel
post Dec 9 2006, 07:14 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

goldfries/aMDCoPPeR,
Can I grab all the applications I need from you guys when I finally get me MBP? Please please pleasssseeeeeeeee....... happy.gif

It doesn't look like (at least for now) that I'll be needing any web-development applications but uhm... customer support application sounds interesting. Pardon my ignorance (once again!) but just what would that be? *gulp*

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 9 2006, 07:14 AM
TStinkerbel
post Dec 9 2006, 08:10 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

azxel,

*Oops* will do. Any other sites to recommend for software applications now that I'm done with the hardware part? - I mean, other than the one at the Pinned Topic?
TStinkerbel
post Dec 12 2006, 05:08 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Gosh... I go off for a weekend and I come back here to seeing u people speak 010101010101 language... *faints* Most people here sounds like they're programmers - What's wrong with speaking ENGLISH?! hello hello?!! cool.gif

mymac,
There's nothing I have in mind for now, but I guess that will come with time biggrin.gif

azxel,
If ur planning and hoping to slap me, am afraid it's not gonna work because Acer wasn't ever on my shortlisted list of notebook to purchase tongue.gif Besides, we said earlier, no fanboyism here rclxms.gif And, have u found the notebook bag for me or not?! Takkan u want me to carry the box around?

redlum,
CS3 is scheduled to be launched together with Leopard, sometime mid 2007 - or at least that's what I found out in my absence smile.gif

TStinkerbel
post Dec 12 2006, 05:54 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

abubin,
azxel said to wait till Leopard comes out - so as always i'm being a good girl. If I don't listen he's gonna take out that whip again, so how?!

Am also waiting for my 'negotiator' to go negotiate for me. I lazy want to go talk price with the shop lar. And uhm, waiting for final endorsement from my best friend before I go ahead and get it. Wouldn't want her to be upset with me for not consulting her before I buy my husband, would I?! biggrin.gif
TStinkerbel
post Dec 12 2006, 06:33 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

muqaddam,
I think the price is basically fixed lah. Am waiting for friend to go shop with me lah but he been bz and i been bz also. Plus, best friend haven't given final endorsement, so how?! Without best friend's final endorsement means no end financing, then problem also mah, no meh?

Plus azxel said to waitttttttttt for Leopard, so macam mana now?

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 12 2006, 06:41 PM
TStinkerbel
post Dec 12 2006, 06:44 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

muqaddam,
There are pros and cons waiting for Leopard. First, we don't know when Leopard's gonna be released. 2nd, as it's a new OS, we wouldn't know its stability; as compared to the current Tiger.

Then again, these are all my excuses for wanting to get the Mac now than having to wait 6 months - i doubt I'm gonna be able to wait 6 months...!!!! I'm super impatient.... and when i want something, I want it now..NO, I mean, I want it yesterday! whistling.gif
TStinkerbel
post Dec 12 2006, 06:52 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

muqaddam,
But how is it that one is able to keep updated with technology esp when it changes daily?! It's easy to track technology but to have the latest in technology... uhm... sounds like a very expensive task to me!

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0207sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:54 PM