Windows to MAC - Should I?, Seeking opinion & counsel

prasys
post Dec 15 2006, 01:02 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

He is using an iBook , so PPCs can't run it......MacBooks can..If you want to try OSX on your PC two methods

PearPC - grab an apple powerpc install disk , install it , test it out

MacOSX86 - ummm....you get teh whole system like on my dell....Its pretty cool...nice cheap hackie [aka G5 Clone]....In fact I use it a lot , bah...i still support apple
allvin
post Dec 15 2006, 01:10 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(redlum @ Dec 15 2006, 01:03 PM)
Today adobe releases the beta of CS 3! Soo nice! smile.gif

More info here:

http://www.adobe.com/aboutadobe/pressroom/...6Photoshop.html
wow.. Too bad, it havn't out.. cant find it at the dl section sad.gif

QUOTE(prasys @ Dec 15 2006, 02:02 PM)
MacOSX86 - ummm....you get teh whole system like on my dell....Its pretty cool...nice cheap hackie [aka G5 Clone]....In fact I use it a lot , bah...i still support apple
Same here, can play WC3(dotA) via crossover and play thru hamachi with my buddies biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Dec 15 2006, 01:12 PM
redlum
post Dec 15 2006, 01:29 PM

129 posts

On the website it says that CS 3 beta should be out in the early hours Pacific Standard Time on December 15.
aMDCoPPeR
post Dec 15 2006, 01:47 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Dec 13 2006, 11:05 PM)
Or run crossover tongue.gif
Latest beta build of Parallels will blow CrossOver away with its new Coherence feature. Details and a video bout it here:

http://michaelverdi.com/index.php/2006/12/...els-screencast/
allvin
post Dec 15 2006, 04:37 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(redlum @ Dec 15 2006, 02:29 PM)
On the website it says that CS 3 beta should be out in the early hours Pacific Standard Time on December 15.
For goDSake... 600++MB for mac version, 300+MB for pc version vmad.gif
TStinkerbel
post Dec 16 2006, 01:14 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Pardon my ignorance but can someone tell me how to 'know' what time it is here in Malaysia on PST x time? Do we plus, minus and by how many hours?

Thanks! unsure.gif
goldfries
post Dec 16 2006, 01:39 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

GMT +8. go figure. smile.gif
TStinkerbel
post Dec 16 2006, 06:47 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

rclxub.gif I guess I haven't quite mentioned my inability to Maths. But thanks anyways. I'll try to figure it out and when it finally drives me crazy, I'll check in with you again rolleyes.gif
aMDCoPPeR
post Dec 16 2006, 11:35 AM

168 posts

Here's a hint... Midnight PST is equivalent to 4pm Malaysian time.
TStinkerbel
post Dec 18 2006, 10:43 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

aMDCoPPeR,
Grreeeeaaaaaaatttt..... You're a saviour! At least I've less 1 thing to figure out now hands.gif
TStinkerbel
post Jan 11 2007, 02:50 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

I know this isn't exactly the most appropriate thread to put what I've to say but as an update, just wanted to let all you wonderful, supportive, helpful, etc people know that this is my *first* official post on LYN made from my *first* ever Mac machine! biggrin.gif

MY wait has FINALLY ended and now comes the 'familiarising' and 'learnings' of the OSX part sad.gif

Please bear with my 'stupidity' and 'ignorance' if I started asking dumb questions from now onwards ya? blush.gif

aMDCoPPeR
post Jan 11 2007, 03:04 AM

168 posts

Haha, grats on your Mac machine! smile.gif Enjoy.
TStinkerbel
post Jan 11 2007, 03:50 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

aMDCoPPeR,
It seems like my productivity's been reduced sad.gif It's like I'm spending eons just going through LYN - I guess it's gotta do with me being unfamiliar to the track pad. Sure hope i get use to it sooner - I read many reviews from people that the track pad's great but uh, I have YET to experience that ... kEKeKeeKEKekKEKeke....

I'm getting cramps just trying to control the scrolling! kEKEekEKeke.... blush.gif
aMDCoPPeR
post Jan 11 2007, 04:22 AM

168 posts

Haha, are you serious? have you enabled tapping for clicking and double finger scrolling? tongue.gif
N0eL
post Jan 11 2007, 04:57 AM

1,479 posts

Congrats....finally got what u wanted....

come on.. tell us wat r ur feelings right now??
lokgotz
post Jan 11 2007, 05:05 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

congrats tinkerbel.....heheh......

add me in ichat......
TStinkerbel
post Jan 11 2007, 05:47 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

aMDCoPPeR,
Ain't joking about the cramps! Yups have enabled the clicking and double finger scrolling. I think i'm getting the hang of the scrolling (though I seem to have more problems with bottom to top movements compared to top to bottom movements) rclxub.gif

Still not 100% sure how the uh clicking goes but will probably figure that out sooner or later.

N0eL,
yawn.gif - that's how i'm feeling right now *g* I think I'll be able to give more feedback when I get this hooked up to my office network proper.... Until then, I won't haf time to explore much *gulps* sad.gif

lokgotz,
I tried registering iChat BUT I couldn't get past Step 2 where they asked for Billing Information. Was redirected to register from the site - will try again after I get some sleeep `k? nod.gif
lokgotz
post Jan 11 2007, 06:17 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

yeah......i need some sleep too.....hehehe

welcome to the dark side!
TStinkerbel
post Jan 11 2007, 08:19 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

lokgotz,
yawn.gif I'm getting too old for these late nights. Plus, I tortured my back a little too much sitting at the table for too long... yawn.gif

I wish everything will go smoothly when I get back to office biggrin.gif
cywings
post Jan 11 2007, 08:58 AM

415 posts

tinkerbel congrats for successfully converted to the dark side.....
when will be my turn leh... just hopefully soon unsure.gif

and remember we shall all add everyone into iChat... rclxm9.gif

10 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0225sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:45 PM