Investors Club V9, Previously known as Traders Kopitiam

Coup De Grace
post Jan 4 2017, 11:46 PM

284 posts

Pink SpiderMay I know why u pick Jtiasa?

I noticed a trend of improving cpo price from last year of 2000/ton to 3000/ton. So plantations may benefit from this uptrend

This post has been edited by Coup De Grace: Jan 4 2017, 11:46 PM
Coup De Grace
post Jan 13 2017, 09:39 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 13 2017, 04:10 PM)
Still around, don't worry... very hectic year at work, keep on traveling to ulu ulu place.. not much time to trade cry.gif  cry.gif

I see unkle Boon also back  devil.gif

I am busy divesting my active holdings into an income portfolio.. now collecting lots of SG reits.. wanna retire early brows.gif

Oh yeah.. my OnG stocks still stuck.  hmm.gif

Last year bought some shares too..  Scicom and superln ..still holding  smile.gif
U are working in a palm oil plantation in Indonesia?

Coup De Grace
post Jan 14 2017, 10:50 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 14 2017, 10:45 AM)
No No.. oil palm related company.  tongue.gif
I see

CPO price seems to be recovering, should be a good year for plantations
Coup De Grace
post Feb 6 2017, 03:17 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 3 2017, 03:17 PM)
Tiong Nam kuat ah! biggrin.gif
Something is up with jtiasa today
Coup De Grace
post Feb 21 2017, 09:12 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Feb 20 2017, 02:37 PM)
Last time I sold Padini after several quarters if so-so results.
But it went back to life after that...
Good set of results

+65% from last year quarter
Coup De Grace
post Feb 21 2017, 09:17 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 21 2017, 09:14 AM)
UUU mode lo
Padini Holdings Bhd's net profit jumped 64.7% to RM54.47 million or 8.28 sen a share in its second financial quarter ended Dec 31, 2016 (2QFY17), from RM33.07 million or 5.03 sen a share a year ago, on improved gross profit margins, as there were less markdowns during the quarter under review.

Revenue for 2QFY17 grew 25.4% to RM426.65 million, from RM340.38 million in 2QFY16, on positive same store sales growth and the eight Brands Outlet stores and five Padini Concept Stores that were opened after 2QFY16.

The group also declared a third interim dividend of 2.5 sen per share for the financial year ending June 30, 2017 (FY17), payable on March 27.

For the first half of FY17 (1HFY17), the group’s net profit increased by 28% to RM83.09 million or 12.63 sen a share, from RM64.90 million or 9.86 sen a share a year ago, while revenue rose 20.8% to RM736.68 million in 1HFY17, from RM609.95 million in 1HFY16.

"Although there was also a 20% (RM18.3 million) increase in operating expenses that was mainly contributed by the increase from rentals and staff salaries for the new stores, the increase in revenue and the improvement in gross margins sufficiently covered for it," said Padini.

Increase in operating cost, but also increase in same store sales and new Brands Outlet and Padini stores
Coup De Grace
post Feb 21 2017, 10:05 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 21 2017, 09:30 AM)
Padini...impressive!
your jtiasa going down. I already disposed at 1.42. May collect again if go lower
Coup De Grace
post Feb 21 2017, 12:53 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 21 2017, 09:30 AM)
Padini...impressive!
Earning revision. We are revising our FY17F and FY18F earnings by +8.63% and +6.06% respectively. Our bullish earnings is premised on: (i) Better performance expected in 3Q and 4Q as seasonally both are strong quarters for the group and on; (ii) Improvements in operational efficiency due to better cost management.
Source: MIDF Research - 21 Feb 2017
Better performance is expected for 3Q and 4Q
Coup De Grace
post Feb 21 2017, 01:36 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Feb 21 2017, 12:59 PM)
Fuuu can go long liao....

U guys did research is retail for domestic apparel industry doing well recently? Got any other similar stock like padini doing well recently?
I only follow up with jerasia

Jerasia Capital Berhad (JCB) is an investment holding company. The Company provides provision of management consultancy services. Through its subsidiaries, the Company operates in two business segments: garment manufacturing and retail, and haulage services. JCB manufactures fashion apparel and accessories for export. The Company operates in four divisions: Domestic Fashion Retail Division, International Fashion Retail Division, Manufacturing and Export Division and Haulage Services Division. The International Fashion Retail Division retails international brands of fashion apparel and accessories, including MNG MANGO, Calvin Klein Jeans & Calvin Klein Underwear, and Nike. JCB's own brands include Ladylike, Charlie, Milani and Ureka. The Company's subsidiaries include Canteran Apparel Sdn. Bhd., Jerasia Apparel Sdn. Bhd., Jerasia Brands Sdn. Bhd., Jerasia Fashion Sdn. Bhd., Jerasia Haulage Sdn. Bhd., Jerasia Inspiration Sdn. Bhd. and Canteran Apparel (Cambodia) Co., Ltd.

This post has been edited by Coup De Grace: Feb 21 2017, 01:38 PM
Coup De Grace
post Feb 21 2017, 03:43 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(CristEG @ Feb 21 2017, 01:01 PM)
Hi all gurus in lowyat,

I'm new in the market and facing a problem that would like to get some advice from you:
I hold a large amount of cash settled warrants (AairAsiaC40), and its gonna expired next week. The problem is that the current price is near to zero (I bought it when its 0.175 >_<) and the trading volume is so low that I doubt there chances for me to sell all those warrants in such a short time. May I know what would be the best way for me to cut my loss to minimum?

Your help or enlightenment is much appreciated!

p/s: I was too busy with my daily job when the price was high and I never set a stop point since I'm new. And as you know the price has been dropping ever since (T_T)
How much u invested?

U need to accept the loss
Coup De Grace
post Feb 22 2017, 01:51 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 22 2017, 09:54 AM)
Got RM10K cash from credit card at 2.88% flat interest i.e. 5%+ effective rate. Any tipsy? hmm.gif
Took this cash because so far my portfolio returning me IRR of 19%, so I GUESS 5% should be easy to beat blush.gif

Preferably a stock from my current portfolio

notworthy.gif

Matrix Concepts gonna announce results and its quarterly divvy this week. Optimistic? hmm.gif

Unker gark why CPO futures suddenly so bearish? Temporary, or normalisation?
U don't consider to take back your old lover, Padini?

This post has been edited by Coup De Grace: Feb 22 2017, 01:53 PM
Coup De Grace
post Feb 22 2017, 06:01 PM

284 posts

A lot of interesting results just released

johotin, liihen, cbip, oldtown....etc

This post has been edited by Coup De Grace: Feb 22 2017, 06:02 PM
Coup De Grace
post Feb 23 2017, 05:00 PM

284 posts

Good results for Padini, Oldtown and Maybank, HLBank

Recovery of retail and banking sectors?
Coup De Grace
post Feb 23 2017, 05:11 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 22 2017, 09:42 PM)
Mana ada blink.gif
Your Jtiasa result -36%
Coup De Grace
post Feb 23 2017, 05:16 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Feb 23 2017, 05:15 PM)
Rubbish results. Hope Ta Ann can perform better vmad.gif
Maybe i will go catch if go a lot lower tomorrow

I was expecting it to be better because of the high cpo price

This post has been edited by Coup De Grace: Feb 23 2017, 05:18 PM
Coup De Grace
post Feb 23 2017, 05:31 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 23 2017, 05:27 PM)
While waiting for pinky...i checked already.

Higher revenue and profit for palm oil segment. <---- performing sector

Lower revenue for wood segment and net loss. <---- culprit  tongue.gif

35% drop in log and plywood sales.. and 14% decline in average selling price, so wood is not doing well at all  sweat.gif
Doesn't bode well for Ta Ann...

Maybe pure plantation companies should be a better investment
Coup De Grace
post Feb 23 2017, 07:56 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(lynetnonyma @ Feb 23 2017, 07:51 PM)
Don't listen to Boon3. This is a forum to share. You report what you want, as long as not private or sensitive info. It is actually nice to read what others trade. Sometimes its stocks that you have not looked at and it gives a chance to have a look at it.

Boon3 does not share his trades. He is too afraid that others will take what is reported as tips and go jump into those stocks without doing any homework. He does not want to be responsible for that. I say if people want to do that and end up losing, its their problem. I think people are mature enough to make their own decision and take responsiblity for their actions. So treat all as adults here.  Go ahead and share if you want.
I see

Sharing method, but not the stocks
Coup De Grace
post Feb 23 2017, 08:12 PM

284 posts

Airasia quarter result -16%
Coup De Grace
post Feb 23 2017, 08:17 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 23 2017, 08:12 PM)
If you wanna talk about methods...

LOL!

here's my opinion...
1. if market newbie.... keep money in bank.
paper trade la...

U will learn much more
Trust me deep deep...
U is no pondan if u do paper trading/investing one...

whistling.gif
2. Focus is more important.

Do a proper journal..
posting in a forum... err.... rolleyes.gif
3. 10 stocks? 20 stocks?

See a simple question... which goes back to point 1.
How would you know if doing <5 might be a better option?

And if that's the answer....
Imagine the time needed to find out this answer...
Imagine the monetary ...

in terms...
a) the case of lari the ayam
perhaps <5 could see one making 30% a year....
b) lost money... ahImagine... spending 5 years...
trying to make money all those 5 years using one's weakest capability....
imagine... if lose money? how?
imagine if the losses turns into debt?
money hor...
no try try one laaaa....

respect the money hor....
money nowadays susah cari one....

icon_rolleyes.gif
As long we don't margin trading, it will not turn to debt wink.gif

In short, the better u are in choosing, the less stocks u have.
Coup De Grace
post Feb 23 2017, 08:26 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Feb 23 2017, 08:15 PM)
Didn't Ah Tony promise great results recently?

whistling.gif
( lesson to be learn is ...... ? )
Caveat emptor

0.1274sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:59 PM