Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Conman : Joseph Lim Peng Guan aka yksan46, UPDATED w/ personal details @ 13/09/07!

teikwing
post Dec 4 2006, 11:03 AM, updated 19y ago

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

EDITED : extra personal details & snapshot of Poslaju receipt added. (was very disappointed with myself & Maybank, that's why didn't even bother to care about the RM250 & this thread anymore until today. the thought struck me when browsing through my old pictures & saw the Poslaju receipt snapshot plus got the conman's personal details few days back.)

guys, never believe this thing is going to happen to me. guess i've took things for granted. darn.. cry.gif here's the story :

this fella (yksan46) opened up a thread selling his SE K750i and i've contacted him on Nov 30th to ask about it. he's a new member wif ZERO post and i should have been aware of that but his thread is like so genuine with photos and details so i kinda fall into his trap. damn. mad.gif

he said the item still available and want to sell 'coz upgrading. he SMSed me (should have use PM instead..i was rushing 'coz wanted to get a phone for my sis) the details and everything and wanted me to pay RM10 as deposit 1st so that i won't ffk. told him i won't so the deal was made. bank in RM100 the next day (i stupidly follow what he said) then he emailed me a poslaju receipt snapshot. it was unclear but i've believed him 'coz still able see my name and address (i was too naive to believe). besides that, checked with Poslaju the next day with the given tracking code & it's a valid one. all the given details are correct.

so after that, i banked in another RM150 to him. going to bank in the remaining amount on Monday (today) 'coz don't have enough cash that time. this morning i've waited the Poslaju and arrived around 20 minutes ago. but guess what, he sent a LOCK (aka mangga in Malay) instead of the promised K750i! was furious & dumbfounded as this is the first time i was conned. but still thank God i didn't bank in full payment to him the other day. so just lost RM250, though it's still quite a big amount for a student like me.. cry.gif

he's quite smart in conning (i was a fool). pretend to have posted item by snapshot of Poslaju receipt but sent a lock instead of a phone. been suspecting something fishy when opened up the Poslaju wrap, it's an old Nokia 3610 box and the item inside is not compact, makes sound when shook it. been trying to reach his phone since yesterday 'coz wanted to ask him regarding the phone but it was off till now. (if he's not trying to cheat, he will for sure tell me honestly that i didn't bank in full amount that is why he sent me a lock instead, right? but no explanation given till today.)

police report was made in the afternoon the same day but after few days of investigation, case was closed as police didn't have sufficient proof for follow-up actions. went to Maybank with the police report & met with some senior officers, but all they can do is they sent the report to Maybank's HQ in KL & told me to wait for any news. until today (13/09/2007), heard nothing from Maybank. they told me that been wanted to go to Maybank's HQ to get the latest update regarding my case but didn't managed to go due to some reasons.

people has been telling me to forget about it since it is so troublesome & time-wasting to take all the actions but i'm not giving up yet. RM250 might be a very small amount to some, but to me, i just couldn't accept being conned. just couldn't let the conman run away from his actions. must made him pay for what he's done or at least, get back my money. been reading the few latest con cases in LYN & got myself even more furious than before.

Conman details :

Name : JOSEPH LIM PENG GUAN
I/C : 811223-01-5971
Mobile : 017-7383618
Address : 162, Jalan Mahmood, 84150 Parit Jawa, Muar, Johor.
A/C no. : Maybank 1010-4872-9272

Thread : LINK

This post has been edited by teikwing: Sep 13 2007, 10:28 PM

BrotherHoe
post Dec 4 2006, 11:08 AM

1,302 posts

nothing can do
take it as a lesson
torped91
post Dec 4 2006, 11:11 AM

754 posts

sorry you have to suffer, but too late to regret already. should have checked his info before buying it.
adrianocy
post Dec 4 2006, 11:12 AM

907 posts

always go for COD.
greyPJ
post Dec 4 2006, 11:15 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

i believe this guy LIM PENG GUAN is innocent seller, this conman ask you to bankin money into LIM PENG GUAN, the seller account, and then he got the goods from LIM PENG GUAN.

because the name LIM PENG GUAN and Maybank 101048729272 are both clean, if you google this conman's handphone, you will find he has conned alot of people, all with different name and account number: ie.

http://bbs.buysell.net.my/bbs/archive/index.php/t-12540.html
Gan Ghia Hian
Maybank2u Acc: 105104059613
Email : intanabb05@hotmail.com
Mobile : 0177383618

see this:
http://www.google.com/search?lr=&ie=UTF-8&...-8&q=0177383618

luckily this conman uses the same handphone number, if not we wont be able to find out.
greyPJ
post Dec 4 2006, 11:16 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

if you can find out what LIM PENG GUAN has sold out recently, with amount rm250 to whom and what address, then you can find out the real conman.
kai5183
post Dec 4 2006, 11:18 AM

388 posts

sad to hear ur story...wanna buy SE k750i and end up wif old nokia 3610...

teikwing
post Dec 4 2006, 11:22 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Dec 4 2006, 11:15 AM)
i believe this guy LIM PENG GUAN is innocent seller, this conman ask you to bankin money into LIM PENG GUAN, the seller account, and then he got the goods from LIM PENG GUAN.

because the name LIM PENG GUAN and Maybank 101048729272 are both clean, if you google this conman's handphone, you will find he has conned alot of people, all with different name and account number: ie.

http://bbs.buysell.net.my/bbs/archive/index.php/t-12540.html
Gan Ghia Hian
Maybank2u Acc: 105104059613
Email : intanabb05@hotmail.com
Mobile : 0177383618

see this:
http://www.google.com/search?lr=&ie=UTF-8&...-8&q=0177383618

luckily this conman uses the same handphone number, if not we wont be able to find out.
we can google whether ppl has been chating around? means the real person is not LIM PENG GUAN? can i lodge a police report and ask maybank to get details of the a/c holder? darn..rm250 is alot.. cry.gif
teikwing
post Dec 4 2006, 11:24 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

greyPJ..never thought gonna meet u again in situation like this..if anyone can offer me any help here..would be grateful..just wanna find out who the real conman is...
greyPJ
post Dec 4 2006, 11:26 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 4 2006, 11:22 AM)
we can google whether ppl has been chating around? means the real person is not LIM PENG GUAN? can i lodge a police report and ask maybank to get details of the a/c holder? darn..rm250 is alot.. cry.gif
yes, always google the person's info, bank account, handphone, full name etc... if got black record we can find out.

this is what i suspect, because last time he used different name and maybank account to con, this time is LIM PENG GUAN pula, yes go lodge a police report then notify maybank everything, if can get contact info of LIM PENG GUAN then you can find out what he sold recently.
edison_84
post Dec 4 2006, 11:46 AM

Redefine The Limit!!!
942 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 4 2006, 11:31 AM)
do we need to pay to lodge a police report? i was too naive. darn. should google around nex time for the person's details. especially new member. anyway...pls spread this number around..0177383618..hope i'm the last victim...
Nop. lodge report to police as well as maybank.

teikwing
post Dec 4 2006, 02:40 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

guys..just lodge polis report..need to pay only rm2 for the report. reported to maybank also but they just said that they cant do anything..need to wait for the polis to investigate. can only get the details of the conman thru polis. i've made an report to the kementerian perdagangan dalam negeri & hal ehwal pengguna also but they said they have to wait for polis. so now all i can do is wait for the polis. *sigh* the kementerian said can file report thru tribunal pengguna and claim bac money if they caught the person..but i need to go to johor all the way if there's a court case for it..because de conman is in johor. not sure whether is it worth it for rm250. wat do u guys tink? well..for all newbies out there..this is a warning to u guys..NEVER deal wif a new person and bank in money to de fella. the best way is to COD. if reli need postage den make sure u reli do know the person..check out his/her details and everything. i've learned from my harsh lesson. if its rm50 its still ok but its a big amount of money. beware of the fon number and maybank account and the person's name in my siggy too. best of luck in trading in LYN.
fruitie
post Dec 4 2006, 03:28 PM

Rise and Shine
72,930 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Dec 4 2006, 11:26 AM)
yes, always google the person's info, bank account, handphone, full name etc... if got black record we can find out.

this is what i suspect, because last time he used different name and maybank account to con, this time is LIM PENG GUAN pula, yes go lodge a police report then notify maybank everything, if can get contact info of LIM PENG GUAN then you can find out what he sold recently.
hello.. care to tell me how to google the details?
because i tried searching for my own name, and it comes out with many weird things..
i tried google for my acc n my phone no. nothing comes out sad.gif

sorry a bit OT, but hope somebody can enlighten me..
many thanks.

and, feel sorry for teikwing but u've lodged a police report.. which is a good step smile.gif
yehlai
post Dec 4 2006, 03:31 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Hard to track this guy.. he used different names and a/c no. Only use same h/p no. Try check the h/p no. got register for referrence or not.
karim_effendy
post Dec 4 2006, 03:46 PM

204 posts

hahaha now should be easy to find him since our goverment regulated for prepaid to register....go report the police...let him suffer...
post Dec 4 2006, 03:46 PM

33 posts

YA.. this guys got msg me... he ask me to COD at puduraya...
luckly i din't bank in him... he say can COD on tuesday or wed...
He say if cannot wait then find other seller...

This is his hp no: 017-7383618

try go to maxis centre check more detail on this guys...
hope can give u some info...
greyPJ
post Dec 4 2006, 05:11 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 4 2006, 03:28 PM)
hello.. care to tell me how to google the details?
because i tried searching for my own name, and it comes out with many weird things..
i tried google for my acc n my phone no. nothing comes out sad.gif

sorry a bit OT, but hope somebody can enlighten me..
many thanks.

and, feel sorry for teikwing but u've lodged a police report.. which is a good step smile.gif
for name, you can use quotes, ie. like this: "Cheng Chin Soon"

if you just search Cheng Chin Soon, result not good.

for bank no. phone no, just google the whole number and look thru the results, pay attention to result from this site and lelong.com.

CrazyRock
post Dec 4 2006, 07:00 PM

403 posts

Teikwing: you should try to nego more. If seller without rating ask them to send stuff to u first.
He did agree to send to me first but later on requested me to give him a maxis rm30 pin. I resisted so deal was hang on.
Damn lucky. So don't rushed when deal was too good to be true!
teikwing
post Dec 5 2006, 09:34 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

hie guys..going to meet some inspector later. will ask him to check the fon number also later..maybank has confirmed there's rm500 in the bank a/c..rm250 which is mine.. cry.gif anyway...i tink i was too rushing in getting the hp for my sis..dats y kena tipu..all my fault and negligence. if rugi rm30 maxis reload pin also not so sakit hati..CrazyRock..ur lucky. smile.gif can go maxis to check on the number one r? dun tink maxis will giv out ppl's personal details to any 3rd party..dun tink the guy will be so HONEST to register his number also..the due date for registration is 15th dec rite? bet he's using another number to con ppl now. anyway..i gonna track down this guy kaw kaw..wont just let my money gona like dat..thank u guys for all de support... icon_rolleyes.gif

p/s : the last time yksan46 online was 1013pm yesterday...
eusioxn
post Dec 5 2006, 10:25 AM

- Shadow of the Day -
1,018 posts

never deal delivery or bank in with newbie, yksan46 is just newbie. best way of dealing, COD is the best.
@meno
post Dec 5 2006, 08:12 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

teikwing, have u pmed yksan to come here to explain?
As what greypj had said, he might be a victim too.
teikwing
post Dec 5 2006, 11:32 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Dec 5 2006, 08:12 PM)
teikwing, have u pmed yksan to come here to explain?
As what greypj had said, he might be a victim too.
wat u mean dat he's a victim? he just conned me of rm250,man. yksan is a culprit who uses diff ppl's accounts to con ppl all over the web. the maybank account dat i've posted is not the only one used. just google for his mobile number..u'll know wat i mean.

a msg to all of the ppl who were conned before out there..never let this kind of conman run away from their dirty work no matter wat..altho the money that involved is little..u might save others from being conned by reporting the matter to the enforcement. we as citizens have the right to report any ppl's wrong doing. for conning crime..its under jenayah komersial and the police has a specific department for these type of cases. so never be afraid to report it to the police. they will always help although the amount of money involved is small. there's no harm in reporting rite? even there might be slim chances for the person to be caught. the enforcements have the connections wif the banks, telco and everything that's possible to help catch the culprit. hopefully ppl like yksan46 will be punished for the crime they have commited. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Dec 6 2006, 12:40 AM
edifgrto
post Dec 6 2006, 04:27 PM

Am a cat! ^^
1,707 posts

In my opinion, i think the input(where the money went) is the only weakness that any conman can't avoid. Because there is only way he(conman) could get the money. Therefore, police report plus the bank acc information could help, i think.

I can't think of if got conman do like he dun get the money. but simply just give anyone any bank account number. Unless that conman a psychopath that really nothing better to do.

Can we actually issue cheques to buy things from the net one?! (just an idea). I feel that, by cash banking in,.... the buyer sometime being the victims. But if by cheques, then the sellers might be the victims. However, if by cheques, anything wrong. The person who issued also got penalty later...

teikwing
post Dec 6 2006, 11:17 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

i've gave police the account number of the conman coz dats de only detail about him dat i got. tink maybank has started to take action but i'm still in outstation rite now but going maybank's hq in kl soon to get more details.

actually there is a scam nowadays where conman will pay someone rm100 or an amount of money to open up a bank account but then the account will be 'passed' to the conman to con ppl (which i tink the real account holder wont know about it). this is to make things easier for the conman so dat if anything happen..they wont be caught for it. this is wat the police actually told me when i did the report the other day.

yeah cash bank in..buyer is 100% vulnerable. the seller can just run away like dat. but i tink paying by cheque is possible..as long as its agreed by the seller and buyer when doing the deal. cheque can be passed to the seller then buyer can wait till receive the goods only calls the bank to clear the cheque. much safer but some seller wouldnt want to deal dat way too coz the buyer might be the conman by issuing a bad cheque. still tink the best way is COD. learnt my lesson.

*edited*
User's local time Dec 7 2006, 12:02 AM
Total Cumulative Posts 0
( posts per day / % of total forum posts )
Most active in Handphones & Related Accessories
( 2 posts / 100% of this member's active posts )
Last Active Yesterday, 01:09 PM

damn..hope ur checking out this thread, arsehole!!

This post has been edited by teikwing: Dec 7 2006, 12:04 AM
teikwing
post Dec 16 2006, 01:36 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

still awaiting news from Maybank... sad.gif
Ahmike
post Dec 16 2006, 01:54 AM

Powered by Carl Zeiss
3,145 posts

Ouch man sorry to hear that. Soon prepaid users will have to register their no and such hopefully can reduce this stuff.

PS : Reduce to certain degree is much better than nothing oh
stone13
post Jan 4 2007, 06:40 PM

272 posts

hope u get your money back teikwing
wantutrifor5
post Jan 4 2007, 09:48 PM

1,191 posts

no new news?

FraudBuster, its work?

who take action?
woopypooky
post Jan 4 2007, 11:05 PM

1,292 posts

hey man, didnt when u bank-in the money to that account number u put Lim Peng Guan name on the bank-in paper and didnt the clerk she told u that the name are not the same with the actual account holder name?
arm_audioslave
post Jan 4 2007, 11:46 PM

201 posts

FYI. the phone number 60177383618, ill already check, this is prepaid number. and not registered, meaning to said that this number already by terminated due to not registerd

~just my 2 cents~
camron
post Jan 6 2007, 01:01 PM

不能说的秘密
1,346 posts

well..i dun think easy to get him...
if u refer to to my case as well...
until now no news...
Same phone for me...
RM850 been conned by malboro_mania Cheong Chan Wah..
Sigh...I think May 2006...
I jz take it as a lesson...

never use post...COD better...
good luck dude...
boy000009
post Jan 7 2007, 04:07 AM

22 posts

luckily Rm250 only

next time prefer COD rather than POS la...

even RM5-10 more expensive
teikwing
post Jan 7 2007, 05:11 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

well guys..thanks for all the replies. still no news from maybank. guess not getting bac my rm250 anymore.. sad.gif anyway..maybank has freeze his account. dats al i manage to do.

arm_audioslave : yeah..de number has already been terminated. wished i deal after prepaid registration deadline.
altie
post Jan 7 2007, 08:24 AM

Runaway Fridge™
673 posts

Have you applied for his nick to be blacklisted and a dispute tag to be slapped on him? It's probable he won't be using that account anymore but better do it anyway.
deepcool0922
post Jan 8 2007, 04:26 AM

705 posts

Now buy a prepaid starter kit. Izit register imediately or register to maxis in a perior?
teikwing
post Jan 8 2007, 07:14 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(altie @ Jan 7 2007, 08:24 AM)
Have you applied for his nick to be blacklisted and a dispute tag to be slapped on him? It's probable he won't be using that account anymore but better do it anyway.
dont tink he's using dat account anymore. will be using new ones to con ppl here again i tink. anyway, how do i apply to get his nick blacklisted?

deepcool0922 : need to register immediately in order to use new number.

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jan 8 2007, 07:15 PM
takanori
post Jan 19 2007, 10:49 PM

200 posts

nxt time see the ppl successful tradelist le..nth can do...

sunauto
post Jan 20 2007, 02:20 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

It's useless for your info. When I registered my Hotlink, the MASA Centre in PG just gave me a form and asked me to fill up my details. I can put any name that I like, Ah Tu, Ah Gau, Ah Beng and even the address can be fake too. They don't even bother to check my MyKad too so since that's the case, I didn't put the real details there because if you didn't know, Maxis sells our info to those time travelling companies, that's why I had a number of calls from them because they'll use whatever info they have gathered from Maxis for their telemarketing rubbish. mad.gif

So, don't be so sure if you have someone's hp number, you'll be able to nail the person. Just my 2 cents.

QUOTE(Ahmike @ Dec 16 2006, 01:54 AM)
Ouch man sorry to hear that. Soon prepaid users will have to register their no and such hopefully can reduce this stuff.

PS : Reduce to certain degree is much better than nothing oh
teikwing
post Jan 20 2007, 09:14 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 20 2007, 02:20 AM)
It's useless for your info. When I registered my Hotlink, the MASA Centre in PG just gave me a form and asked me to fill up my details. I can put any name that I like, Ah Tu, Ah Gau, Ah Beng and even the address can be fake too. They don't even bother to check my MyKad too so since that's the case, I didn't put the real details there because if you didn't know, Maxis sells our info to those time travelling companies, that's why I had a number of calls from them because they'll use whatever info they have gathered from Maxis for their telemarketing rubbish.  mad.gif

So, don't be so sure if you have someone's hp number, you'll be able to nail the person. Just my 2 cents.
yup..agreed with what u''ve said. faced the same exact situation dat happened to u when registered my prepaid number. the shop ppl dont even care about what i wrote. but i did fill in my real personal details. anyway..if we can juz fill in forms sambil lewa without the shop ppl checking..what's the purpose of the government in implementing this prepaid registration measure? isn't the main aim is to find the real hp number holder when something is wrong eg. involved in crime cases? it's useless if everyone can juz write anything in the forms.
sunauto
post Jan 20 2007, 09:57 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

The prepaid registration drive or campaign is nothing but to please the government. Telco companies don't care whatever we write there since it's prepaid mah, we'll never owe them money but if postpaid, it's different lah, they need all of our details exactly as stated in our MyKad. Frankly, if you do a survey, most conmen or conwomen are using prepaid lah, report police also useless lah if the person used fake details. How can the police trace the person, call the number and tell the person, we want to arrest you, please tell us your location, we'll send a brand new Campro white coloured Waja to pick you up and when you reach the balai, you'll be detained 24 hours, you'll be given a place to stay with three meals a day? doh.gif

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 20 2007, 09:14 PM)
yup..agreed with what u''ve said. faced the same exact situation dat happened to u when registered my prepaid number. the shop ppl dont even care about what i wrote. but i did fill in my real personal details. anyway..if we can juz fill in forms sambil lewa without the shop ppl checking..what's the purpose of the government in implementing this prepaid registration measure? isn't the main aim is to find the real hp number holder when something is wrong eg. involved in crime cases? it's useless if everyone can juz write anything in the forms.
teikwing
post Jan 20 2007, 11:29 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 20 2007, 09:57 PM)
The prepaid registration drive or campaign is nothing but to please the government. Telco companies don't care whatever we write there since it's prepaid mah, we'll never owe them money but if postpaid, it's different lah, they need all of our details exactly as stated in our MyKad. Frankly, if you do a survey, most conmen or conwomen are using prepaid lah, report police also useless lah if the person used fake details. How can the police trace the person, call the number and tell the person, we want to arrest you, please tell us your location, we'll send a brand new Campro white coloured Waja to pick you up and when you reach the balai, you'll be detained 24 hours, you'll be given a place to stay with three meals a day?  doh.gif
pleasing the government? that's nonsense. if government really wan dis to work then they should be serious in dis rather juz do it sambil lewa. waste time & money for all the campaigns but get stupid results. its like doesnt make much difference whether register onot if ppl out there use fake details rite? means if someone con me also the police wont find out about de fella if dun have other details like IC. sometimes dont know wat de government wants. use all the money we paid for tax in the end like dis.

anyway..like de way u said about the police thingie. waja campro. so funny..haha.. biggrin.gif
u sure they provide 3 meals a day??? tongue.gif

btw..juz 2 tell everyone out there..if u ever wanna do online fund transfer..make sure u really confirm the seller/buyer will send the stuffs to u coz banks (eg. maybank) wont cancel the transaction once its done. juz like in my case. cant get bac my rm250 ady.. cry.gif cry.gif

unless u use deposit machine or over the counter cash in..then its different..the bank MIGHT cancel the transaction if u able to report it in 24 hours plus a police report . that's wat i heard from a maybank staff.

maybank told me that they will freeze the conman's account. not sure they really freeze it onot also.. *sigh* sad.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Jan 20 2007, 11:30 PM
sunauto
post Jan 20 2007, 11:34 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

FYI, they can freeze the account but whether you can get your money back, that's another seperate issue. It depends on the police investigation.

Yeah, they do provide 3 meals a day, breakfast, lunch and dinner, you can ask the person who has cheated your money to have a one day stay in Bukit Aman Resort, it will be a lawatan sambil belajar for him. Sincerely Bro, I hope you get back your money from Maybank. icon_rolleyes.gif
teikwing
post Jan 20 2007, 11:49 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 20 2007, 11:34 PM)
FYI, they can freeze the account but whether you can get your money back, that's another seperate issue. It depends on the police investigation.

Yeah, they do provide 3 meals a day, breakfast, lunch and dinner, you can ask the person who has cheated your money to have a one day stay in Bukit Aman Resort, it will be a lawatan sambil belajar for him. Sincerely Bro, I hope you get back your money from Maybank.  icon_rolleyes.gif
oh really? i've reported about dis @ Maybank Taiping & faxed the police report to Maybank HQ in KL. the Taiping branch staff said that the HQ ppl will contact me but its been 1 whole month after i've made the report. still no news. gave up on trying. dont think i will get my money back. sad.gif

wow..means stay @ lokap also wont kebuluran. tongue.gif

yeah..really really pray & hope those conmens out ther will get the chance of tasting the meals there. those useless ppl should be given a harsh lesson over what they've done. not just taste the food but maybe sebatan. mad.gif mad.gif
sunauto
post Jan 20 2007, 11:54 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

When you make the police report, try asking who is the IO (Investigating Officer) so that you can follow up your case with him without having to go through his officers or those sitting in the front desk. Get his number, just call him directly.

It will take a while to get back your money depending on the investigation so we might be looking at least 6 months or more. I know, I know, it sounds crazy but it's like that in Malaysia. Anyway, just don't give up and I'm sure God is fair to you.

teikwing
post Jan 21 2007, 12:11 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 20 2007, 11:54 PM)
When you make the police report, try asking who is the IO (Investigating Officer) so that you can follow up your case with him without having to go through his officers or those sitting in the front desk. Get his number, just call him directly.

It will take a while to get back your money depending on the investigation so we might be looking at least 6 months or more. I know, I know, it sounds crazy but it's like that in Malaysia. Anyway, just don't give up and I'm sure God is fair to you.
yeah..got the officers name & contacts. just dat he said case is closed & now its up 2 maybank on whether they wanna transfer the RM250 back to my acccount. the police closed the case coz they said they wont have enough proof to arrest dat conman. i've only banked in RM250 to him but the actual price is RM520. so the conman can say dat i've only bank in RM250 to him so he send me a padlock 1st although the we agreed in de deal dat i bank in RM250 1st then will bank in de rest after i've received the item. well..guess i'm still so naive when i deal wif de conman. too stupid to believe him.

wow..might take up to 6 months or more? been thru cases like dis b4..how come u knew so much? juz wondering.. smile.gif
sunauto
post Jan 21 2007, 12:23 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

My classmate is a policeman with the commercial crimes department in PG for your info, I always go there to sembang-sembang with him so if any joker try to con me in LYN, I'll make sure he gets three meals a day in a special resort. vmad.gif

Well, as for the bank, it's up to their discretion but since the seller put it this way, it's hard to solve the case since only partial of the amount has been transferred but technically if he didn't mention that the deposit is not refundable, you have the right to ask for the RM250 if the deal doesn't go through. Try speaking to a branch manager from Maybank, preferably from the HQ. Bring along all the supporting documents with you. I know it's a messy situation but if you can convince the bank officials, they'll release your money.

teikwing
post Jan 21 2007, 12:51 AM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 21 2007, 12:23 AM)
My classmate is a policeman with the commercial crimes department in PG for your info, I always go there to sembang-sembang with him so if any joker try to con me in LYN, I'll make sure he gets three meals a day in a special resort.  vmad.gif

Well, as for the bank, it's up to their discretion but since the seller put it this way, it's hard to solve the case since only partial of the amount has been transferred but technically if he didn't mention that the deposit is not refundable, you have the right to ask for the RM250 if the deal doesn't go through. Try speaking to a branch manager from Maybank, preferably from the HQ. Bring along all the supporting documents with you. I know it's a messy situation but if you can convince the bank officials, they'll release your money.
wow..means if ppl con u sure die la? hehe..nex time if ppl kena con can ask help from u ady.. tongue.gif

yeah..currently in KL. dont have the documents with me. will call the branch manager when i'm back in my hometown. will personally go to Maybank HQ soon after got all the documents. was thinking about letting this case go away already as i'm so dissapointed with Maybank not calling me up to update me about the case. not thinking about getting my cash bac anymore but thanks to u..i've changed my mind. thanks alot, man.. notworthy.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
sunauto
post Jan 21 2007, 01:07 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

RM250 is a lot of money for the average person, pursue this matter, don't just give up hope. If for 25 cents, maybe don't lah, you can forget about it but it depends, if based on our principles, even 1 cent also money so cheating is cheating regardless of any amount involved. I'll suggest you to take this matter to the upper management in Maybank, preferably their HQ because their HQ has the final say in such cases. Branches don't have the power to decide such matters especially when dealing with fraud, scam or cheating cases.

Don't thank me Bro, I believe you shouldn't hold back and you have every right to pursue this matter, you're the victim here after all. Anyway, if people con me, sure die lah but I'll give them a chance to explain, if satisfactory, case close lor. I'm a reasonable person and willing to listen. smile.gif

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 21 2007, 12:51 AM)
wow..means if ppl con u sure die la? hehe..nex time if ppl kena con can ask help from u ady..  tongue.gif

yeah..currently in KL. dont have the documents with me. will call the branch manager when i'm back in my hometown. will personally go to Maybank HQ soon after got all the documents. was thinking about letting this case go away already as i'm so dissapointed with Maybank not calling me up to update me about the case. not thinking about getting my cash bac anymore but thanks to u..i've changed my mind. thanks alot, man..  notworthy.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
cky6667
post Jan 21 2007, 01:39 AM

^^^seremban boy^^^
998 posts

tell u al....no use....i had conned rm450...go report police...police show me the article write ONLINE TRADING TAKE UR OWN RISK....WTF...i provide conman IC also
sunauto
post Jan 21 2007, 02:20 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

If they failed to carry out their duties, report to the IGP in Bukit Aman. When you have proof and everything, there's no excuse not to act based on the leads that you have obtained. You need to fight for it as most of them in the police force have a tidak apa attitude especially those low level ranking officers, you'll need to give them a push, don't forget you're paying their salary, in the form of taxes. Get what I mean?

QUOTE(cky6667 @ Jan 21 2007, 01:39 AM)
tell u al....no use....i had conned rm450...go report police...police show me the article write ONLINE TRADING TAKE UR OWN RISK....WTF...i provide conman IC also
teikwing
post Jan 21 2007, 01:40 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 21 2007, 01:07 AM)
RM250 is a lot of money for the average person, pursue this matter, don't just give up hope. If for 25 cents, maybe don't lah, you can forget about it but it depends, if based on our principles, even 1 cent also money so cheating is cheating regardless of any amount involved. I'll suggest you to take this matter to the upper management in Maybank, preferably their HQ because their HQ has the final say in such cases. Branches don't have the power to decide such matters especially when dealing with fraud, scam or cheating cases.

Don't thank me Bro, I believe you shouldn't hold back and you have every right to pursue this matter, you're the victim here after all. Anyway, if people con me, sure die lah but I'll give them a chance to explain, if satisfactory, case close lor. I'm a reasonable person and willing to listen.  smile.gif
QUOTE(cky6667 @ Jan 21 2007, 01:39 AM)
QUOTE(sunauto @ Jan 21 2007, 02:20 AM)
If they failed to carry out their duties, report to the IGP in Bukit Aman. When you have proof and everything, there's no excuse not to act based on the leads that you have obtained. You need to fight for it as most of them in the police force have a tidak apa attitude especially those low level ranking officers, you'll need to give them a push, don't forget you're paying their salary, in the form of taxes. Get what I mean?
yup. no matter how..gonna pursue this matter. wont juz let this bastar* conman runaway. ppl work so hard 2 earn money but they juz can con us like dat. Maybank HQ..i'm on my way.. biggrin.gif

cky6667 : wat sunauto said is right. those lower-ranking officers always have tidak apa attitude. even when i report my case..they laughed @ me. laughing coz i paid RM250 for a new padlock 'handfon'. they even passed the padlock around & said 'budak ni beli handfon baru..RM250 saja..mau tengok? benda baru ni..macam mangga...' can u believe it?! was so pissed off dat time but cant do anything. watevea happens..report kaokao. if those police not doing anything..report to their superiors.
steventan85
post Jan 21 2007, 02:11 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 21 2007, 01:40 PM)
yup. no matter how..gonna pursue this matter. wont juz let this bastar* conman runaway. ppl work so hard 2 earn money but they juz can con us like dat. Maybank HQ..i'm on my way..  biggrin.gif

cky6667 : wat sunauto said is right. those lower-ranking officers always have tidak apa attitude. even when i report my case..they laughed @ me. laughing coz i paid RM250 for a new padlock 'handfon'. they even passed the padlock around & said 'budak ni beli handfon baru..RM250 saja..mau tengok? benda baru ni..macam mangga...' can u believe it?! was so pissed off dat time but cant do anything. watevea happens..report kaokao. if those police not doing anything..report to their superiors.
yerp , it is true . Those stupid lower - ranking "officer" alwaz hav those attitude...

u can report to the so-called Inspector for follow up the case.
cky6667
post Jan 21 2007, 07:34 PM

^^^seremban boy^^^
998 posts

yalaa....wtf police doing???haha.........
sunauto
post Jan 21 2007, 07:51 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jan 21 2007, 01:40 PM)
yup. no matter how..gonna pursue this matter. wont juz let this bastar* conman runaway. ppl work so hard 2 earn money but they juz can con us like dat. Maybank HQ..i'm on my way..  biggrin.gif

Damn, how insulting. If I'm in your shoes, I'll ask them for their name and tag, I'll straight complain to their highest level officer. We go there to make a report, make fun pulak. vmad.gif What if a girl got raped? Just laugh loudly and say gadis ini kena rogol, mau tengok? doh.gif My friend's car got hit by a car from behind so he went to make a police report, you know what did the officer ask him? You'll be shocked. Siapa langgar kereta awak? Melayu ke? I told him, so kalau Melayu, you tak mau terima report lah? Mana adil? Kita bukan rakyat Malaysia ke? He was shocked when I raised my voice. Hehehe. My friend said I gila, later kena tahan for insulting an officer, I said to him, where got wor, I'm exercizing my rights as a citizen. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jan 21 2007, 02:11 PM)
yerp , it is true . Those stupid lower - ranking "officer" alwaz hav those attitude...

u can report to the so-called Inspector for follow up the case.
Those lower ranking officers are earning peanuts, their salary maybe less than a PSP so definitely have a tidak apa attitude but if you increase their salary to RM2K and above, they'll greet you with a red carpet and give you a cup of Nescafe before you start making your report. It's like that lah, what to expect, most of the time when we make a police report, did you ever come across any friendly, helpful and polite officers? Most of them muka masam one, like they hate their job very much.

QUOTE(cky6667 @ Jan 21 2007, 07:34 PM)
yalaa....wtf police doing???haha.........
That's why so many conmen on the loose lor. doh.gif

hairul
post Jan 22 2007, 12:44 AM

** Learn From The Mistake **
944 posts

Its A 3rd Party Fraud Case..... U have to check the account holder that u bank-in Rm 100 + 150 is selling what item... Then ask the account holder say he selling what item in X Date X time (time you bank-in & date) & ask if the Conman has msg the account Holder to order the item...

Nothing can do if To the Account Holder. He just selling if he receive the fund from his account and then send the item. He dont know who're the real person bank-in to him & the person deal with him..
sunauto
post Jan 22 2007, 01:06 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

3rd party fraud case will complicate things further because the police will not know how to believe. Sometimes, we dunno whether they're banking in the money is to the actual person or to another account unsuspectingly. Such cases will often left unsolved since a lot time is need to prove this and that. If it's a straight forward case then there's nothing to loose.

QUOTE(hairul @ Jan 22 2007, 12:44 AM)
Its A 3rd Party Fraud Case..... U have to check the account holder that u bank-in Rm 100 + 150 is selling what item... Then ask the account holder say he selling what item in X Date X time (time you bank-in & date) & ask if the Conman has msg the account Holder to order the item...

Nothing can do if To the Account Holder. He just selling if he receive the fund from his account and then send the item. He dont know who're the real person bank-in to him & the person deal with him..
raymannlucas
post Sep 7 2007, 10:47 PM

One Life, One Chance, One Try, No Retry
2,080 posts

damn scary man...send u a lock instead?
Dragonflyz
post Sep 8 2007, 03:23 AM

239 posts

u brought up a thread from January ar? aiks~
teikwing
post Sep 13 2007, 08:57 PM

Dah Macan?
3,239 posts

guys..i still haven't got back my RM250 until today. no response from Maybank or anything. somehow, i've managed to get the conman's personal details. anyone here from Muar, Johor kind enough to do me a favour? smile.gif

EDIT :
Should i :

1. confront the conman on my own

or

2. bring up the case to Maybank AGAIN.

for all who are experienced in cases like this or works in the banking industry, do i stand a chance of getting back my money from Maybank? blink.gif

This post has been edited by teikwing: Sep 13 2007, 09:08 PM

0.0371sec    1.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:00 AM