Downgrade back to windows 7, but fail...

TSem0kia
post Nov 11 2015, 11:21 PM, updated 11y ago

Photography+Musician+Travelling
1,311 posts

Hi sifus,

Good day. So recently my laptop just suddenly upgraded itself to windows 10 (A timer suddenly appeared and there was no cancel button, what the), so i could consider it as a forced upgrade. But thats not the point. The headache part is that when i want to go back to windows 7, the entire process was smooth, but eventually my comp boot back as win 10 again. I tried a few times and everytime it just start back in win 10. Anyone experience this issue too?
lucifah
post Nov 11 2015, 11:23 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

i tried a few days ago after getting so much trouble with an old laptop

tried it, but it refused to go back to win7

did a clean install (30 mins) and waster a couple more hours updating the windows n drivers...

TSem0kia
post Nov 11 2015, 11:24 PM

Photography+Musician+Travelling
1,311 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Nov 11 2015, 11:23 PM)
i tried a few days ago after getting so much trouble with an old laptop

tried it, but it refused to go back to win7

did a clean install (30 mins) and waster a couple more hours updating the windows n drivers...
Oh man. How did you backup your files? Did you create an image or transfer all files into hard drive?
lucifah
post Nov 11 2015, 11:26 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Nov 11 2015, 11:24 PM)
Oh man. How did you backup your files? Did you create an image or transfer all files into hard drive?
oh, i always keep my work files on google drive and on a separate disk partition

i guess clean install is not your option then

if you managed to roll back to win7, first thing you do is disable windows auto-update
Michael_Lee
post Dec 4 2015, 08:55 PM

638 posts

To downgrade try boot into recovery > Roll Back to Previous Version
eligible
post Dec 6 2015, 05:02 PM

858 posts

How come downgrade? Isnt it win10 better in terms of speeed compare to win7?
amitycox
post Jun 9 2016, 09:47 PM

~PeAcE Of SoUL~
515 posts

QUOTE(eligible @ Dec 6 2015, 05:02 PM)
In term of speed..,yes..,w10 is better..but when u already used to w7..,its hard to feel w10 is comfortable...hihi
AnimeSinceForever
post Jun 11 2016, 03:13 PM

1,060 posts

10 has better bootup speed because it regulates and defers disc access and caching so it "seems" faster.
7 has better compatibility EVERYWHERE (except for Windows apps, which only 8 and above can use).

People who unquestioningly think newer is better, don't have multiple machines to test their theories on.

QUOTE(amitycox @ Jun 9 2016, 09:47 PM)
In term of speed..,yes..,w10 is better..but when u already used to w7..,its hard to feel w10 is comfortable...hihi
amitycox
post Jun 12 2016, 09:01 AM

~PeAcE Of SoUL~
515 posts

QUOTE(AnimeSinceForever @ Jun 11 2016, 03:13 PM)
10 has better bootup speed because it regulates and defers disc access and caching so it "seems" faster.
7 has better compatibility EVERYWHERE (except for Windows apps, which only 8 and above can use).

People who unquestioningly think newer is better, don't have multiple machines to test their theories on.
It's because many people will think newer is better.,because normally newer is made in order to fixed uncompleted.,bad.,on older thing...
nod.gif hmm.gif
SUSVelocity
post Jun 14 2016, 07:57 AM

3,188 posts

QUOTE(eligible @ Dec 6 2015, 05:02 PM)
yes but the hassle its not just speed. If you are doing business or office the driver will have compatibility issues with certain hardware or electronic with alot other issue will occur like if you are not pro you cant stop annoying updates.

To some older generation, they need to learn again to adept with 2 difference environments

This post has been edited by Velocity: Jun 14 2016, 07:58 AM
ricstc
post Jun 14 2016, 07:59 AM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Nov 11 2015, 11:21 PM)
Hi sifus,

Good day. So recently my laptop just suddenly upgraded itself to windows 10 (A timer suddenly appeared and there was no cancel button, what the), so i could consider it as a forced upgrade. But thats not the point. The headache part is that when i want to go back to windows 7, the entire process was smooth, but eventually my comp boot back as win 10 again. I tried a few times and everytime it just start back in win 10. Anyone experience this issue too?
when you said you tried mind sharing what steps you took to try?

manually or you went into the Recovery menu system to do it?

0.0230sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:49 AM