> LRT/Monorail monthly/weekly pass is a joke?

TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 12:14 AM, updated 11y ago

So ayam and my friend did some calculations because no more 30 days unlimited travel pass, we found out that after the weekly/30days discount, it is more expensive than using it without pass mad.gif (although it is just slightly but it is absurd when you're expected to save money when subscribing these weekly/monthly discount but instead the difference is negligible)

correct me if i'm wrong, but calculations are based on 20 days (monday - friday, 4 weeks, including return)

sohailayhun
post Nov 9 2015, 12:16 AM

133 posts

Yes it is a joke...u try
hirano
post Nov 9 2015, 12:18 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Help me do calculation also on Sri Petaling-TBS-Masjid Jamek-KL sentral
Baconateer
post Nov 9 2015, 12:18 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

so...u r saying that using the card is more expensive thn using without?
billylks
post Nov 9 2015, 12:19 AM

180 posts

I don't get it why we need to pay them the card fee.
Are they going to charge us for not queueing to buy ticket?

And if I use touch and go? Will it be considered cash less? Needs card fee too?
TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 12:19 AM

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Nov 9 2015, 12:18 AM)
Using the card only ( they call it cashless ) is cheaper than the monthly /weekly passes probably
dewill
post Nov 9 2015, 12:20 AM

1,721 posts

their calculation is based on 30D but disadvantage for 20D
Boom Mortar

227 posts

mthly pass can use on sat n sun too...
TSjxsonl

QUOTE(hirano @ Nov 9 2015, 12:18 AM)
Help me do calculation also on Sri Petaling-TBS-Masjid Jamek-KL sentral
lel~ do yourself hahah

Monthly - http://www.myrapid.com.my/sites/default/fi...ble_smart30.pdf

Weekly - http://www.myrapid.com.my/sites/default/fi...able_smart7.pdf

Cashless (touch n go card) - http://www.myrapid.com.my/sites/default/fi...le_cashless.pdf
Baconateer
post Nov 9 2015, 12:21 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Nov 9 2015, 12:19 AM)
Using the card only ( they call it cashless ) is cheaper than the monthly /weekly  passes probably
so...i continue to use touch and go is better thn buying those monthly card la??

bcs for me..sure use less thn 30 days..mayb 22 days only..
dewill
post Nov 9 2015, 12:22 AM

1,721 posts

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ Nov 9 2015, 12:20 AM)
mthly pass can use on sat n sun too...
who gonna use it purposely not for working?
il0ve51

1,056 posts

malaysia train system is a joke, from ampang to wangsa maju need pay 2 train price separately and total duration is around 1 hour.

take uber more cheaper and faster.
TSjxsonl

QUOTE(dewill @ Nov 9 2015, 12:20 AM)
I'm doing it base on my college study days, 5 days a week, plus weekends i dont really go out often

Not sure about working people, but most of my working adult friends drives or work mon - fri
TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 12:24 AM

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Nov 9 2015, 12:22 AM)
malaysia train system is a joke, from ampang to wangsa maju need pay 2 train price separately and total duration is around 1 hour.

take uber more cheaper and faster.
The WHOLE public transport system is a joke, i need a bus ride + train to reach college, and i spend 1.5 hour averagely a day on the road

personally while using the unlimited 30 days pass it was pretty worth it, but now shakehead.gif sweat.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Boom Mortar
post Nov 9 2015, 12:25 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(dewill @ Nov 9 2015, 12:22 AM)
who gonna use it purposely not for working?
er...my younger brother study college will use mon-sun,

ofcos sun is seldom but sometimes got replacement classes
boonhan
post Nov 9 2015, 12:27 AM

Reader
1,934 posts

I preferred touch n go card instead.
Usable for toll, some shops, lrt, ktm. Compared to rapidcard which limited to their own services. Yeah its a joke too.
TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 12:29 AM

QUOTE(Boom Mortar @ Nov 9 2015, 12:25 AM)
er...my younger brother study college will use mon-sun,

ofcos sun is seldom but sometimes got replacement classes
Lol~ replacement classes on sunday is kinda sad... sweat.gif
but yeah if it's from Monday to Sunday then probably you'll save somewhere around RM10 per month... but still it's way too less that what we can save with the old pass cry.gif
epicfailguy
post Nov 9 2015, 12:30 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Nov 9 2015, 12:18 AM)
negligible savings. around RM2 from his excel sheet

RM2 can get u one roti telur only.
TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(boonhan @ Nov 9 2015, 12:27 AM)
Usable for toll, some shops, lrt, ktm. Compared to rapidcard which limited to their own services. Yeah its a joke too.
I dont really get why rapidpass and touch n go has to be separated too... I tried my rapidpass on a toll before... didnt end up well sweat.gif sweat.gif

since my pass expired last month I've been using touch n go now
Baconateer
post Nov 9 2015, 12:32 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(epicfailguy @ Nov 9 2015, 12:30 AM)
negligible savings. around RM2 from his excel sheet

RM2 can get u one roti telur only.
only if u use it for 30 days...so for some one using less thn 30 days?? kena scam?
TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 12:35 AM

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Nov 9 2015, 12:32 AM)
only if u use it for 30 days...so for some one using less thn 30 days?? kena scam?
Definitely scam! lol sweat.gif

but then, probably mentioned somewhere T&C applied where no one reads sweat.gif
billylks
post Nov 9 2015, 12:37 AM

180 posts

Ooo I get it, touch and go is considered cash less.

I think their plan will back fire since more people will go for touch and go, and not using rapidkl card.

Basically if we use rapidkl card, not only we put our money in the card in advance (and let them invest on the money), we also need to pay them extra. Brilliant?
Baconateer
post Nov 9 2015, 12:37 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Nov 9 2015, 12:35 AM)
Definitely scam! lol  sweat.gif

but then, probably mentioned somewhere T&C applied where no one reads  sweat.gif
thanks for the calculation TS...now i knw wat to do.. thumbup.gif
TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 12:41 AM

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Nov 9 2015, 12:37 AM)
thanks for the calculation TS...now i knw wat to do.. thumbup.gif
No prob! forumers must unite and stop this nonsense from RapidKL vmad.gif

lol tongue.gif

perhaps we'll see less treads on Garage Sales COD area - Any LRT/Monorail Stations, to xxx station lol... sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(billylks @ Nov 9 2015, 12:37 AM)
Ooo I get it, touch and go is considered cash less.

I think their plan will back fire since more people will go for touch and go, and not using rapidkl card.

Basically if we use rapidkl card, not only we put our money in the card in advance (and let them invest on the money), we also need to pay them extra. Brilliant?
Yeap, cashless is prob counted as Touch N Go... and hell no, never use Rapidpass... never works when you hop on the bus shakehead.gif
especially when you hear the 'please try again' sound... damn annoying sweat.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by jxsonl: Nov 9 2015, 12:44 AM
winter01942
post Nov 9 2015, 12:43 AM

Rating 5/5
857 posts

I personally calculated, for students/working people (travel two way on weekdays)

The price difference between the cashless & monthly must at least be rm0.30 for it to actually give a discount.

The actual thing i don't understand is the rates.
The whole journey is cheaper when it is further
(eg. Gombak -> KL sentral same price with Gombak -> Kelana Jaya)
party
post Nov 9 2015, 12:45 AM

816 posts

The whole fare increase is a joke itself..and yes. If u use those pass anywhere less than 25days u stand to lose money.

But wat to so..complete monopoly..u x suka drive urself
TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 12:46 AM

QUOTE(winter01942 @ Nov 9 2015, 12:43 AM)
I personally calculated, for students/working people (travel two way on weekdays)

The price difference between the cashless & monthly must at least be rm0.30 for it to actually give a discount.

The actual thing i don't understand is the rates.
The whole journey is cheaper when it is further
(eg. Gombak -> KL sentral same price with Gombak -> Kelana Jaya)
Did not check for that... RapidKL is definitely playing jokes on us hmm.gif
Weird and confusing discount rates some more... doh.gif rclxub.gif
winter01942
post Nov 9 2015, 12:49 AM

Rating 5/5
857 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Nov 9 2015, 12:37 AM)
You don't have to pay them extra

The only benefit is its easier to top up rapidkl cards as some places like masjid jamek (interchange between 2 LRTs FFS) has no TnG top up

And a big nono for busses as stated by jxsonl

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Nov 9 2015, 12:46 AM)
Did not check for that... RapidKL is definitely playing jokes on us  hmm.gif
Weird and confusing discount rates some more...  doh.gif  rclxub.gif
It works like this (simplified version)

there's a fixed amount which is charged when you get on ( like taxi )
Then if your destination is less than 'x' km away, each km is charged RM 'y'
But if your destination is more than 'x' km away, each km is charged less than RM'y', therefore making it cheaper

This post has been edited by winter01942: Nov 9 2015, 12:53 AM
epicfailguy
post Nov 9 2015, 12:54 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Nov 9 2015, 12:32 AM)
these cards are targetted at working/studying segment who uses it to commute daily.

workers/students dont work/study everyday.
TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 12:58 AM

QUOTE(epicfailguy @ Nov 9 2015, 12:54 AM)
these cards are targetted at working/studying segment who uses it to commute daily.

i dont get your comment... i study monday - friday ( enough to count as studying..? sweat.gif )
workers also dont work everyday monday - sunday? most of my working friends work from monday to friday and saturday halfday blink.gif
Baconateer
post Nov 9 2015, 12:58 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(epicfailguy @ Nov 9 2015, 12:54 AM)

if u use it every single day..thn is good for u..but for others...it is not...but the savings..as u say..really really negligible...
epicfailguy
post Nov 9 2015, 01:01 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Nov 9 2015, 12:58 AM)
i dont get your comment... i study monday - friday ( enough to count as studying..?  sweat.gif )
workers also dont work everyday monday - sunday? most of my working friends work from monday to friday and saturday halfday  blink.gif
most of the companies work on mon-fri. sat usually just drive straight to office then go shopping, drinking, eating etc etc

you count the working weekdays la

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Nov 9 2015, 12:58 AM)
if u use it every single day..thn is good for u..but for others...it is not...but the savings..as u say..really really negligible...
not many will use it every single day bcos public transport coverage still sucks.

dewill
post Nov 9 2015, 01:03 AM

1,721 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Nov 9 2015, 12:22 AM)
I'm doing it base on my college study days, 5 days a week, plus weekends i dont really go out often

Not sure about working people, but most of my working adult friends drives or work mon - fri
if working in jalan sultan ismail or klcc or even kl sental which fully congested?
you got those fren there?
winter01942
post Nov 9 2015, 01:03 AM

Rating 5/5
857 posts

I wonder if i can snipe a Student Rapidpass on the end of Nov

The price hike makes my monthly commute go close to RM200 per month

at least i pay RM100 for december
Baconateer
post Nov 9 2015, 01:04 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(epicfailguy @ Nov 9 2015, 01:01 AM)
not many will use it every single day bcos public transport coverage still sucks.
sucks..but many still dont hv other option but to bear with it..and using it also can help u save some money in the long term..
TSjxsonl
post Nov 9 2015, 01:06 AM

QUOTE(dewill @ Nov 9 2015, 01:03 AM)
if working in jalan sultan ismail or klcc or even kl sental which fully congested?
you got those fren there?
Yes got, maxis office around KL central
or tropicana mall, which has to drive back to wangsa maju area
or hang tuah area back to putrajaya/cyberjaya most of them drive
havent heard any of my working friends take train sweat.gif
maybe got some, but most of the one that i'm close to drives

This post has been edited by jxsonl: Nov 9 2015, 01:06 AM
winter01942
post Nov 9 2015, 01:09 AM

Rating 5/5
857 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Nov 9 2015, 01:06 AM)
havent heard any of my working friends take train  sweat.gif
Usually due to parking.
If there is reasonable parking then people drive
Some places in city center hard to get parking (for those non exec without reserved parking)

And also is the person able to afford a car ofc..
dewill
post Nov 9 2015, 02:28 AM

1,721 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Nov 9 2015, 01:06 AM)
havent heard any of my working friends take train  sweat.gif
ur fren could be manager lvl and above. rich fag
SUSautoman5891
post Nov 9 2015, 02:33 AM

QUOTE(dewill @ Nov 9 2015, 12:20 AM)
nod.gif
Langiler
post Nov 9 2015, 02:53 AM

Lang-Iler not Lan Giler
544 posts

QUOTE(boonhan @ Nov 9 2015, 12:27 AM)
Yeah me too
It like having a debit card that can be use anywhere
My Rapid probably dont want to pay commission to TnG
And reap all money they could with their own system
billylks
post Nov 9 2015, 09:44 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(winter01942 @ Nov 9 2015, 12:49 AM)
You don't have to pay them extra

The only benefit is its easier to top up rapidkl cards as some places like masjid jamek (interchange between 2 LRTs FFS) has no TnG top up

And a big nono for busses as stated by jxsonl
Yes, we are paying the extra RM10 charge monthly.

Think about this, if you are using Touchngo card, you are charged Rm0.50 per upload (maybe free at ATM), and the most it will cost you is Rm2.00 if you upload money 4 times a month. With this rapidkl monthly card, baamm RM10.00 one time.

I don't see the justification on paying RM10 because some stations dont have Touchngo top up service, I rather pay using money if it happens that my toucngo card is empty.

RAGE!
mitahi
post Nov 9 2015, 10:10 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Nov 9 2015, 12:19 AM)
Using the card only ( they call it cashless ) is cheaper than the monthly /weekly  passes probably
nope, check their pricing spreadsheets. cash > TnG > weekly pass > monthly pass. the fare using passes are cheaper than TnG, but the downside is you'll hv to pay a card fee depending on which pass u use.

QUOTE(billylks @ Nov 9 2015, 09:44 AM)

Think about this, if you are using Touchngo card, you are charged Rm0.50 per upload (maybe free at ATM), and the most it will cost you is Rm2.00 if you upload money 4 times a month. With this rapidkl monthly card, baamm RM10.00 one time.

I don't see the justification on paying RM10 because some stations dont have Touchngo top up service, I rather pay using money if it happens that my toucngo card is empty.

RAGE!
it actually depends on the places u commute. for me, monthly pass is cheaper (including the rm10 fee) than TnG.

i travel gombak -> klcc for work. let's say we hv 22 working days.

monthly pass fare = rm2.80, return trip = rm5.60
TnG fare = rm3.10, return trip = rm6.20

total fare for, monthly pass = (rm5.60 x 22) + 10 = rm133.20
TnG = rm6.20 x 22 = rm136.40

i save rm3.20 monthly by using the pass. even though it's not much, i still pick the cheaper alternative tongue.gif
mt24
post Nov 9 2015, 10:15 AM

499 posts

i just checked komuter monthly pass table far.

stupid monthly pass nakharom expensive >rm40 in comparison with cashless, at least at my destination. this is by calculation 2 rides per day for 20 days.

SUSMatrix
post Nov 9 2015, 10:28 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Nov 9 2015, 12:14 AM)
So ayam and my friend did some calculations because no more 30 days unlimited travel pass, we found out that after the weekly/30days discount, it is more expensive than using it without pass  mad.gif (although it is just slightly but it is absurd when you're expected to save money when subscribing these weekly/monthly discount but instead the difference is negligible)

correct me if i'm wrong, but calculations are based on 20 days (monday - friday, 4 weeks, including return)

It's not a joke. It is meant for frequent travellers. You travel distance too short or too less, your pasal. Just like you go supermarket, you must calculate whether it's worth it or not. Twin packs promotion doesn't neccessary means cheaper than one unit.

Be a smart consumer.

Besides, our PM is very concerned for your kos sara hidup and hence introduce this plan for frequent travellers.

Dyson Jin
post Nov 9 2015, 10:32 AM

960 posts

encourage us to use public transport,but pergi increase most of the stations price... doh.gif
they know those increase wont affect much,that y they dare to increase the price.
Rakyat have no choice but to pay for it.
swks26
post Nov 9 2015, 10:36 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

Fffuu Bangsar to KLCC up 30 cents.
SUSAccord2018
post Nov 9 2015, 10:48 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

So ayam and my friend did some calculations because no more 30 days unlimited travel pass, we found out that after the weekly/30days discount, it is more expensive than using it without pass  mad.gif (although it is just slightly but it is absurd when you're expected to save money when subscribing these weekly/monthly discount but instead the difference is negligible)

well i duno the rates though as i rarely take lrt. But still its better to take the weekly or monthly pass as you dont need to pay it everyday at the machine ma. Can save some time ma if you are rushing or what.
cybpsych
post Nov 9 2015, 06:09 PM

---------------------
65,371 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Nov 9 2015, 09:44 AM)

RAGE!
reload your TNG using your credit card and get the cashback instead.

read here
Flying Dragon
post Nov 9 2015, 06:11 PM

Kalau u guna banyak2 berbaloi la vmad.gif

0.0294sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:40 PM