RPG Hellgate: London, MP Patch 0.7 is UP!/SP Patch 0.6 is UP!

H@H@
post Jan 11 2007, 01:42 AM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(Araes @ Jan 11 2007, 12:57 AM)
This game was never designed to be a LAN game it only has single player + online multiplayer. Always thought the online mulitplayer was going to be free like Guild Wars but looks like Guild Wars will still be the king of free mmorpg.
Upon reading the full article, it appears to be a direct ripoff of Guild Wars really. Heavily instanced team PvE and PvP missions... with guilds (Or something of the sort).

True enough, that it plays differently, but the core multiplayer mode is GW.

I just hope this lowers the sticker price a little (Or at the very least comes with one month online play)
H@H@
post Jan 18 2007, 10:32 PM

6,727 posts

New info on Hellgate: London... More importantly new info on the multiplayer component.

Bill Roper: We have always had the intention of providing rich, robust, massively multiplayer online gaming experiences for our players. This means that we will be providing everything from a secure client/server infrastructure to 24/7 customer support to maintaining a complete live team to provide not only balance and bug fixes, but more importantly, continuing, ongoing content updates to the game. And while we are still finalizing the commercial and game aspects of our online plans, we can tell players that there will definitely be significant free online play.

Source: Evil Avatar

"Significant"? Sounds to me like they're offering both free AND P2P for their multiplayer service... Wonder how that's going to work out unsure.gif
H@H@
post Mar 22 2007, 11:49 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Araes @ Mar 22 2007, 07:44 PM)
Yes, Diablo series was one of the first to have randomized levels but Hellgate is probably the first to do it in 3D. Seeing how the the developers are the same it's not surprising. It's really neat to see the same area with a different layout everytime you enter it and gives a unique experience everytime.
Nosferatu had randomly generated levels.
H@H@
post May 9 2007, 01:47 PM

6,727 posts

Ho ho ho...

The details on the differences in free and subscription based multiplayer has now been revealed!
    * Multiplay will be free!
    * Elite Multiplay will cost you $9.95 a month
    * Secure, closed servers hold your characters, even if you're not Elite
    * Elite players get 24/7 phone and online support; plebs get basic online support as with any other game
    * If there are queues to get on a server, Elite players go to the front
    * Elite players can have 12 characters in total; plebs get 3
    * Elite players can store around 40 items in "lockers" spread throughout the world; plebs can have 20. Elite players can also transfer these items to characters on other servers; plebs cannot
    * Elite players get unique gear and can wield the most powerful weapons in the game. Said weapons can also be emailed by the Elite to others of their kind
    * Elite players can board shuttles that transport them quickly to hard-to-reach corners of London
    * Elite players can become officers of guilds and own, enter, or operate player housing and guild buildings; plebs can be members of guilds, but will not be allowed to enter said buildings, or purchase property for themselves
    * Elite players get access to more gametypes; plebs not allowed into servers or areas where those gametypes are operating
    * Elite players will get new content each month, such as new monsters, new gametypes, new items, and so on

Source : Evil Avatar

This post has been edited by H@H@: May 9 2007, 01:47 PM
H@H@
post May 10 2007, 03:12 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 10 2007, 02:55 PM)
This just suxs.I'll pass this game.

Bill Roper thinks this is another WoW and trying to make Hellgate his cash cow.
I think its important to remember that the game out of the box is pretty complete on its own... Comparable even to any other game out there.

The elite package, for the most part, gives you bigger bonuses (Nothing much really), but the best thing about it is ongoing content... The type of stuff that any MMO worth its salt out there dishes out on a regular basis. That alone should justify the USD10 per month cost.

If this game was announced without any elite package and its features, nobody would bat an eyelid over this. Its extra content, you need to pay for it, its no big deal.
H@H@
post May 10 2007, 04:16 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Koross @ May 10 2007, 03:56 PM)
H@H@ just beat me to it smile.gif. Just to add though, the game as isa welcome beginning for you to try first before stepping into being 'elite'.

Personally though, I can't wait to see how this game does. And if the MP portion of it warrants me to become 'elite', I won't think twice in doing so.
Yeah, once the game comes out, you can really see if the free multiplayer portion is worth the price of admission or whether its just some over-glorified newbie/tutorial area.

Obviously we're going to get a lot of the "They're holding back content from ppl who paid full price" arguments, but heh... Just wait and see. I'm not writing this off just yet.
H@H@
post May 18 2007, 05:32 PM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(bryan @ May 18 2007, 12:30 PM)
I think it's pretty bad you are forced to pay to get the UBER items. Cause think of it, the main reason people play are getting great items. The game lost a LOT of if's attraction to me cause of this subscription model.
You could say the same thing about regular MMO expansion packs, which either raise the level cap or add new items, classes or spells which may or may not make these players better than players without the expansions set.

How many WoW players out there are complaining about all the good stuff ppl who buy TBC get? They paid extra money for extra content.

Again, its too early to tell if regular MP should be written off completely. Plus, the game has single player which resembles Diablo... and that alone should justify most of the sticker price.
H@H@
post May 26 2007, 01:51 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Araes @ May 25 2007, 11:46 PM)
All your Diablo multiplayer characters data; from your characters itself, items you have equiped, to the loot in storage is stored separately in own their servers. Basically, you cannot access the character files because it is not on your local drive. It also means multiplayer characters cannot be used in single player and vice versa. This technically prevents hacks and dupes. Sometime there are accounts that are hacked by cheaters so that is when the mighty hand of Blizzard starts banning cdkeys or delete their accounts.

Titan Quest on the other hand is an example where there is no secure servers for multiplayer. Single player TQ characters can be used online and offline.
I believe that only applies to Diablo as Diablo 2 had single player characters that could be used in multiplayer (Seemless transition between SP and MP)

This was feasible in Diablo when the online gaming player base wasn't that large.

Anyway, Guild Wars did it (Server side character storing sans monthly subscription fees), so not that big a deal for this. Plus, there doesn't appear to be any persistent world aside from the game lobby (Ala GW as well)
H@H@
post Aug 10 2007, 12:36 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Aug 9 2007, 02:13 PM)
Wow,the content is not bad but i'll pass.
No free month of premium content? C'mon, only diehards will buy this and thus it would entice them further into getting it.

Then again, the diehards would probably be handing out their credit cards the moment the game becomes available. wink.gif
H@H@
post Oct 21 2007, 12:38 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Araes @ Oct 20 2007, 12:20 PM)
So much hostility, relax. blink.gif

You guys are just playing the newbie area. Can't comment on the demo's graphics (haven't d/led, maybe won't till the beta ends) but the DX9 graphics in the beta is really good especially in my 'shit' comp.

Wish I can post all my screenshots to show you. But NDA. yawn.gif
Well I just gave the demo a shot earlier and with everything supposedly maxed out on a dated DX9 system, it looks like SERIOUS ass. I mean, when you have texture detail set to High, it shouldn't look worst than Half-life 2 set to Medium (The faces looked blurry for crying out loud). Ok, the environments look pretty damned good, but the characters look incredibly crappy.

Now, the gameplay feels... like shit. From what I read, the FPS parts were a bit crappy, so when I tried it out, I came to the same conclusion ("Twitch reflexes required" my ass). So, I tried the blademaster class and that feels even worst. Its unwieldy and doesn't feel satisfying at all.

Say what you will about how its ok in the beta and whatnot, but from the demo alone, this game went from somewhat interesting in my books, to "No way in Hell" (Pun not intended)

I will say one thing though... It loads pretty damned fast.
H@H@
post Oct 22 2007, 07:14 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Oct 21 2007, 08:25 PM)
Must they follow what people here said about the demo ?  rolleyes.gif

Judge by the actual game, not the demo itself, beside it won't ruin ones' lives anyway if the game sucks.

I will wait for the actual game, seem I can't install the demo even though I successfully downloaded it 3 times.
Look, the purpose of a demo is to get ppl to want to buy the actual game. So, if the demo sucks, it doesn't really matter if the actual game is jaw-droppingly awesome: Nobody's going to get it.

You could say that "Oh but its just the newbie area, and that does suck monkey balls". Well if that's the case, why put the super sucky newbie mode in the bloody demo when the purpose of the demo is to highlight the better parts of the game?

From what I've read everywhere else, it seems the beta > demo but I'm not really that interested anymore.
H@H@
post Oct 22 2007, 09:53 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Oct 22 2007, 08:46 AM)
A demo is still a demo, it always incomplete, and crappier than actual game, judging based from my experience on demos. Many people complained the Serious Sam 2 demo yet I enjoyed it.

Call me too lenient or suck up, I still give this game a chance when it comes out.
Look at it this way. Most ppl would assume that a demo is more complete than a beta as the latter is not supposed to be fit for the public yet and lacks the refinements the demo is supposed to have.

A demo, while small, should be able to offer a decent amount of gameplay that is representative of what the full game will be like. If you've tried the FEAR demo, you'll know what I'm talking about (The demo was basically a montage of the various parts of the game, including easy and hard enemies with some Alma thrown in). If they had just included the first 2 levels of the game in the demo, it would basically just be a crappy tutorial with some scary parts thrown in.

Demos for me are usually the primary method for me to decide if a game is worthy of my money. Second is reviews. So, if they screw up a demo, their loss.

This doesn't just apply to this game alone but every other game out there.

This post has been edited by H@H@: Oct 22 2007, 09:54 AM
H@H@
post Oct 22 2007, 10:58 AM

6,727 posts

QUOTE(alwizbthere @ Oct 22 2007, 10:36 AM)
hmmm, is it possible to cancel preorder with tsb?
i did so before i got the demo, and now i'm having second thoughts after going through the demo
blademaster's motion is farking unrealistic in the demo, dun give me the swordman feeling at all...
so if possible i rather wait for actual game release before buying
The worst part about the Blademaster's attacks is that it felt like I was playing Dynasty Warriors. Pure crowd control.

0.0414sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:14 PM