QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Oct 18 2007, 08:52 PM)
Demo out tomorrow? R U serious? Is it available at Nzone?RPG Hellgate: London, MP Patch 0.7 is UP!/SP Patch 0.6 is UP!
RPG Hellgate: London, MP Patch 0.7 is UP!/SP Patch 0.6 is UP!
Oct 18 2007, 09:01 PM
80 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Oct 19 2007, 02:38 AM
1.45Gb ? OMG!!!
http://gamedaily.newaol.com/pub/Hellgate_London_Demo.exe Why can't I download using download manager? This game is NOT on my games-to-die-for list... but if the demo can pull something special, I'll get it. If not... I'll most likely go to the mall (u know what I mean) Added on October 19, 2007, 2:44 amWait... it's working now. I had no more disk space left on partition 1, that's why. Speed I'm getting : 115kbps Imagine those guys in US or dudes that use 8mbps connections, from the comments on the website, they're downloading at 450kbps !!! This post has been edited by Games For Windows: Oct 19 2007, 02:44 AM |
Oct 19 2007, 02:54 AM
current speed has dropped to 100kbps. still dropping.
Oct 19 2007, 04:11 AM
QUOTE(choyster @ Oct 19 2007, 03:24 AM) Really? Mine rarely goes below 100kbps, now steady at 120kbps, 2 hours only to go. Try http://www.freedownloadmanager.org/ It breaks the download into 20 pieces and is absolutely fast! Works for any download. That is how I download most of my stuff. Don't use anything else. This thing works. U know wat, cancel (or pause) that download. Download this first. http://downloads.sourceforge.net/freedownload/fdminst.exe Then use this to download it. You don't need 1 more day. You can play in like 5 hours. This post has been edited by Games For Windows: Oct 19 2007, 04:13 AM |
Oct 19 2007, 07:22 AM
Installing...
You get to choose what desktop icon you want !!! Added on October 19, 2007, 7:48 amPlayed part of the demo. What I think? Gameplay - 18/20 (Solid while it lasts) Graphics - 15/20 (Bit of a letdown actually, perhaps maybe I am using DX9, but seriously, not revolutionary) Sounds - 16/20 (Fine zombie sounds, nothing special) Controls - 17/20 (Easily customisable and mapped out well) Replay value - 14/20 (Do I want to play the game again? Err...) Total : 80% Pros - Solid RPG gameplay, RPG elements present, NPCs help you a lot Cons - Graphics is a bit of a letdown (not too sure if DX10 can help), nothing revolutionary about the game overall FINAL VERDICT of the DEMO ::: If you're an RPG fan, you should play this game. But players like me, FPS gamers, should pretty much keep that money away. Flagship Studios have done a great job of re-inventing London in Zombie infested look, but the dull graphics (again, don't get me wrong) and the not-so special sound effects, is a bit of a letdown. To me, this game will appeal to RPG fans, and RPG fans only. Enjoy the demo. Another mention, Diablo fans would also like this game. I want to hear from you guys. Keep those posts coming !!! My test system: 3.2Ghz dual-core processor, 2Gb memory, 7800 GTX, X-Fi XtremeMusic, 5.1 surround speakers, Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit Game settings: 1280x768, maximum settings, no V-sync, medium anti-aliasing Game advisor::: This game seems to stutter when in wide open areas. In underground tunnels, it is really smooth. When there are many enemies, the gameplay remains but slow-downs are apparent. It gets worse if there are lots of enemies, lots of action, and in wide open areas. Perhaps an 8800 GTS can do justice. Or a feasible processor. This post has been edited by Games For Windows: Oct 19 2007, 08:13 AM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Oct 19 2007, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(shadowrem @ Oct 19 2007, 05:30 PM) graphics and gameplay is not that bad actually.....dunno why some people are bashing this game like there's no tomorrow....too much hype maybe? From ActionTrip.compretty smooth overall, only lags a bit outside for me Hellgate: London Grim Outlook [Ure "Vader" Paul] 03:00 am EDT @ October 19th, 2007 Pessimism is mounting after Flagship Studios released the demo for their long-in-the-making action RPG, Hellgate: London. Complaints range from "underwhelming gameplay" to "outdated graphics." This is bad news indeed, since there are very few RPG releases to look forward to this season. Other concerns about the game include adware -- advertising that is integrated into software -- to which users have to agree to upon installing the game. The demo consists of adverts in the form of posters and such, whereas the final game is to feature fully integrated adware. Wow, I thought my DX9 GPU was causing the not-so-good graphics. I was right all along. Seriously, what a dissapointing game... I expected SO MUCH MORE !!! OMG... the anticipation, the hype... the graphics screenshots from magazines and all showed a different picture.... |
Oct 19 2007, 11:34 PM
QUOTE(Araes @ Oct 19 2007, 10:52 PM) These DX10 screenshots from the beta look alot better than the one from the demo. So, DX9 gamers = bad graphics experiencehttp://ve3d.ign.com/images/game/737992/PC/Hellgate-London DX10 gamers = great graphics experience From the screenshots, yes, they are WAY better than the demo. So, has anyone tried out the game demo in DX10? Or does it even support DX10? The purpose of a game demo is to show the full version's potential, or at least, try to get gamers attention. A user from Voodoo Extreme quotes after seeing the above DX10 pictures (from the link) "Not impressed at all with these screenshots Are they supposed to be with DX10 ?? Is that what DX10 only can do ? I have seen games with better graphics from that and with just using DX9 I guess i am not missing anything significant for not having Vista I will still use XP for this game" LYN Hellgate fans- please try it using DX10 And all hope is not lost, PC Gamer US gave this game 89% and gave NO Editor's Choice award According to wiki This post has been edited by Games For Windows: Oct 19 2007, 11:35 PM |
Oct 20 2007, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(meetxj9 @ Oct 20 2007, 12:22 AM) I hope Flagship isn't really going to tell us that this is really what we are getting in the end. This could be the "most-hyped-game that turns out to be the ultimate disaster"Many games have run and looked good without the DX10 support. The gameplay was somewhat stail and the FPS reminds me of something i played 8 years ago. If Hellgate London don't do well, it game over for Flagship. All the hype and high expectations...........NO!!!!!!!!! It took me 3 seconds to realize the graphics aren't good. At the character creation screen, I was like "Is this the highest model detail? Am I missing something?" Also, the gameplay is fun, but soon I realized how other great RPGs are. Seriously, to compare Hellgate London Demo to other RPG gates, this game is totally out of luck. They should have just done Diablo III. Added on October 20, 2007, 12:35 am QUOTE(vincent09 @ Oct 20 2007, 12:25 AM) Hehe i still continue play the demo, now lvl 5 with dual weapon chop chop there. whateverAiya personal feel, the game not nice to play will less of fun althought the graphic is nice. Because iI'm playing game not watching CG This post has been edited by Games For Windows: Oct 20 2007, 12:35 AM |
Oct 20 2007, 01:32 AM
Oct 20 2007, 01:47 AM
(sighs)...
OK. Lets see what is wrong. Lets see. This is the spiritual successor to Diablo II. Easy to pick up and hard to let go you say? It's easy to pick up and so easy to let go. Gameplay ::: To be fair, its dated. Its fun, swinging your sword at zombies. But what the heck. This is the year 2007. I did find it a little convincing that this game 'could' survive those critics like me by having a fun gameplay. But unfortunately, other underwhelming features pop-up at first glance... Graphics ::: I hate those who say "graphics isn't everything. what is important is blah blah blah...". Hello? This is the year 2007. We have the GeForce 8 GPUs clocking in at ridiculous speeds. OK, so what? Is graphics everything? No. But yeah, it DOES MATTER. Who the heck wants to play a game that has graphics that is ABSOLUTELY DILUTED + DULL + FLAT ?? I found almost no visual elements that excites me TO CONTINUE PLAYING in the demo. So, if a least fun gameplay coupled with a not-so-good graphics, do you think you want to come back and play again and again and again like Diablo ? Sounds ::: Seriously, even my 5.1 surround speakers felt like they were begging for some nice sound effects. Abysmal. OK fine, this is just a demo. Don't expect all the sound files to be included. Controls ::: Quite possibly the best part of the entire Demo. Easy to master and use. But who wants easy controls when we don't wish to control the screen? NPCs ::: Need a special mention here. Seriously, they were like statues, waiting to be resurrected. WTF?!! OMG!!! Replay value ::: Talk about fun factor. It literally killed my fun factor with the above issues. Do I want to play the game again ? I think not. About DX9 and DX10 ::: The screenshots that I saw with MY OWN EYES spoke a different story. It was pretty, and gritty and looked every bit satisfying. The enemies on screen, the blows, the explosions, etc.. "Some" are saying DX10 is what the Demo needs to be booted with, and hence, those with DX9 will find the graphics dull. Really? So, DX10 really does THAT much difference until we can give the game less credits ? So in the future, PC Gamer would be writing reviews like this ??? : DirectX 9 review - 80% DirectX 10 review - 89% Huh??? Last words ::: I deleted the demo and the installer. Easy as that. Flagship Studios -- I beg you to do something. Please tell us this isn't true and that the final game will be MUCH better. I'm afraid not much can be done, and the damage (inflicted thus far by the demo) is too deep for some. I leave bitterly through the lonely streets of London... dissapointed.... Added on October 20, 2007, 1:52 am****Interlopers.net Reviewer writes about the demo: **** Just... disappointing. Its pretty sloppy is a lot a ways. The animations are pretty bad, the environments are dull, and I'm having a hard time trying to figure out if the developers actually had an art direction to begin with. ??? This post has been edited by Games For Windows: Oct 20 2007, 01:54 AM |
Oct 20 2007, 02:17 AM
QUOTE(frags @ Oct 20 2007, 02:04 AM) Thats pretty harsh aint it? You mean to say you hate everyone who has a different opinion from yourself or who has different taste? Seriously i would buy a game with okay graphics but great gameplay. Hellgate London is not that game for me though... Harsh? So what. Its one opinion. Its not going to trigger a quake. Ever played rollercoaster tycoon? Man that game gave me so much joy. Anyway if you love high end graphics you probably wont get it. Back to the topic...I agree about gameplay...In my opinion i do find it dull too. As I said CLEARLY : "Is graphics everything? No. But yeah, it DOES MATTER. Who the heck wants to play a game that has graphics that is ABSOLUTELY DILUTED + DULL + FLAT ?? So, if a least fun gameplay coupled with a not-so-good graphics, do you think you want to come back and play again and again and again like Diablo ?" Err.. for ur example of "Rollercoaster Tycoon (2D)", yes. It was an enjoyable game. Nobody cared about the graphics. It was a time when gameplay ruled over graphics. And this game's gameplay was top notch fun. Understand? In red - 2006/7 onwards... This post has been edited by Games For Windows: Oct 20 2007, 02:20 AM |
Oct 20 2007, 03:49 AM
QUOTE(choyster @ Oct 20 2007, 03:02 AM) after looking at all the reviews i think i dont even want to buy the ahem version Dude... u have no idea. I thought this game was going to be huge. I mean HUGE. But now... I actually can't believe it...Added on October 20, 2007, 3:03 amcould it be ur vista 64bit problem? WTF? Completely screwed!! We as PC gamers need some answers from the developers themselves. I am waiting. |
Oct 20 2007, 08:54 AM
Google to see how hundreds of gamers say this demo just s***s :
From http://episteme.arstechnica.com/eve/forums.../m/341009308831 What the hell happened!? For those interested, I went the melee route - I just played through what I was hoping could satisfy my need for a hack'n'slash fix, but this is not a game - this (judging by the demo) is an abortion! How could the people who brought us Diablo 2 forget everything that made that game good so fast? The art is bad, as in horribly generic. There is no sense of a mood to the game which is something the Diablo games excelled in providing. The mix of what is supposed to be a dark theme and poor attempts at humor is very poorly executed. I groaned when I had to fetch Wart's leg, and when the shop keeper's Warcraft inspired (Happy to serve!) voice bits played. The tutorial even makes a point out of teaching you how to play without having to read the dialogue or follow the story. This sort of makes me fear that they didn't put much effort in to the story telling (they didn't in the demo) There is no soundtrack to speak of... Somehow after all the hype and all the talk of graphics, this demo ended up looking like a poor Quake 3 mod after I maxed everything at a res of 1920x1200 (I'm on XP, so maybe they blew their wad on the DX10 path?). They even reused so many level element in the demo that I at times thought I might accidentally have backtracked. All that lovely DPS-data Diablo gave you so you didn't have to think too much when choosing between a slow high damage weapon and a fast low damage weapon? Gone as far as I can tell. Oh, and guess what - most of the missions are of the low end MMO kind = Kill 10 zombies, collect 8 capacitors.. I wanted to puke... This demo makes me feel like I imagine people who experienced a demo of the Phantom console felt... A lot of talk and shockingly absoluty nothing behind the facade. Blizzard - PLEASE announce Diablo 3 soon... This post has been edited by Games For Windows: Oct 20 2007, 08:55 AM |
Oct 20 2007, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(Araes @ Oct 20 2007, 12:20 PM) So much hostility, relax. Show it. If there really is prove there is good from this game, go ahead. You guys are just playing the newbie area. Can't comment on the demo's graphics (haven't d/led, maybe won't till the beta ends) but the DX9 graphics in the beta is really good especially in my 'shit' comp. Wish I can post all my screenshots to show you. But NDA. This is from EvilAvatar.com :: "The demo feels like Tabula Rasa without the fun. The environments are terrible. Low rez textures on everything, every area is just a cube or rectangle with either a skybox or ceiling on it. I've played console games with better graphics. Comparing Resistance's London to this one, I'll stick with Resistance. I played the marksman and upgraded my rifle so that every so often it would fire exploding bullets. Thing is, the explosion was centered on me, not on wherever my bullets were hitting. Bug or feature? I can't tell. Game balance is terrible in the demo area too. You've either got melee mobs that are slower than you(so you never get hit), or you have melee+ranged mobs where the ranged attacks are very slow, easily dodged projectiles(so you never get hit). The only time you'll take damage is when you fight one of the boss mobs that are faster than you are. Quest density is pretty poor too, at least in comparison to similar games. Probably around 10-15 NPCs in the demo and less than 10 quests. Of course the quests are all step&fetch it or kill X of mob Y. If you find yourself running around at level 4 wondering why the areas don't repop, don't sweat it. Just exit to the menu and go back in to your character, the areas will be repopulated." LOL! >> Just exit to the menu and go back in to your character, the areas will be repopulated |
Oct 20 2007, 01:26 PM
Oct 21 2007, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(H@H@ @ Oct 21 2007, 12:38 AM) Well I just gave the demo a shot earlier and with everything supposedly maxed out on a dated DX9 system, it looks like SERIOUS ass. I mean, when you have texture detail set to High, it shouldn't look worst than Half-life 2 set to Medium (The faces looked blurry for crying out loud). Ok, the environments look pretty damned good, but the characters look incredibly crappy. I felt exactly the same. Everything maxed out and it seriously looks bad. Now, the gameplay feels... like shit. From what I read, the FPS parts were a bit crappy, so when I tried it out, I came to the same conclusion ("Twitch reflexes required" my ass). So, I tried the blademaster class and that feels even worst. Its unwieldy and doesn't feel satisfying at all. Say what you will about how its ok in the beta and whatnot, but from the demo alone, this game went from somewhat interesting in my books, to "No way in Hell" (Pun not intended) I will say one thing though... It loads pretty damned fast. So I went to Gamespot.com, and watched some gameplay videos. It looked awesome, strangely. The camera angle they used in the gameplay video is almost like Diablo II, the top-down view but not exactly top down, meaning at a certain angle. And the mouse cursors did some magic spells and fire was spawned, zombies came out of the ground, huge beasts roamed the land.... it looked amazing... But WTF is with the Demo ?? I want to play like the Gameplay video... Perhaps (and I hate to say this) the final version will be what we are looking for... I am not too hopeful. A game demo should help us decide whether to buy the full game or not. This demo didn't do anything. It only made me angry. |
Oct 21 2007, 10:06 AM
Fed myself with plenty of YouTube.com and GameTrailers.com gameplay videos of Hellgate London. Seriously, it looks fun and the graphics in the video look nice.
This game is reminding of the the TV show ABC's "The Nine". It promised so much, the trailers and previews were solid, but when the show started its episodes, it just fell apart. Game developers Flagship Studios admit there are bugs in the demo release. OMG? They only noticed 'bugs'? They continued to say that it will be sorted out and they have no worries at all about the final release. Wow. |
Oct 21 2007, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(Edmund06Lee @ Oct 21 2007, 11:06 AM) I downloaded and tested the demo yesterday. Just hope to voice out my opinion :- Then why put the demo in the first place if the bad points are so DAMN obvious? I do agree that the demo was not up to expectations and also not proportionate to the hype it has caused diablo series fans. I mean the game could be much better in more areas since we were expecting "high quality gaming experience" as we enjoyed in the earlier Diablo series. It does lead me to think if games of the Diablo series standards are only possible under the combined effort of the Diablo developers and Blizzard. I hope that the final game release would be much better than the current demo and from what I read from reviewer(above) who spoke out after the nda has lifted, there truly seems to be a lot more to look out for. PS: The demo was really quite bland, in view that demos are supposed to attract people to buy the games... But overall the gameplay is smooth which I think would truly makes multiplayer mode very enjoyable. And to those disappointed, do look at the review provided by angeldothack. Some demo it seems. |
Oct 21 2007, 12:34 PM
Should I do a poll on whether the final release would suck badly or not?
You know what, perhaps the demo was screwed badly but the final release isn't. I've seen the gameplay videos and seriously, its quite enjoyable, but not the demo. |
Oct 22 2007, 02:52 AM
Been watching plenty of Hellgate: London gameplay videos. Looks fun.
Again I ask this question : Why would they put such a bad demo if all they really want is to attract more gamers to buy the full game? Can you answer that question? GameSpot.com's comments on the demo is flooded with negativity except a few RPG junkies (e.g "Yeah! I collected lvl 3 sword "lol-suxor" after killing a zombie) & (Wow, the post-box looks amazingly damaged, I could use it as a shield against the zombies and perhaps gain more experience blocking etc. etc.) |
| Change to: | 0.0218sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:19 PM |