May I ask, is SGD6000 considered a lot? To me seems quite few for a senior technical lead role. I'm fetching close to RM9k now. Should I compare dollar to dollar?
Any opinions are welcomed. Thanks!
Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot
May 17 2016, 06:47 PM
494 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: The Fifth Dimension |
Hi all, recently I been looking at working in Singapore...
May I ask, is SGD6000 considered a lot? To me seems quite few for a senior technical lead role. I'm fetching close to RM9k now. Should I compare dollar to dollar? Any opinions are welcomed. Thanks! |
May 18 2016, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(bevios @ May 18 2016, 08:48 AM) Imo, if you are good at what u been doing in ur current role, and they need ur specific skillsets n experience, you shouldn't ask less than what u getting now , in SGD i had been approached by few head hunter, all of them can't offer me anything beyond SGD7k, even for contractual role... i'm really surprised. Further check with some forum there, alot of them said SGD6k is considered alot already... even some of my friend said they are fetching <SGD5k... QUOTE(The Net Surfer @ May 18 2016, 09:25 AM) Compare dollar to dollar is like compare orange to apple. i'm actually on Business Intelligence and Analytic field... Have been on vendor project companies with total 8 years experience. Currently team lead on technical design and implementation. I do pre-sales as well and provide consultation on tools that i specialized in.A friend of mine, he got SGD8k from a shipping company while he's earning RM12k. I got SGD2.8k while I'm earning RM4.2k. Did you see the ratio? SG is going into deflation nowadays, the food is cheap, a meal only costs u about SGD3.00 in the hawker centre. But the working environment is stressful, especially for tech support, end users in Sg are more articulate and computer savvy. Good and bad, it depends on how important you perceive money. By the way, do you mind to share with me what role are u doing? Software dev, tech support, or consult? |
May 18 2016, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(The Net Surfer @ May 18 2016, 02:04 PM) Software house tends to be more appreciating their staffs. The only difficulty is handle end user, stress management is quite important for consultant. Perhaps u can do some survey into the company environment, whether it's very politic or management problem, that's important to u. all the best the singapore company is also a MNC vendor project company. handling end user on project has been a norm to me after all these years... company i'm talking bout is R Systems. It's an India ICT company... they offering max SGD6k... wat do u think? if anyone has any insights on this company working environment and culture, kindly PM me. thanks... |
May 18 2016, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(V-Zero @ May 18 2016, 03:02 PM) I was drawing $5.5k with 3-4 years experience as a BI developer in a foreign bank, never OT everyday yumcha 3 times. thanks... appreciate the actual comparison... You really should just look for other companies, 6k for BI lead is waaaaay too low. me too think i should stand firm on minimum SGD7k with my current experience and skillset. |
| Change to: | 0.0537sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:41 AM |