Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

someone_stupid
post Nov 11 2015, 11:45 AM

1,205 posts

someone posted a link to look for accommodation in sg besides the one in the first post, anyone has the link? need to look for somewhere to live along the circle line
someone_stupid
post Nov 11 2015, 01:10 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Nov 11 2015, 12:37 PM)
Dollar to dollar for my base is within 10% variance of my last drawn, but there are additional living and commuting allowances as well as loyalty bonuses. Other benefits should be same as regular employees. Should be fairly comfy for one person. In interests of confidentiality I'd rather not reveal the actual range.
mind sharing which industry you belong in?
someone_stupid
post Nov 11 2015, 01:24 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ Nov 11 2015, 01:14 PM)
Engineering
Just saw your tag you're from penang, seems like one of those US firms that operates in penang and singapore as well?

very nice opportunity you have there rclxms.gif congrats!
someone_stupid
post Nov 11 2015, 03:32 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Nov 11 2015, 03:22 PM)
hmm.gif  i think there's some law governing this in msia... cant rmb liao... anyone got source of akta?
brows.gif
are you looking for room or whole unit?  hmm.gif
i believe you can... public gym dont require membership to use its facilities
just a room blush.gif
someone_stupid
post Jan 4 2016, 11:33 PM

1,205 posts

For some reason my bosses seems a bit relaxed about getting my ep card sorted out properly
someone_stupid
post Jan 19 2016, 04:32 PM

1,205 posts

i also been scouting around for a place to rent went to see one in bishan the other day... 'twas horrible the moment the main tenant opened the door i almost fainted sad.gif
someone_stupid
post Jan 19 2016, 05:34 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Jan 19 2016, 04:53 PM)
HAhaha what was wrong?
I'm staying at Bishan too, landlady has an empty room for rent too if you're looking
the stench rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif and the house is so damn dirty sad.gif

let me pm you rclxms.gif
someone_stupid
post Jan 20 2016, 10:45 AM

1,205 posts

i just got off phone with a prop agent said that 600 dollars won't let me find a room that has ac in it in amk or tpy sad.gif
someone_stupid
post Feb 19 2016, 02:38 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 19 2016, 08:04 AM)
kai91 there isn't any published criteria for PR approval. Last time when I apply anecdotal advice was P1 EP apply after 1 year, P2/Q1 EP wait 2 years before applying. No idea what the general trend is nowadays though.
how do i know if i'm p1 or p2 or q1?
someone_stupid
post Feb 19 2016, 04:59 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Feb 19 2016, 03:57 PM)
Now EP holders no more categorise into P1, P2, Q1...already. MOM has removed that.

Last time they use salary band to categorise the pass holders.

P1: $8k above
P2: $3.5k above
Q1: ....
Yalo that's what I knew also so in that case there's totally no 'guideline' per se anymore for pr application. Hmm I also want to apply but just started not long
someone_stupid
post Mar 9 2016, 09:51 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(pangch @ Mar 9 2016, 09:50 AM)
Currently i work in kl as software engineer , thinking work at sg.  Should i resign first then only find job ? Or after secured a job in sg only resign from currebt position ?
do u really need to ask this... dry.gif

everything aside, up to u if u wanna take n months of break or not in between
someone_stupid
post Mar 10 2016, 11:19 AM

1,205 posts

erm random question, anyone knows if we can buy spotify gift card anywhere in sg?
someone_stupid
post Mar 15 2016, 03:15 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(bujubomb @ Mar 15 2016, 02:57 PM)
hi guys this is a little off topic but do any of you guys workout at bar parks (is there any?) in singapore? ohmy.gif
workout at a bar yes rclxms.gif
workout at a park yes rclxms.gif

workout at a bar park, that's a new
someone_stupid
post Mar 15 2016, 05:05 PM

1,205 posts

everyone i want to ask..

i submitted the cp21 form to lhdn and received the clearing letter in february, the cp21 was submitted on dec my last day with my previous company was on mid dec 2015.

i just received the ea form from my company and now i'm a bit stunned... do i still need to file for tax?
someone_stupid
post Mar 18 2016, 04:07 PM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(someone_stupid @ Mar 15 2016, 05:05 PM)
everyone i want to ask..

i submitted the cp21 form to lhdn and received the clearing letter in february, the cp21 was submitted on dec my last day with my previous company was on mid dec 2015.

i just received the ea form from my company and now i'm a bit stunned... do i still need to file for tax?
guys anyone know of this?
someone_stupid
post Mar 21 2016, 10:24 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 18 2016, 04:21 PM)
It should be the same EA form which your employer should have given it to you together with your CP21.
No, you don't need to file income tax again as you have cleared all unless you still have undeclared income which you want to declare in this round of e-filing.
Just make sure you keep the tax clearance letter.
p/s: I'm not working in SG but I'm from a Malaysia employer and have handled with tonnes of exit from Malaysia cases. That's why to avoid any confusion, we don't send EA form again to our employees who have cleared their income tax before they leave the country.
that's what the hr told me when i did my exit then suddenly got another ea form but thanx this was what i need to know smile.gif
someone_stupid
post Mar 22 2016, 04:58 PM

1,205 posts

talk about applying for a job, looking for a place that i want... is proven to be difficult
someone_stupid
post Mar 24 2016, 10:09 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 24 2016, 09:41 AM)
In my industry, most capable people get swamped by headhunters after being here for a bit so perhaps it might be better to just get one foot in the door and let things develop from there?
what industry are u in smile.gif
someone_stupid
post Mar 28 2016, 10:05 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Mar 24 2016, 04:15 PM)

bad news for those who are planning to look for job in SG (S-Pass and WP only), cost of hiring is going up, which means you'll probably get lesser salary, and harder to find job.
only to certain industries...
someone_stupid
post Apr 1 2016, 09:59 AM

1,205 posts

QUOTE(Blues89 @ Mar 31 2016, 10:50 PM)
of cos rent whole house without owner or whatsoever,but thats a bit expensive comparatively
saw in ur earlier post ure getting a whole place to share with ur friends?

0.0612sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:56 AM