Working in Singapore V18, All About Living in The Little Red Dot

skyxanxus
post Dec 18 2015, 11:14 AM

49 posts

Guys, I plan going to singapore for job hunting next year after cny. Is it a good timing? Next year will be a degree holder with Information System. Worries about cannot find jobs at singapore.
skyxanxus
post Dec 19 2015, 01:47 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 18 2015, 05:15 PM)
after December is a good time already, cause many people will cabut after getting AWS.
get a local number and add it to your resume..
some employer will hesitate to call foreign number as the candidate may not readily be available for interview.
I will add my friend singapore phone number. I just worries I cannot get a job at there.
skyxanxus
post Dec 19 2015, 01:48 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(yuen300 @ Dec 18 2015, 07:55 PM)
Well, many also told me that I am fresh graduate. With less than a year working experience, it is unlikely for me to get a job.
I have proven otherwise, manage to get a job here. Just dont disheartened if you never get reply as soon as u expected.
I worry about those company keep doing something common, cannot learn anything from there.
skyxanxus
post Dec 19 2015, 01:55 AM

49 posts

guys, other than jobstreet, any website is for job hunting at singapore?
skyxanxus
post Dec 19 2015, 10:53 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(MrJigoku666 @ Dec 19 2015, 08:30 AM)
there's a lot, i land my job from LinkedIn.. there's also JobsDB, STJobs, try google it though  nod.gif
thanks for help~ icon_rolleyes.gif
skyxanxus
post Dec 19 2015, 11:36 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(yuen300 @ Dec 19 2015, 12:30 PM)
Well, when I tell my senior when I am start working in my Malaysia firm.  He telling me how great to be in here my Malaysia company, there are a lots of things to learn. And along the three months, nothing much I have learnt which can make me very excited abt the job. Telling me how his friends sucks over in Sg doing something boring.
Now, my first week in Sg, my team is totally new, I get to do a lots of things that I was not allowed in my previous firm despite I am a freshman.

If you feel the company does not let you learn, try few months, and you can quit and try to search for new one. Or just wait for two years, get PR, and search job from there.
Thanks for advice, normal fresh IT degree holder can get how many salary?
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 11:11 AM

49 posts

I plan go stay at singapore 6 months for looking on IT jobs. However, is it possible work part time before success get a job?
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 12:10 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 21 2015, 11:14 AM)
You don't have a valid permit to work in SG, I don't think the employers will take such risk?
That mean I need focus find permanent jobs? I worries I cannot find within certain period and out of money cry.gif cry.gif
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 12:12 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 21 2015, 11:45 AM)
Nope its not possible
You can only stay 30 days at a time under a visitor visa
That mean I need find a jobs within 30 days?? I worries about the interview problem on company set different date

This post has been edited by skyxanxus: Dec 21 2015, 12:12 PM
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 01:35 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Dec 21 2015, 12:14 PM)
U dun wait in singapore for interview

U find job and wait for interview back in malaysia

Oni come here when u got a confirmed date

Just by staying in singapore wun help u much on finding new job
I plan add my friend singapore phone number. If like that will be weird if the company call my friend?
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 01:37 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 21 2015, 12:17 PM)
To add on, most of the time will do phone interview first. smile.gif
I heard from my friend mostly won't call malaysia phone number and I will add my friend phone number in resume, if like that really a bit weird.
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 01:50 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 21 2015, 01:38 PM)
Not weird as long as they can reach you.
But my friend at singapore now and currently I at malaysia ipoh. It will be weird when the company call my friend but I at malaysia cant reach him.
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 02:36 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 21 2015, 01:53 PM)
I did the same when my sis wanted to comeover.

Company call me, I told em "she just went out for lunch or whatever and left her phone, leave your phone and she'll call back." bla bla.
Wow, you good man. I also ask my friend about this problem but he say he can handle it.
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 02:38 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(KilJim @ Dec 21 2015, 02:09 PM)
Even if you could, do you know how much RM i will cost you to stay in SG for 6 months without a job?  sweat.gif
Plus after doing all the online applications its just waiting at home for them to call you, hardly worth you moving there for 6 months

As the others mentioned above, just apply from MY and travel down if you have a face to face interview
Good idea, that mean I need start apply it from now onward. Because I plan start my jobs at March.
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 02:40 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Dec 21 2015, 02:12 PM)
Ask them if can provide Skype interview. My HR did this for most foreigners smile.gif
I worry the internet line problem...
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 03:20 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(xiaovievie @ Dec 21 2015, 03:05 PM)
Maybe u can try to send the job applications on the internet before u come over. Im from IT and also a freshie. Got my offer letter only 10 days when i come here. Be confident, 6 months is just too long lol probably max 2 months u can get a job here already depends on your qualifications.
I will be graduate from UTAR with Information System Engineering, I not sure about singapore recognize the qualification or not
skyxanxus
post Dec 21 2015, 09:38 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(kevin613 @ Dec 21 2015, 05:33 PM)
i'm from UTAR... tongue.gif
You working at singapore?
skyxanxus
post Dec 22 2015, 08:27 AM

49 posts

Many UTAR graduated but mostly is engineering...

0.0603sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:27 AM